Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Help with upgrading my pc.

47 replies to this topic
Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#1

Posted 20 November 2011 - 07:03 PM

Hey everyone I want to upgrade my current pc so I can run GTA IV smoothly with ENB, iCEHancer, and etc, at the highest settings.




My current pc specs are:

====================================================
rampage_ani.gif AMD Athlon II X2 260 3.2 ghz

rampage_ani.gif AMD Raedon HD 6450

rampage_ani.gif Xtreme Gear 500 watt ATX Power Supply

rampage_ani.gif 4 gb Ram

rampage_ani.gif Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit OS

rampage_ani.gif 465 gb Hard Drive
====================================================

I play with everything on low and my Resoluition is lower than 800x600 by using commandline and I get about 60/30 fps, but it looks absolutly terrible....

But with my Resolution at 1024x768 i get around 30/8 fps.

And 1920x1080 I get 10 fps and below, but thats not even with everything maxed out.




So my question is what do I need to be able to be able to run GTA IV at the Highest settings with ENB/ICENhancer and get over 50/60 fps?


My budget is right now is about 600 bucks.


Thanks for reading. Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif


Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#2

Posted 20 November 2011 - 07:44 PM Edited by PrometheusX, 20 November 2011 - 10:19 PM.

Motherboard | ASUS M5A99X EVO AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS | $150

Processor | AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor | $125

Graphics Card | MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card | $270

Memory | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model | $45

Total | $595

Notes |
* Free 3D Mark 11.
** Thank god for yoyos tounge.gif

blitz
  • blitz

    lit

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2011
  • Peru
  • Newcomer of the Year 2011

#3

Posted 20 November 2011 - 07:49 PM

You will probably get more help and attention in the Tech & PC Chat forum.

OverTheBelow
  • OverTheBelow

    OTB "Oaty-Bee"

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2008

#4

Posted 20 November 2011 - 07:50 PM

QUOTE
So my question is what do I need to be able to be able to run GTA IV at the Highest settings with ENB/ICENhancer and get over 50/60 fps?


Not to be the killjoy here, but running at 1080p with iCEnhancer on at a solid 60fps isn't possible at this time.

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#5

Posted 20 November 2011 - 08:05 PM

@PrometheusX: as I pointed out in some other topic, it'd be a good idea to include an AM3+ mobo. wink.gif

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#6

Posted 20 November 2011 - 11:37 PM

@yojo2 Its fine, I could play in a lower res anyways.

Haha, any resolution would be better than my current resolution.


@PrometheusX Thanks a lot for helping out. I might have to wait a little while to get all the money for this, but if I had to choose one of these parts, which would you recommend I chose that will give me the most performance boost just until I get the other parts?


I've never really upgraded before, so I dont know as much about about upgrading and changing parts, but are these sure to work with my desktop? I know they probably would but I just thought some parts would work with certain pc's and what not. But Im sure they would.


And one last question... With this setup you showed me, what do you think my FPS would be with everything maxed out? And my fps with everything maxed out using ICenhancer/ENB?




Thanks again! You really helped me out a lot. biggrin.gif

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#7

Posted 21 November 2011 - 12:41 PM

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Sunday, Nov 20 2011, 23:37)
which would you recommend I chose that will give me the most performance boost just until I get the other parts?

The Video Card.

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Sunday, Nov 20 2011, 23:37)
I've never really upgraded before, so I dont know as much about about upgrading and changing parts, but are these sure to work with my desktop?

Yup.

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Sunday, Nov 20 2011, 23:37)
With this setup you showed me, what do you think my FPS would be with everything maxed out? And my fps with everything maxed out using ICenhancer/ENB?

Hmm...30 FPS @ LEAST, it will be playable. smile.gif

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#8

Posted 21 November 2011 - 04:10 PM

How much more FPS would I expect by getting this GFX Card if I have about 30 FPS on low settings?



And did you mean I'd get 30 FPS maxed out with ICeNhancer/ENB, or did you mean 30 fps maxed out without any graphic mods?


biggrin.gif

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#9

Posted 21 November 2011 - 04:16 PM

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Monday, Nov 21 2011, 16:10)
How much more FPS would I expect by getting this GFX Card if I have about 30 FPS on low settings?



And did you mean I'd get 30 FPS maxed out with ICeNhancer/ENB, or did you mean 30 fps maxed out without any graphic mods?


biggrin.gif

w/ ENB. icon14.gif

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#10

Posted 21 November 2011 - 05:11 PM Edited by Cartman28279, 21 November 2011 - 05:15 PM.

YAY!!!! biggrin.gif



Oh, yeah..... Sorry if im asking a lot of questions, but how much more fps would I get if I installed this card and nothing else but the card?


