Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Have A Question? V2

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
22,856 replies to this topic
ExtremoMania
  • ExtremoMania

    Just a dose of metal everyday

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2012
  • Philippines

#13951

Posted 25 June 2013 - 12:01 PM

QUOTE (Wolvington @ Tuesday, Jun 25 2013, 18:42)
Changing names (totally)would be a horrible thing to do. An interesting rule would be to reset the post count to 0 after a name change.

That is like your old account that you disabled for a longtime. It would sure be a waste for a number of milestone you did here.

Also I would like to add this. Whenever you had a name change, it will never be renamed again for a year, same as FB changing username on its URL.

Miro
  • Miro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#13952

Posted 25 June 2013 - 12:15 PM

This was already covered by Xcommunicated. Name changes of an user will be limited to a year only. Meaning that you can change your username only once a year.

QUOTE (Xcommunicated @ Friday @ Feb 15 2013, 07:27)
I'm not 100% sure on this, but I'm guessing we will allow name changes limited to once a year, possibly at the user level.


QUOTE (Wolvington @ Jun 25 2013, 10:42)
Changing names (totally)would be a horrible thing to do. An interesting rule would be to reset the post count to 0 after a name change.


If it'd be like that than just register a new account. Most people want to keep their post count, and a few profile details, such as the join date. But if it were to lose the post count, it'll be worthless to go through the trouble to change your username, just make a new account. Join date it's that relevant either.

Andreaz1
  • Andreaz1

    Anything 80's

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2010
  • Sweden
  • Helpfulness Award

#13953

Posted 25 June 2013 - 07:53 PM

He said he wasn't 100% sure, maybe they will come up with some other system for it.

DestaliusDark
  • DestaliusDark

    Funky Jazz

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2011
  • Belgium

#13954

Posted 26 June 2013 - 12:43 AM

This is a small question. But who is the oldest member on GTAF?
Not join date but real age. I was wondering who it might be.

na89340qv0n34b09q340
  • na89340qv0n34b09q340

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2010
  • Democratic-Republic-of-the-Congo

#13955

Posted 26 June 2013 - 12:53 AM

QUOTE (DestaliusDark @ Tuesday, Jun 25 2013, 20:43)
This is a small question. But who is the oldest member on GTAF?
Not join date but real age. I was wondering who it might be.

It's probably impossible to tell because of people who use birth dates from long ago just to be wacky. lil weasel is the oldest member that I know of.

BR-Z
  • BR-Z

    <Zee's Head>

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2013

#13956

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:25 AM

Is there a reason for why I keep cracking my back unintentionally?

Shou
  • Shou

    y

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Jamaica
  • Best Signature 2013
    Best Signature 2012

#13957

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:46 AM Edited by shoumic, 26 June 2013 - 05:53 AM.

QUOTE (BR-Z @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 11:25)
Is there a reason for why I keep cracking my back unintentionally?

I assume you're talking about the Nitrogen bubbles which pop and make cracking noises. I don't know; do you usually stretch your back or maybe get into uncomfortable positions? That may be one reason. You did say unintentionally so I'm not sure.

@DestaliusDark

lil weasel I'm presuming is one of the oldest members here. There are other older members though like CG host JAJ or his brother jaj's brother . There may be many more we don't know. I believe Slamman was an older member as well, I heard he's doing well in life; that's good to know.

BR-Z
  • BR-Z

    <Zee's Head>

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2013

#13958

Posted 26 June 2013 - 06:11 AM

It happens a lot when I sit down in a chair. It's not like it hurts or anything I just notice the cracking sound.

Sneakerhead.
  • Sneakerhead.

    ☛✔Goals Achieved: 1/1☚

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#13959

Posted 26 June 2013 - 07:11 AM

On BF3, when using the DAO-12 (My favorite gun ever, I have a lvl100 star next to it lol), I can hear what sounds like a clicking sound, is the the bullets popping out?

Jimmy_Leppard
  • Jimmy_Leppard

    DYOM mission designer/user

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2010
  • None

#13960

Posted 26 June 2013 - 09:38 AM

I have a question, it's for Chinese members around here, but anyone is free to share their opinion.

Do you feel ripped off or cheated as a tourist after you buy a souvenir at some country (for ex. U.S.) and then you see it was made in China? I'd be pissed off.

GreatGig
  • GreatGig

    Ron Swanson, A Swan Song.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#13961

Posted 26 June 2013 - 09:48 AM

QUOTE (TheGreatGig23 @ Tuesday, Jun 25 2013, 10:54)
I'm going to be getting a new phone next month. I'll be ditching Samsung in favour of HTC and was wondering if there's any way I can also switch my settings, apps, account stuff, etc.? I mention the brands because I don't know if that would play any kind of part in hindering me or whether because both run Android it'll be an effortless task.

