Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA IV] Player Rigging Tutorial

245 replies to this topic
Pants_Johnson
  • Pants_Johnson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2012

#211

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:18 PM

Hi Fidox,

Thanks for the reply buddy i have been tinkering for the last 24 hours to no end. So i have set the material id to 1, whenever i import niko's head it says there are no textures, i thought thebase texture file was kept in the model file and only the diffuse was kept somewhere else...? I also used the include function as opposed to the dictionary item. I apologize for my noobness, im a zbrush user and only just started using max for gta4, otherwise im a maya user, and a very basic one at that. smile.gif

FidoX
  • FidoX

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010

#212

Posted 02 March 2012 - 01:15 AM Edited by fidox, 02 March 2012 - 01:18 AM.

Oh I see.It happened to me as well.I don't know why but while exporting, max (or the script) deleted my texture files.The solution was that I put the texture files in the folder (head_000_r/texinclude) which the script created and made them read-only.You can store the diffuse map(base texture) bump and spec. map in the model file but the game loads the diffuse map from the wtd file anyway.
Edit: I started to mod GTAIV like a month ago so no problemo biggrin.gif I'm a noob too smile.gif

Pants_Johnson
  • Pants_Johnson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2012

#213

Posted 02 March 2012 - 07:18 AM

THanks fidox i will try that later on tonight! ps any idea about the eyes? When i removed nikos head there was nothing but the bones, do i need to make eyes? Do i need to close the holes in my model is is that not necessary?

FidoX
  • FidoX

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010

#214

Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:04 PM

The original head model includes the eyes too.So yes, you need to make the eyes.You could use Niko's eyes as well but it would be a pain in the ass(putting Niko's eyes' textures to yours and then reUVmaping it...).As long as the holes doesn't appear ingame it's not a problem.

wapeddell
  • wapeddell

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#215

Posted 12 March 2012 - 03:49 AM

I will be adding a tutorial on how to do facial animations it's a 30 minute tutorial and I made a video that will show you how.

Pants_Johnson
  • Pants_Johnson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2012

#216

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:33 PM

Thanks for all the help guys, your the best!!!! I got my model working without rigging the face, also got my textures working, i had to use the gims editor and not the 3dsmax one..im not sure why but its working and as they say if it aint broke dont fix it! Im posting some shots of my working head! Im waiting for the next tut so i can get the eyes working! I also need to remove the hair because my model is supposed to be bald smile.gif

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

Pants_Johnson
  • Pants_Johnson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2012

#217

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:41 PM

ps anyone know why my zbrush texture looks so crap ingame, im using a 4096 tex that retains most of its clarity even in photoshop? Im posting a zbrush shot to show you guys, i dont think my bump map is working? Any ideas?
user posted image

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#218

Posted 14 March 2012 - 01:00 PM

Try to reduce it's size. 4k seems alot. 2k is more than enough.

N-field
  • N-field

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#219

Posted 27 March 2012 - 07:48 PM

I just recently learned that alot of models for other games dont use bones for facial animations at all, but rather blendshapes, and I also see blendshapes files for gta4 for cutscene peds..... is there another way to do face animations in gta4??? I heard that blendshapes can do a much wider range of facial expressions....

Marty McFly
  • Marty McFly

    Follow the train, CJ!

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2010
  • None

#220

Posted 16 May 2012 - 11:32 AM

What do I have to do if the face uses multiple textures? My model has one for the face, one for the hair and one for the eyes...

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#221

Posted 16 May 2012 - 11:58 AM

QUOTE (Marty McFly @ Wednesday, May 16 2012, 08:32)
What do I have to do if the face uses multiple textures? My model has one for the face, one for the hair and one for the eyes...

Merge them in 1 texture and UV map it again.

covarasa
  • covarasa

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 May 2012

#222

Posted 25 May 2012 - 12:31 AM Edited by covarasa, 25 May 2012 - 12:45 AM.

hi friend! I have a question... I need to change just the head of my character, but the head is divided into: skull, eyes, hair and hat. I have a texture to each of these parts ... it is possible to merge all parts into a single and transform all textures in one only?

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#223

Posted 25 May 2012 - 12:50 AM

QUOTE (covarasa @ Thursday, May 24 2012, 21:31)
hi friend! I have a question... I need to change just the head of my character, but the head is divided into: skull, eyes, hair and hat. I have a texture to each of these parts ... it is possible to merge all parts into a single and transform all textures in one only?

Yes, as I said above your post. Merge the textures on 1, and UV map your head again.
You should be able to find tutorials in Google.

covarasa
  • covarasa

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 May 2012

#224

Posted 25 May 2012 - 01:48 AM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Friday, May 25 2012, 00:50)
QUOTE (covarasa @ Thursday, May 24 2012, 21:31)
hi friend! I have a question... I need to change just the head of my character, but the head is divided into: skull, eyes, hair and hat. I have a texture to each of these parts ... it is possible to merge all parts into a single and transform all textures in one only?

Yes, as I said above your post. Merge the textures on 1, and UV map your head again.
You should be able to find tutorials in Google.

ok man! thanks for answering.

Dud123
  • Dud123

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2011

#225

Posted 19 June 2012 - 03:17 AM

what if i just want to rigg a head?

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#226

Posted 19 June 2012 - 11:51 AM

QUOTE (Dud123 @ Tuesday, Jun 19 2012, 00:17)
what if i just want to rigg a head?

Just... rig the head.

Dud123
  • Dud123

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2011

#227

Posted 24 June 2012 - 04:53 AM

i cant get the unwrap uvw technique to work.
any tutorial that you used?

