Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Ethernet port problem

8 replies to this topic
Driftking120
  • Driftking120

    Madman

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010

#1

Posted 24 November 2011 - 08:32 PM

Hi everyone biggrin.gif .
well i built a new computer the day before yesterday and i noticed today that the ethernet ports are not working. The green and flashing orange light is on like its working but windows 7 ultimate says that their is no network cable plugged in. their was a metal tab i noticed sticking into the port so i bent it up into the outside of the case like this {Port}|/ instead of this {Port}_| counterclockwise. I do not know if the metal tab that was in the ethernet port mattered. I have tested the ethernet cable on another computer and it works.
Specs are below:
Mountain Mods U2-UFO
Corsair AX1200
MSI Big Bang Marshal
Intel Core i7 2700k
Muskin Enhanced Redline 1600mhz 8gb(2x4gb)
MSI Nvidia Geforce GTX 580 Lightning Xtreme Edition
Corsair Force GT 240GB
WD Caviar Black 1tb

vertical limit
  • vertical limit

    When in doubt don't pull out.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2010
  • None

#2

Posted 24 November 2011 - 09:26 PM

Have you tried a different Ethernet port on your new built PC?

AmyJones
  • AmyJones

    ADVIL CHAMPION

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 22 May 2009
  • None

#3

Posted 24 November 2011 - 09:40 PM

Are you able to check if it can pull a wireless connection?

trip
  • trip

    ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2007
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]
    Contribution Award [Gen Chat]

#4

Posted 24 November 2011 - 10:02 PM

Do you get a link light on the other end of the cable? Is the port 10/100/1000? If it is just listed as 1000 and you get a link light on the other end you may want to try a cat6 cable.

Or you may have a faulty port on your mother board. Good thing NIC cards are almost free these days - you may have to drop in a separate NIC card.

Driftking120
  • Driftking120

    Madman

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010

#5

Posted 24 November 2011 - 11:48 PM

I Tryed both ethernet ports and the same thing. The Motherboard seems to act like its plugged in properly but windows 7 doesn't seem to reconise that a ethernet cable is plugged in. also I cannot do wireless as we just moved to florida and we just threw a router onto a modem to get two computers to have internet LOL tounge.gif . It is listed as a 100.0mbps connection on the laptop. Also do i need to install any drivers for the motherboards ethernet or is it already installed by default?

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 25 November 2011 - 12:52 AM

Yeah with your motherboard you should of recieved a CD. Install the stuff on that and you should be good to go. I tried connecting to the internet without installing my motherboard CD and it wouldn't work.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#7

Posted 25 November 2011 - 08:47 PM

Silly question: Did you install the drivers?
Go to Device Manager and check if it's ok there.

Driftking120
  • Driftking120

    Madman

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010

#8

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:15 PM

Well, I probably epic failed in the most humiliating way blush.gif .
I Inserted the drivers cd installed all the drivers, snd presto, it works blush.gif . well thanks for the help guys biggrin.gif .

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#9

Posted 27 November 2011 - 12:24 AM

Wow, really?!?
For shame anuj_cop.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users