Also what do I need the motherboard for? I dont need it now right, if I just bought the card and nothing else? Im gonna get everything soon though.



And PrometheusX..... Your my hero. XD

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#11

Posted 22 November 2011 - 12:34 AM

GTA4 is a CPU intensive game and right now your main bottle neck is the CPU, that's not to say that in your case the GFX is helping much either.


As to PrometheusX parts list. Personally I'm not a fan of AMD that much any more but because of the budget I won't go there. The GFX card however I would suggest
EVGA 01G-P3-1561-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti FPB $250. The difference besides saving $20 is that the clock speeds are only 30mhz less on the core and 60mhz less on the memory and a lifetime warranty. You can easily OC the card to match the MSI card if you really wanted to. Granted the one he listed does 2GB of memory compared to the 1GB the eVGA card has. Oh and the MSI card does include a game...that you'll likely never play.

If you want to try Intel at the very less.
CPU + GFX combo: http://www.newegg.co...st=Combo.749247 $445 (plus $20 rebate)
Includes: Intel i5-2500(non-K) and eVGA GTX 560 Ti (with lifetime warranty)
RAM: I just stuck with what PrometheusX already listed.

Mobo; you have some options
GIGABYTE GA-P67A-D3-B3 LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 $105 (plus $10 rebate)
ASUS P8H67-M LE (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel H67 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX $100
ASRock Z68 PRO3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 $100+$8 shipping
ASUS P8H67-M LX (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel H67 SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX $90+$4 shipping
Personally I'd go with the Gigabyte for the best all around deal, other wise if you need a smaller mobo to fit in your case then the first ASUS.

Last thing to keep in mind; Black Friday and MicroCenter.
If you have a MicroCenter near you then you get the Intel i5-2500K for $180, even if you don't want to OC the CPU that's still a heck of a lot better than the $210 the Newegg sells the non-K version for. And to be fair, I did look at MicroCenter for their prices of the AMD Phenom II's and they were the same as Newegg.
You might want to wait until BlackFriday, or even CyberMonday, to see what they deals are for some of these parts and get them then.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#12

Posted 22 November 2011 - 02:46 AM

@Wolf68k What parts would you recommend together the most that you have listed? I just dont want to do something wrong buying these, because I've never really done this before.


And which is better out of the two proccessor's? The Intel or AMD? And If the Intel's better then whats parts do I need that will work together really well with the Intel Proccessor? And when you suggest the parts I buy together how much more performance would I get out of the 4 things PrometheusX suggested?

Sorry if Im making his difficult but this is stressing me out, and I just want to make this as easy as possible. biggrin.gif

So yeah.... Just tell me what I need to buy that will give me the most performance and that will work with my pc, because Im totally sure how to choose between different parts. So just give me a small list of the few parts I should buy.




Thanks to everyone thats been helping me out so far...... I really appriciate it. rolleyes.gif


Finn 7 five 11
  • Finn 7 five 11

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#13

Posted 22 November 2011 - 03:41 AM Edited by finn4life, 22 November 2011 - 03:43 AM.

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Tuesday, Nov 22 2011, 13:46)
@Wolf68k  What parts would you recommend together the most that you have listed?  I just dont want to do something wrong buying these, because I've never really done this before.


And which is better out of the two proccessor's? The Intel or AMD? And If the Intel's better then whats parts do I need that will work together really well with the Intel Proccessor? And when you suggest the parts I buy together how much more performance would I get out of the 4 things PrometheusX suggested?

The Intel CPU is better than the AMD.

The parts Wolf68K already listed are the ones that will work well with the Intel processor and recommended you buy the Gigabyte motherboard, he listed different size motherboards because we do not know your case size.

So, if you decide to go with Intel for your CPU, use one of the motherboards recommended by Wolf68K, and then use the Ram and the GFX cqrd from prometheus x's build.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#14

Posted 22 November 2011 - 04:34 AM

So with these parts I could play GTA IV with Icehnhancer/ENB with everything maxed out and still get 30 fps or higher?

And how would I find my exact case size? cool.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#15

Posted 22 November 2011 - 04:26 PM

Is the system you have now a pre-built (Dell, HP, etc) or custom build?
If it's a pre-built then what make and model?
If it's custom, then measure the length and width of the mobo. Then go here and look at the chart. Most likely it's a Standard ATX (aka Full ATX or just ATX) or a Micro ATX.

