Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Have A Question? V2

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
22,856 replies to this topic
Craig
  • Craig

    Hell Interface

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2007
  • None
  • Best Writer 2011

#5311

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:17 PM

Never underestimate the Russians.

So, I work night shifts permanently and while this isn't a problem, I'd like to get more out of my rest. Most times when I wake in the afternoon to get ready for my shift, I'm quite groggy for around 20 minutes which really shakes my productivity and even knocks my mood when it happens frequently. I work from 8PM to 8AM, and my typical schedule is to have a shower, eat something and sit in bed with some music and a hot drink until about 10, half 10 maybe. I wake up between half past 4 and 5PM, where I'll do the same - I'll shower, eat and generally get ready as I go on my laptop and play more music. The repetition isn't the problem because I like what I do in between, it's the actual sleep. I'm groggy due to snapping out of REM sleep (I assume), which kicks in after 40 minutes I hear. If I can feel better with less sleep, I'd like that, and I feel I could probably take advantage of that seeing as I work only 3 or 4 in a row tops.

Not really worded into a question, so I'll break it down for the tl;dr crew - what I do and when can I sleep to reduce the groggy feeling I get when I get up due to poorly planned sleep? I can work on much less, but will I feel better?

Robinski
  • Robinski

    Under a fluorescent sky

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2007

#5312

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:21 PM

As I understand it, you go through a number of REM sleep cycles during the course of a nights sleep. It's best if you can time waking up when you're at the furthest point from REM. This basic "sleep calculator" claims to be able to calculate that pretty accurately.

According to that, if you want to be up at 5PM, aim to go to bed around 9:30 or 11:00.

Fnorg
  • Fnorg

    OG

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2008
  • None

#5313

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:32 PM

If you've got an iPhone, check out Sleep Cycle. You set a time to wake up, and it'll wake you up when it detects that you're moving. Say you set it for 1700, but it detects that you're moving around a lot at 1645 it'll start to fade in music then to wake you up. It will turn itself on at 1700 regardless of your current state of sleep. You can fiddle with the setting, but the default "waking window" of 30 minutes has been kind to me most of the time. The snooze function is activated by moving and the snooze period gets shorter every time you turn it on, so it'll wake you up really gently and on time.

Craig
  • Craig

    Hell Interface

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2007
  • None
  • Best Writer 2011

#5314

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:34 PM

Thanks to both, I'll look into that app, sounds interesting.

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#5315

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:39 PM Edited by lil weasel, 06 May 2012 - 04:42 PM.

Many years of 'third shift' work.
To make sleeping more restful Black Out your windows to the exclusion of all light, and get a small Fan to run (Air Condioners are best) to have a steady Noise to cancell any neighbourhood or building noises.
A cardboard sheet fitted to the window(s) is easily removable, or Aluminum Foil which also reflects heat if you're in a sun drenched area.
A sleeping temperature of 68-72f. is the most comfortable, the slight chill makes breathing easier. Tilting the bed with the head highter an inch or three is also relaxing.

An X10 lighting system (switchs) are nice too. You can turn the main (ceiling) light on and off from the bed.

Craig
  • Craig

    Hell Interface

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2007
  • None
  • Best Writer 2011

#5316

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:45 PM

The bed-titling thing I already do, what with my pillows, and I control the main source of my light from my bed anyway so I've got that covered. As for noise, I usually play some white noise or something akin to that (Merzbow usually) on my iPod through headphones or even through my stereo when nobody's home. I suppose I could do with a darker room though my curtains do let a lot of light in.

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#5317

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:46 PM

http://www.gtaforums...ct=SF&f=225&st=

What is this section? Why it isn't shown in the Homepage?

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#5318

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:56 PM

QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 16:46)
http://www.gtaforums...ct=SF&f=225&st=

What is this section? Why it isn't shown in the Homepage?

It's an archived section, apparently; I don't really know what that means though.

NCONiall
  • NCONiall

    Alright Dave?

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2010
  • European-Union

#5319

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:59 PM

QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 17:46)
http://www.gtaforums...ct=SF&f=225&st=

What is this section? Why it isn't shown in the Homepage?

That's a GTA IV news section. Since IV was released 4 years ago I can see why it's no longer on the homepage.

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#5320

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:01 PM

QUOTE (Los Santos Pedestrian @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 22:26)
QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 16:46)
http://www.gtaforums...ct=SF&f=225&st=

What is this section? Why it isn't shown in the Homepage?

It's an archived section, apparently; I don't really know what that means though.

It means the forum is read-only.

Finn 7 five 11
  • Finn 7 five 11

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#5321

Posted 06 May 2012 - 10:23 PM Edited by finn4life, 06 May 2012 - 10:26 PM.