Any advice concerning the switch is more than welcome icon14.gif

Just quoting this onto a new page.

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#13962

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:03 AM

GTAF going up and down for anyone the past few hours?

Sneakerhead.
  • Sneakerhead.

    ☛✔Goals Achieved: 1/1☚

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2011
  • None

#13963

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:11 AM

QUOTE (AndyGanteks @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 10:03)
GTAF going up and down for anyone the past few hours?

It went down earlier for me, but only for about 30 minutes. confused.gif

AndyGanteks
  • AndyGanteks

    The Yardies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005
  • Jamaica
  • Contribution Award [Sports]
    Most Skilled Player 2013
    Best Event 2013 "GTAF Gang League 2013"
    Most Valuable Player 2012
    Best Contributor [Multiplayer] 2012
    Most Valuable Player 2011
    Winner of World Cup 2010 Prediction League
    Best Event 2010 "GTAF Gang League 2010"
    Most Valuable Player 2010
    Best Team Player 2010

#13964

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:11 AM

Yeah same - cheers, i was just wondering if it's me and my net, or for everyone.

Shou
  • Shou

    y

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Jamaica
  • Best Signature 2013
    Best Signature 2012

#13965

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:21 AM

QUOTE (TheGreatGig23 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 15:48)
if there's any way I can also switch my settings, apps, account stuff, etc.?

I'm slightly confused about this sentence. Are you talking about the Apps that you download from the Play Store. If yes then I believe you'll have to download the apps again on your new HTC device so you wont have to purchase them again. I believe all your account stuff will remain the same since it's an account for your android device, it's not the settings of the phone or anything. Phone settings will change since it's a completely different device.

Again, I was slightly confused with the question. Particularly with that sentence, could you make it a bit more clear?

W2B
  • W2B

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2013
  • South-Africa

#13966

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:28 AM

QUOTE (AndyGanteks @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 12:03)
GTAF going up and down for anyone the past few hours?

Yes. It's normal. Happens at least once a week or every other week

GreatGig
  • GreatGig

    Ron Swanson, A Swan Song.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#13967

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:31 AM

QUOTE (shoumic @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 11:21)
Again, I was slightly confused with the question. Particularly with that sentence, could you make it a bit more clear?

Apologies. I hadn't realised I'd messed up the first bit. I meant to ask "switch my settings for apps", for example I have the Holo Launcher on my Samsung and I've got it exactly how I like it so I was wondering if there was a way to carry it all over to the HTC? Then again, seeing as though I'd have to download the app again I assume I'd have to start from scratch with it.

I just thought that maybe Android would have some sort of thing where when you switch phones they can sync everything from your old one to your new one to make life a bit easier.

The Armageddon
  • The Armageddon

    Zohair Irani

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2013

#13968

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:36 AM

Is there any topic where we can post
-funny moments of our Life ?
-Something we want to share about what recently happened
-Facts
-Most recent developments in Science and Technology

Or should we just make a new topic as and when we come to know something and we need to share it here ?

Thanks. smile.gif




Shou
  • Shou

    y

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2012
  • Jamaica
  • Best Signature 2013
    Best Signature 2012

#13969

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:43 AM

QUOTE (TheGreatGig23 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 16:31)
Apologies. I hadn't realised I'd messed up the first bit. I meant to ask "switch my settings for apps", for example I have the Holo Launcher on my Samsung and I've got it exactly how I like it so I was wondering if there was a way to carry it all over to the HTC? Then again, seeing as though I'd have to download the app again I assume I'd have to start from scratch with it.

I don't think this is possible because of the different ways the two 'Brand' devices save data for applications. So I think with the new device you'll have to make your Holo launcher settings the way you want all over again. I'm not completely sure about this, but since you have to download the application all over again I just don't see how the saved data which your Samsung device contains will sync onto the new HTC device. Especially since your game data isn't linked to your Google Play account.

GreatGig
  • GreatGig

    Ron Swanson, A Swan Song.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#13970

Posted 26 June 2013 - 10:53 AM

I was thinking more along the lines of using the data stored on the SD card, as in, if I were to move the app to my card then there might be some way to read the data.

It's not a problem anyway, I'll just do it manually. Thanks, man icon14.gif

trip
  • trip

    ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2007
  • United-States

#13971

Posted 26 June 2013 - 11:23 AM

QUOTE (TheGreatGig23 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 06:53)
I was thinking more along the lines of using the data stored on the SD card, as in, if I were to move the app to my card then there might be some way to read the data.

It's not a problem anyway, I'll just do it manually. Thanks, man icon14.gif

I just picked up an HTC one. It comes with sync software that offers a few different methods to transfer everything from your old phone. Most of my stuff is google based so I had no issues, but I used the Bluetooth option in the sync software.

I have yet to comfirm if all my app data transferred.