NIRS11
  • NIRS11

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2012

#228

Posted 04 July 2012 - 05:51 AM

PLEASE HELP ! when i eport my model from GIMS iv i gets an error saying "devmodel/ig_brucie have no geometries"
please solve this

spoonweg
  • spoonweg

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2012

#229

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:57 AM

hi all,
is there a tutorial like this for making new ped models ?

since 4 days i try to use this tutorial for making a new ped model.
i dont have ODR files, i have ODD, so i cant use this tutorial...

while browsing with gims iv to the models i found in the cutsprops.img a nice model called "cs_whippinggirl".
i want to use this for making a new "f_y_stripperc02" model.
since the "cs_whippinggirl" had no X on the breasts and is nice textureable.

user posted image

so first i did was replacing old "f_y_stripperc02" .wdd .wdt .wft with the ones from "cs_whippinggirl".
result: shows up in game, but model wont fit to the animations sad.gif

next i use same step without the skelleton file .wtf
result: massive grafic errors since new model polygones floating the whole screen sad.gif

so last step was using this tutorial, to fit the model.
result: 4 days working, model shown up but no animations...

heres what i did:
i want to use "uppr_000_r" from "cs_whippinggirl" ped model in "f_y_stripperc02" ped model, to have new breasts only.
so i merge "cs_whippinggirl" "uppr_000_r" to the "f_y_stripperc02" ped model scene, next i attach it to "f_y_stripperc02" "uppr_000_r".
(while attaching the skelleton structure will used on "cs_whippinggirl - uppr_000_r" from "f_y_stripperc02 - uppr_000_r".)
then i remove all polygones from the old "uppr_000_r", so have only left the new polygones from new "uppr_000_r".
i got it working to export as ODD with creating new textures ODT.
wen i convert them with gims iv to .wdd and .wdt it shows up in the game, but theres no animations...so fail.

so i give up now, dont know more what to do sad.gif

maybe one of you have a idea what can i do to get it working or can point me to a tutorial for making new ped models ?
or how to get the ODR files and not a ODD, so i can step up this tutorial ?


YouKilledKenny17
  • YouKilledKenny17

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2012

#230

Posted 12 August 2012 - 08:28 PM

I finished rigging the head of the hl2 gman model, but when i put it into the game, it crashes on loadup.

Any ideas?

YouKilledKenny17
  • YouKilledKenny17

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2012

#231

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:30 PM

I've tried every freaking solution, i've followed ALL of the steps, but EVERYTIME i rig the head and put it in the game, it CRASHES ON LOADUP!!!!!!!!!!!

I REALLY need help on this!!!!!! angry.gif angry.gif angry.gif

snipeingkicker
  • snipeingkicker

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009

#232

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:11 AM

user posted image

now if i delete dev model

user posted image

RoosterArmament
  • RoosterArmament

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2012

#233

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:08 AM

Hi guys,

If anyone here knows how to rigg players and peds, I would need some help please:

1) I successfully converted a Player to GTA IV and it works as a Player but when I try to turn it to a Ped, it crashed my game.

2) I've converted another model but this time taking a PED as a base, I do everything I'm supposed to do and then export it as an ODD. Then when I open it whith Open IV, the Head has been turned 90 degrees to the left. I try it ingame and it crashes.

Could you help?

Mr. Jago
  • Mr. Jago

    Dreams, what are they

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 May 2011
  • United-States

#234

Posted 19 October 2012 - 03:31 AM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Wednesday, Jul 20 2011, 11:07)
Yeah black, that's the bug. On some wheaters it looks okay though.

SpartanTMcC: You are not blind, 3D MAX is a professional tool, it's expensive. You can downlaod the 30 Days trial.
And no, only 3D Max can be used.

I got something better:

http://students.auto...download_center

If you say you're homeschooled on the survey then you can get a student key which is basically full activation, except it lasts two years if I remember correctly.

TehStranger
  • TehStranger

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2013

#235

Posted 18 January 2013 - 03:58 AM

Hey. I did every single thing exactly like the tutorial and i get the following errors...user posted image

YouKilledKenny17
  • YouKilledKenny17

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2012

#236

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:33 AM

user posted image

Is it a 3ds max problem, the gims iv, or both?

aliliel
  • aliliel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2010

#237

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:23 PM

I get a file validator Error saying:

Invalid File "Filename > in this case head_000_r.odr"!
It has wrong Format, or Encrypted!

and then I can press ok and it didn't import anything confused.gif

DlZZEE
  • DlZZEE

    PC peasant

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • None

#238

Posted 18 February 2013 - 04:52 PM

Could anyone help? I can't import files confused.gif .

user posted image

Also OP should update the post, It's outdated and he didn't even finished the tutorial after 2 years sad.gif .

kadu
  • kadu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2013

#239

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:15 PM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Wednesday, Jul 13 2011, 08:40)
Reserved.
Torso and Legs rigging.

Soon...

And torso?????????

Firstyminator
  • Firstyminator

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2013

#240

Posted 25 April 2013 - 04:30 PM

May i be so bold, to ask this simple question?

I have a PED, which had two uppr_ models.

I removed the uppr_000, and renamed uppr_001 to 000 - Everything seems normal in both 3DS and OpenIV.

But when i get ingame, the uppr_000 does not show at all, its invisible.

Materials seems to be mapped correctly. This is a ped that worked before the removal of uppr_000, i only remapped UV, and changed the texture file.

Any idea what could cause this?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users