Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV for low end pc's

22 replies to this topic
SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#1

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:04 AM

http://www.moddb.com...for-low-end-pcs

i dont know if this has been seen before, but for all the people i and others pick on for trying to run this game on older or low end pc's, here is your solution. i have tested this on some pretty retty hardware and the game ran suprisingly well.

i hope this can help some of you budget restricted people to enjoy the game without too many sacrifices

OverTheBelow
  • OverTheBelow

    OTB "Oaty-Bee"

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2008

#2

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:18 AM

Quick download link:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HWZG2SP2

I wonder what it does to reclaim the performance. I'm not going to bother downloading it tonight, but nice find anyway. tounge.gif

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#3

Posted 05 November 2011 - 01:35 AM

I dont know what it does, but it really works... the end result is whats important

Jacko427
  • Jacko427

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2011

#4

Posted 05 November 2011 - 02:52 AM

What about the settings of the game?
Did you tried to play with Textures on Medium?

GTA4 looks blurry on that website.

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#5

Posted 05 November 2011 - 04:24 PM

QUOTE (Jacko427 @ Saturday, Nov 5 2011, 02:52)
What about the settings of the game?
Did you tried to play with Textures on Medium?

GTA4 looks blurry on that website.

on a lower end pc in motion it actually looks good. i dont know how they did it, but it is not blurry in a way that hampers performance. honestl it is comparable to vanilla gta with decent settings, and most importantly it is smooth

i had it running on a dual core first gen athlon x2 with 3 gb ram and an hd 2900. ran very nicely

Michaś
  • Michaś

    BMW Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2007
  • None

#6

Posted 05 November 2011 - 06:22 PM

I'll check it out in a sec...

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#7

Posted 06 November 2011 - 05:24 PM

Tried it in an old PC, turned out that it increased the FPS by 2 frames only.

Also crappy view distance.

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#8

Posted 06 November 2011 - 07:46 PM

It's just a package of non-functioning commandlines, badly edited timecycs and edited (more like copy-pasted) shaders (for more motion blur).

tropic633
  • tropic633

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2010

#9

Posted 13 November 2011 - 01:11 PM

I have problem with this, when i press run GTA IV nothing happens.
Also when i start game via shortcut at dekstop nothing happens too.
Anyone can help? biggrin.gif

Claude Liberty
  • Claude Liberty

    Talkative like never before

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2009
  • Russia

#10

Posted 02 March 2012 - 08:43 PM

Since megaupload was shut down I can't find this archive anywere else. Does anyone have a copy?

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 02 March 2012 - 11:13 PM

Is this the same one maybe?
http://www.gta-downl...ow-end-pcs.html

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#12

Posted 03 March 2012 - 01:44 PM

that's a good link. i used one of my linux machines and went to the uploader's site because it has all mandarin text (djprmf.net). i opened the files, doesn't seem to have any virus/malware, as far as i can tell.

Claude Liberty
  • Claude Liberty

    Talkative like never before

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2009
  • Russia

#13

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:01 PM

QUOTE (luceberg @ Friday, Mar 2 2012, 23:13)
Is this the same one maybe?
http://www.gta-downl...ow-end-pcs.html

Afraid no. Patch you showed only contains a pair of modified .dat files. Rikintosh's one patches game files to decrease textures size, I guess. It's shown on author's video. Any ideas?

luceberg
  • luceberg

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 05 March 2012 - 12:12 AM Edited by luceberg, 05 March 2012 - 01:20 AM.

I just found the Rickintosh file on my pc. I hosted it here:


When I scanned this file with avast antivirus, it said it contains a threat, so I have to delete the link, sorry.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#15

Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:45 AM Edited by Slamman, 05 March 2012 - 05:58 AM.

Mine are all considered low end, since the recession, it appears the 8600GT in mid 2007, and the ATI HD5450 are the two I wound up at the time, yet very little gaming done on them, they seem rather out-dated in comparison to the modern GPUs out there, so, I am thinking of selling all my graphics cards, and even settling for a pair of SLi 8800 GTX in the short term, use them one at a time till I get a SLi mobo! haha

Textures and draw distances slow things down, sure, but if a console can run it, and assuming your PC can match a 2005 console spec, Why can't it run as well? This is a question without a suitable answer, I believe Intel's X3100 on up or something will work as far as integrated GMA. With Ivy Bridge, it will support the current DirectX, and I should hope, Shader Model 4 or higher, we'll see, and I imagine be pretty damn excited that Intel's finally focused on Graphics and CPU in one neat package

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#16

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:21 PM

Would this mod work on PC's that have incompatible video cards? Because my PC is (barely) over the minimum requirements and the only thing keeping it from working is the incompatible video card that's fast and powerful enough to run fairly smoothly.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#17

Posted 06 March 2012 - 10:01 AM

I downloaded the RAGE HD thingie, the mod version using Rage, San An IIRC, I wonder if it's demanding as much as the official game, and I'm rather certain nothing like iCE!?

FROST214
  • FROST214

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2013

#18

Posted 05 July 2013 - 10:23 AM

I got intel HD 3000, core i3 And 4 ram, how the game will run with this mod?l biggrin.gif

Murad96
  • Murad96

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 May 2013

#19

Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:53 PM

QUOTE (FROST214 @ Friday, Jul 5 2013, 11:23)
I got intel HD 3000, core i3 And 4 ram, how the game will run with this mod?l biggrin.gif

Just try it, for God's sake.

Extronic
  • Extronic

    Disconnected from game session.

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2010
  • None

#20

Posted 23 July 2013 - 05:50 PM

QUOTE (Murad96 @ Sunday, Jul 21 2013, 18:53)
QUOTE (FROST214 @ Friday, Jul 5 2013, 11:23)
I got intel HD 3000, core i3 And 4 ram, how the game will run with this mod?l biggrin.gif

Just try it, for God's sake.

Theres most probably no God at all, but it seems he never tried anyway confused.gif

wobuffet3
  • wobuffet3

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2013

#21

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:16 PM

Download link is DEAD
T_T

LoreLegend
  • LoreLegend

    Kill or be killed

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2011

#22

Posted 07 August 2013 - 09:36 AM

QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Saturday, Nov 5 2011, 00:04)
http://www.moddb.com...for-low-end-pcs

i dont know if this has been seen before, but for all the people i and others pick on for trying to run this game on older or low end pc's, here is your solution. i have tested this on some pretty retty hardware and the game ran suprisingly well.

i hope this can help some of you budget restricted people to enjoy the game without too many sacrifices

Yeah because I'd love to play 800x600 with terrible graphics -.-

ryohazuki
  • ryohazuki

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2013

#23

Posted 08 August 2013 - 12:22 PM

QUOTE (LoreLegend @ Wednesday, Aug 7 2013, 09:36)
QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Saturday, Nov 5 2011, 00:04)
http://www.moddb.com...for-low-end-pcs

i dont know if this has been seen before, but for all the people i and others pick on for trying to run this game on older or low end pc's, here is your solution. i have tested this on some pretty retty hardware and the game ran suprisingly well.

i hope this can help some of you budget restricted people to enjoy the game without too many sacrifices

Yeah because I'd love to play 800x600 with terrible graphics -.-

What is your problem? Why do you feel the need to say anything? The name of the thread is clearly GTA IV FOR LOW END PC's. You clearly DO NOT HAVE a LOW END PC, and clearly not everyone is FORTUNATE to HAVE A LOW END PC. Jesus christ, not everyone has the luxury of playing at 1920x1080 fully maxed.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users