GreatGig
  • GreatGig

    Ron Swanson, A Swan Song.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#13972

Posted 26 June 2013 - 12:03 PM

Ah, I thought they'd have something like that. I'm getting an older HTC so I don't think it'll have that feature but it's good knowing there's a chance.

I've just sorted through all the apps I'm keeping and there's not as much as I first thought so it's not too much bother.

Andreas
  • Andreas

    GTA V/Online Forum Leader

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#13973

Posted 26 June 2013 - 01:40 PM Edited by Carl CJ Johnsons Brother Brian, 26 June 2013 - 01:42 PM.

QUOTE (AceKingston @ Tuesday, Jun 25 2013, 05:19)
Kinda late but why was SIP YEK NOD banned?

I saw this post yesterday already, but I remember something now. Someone showed some screenshots of The Pit here in Gen Chat a few weeks ago. In one of them, it showed that a global mod [I think it was anuj?] created a topic where it said that the first person who posts in there is getting a perma ban. And SIP YEK NOD was the first person who replied to it. I'm not entirely certain about it so don't hold me on that.

Zizo.
  • Zizo.

    DYOM Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Aug 2012
  • Tunisia
  • Best DYOM Mission 2012 [Resident Evil 4]

#13974

Posted 26 June 2013 - 02:05 PM

What's better, The Sims 2 (With no expansion packs) or The Sims 1 (With all expansion packs)?

ExtremoMania
  • ExtremoMania

    Just a dose of metal everyday

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2012
  • Philippines

#13975

Posted 26 June 2013 - 03:04 PM

Since this thread is about to hit 700 pages, I'll make a few clear questions to ask in regards to the continuing success of this thread since I'm not yet here around that time. Why is the original topic was locked despite not being spammed? And how this topic continue to survive over a year and months pass?

Miro
  • Miro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#13976

Posted 26 June 2013 - 03:12 PM

Oooh, it was spammed, and a lot. Just look at the last about 10 pages of it, and you'll see many posts that are related to this guy, Sam998. I've searched up his name to show all posts related to it from the General Off-Topic Chat forum, and you can see how many of them are from the previous "Have A Question?" topic. Page #1 & #2. Everyone was asking all kinds of stuff about him, why he was banned, and stuff alike. Andrew was annoyed by this and decided to lock that topic up since it was full of Sam-related questions and make a new one.

The reason why this is still up and running is because it's not been spammed, obviously.

Mockage
  • Mockage

    Fljótavík

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2011
  • United-States

#13977

Posted 26 June 2013 - 03:21 PM

QUOTE (TheGreatGig23 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 08:03)
Ah, I thought they'd have something like that. I'm getting an older HTC so I don't think it'll have that feature but it's good knowing there's a chance.

I've just sorted through all the apps I'm keeping and there's not as much as I first thought so it's not too much bother.

Bam, MyBackup Pro for Android. Works flawlessly for non-rooted phones. However if you're not too keen with spending $4 on it then I wouldn't take it. It's worth it though.

Mince
  • Mince

    Ménage ŕ trois

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2008
  • United-States

#13978

Posted 26 June 2013 - 05:55 PM

Anyone else tried to download the Windows 8.1 preview and ran into an error? When I go the "Get Update" page it says that the page can't be found, on both Firefox and Chrome.

na89340qv0n34b09q340
  • na89340qv0n34b09q340

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2010
  • Democratic-Republic-of-the-Congo

#13979

Posted 26 June 2013 - 09:21 PM Edited by zoo3891, 26 June 2013 - 09:24 PM.

QUOTE (Zizo008 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 10:05)
What's better, The Sims 2 (With no expansion packs) or The Sims 1 (With all expansion packs)?

That's an opinion question. The Sims 1 is kind of chunky, and there's not as much realism in it, but if you've got all of the expansions it could last you weeks and you'd have lots to do. The Sims 2 would be pretty boring without any expansions, but it comes with aging, family trees, and a few more features that make it a little more realistic and worthwhile if you're into that.

If you're comparing them because you want to buy one of them I'd suggest picking up Sims 2: Double Deluxe which comes with Nightlife installed, and can't be more than maybe $5 more than the original nowadays. Then you could buy expansions as you go. I picked up The Sims 1 for nostalgia's sake a few months ago, and except for the music I was disappointed.

Also there's a Sims topic in the gaming chat section if you want more opinions. I don't think they'd mind the bump. smile.gif

Nlwt
  • Nlwt

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2013
  • Lesotho

#13980

Posted 26 June 2013 - 09:24 PM

QUOTE (mincemate003 @ Wednesday, Jun 26 2013, 18:55)
Anyone else tried to download the Windows 8.1 preview and ran into an error? When I go the "Get Update" page it says that the page can't be found, on both Firefox and Chrome.

It froze mine. bored.gif

Probably because mine is a bit crappy, but my friend had a similar error to yours so it may be a problem with the preview.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users