With the PSU, which by the way has not been factored into mine or PrometheusX's lists, all you listed was that it's a 500W and Xtreme Gear. That's not much to go on.
Open the case and look at the size of the PSU. You should see a label hopefully laid out something like this, or it might look as hard to read and understand as this. The point is to look where it says +12V and what it says for the A (or Amps). In these 2 examples there are 2 +12V, in older PSUs there is only 1.
Also note the Model number and give us that as well.
Why am I making you do this? 500W is enough to power a GTX 560 Ti however it's also possible that the Amps on the +12V for that power supply are below the requirements. I've seen this before. I just want to make sure you're PSU will handle the card before you spend the money.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#16

Posted 22 November 2011 - 04:57 PM

Yes its a prebuilt PC. Here's the link to it.


http://answers.walma...question=565185



PSU Model XG-P500

AC Input: 115V/ 230V 10/5A 50-60Hz

DC Output: +3.3V +5V +12V(1) +12V(2) -12V +SVSB

Max Ouput Current: 16A 18A 14A 14A 0.5V 2V

Min Current: 0.5A 0.5A 1.0A 1.0A 0.0A 0.0A

Total Ouptut: 500W




And is this enough info for the PSU?


Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#17

Posted 22 November 2011 - 09:28 PM

If I'm lining it up correctly the 2 +12V's are both 14A. That's not enough. eVGA's 560 Ti, the one I posted, requires 30A on the +12V. If each of those was 18A each then you'd be ok for sure.

Something else to keep in mind is that it's likely that the OS, Win7, you're using with that system is locked to that system. Even if you got an OS disc, although doubtful, it's an OEM disc and not retail. Which means you'll have to buy a new OS as well, there goes $100 unless you or you know someone that's in college then you get the student discount at microsoft.com and get Win7 Pro Upgrade (which can be installed as a fresh clean OS without an OS already installed) for $30.

Sorry I should have said this to start with, frankly any one of should have asked about this before we started listing/suggesting parts.
You can still use the case, HDD and DVD drive most likely.

Go to microcenter.com and see if they have a store near you.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#18

Posted 22 November 2011 - 10:15 PM

So these wont work with pc? If so would I need a new PSU and OS? Or what do I need to make these parts work with my pc?


sad.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#19

Posted 23 November 2011 - 12:55 AM

You can go with a lower end nVidia or maybe an HD6850. That would free up $100 or more.
Switch the GFX card with AMD HD 6850 $150 that should/might allow you to use the same PSU then you should have the money for this OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit OEM $100. Although personally I would try to save up $10 more and get this Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade for $100.
The reason being that the OEM will lock itself to 1 mobo, the upgrade I linked is an retail version so you can move it to a new mobo if needed. Or like I said get the Win7 Pro Student Edition.

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500 $209
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-D3-B3 $105
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 $45
GFX: PowerColor AX6850 1GBD5-DH Radeon HD 6850 1GB $150
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade $110
Total: $619.95
Ok so it's $20 over, however there is a total of $30 in rebates.

If you have to stick to the $600 budget then replace the CPU for the i5-2400 for $190. Changes the total to $599.95

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#20

Posted 23 November 2011 - 01:30 AM

I can go over 600, but not over too much. biggrin.gif

I just a a few questions....

So anyways, I just buy these do everything to get them in my pc and everything should be fine? Like will everything work with each other ok so I dont need to buy different parts to get them to work?

Also like I was PrometheusX, how much FPS do you think I'd get with eveything maxed out on GTA IV using ICeNhancer?

Last thing... If I buy one of these parts right now(just until I get the money for the rest) which one of these should I choose, and how much more FPS would I get in GTA IV if I currently have about 30 on low settings?


Anyways thanks a lot man.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#21

Posted 23 November 2011 - 05:13 PM

I can't answer the FPS with GTV4 using anything. I can't even answer how much you should expect with just GTV4 with no mods.
I don't even have GTA4 installed any more, but I have thought about it since getting my i7 rig plus since I hear there are number of patches that have come out, since I did have it installed, that are said to improve performance.

I know it's 2 completely different games but, on my i7 I can play BFBC2 all high (including AA 32x) at 1920x1080 and get around 100FPS. With BF3 I get around 40fps using the High settings pre-set and still 1920x1080.

From what little I know of GTV4 and ICeNhancer no one can play it at max and 1920x1080. If I did and read that correctly then don't worry about trying to play it maxed out.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#22

Posted 23 November 2011 - 09:52 PM

If I upgraded my pc to the parts listed earlier, then how much would my pc specs compare to your specs, just so I can get an idea of how well my pc will run with this upgrade.




Say im playing Battlefield 3 1980x1080 everything maxed out, what do you think my fps would be if your fps was 40?




Btw, if you ever Install GTA IV again tell me what your FPS is maxed out, and if you use something like ENB or Icenhancer tell me what your FPS is for that to.