QUOTE (Craig @ Monday, May 7 2012, 03:45)
The bed-titling thing I already do, what with my pillows, and I control the main source of my light from my bed anyway so I've got that covered. As for noise, I usually play some white noise or something akin to that (Merzbow usually) on my iPod through headphones or even through my stereo when nobody's home. I suppose I could do with a darker room though my curtains do let a lot of light in.

If you want to try something other than white noise try a fan, you don't have to have it blowing hard, they use hardly any power.
You could have a pedestal fan near your bed or one of these.
user posted image

I put this on my bedside table point it so it isn't blowing on me and it covers most noise, barely uses any power, and i sleep really well.
That could be a little more comfortable than headphones and won't fall out of your ear plus it will give some air circulation.

gtafreak103
  • gtafreak103

    Haters gonna hate, n00bs gonna imitate

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2011

#5322

Posted 07 May 2012 - 02:00 AM

Got a 0 on a test what should I do?

AlexGTAGamer
  • AlexGTAGamer

    Time flies when you throw a clock.

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2010
  • None

#5323

Posted 07 May 2012 - 02:02 AM

QUOTE (gtafreak103 @ Monday, May 7 2012, 03:00)
Got a 0 on a test what should I do?

Depends on what the test is about.

The most simple answer would be, retake if possible.

Greenline
  • Greenline

    Page 3 Girl

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2011
  • Iran

#5324

Posted 07 May 2012 - 02:11 AM

QUOTE (gtafreak103 @ Monday, May 7 2012, 06:30)
Got a 0 on a test what should I do?

You should contribute the class during the lesson, do all the work you've been given and try to make a good impression. Teachers take that into consideration when it's time to grade you.

As Alex said, retaking the test would also be really good, but there is a chance that that won't work. (the teacher might say that it's unfair for the others).

Try to do projects too.

Assuming you're writing another test, then actual studying should help you a lot. It's not about listening in class, it's about training it at home. If you're seriously in deep sh*t, you should take notes and try your best to take the class' information home.

Good luck. icon14.gif

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#5325

Posted 07 May 2012 - 02:14 AM Edited by leik oh em jeez!, 07 May 2012 - 02:25 AM.

QUOTE (Craig @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 11:17)
Not really worded into a question, so I'll break it down for the tl;dr crew - what I do and when can I sleep to reduce the groggy feeling I get when I get up due to poorly planned sleep? I can work on much less, but will I feel better?

I sleep like a baby whenever it's storming. Perhaps rainymood.com for some ambient sound could help? I don't know, everyone's different. Might help, might not.

If it's just the groggy feeling that's bothering you, then shotgun a few Mountain Dews when you wake up.

QUOTE
Got a 0 on a test what should I do?

I'm guessing you missed the test or slept through it? Try not skipping class, paying attention in class, staying awake in class, sitting in the front row of seats in class, etc. If your teacher will let you make it up or retake it, then do that. Hell, if it's multiple choice ABCD, you should get around a 25 just guessing on every question.
If you just really don't know the subject, try doing all of the homework, and going over the lesson yourself a few times at home. If you still don't understand something after that, look it up online. If it's geometry, then just memorize the formulas.

na89340qv0n34b09q340
  • na89340qv0n34b09q340

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2010
  • Saint-Martin

#5326

Posted 07 May 2012 - 02:20 AM Edited by zoo3891, 07 May 2012 - 02:24 AM.

QUOTE
Not really worded into a question, so I'll break it down for the tl;dr crew - what I do and when can I sleep to reduce the groggy feeling I get when I get up due to poorly planned sleep? I can work on much less, but will I feel better?


It's already been mentioned but I'd like to stress it. Sleepy Time is an amazing sleep calculator. I use it when I have something important to do the next day and always wake up feeling refreshed. After waking up there's not much you can do but take a cold shower and eat a refreshing breakfast.

QUOTE
Got a 0 on a test what should I do?

Suck up to the teacher, but don't make it obvious. Do your work well for the next two weeks or so, fly below the radar, and hope that they think you've improved. You should improve anyways, but you don't want your teacher to hold that 0 against you if you can't improve.

Boulevard
  • Boulevard

    Rat

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2012

#5327

Posted 07 May 2012 - 03:35 AM

Hey I have a Rebel T3i and record in 1920x1080 24fps, but when I try to edit the footage in Premiere Pro - the video lags. Anybody know how to fix this problem?

Also, if you'd had to choose one, would you choose Premiere Pro or Final Cut Pro? And Why?

Anybody know good sites on tutorials strictly for shooting videos with a Rebel T3i?

Senax
  • Senax

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2011

#5328

Posted 07 May 2012 - 06:57 AM Edited by Senax, 07 May 2012 - 07:11 AM.

Have there ever been a nuclear bomb used in a conflict or are they just used as "threats"?

EDIT: Nevermind i got it answered biggrin.gif

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#5329

Posted 07 May 2012 - 07:11 AM

Since the bombing of Japan, No. Just threats.