OverTheBelow
  • OverTheBelow

    OTB "Oaty-Bee"

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2008

#23

Posted 23 November 2011 - 11:12 PM

QUOTE (Cartman28279 @ Wednesday, Nov 23 2011, 21:52)
If I upgraded my pc to the parts listed earlier, then how much would my pc specs compare to your specs, just so I can get an idea of how well my pc will run with this upgrade.

Say im playing Battlefield 3 1980x1080 everything maxed out, what do you think my fps would be if your fps was 40?

Btw, if you ever Install GTA IV again tell me what your FPS is maxed out, and if you use something like ENB or Icenhancer tell me what your FPS is for that to.

Doesn't run great on ultra at 1080p with my overclocked 5850 (which is faster than the 6850), I can tell you that; around 20-ish fps. And I get these frequent sudden framerate dips down to around 10fps due to Battlefield 3 needing more than 1GB of VRAM on ultra, so playing at ultra 1080p properly is pretty much out of the question with that card.

though, medium and high still look insanely good and run great as well.

I get around 25-30fps with iCEnhancer at 1080p on high ingame settings/20 on sliders. Not really playable really, just good to showcase or take screenshots.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#24

Posted 23 November 2011 - 11:25 PM

So If I got the parts listed earlier how much FPS would you guess I'd get with Icenhancer and everything maxed 1920x1080?




Also should I buy the Mobo Wolf posted last? Because there's a good bit of reviews saying it doesn't work properly after a couple days and so on. And if I shouldn't buy that Mobo, which one? It'll probably be alright but I just dont want to do anything wrong when I buy all of this.



Thanks for all the help so far. biggrin.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#25

Posted 24 November 2011 - 12:18 AM

Sorry I didn't look at reviews, I was mostly looking at the prices and the specs. I looked at the reviews now too. They are as mixed as any other board. The board I got was bad the day I got it. I got with Newegg and they replaced it (bit more complex than that sounds in my case but it did get replaced) and the new one is perfect. So take the ones that say they fried, died, or whatever sooner after they got it with a grain of salt. New things either die early on, with in the first couple months, or they live for ever well past their warranty date.
Look at the reviews too. There are 39 people on Newegg that reviewed it; of those 8 had major issues with, 1 ify and the rest no real problems. Of the 4 star people that gave it Cons, most are complaining about having to update the BIOS and if that's the biggest complaint then big deal. A lot of games and other software end having to do a release date patch to fix things; BF3 and Windows XP just off the top of my head. The others complain about poor-ish overclocking; well you get what you pay for, if you want a mobo that'll OC then get one made for doing it.

Keep in mind that BF3 maxed out means the Ultra settings, so I'm running one step down which isn't a bad thing. Let's say you ran the same settings with the those parts. I'd have to guess you're get around 30-40fps. This is also according to Tom's Hardware but since they used 5 different CPUs, 3 different mobos and 2 different sets of RAM and no mention of which set up got what card I can't say for sure what the results would be.


Look. I know you want a straight answer to what you can expect for one game or another. I just can't tell you that. Even if you spend the money to get the exact same set up as mine doesn't mean you're going to get the exact same results. You get better results or worse, however they should be close enough to each other.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#26

Posted 24 November 2011 - 02:54 AM Edited by Cartman28279, 24 November 2011 - 03:10 AM.

Awesome man....


Btw, I can only buy one part right now..... So should I get the I5 2500 or the PowerColor AX6850 1GBD5-DH Radeon HD 6850 1GB, or maybe even a better card than that if its not too much more money.

I just want to get the most out of all of this, lol.



And how much more performance would I expect with that part compared to now?


Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#27

Posted 24 November 2011 - 03:47 AM

I would suggest wanting until you're ready to buy everything.
Prices on some of the parts might go down by then which can offer you a chance to get a better gfx card or mobo or whatever at that time.

Performance compared to what you have no will be like night and day.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#28

Posted 24 November 2011 - 04:23 AM

Well hopefully I can find some deals cyber monday!

And besides the Powercolor gfx card, is there any other better cards that would work well with my system if I bought everything you posted earlier but just with a different GXF card? Just incase I find an awesome deal on a card Monday. smile.gif


Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#29

Posted 24 November 2011 - 06:13 AM

Well yeah there was another 6850 that was $10 more and of course cards that were cheaper. Then as someone had mentioned there is the GTX460 as well.
Look at that Tom's Hardware BF3 tests; between the 2 there is only 1-2fps difference, although keep in mind that we have no idea what CPU was used with what card.

Cartman28279
  • Cartman28279

    "Not now chief, I'm in the f**king zone"

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010
  • None

#30

Posted 24 November 2011 - 12:15 PM

Would you recomend I stay with the PowerColor then, or should I try for one of those cards?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users