Jay
  • Jay

    1984 - 2011

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#5330

Posted 07 May 2012 - 07:39 AM

Nearly, though

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Empty Pleasures and Desperate Measures since 1994

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#5331

Posted 07 May 2012 - 09:14 AM

QUOTE (Jay @ Monday, May 7 2012, 08:39)
Nearly, though

Another "nearly"
And another
And another

Jay
  • Jay

    1984 - 2011

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#5332

Posted 07 May 2012 - 09:17 AM

QUOTE (sivispacem @ Monday, May 7 2012, 18:44)
QUOTE (Jay @ Monday, May 7 2012, 08:39)
Nearly, though

Another "nearly"
And another
And another

There was definitely a Cracked.com article about this sort of stuff.

Toğrul
  • Toğrul

    Yeaah

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2010
  • Azerbaijan

#5333

Posted 07 May 2012 - 10:32 AM

Q:
user posted image

What's the diffence with this ban's?

Dr. John
  • Dr. John

    Women and Wine

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2011
  • India

#5334

Posted 07 May 2012 - 10:44 AM

The first one means that the member was unbanned once but he is again banned. The second one we all know, BUSTED!

AnotherDave
  • AnotherDave

    Ctrl + Alt + Defecate

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 12 May 2007
  • None

#5335

Posted 07 May 2012 - 11:31 AM

QUOTE (Boulevard @ Monday, May 7 2012, 03:35)
Hey I have a Rebel T3i and record in 1920x1080 24fps, but when I try to edit the footage in Premiere Pro - the video lags. Anybody know how to fix this problem?

Also, if you'd had to choose one, would you choose Premiere Pro or Final Cut Pro? And Why?

Anybody know good sites on tutorials strictly for shooting videos with a Rebel T3i?

The first thing I'd try, if you haven't already, is to render the work area (Sequence > Render Entire Work Area), which could help. On the hardware side, what's the spec of the computer you're using? The lag could be the computer struggling to keep up with what you're asking it to do. Premiere will need a minimum of 2gb of RAM - ideally 4gb, or more if possible - and will work best with separate scratch disks (Settings > Scratch Disks).

As for Final Cut vs Premiere, I use Premiere pretty much exclusively as a lot of my work is done on PC, but when I've used Final Cut it's always struck me as remarkably similar. I haven't used Final Cut X yet though, which is apparently something of a step back from what I've heard. Adobe get my vote here.

Shooting video with the Rebel T3i / 600D won't be much different to shooting with any other Canon camera, so many tutorials will be relevant even if they use a different model. I don't use tutorials myself so I can't really recommend any sites, but the forums at DVInfo.net are a great place to start if there's something specific you need to ask about.

Jay
  • Jay

    1984 - 2011

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#5336

Posted 07 May 2012 - 12:04 PM

QUOTE (Dr. John13 @ Monday, May 7 2012, 20:14)
The first one means that the member was unbanned once but he is again banned. The second one we all know, BUSTED!

No, it doesn't.

One means they're in the Busted group (which means B&, as we know), another means they've received 5 warnings, which is a remnant of the old system of positive and negative stars (again, led to a ban).

It just depends on how the mod who banned the dude went about it.

blitz
  • blitz

    yeah no

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2011
  • None
  • Newcomer of the Year 2011

#5337

Posted 07 May 2012 - 09:13 PM

QUOTE (Boulevard @ Sunday, May 6 2012, 22:35)
Hey I have a Rebel T3i and record in 1920x1080 24fps, but when I try to edit the footage in Premiere Pro - the video lags. Anybody know how to fix this problem?

Also, if you'd had to choose one, would you choose Premiere Pro or Final Cut Pro? And Why?

Anybody know good sites on tutorials strictly for shooting videos with a Rebel T3i?

It's most probably your computer, it's normal though. I'd personally recommend FCP X, it's what I use and I'm extremely happy with it.

About the tuts, search on YouTube. I'm sure you'll find something.

Icarus
  • Icarus

    [C9] Orthonormal

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2002
  • None

#5338

Posted 07 May 2012 - 09:18 PM

QUOTE (Jay @ Monday, May 7 2012, 06:04)
another means they've received 5 warnings, which is a remnant of the old system of positive and negative stars (again, led to a ban).

People claim it's strict here nowadays. Christ, you could get 4 stars for having an oversized signature back in the day. Ask Andy.

Los Santos Pedestrian
  • Los Santos Pedestrian

    Then as it was, but again it will be

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#5339

Posted 07 May 2012 - 11:46 PM

How active is VC:MP these days?

Original Light
  • Original Light

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2011

#5340

Posted 08 May 2012 - 12:03 AM

QUOTE (Los Santos Pedestrian @ Monday, May 7 2012, 16:46)
How active is VC:MP these days?

From what I heard, it's not as busy, but you can still find some servers. Again, I haven't seen for myself, but a friend told me a few months ago back in January.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users