Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA IV] Player Rigging Tutorial

245 replies to this topic
ac.amir
  • ac.amir

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2011
  • None

#181

Posted 08 December 2011 - 12:01 PM

Hello everyone,I'm new to gta iv modding and i don't know about rig a Torso model and What is different with rig a head model?
my problem is that when exporting model will be Bad form and my big problem is arms,see it

user posted image
please help me

wapeddell
  • wapeddell

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#182

Posted 09 December 2011 - 10:39 PM

QUOTE (acc.amir @ Thursday, Dec 8 2011, 12:01)
Hello everyone,I'm new to gta iv modding and i don't know about rig a Torso model and What is different with rig a head model?
my problem is that when exporting model will be Bad form and my big problem is arms,see it

user posted image
please help me

Smoothing error when you select editable mesh modifier then select polygon then hit ctrl + a to select all then go down to the bottom where there are number for ex. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and so on you will see blank boxes after selecting all double click them until the number appears make sure that 1 is selected after doing so.

ac.amir
  • ac.amir

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2011
  • None

#183

Posted 10 December 2011 - 11:44 PM

QUOTE
Smoothing error when you select editable mesh modifier then select polygon then hit ctrl + a to select all then go down to the bottom where there are number for ex. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and so on you will see blank boxes after selecting all double click them until the number appears make sure that 1 is selected after doing so.

thanks wapeddell

line
  • line

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2011

#184

Posted 12 December 2011 - 11:53 AM Edited by line, 12 December 2011 - 12:23 PM.

Hey Fellow Modders, Today I come to you with a problem of mine. This problem, is reaally F***in annoying. The UV map on my character, keeps on mucking up, No Matter what I do, When I attach the Mesh of my Character to the Uppr_000_u, The UV map just stuffs up and turns into a wrap of the Top view, Even when I add the Unwrap UVW modifier, and re-add the correct uv, then collapse to Editable Mesh, when i export it to wdr, It goes back to the Effed up Uv's. And also, the Hair UVs (which are in the same mesh) are on ID 2 in the Unwrap UV menu, and I've tried everything to put it to channel ID 1.

EDIT: This is what the UV map looks like after attaching my mesh to the uppr_000_1
user posted image

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#185

Posted 12 December 2011 - 01:47 PM

That shouldn't happen. Are you sure the UV's are ok before attaching?

line
  • line

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2011

#186

Posted 12 December 2011 - 03:02 PM Edited by line, 13 December 2011 - 07:06 AM.

QUOTE (goin-god @ Monday, Dec 12 2011, 13:47)
That shouldn't happen. Are you sure the UV's are ok before attaching?

Yea, Even after attaching them, I re-setup the UVW Wrap and then COllapse to the Editable Mesh, and the same thing still happens on-export.

ac.amir
  • ac.amir

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2011
  • None

#187

Posted 12 December 2011 - 07:46 PM Edited by Girish, 13 December 2011 - 04:25 PM.

hello everyone
I have a problem with my mod,i converted chris model but not working on medium texture setting or low but working on high setting,What is the problem?How i can fix it?


Tomix23
  • Tomix23

    Yomo

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2010

#188

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:45 PM Edited by Girish, 13 December 2011 - 04:24 PM.

QUOTE (acc.amir @ Monday, Dec 12 2011, 19:46)
hello everyone
I have a problem with my mod,i converted chris model but not working on medium texture setting or low but working on high setting,What is the problem?How i can fix it?


Do not include the texture in the model.
btw, thanks for that mod, I was waiting for someone to make it biggrin.gif

ac.amir
  • ac.amir

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2011
  • None

#189

Posted 13 December 2011 - 12:07 AM

QUOTE

Do not include the texture in the model.
btw, thanks for that mod, I was waiting for someone to make it biggrin.gif

I didn't include the texture in model but the problem is that when import hands and shoes game will crash.

Patton171
  • Patton171

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011

#190

Posted 18 December 2011 - 08:24 PM

Hey guys

Great tutorial, I've managed to put some new clothes on niko .. but there's one main problem I keep running into :

user posted image

How do I get the sleeves in the right angle? I've tried bending it with vertex but this does funny things to the rest of the sleeve. This is what happens each time I try adjusting the angle so that the sleeve matches the skeleton:

user posted image


coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#191

Posted 18 December 2011 - 10:06 PM

Manualy moving polys or each vertex. There is no other easy way.

Patton171
  • Patton171

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011

#192

Posted 18 December 2011 - 10:18 PM

Hmm okay .. so dragging each blue dot to the right place? well I'll try but Im guessing it will never really turn out that good. Thanks for the quick reply biggrin.gif

ac.amir
  • ac.amir

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2011
  • None

#193

Posted 19 December 2011 - 07:48 AM Edited by acc.amir, 27 December 2011 - 11:20 PM.

How can i add head in cutscene?please help

Patton171
  • Patton171

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011

#194

Posted 19 December 2011 - 05:16 PM

Going-god .. the tuturial mostly applies to guns as well right? I tried converting one .. but the main problem is that even though in 3d max I have the hand position exactly right, ingame the handposition is off. Any idea how to fix that?

KonradGM
  • KonradGM

    GM of himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2010

#195

Posted 21 December 2011 - 02:29 PM

is rigging player is the same as rigging ped?

Patton171
  • Patton171

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011

#196

Posted 21 December 2011 - 02:47 PM

QUOTE (KonradGM @ Wednesday, Dec 21 2011, 14:29)
is rigging player is the same as rigging ped?

From what I've experienced it isn't the same, for one the ped is a complete model (head+body in 1 file) and I'm not sure about the ID codes.. you can't set it all to 1 I'm guessing? never had a complete working ped.. parts like the head seperate I got working but never a complete one. U should ask ac.amir he has done peds before

KonradGM
  • KonradGM

    GM of himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2010

#197

Posted 21 December 2011 - 08:55 PM

in gta IV lot of peds is also builded in parts
i mean it maybe not the same coz u need to save a little difrent but i mean in rigging in gta sa and vc in rigging it wasnt tht huge diffrence

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#198

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:04 AM

QUOTE (Patton171 @ Monday, Dec 19 2011, 14:16)
Going-god .. the tuturial mostly applies to guns as well right? I tried converting one .. but the main problem is that even though in 3d max I have the hand position exactly right, ingame the handposition is off. Any idea how to fix that?

Never did weapons for IV. I can't tell.

KonradGM: Yes, riging is the same. But exporting is diferent, and you may need to use ped bones.

KonradGM
  • KonradGM

    GM of himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2010

#199

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:27 PM

could you please tell the diffrence i would be very gratfoul

wapeddell
  • wapeddell

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#200

Posted 24 December 2011 - 05:18 AM

QUOTE (Patton171 @ Sunday, Dec 18 2011, 20:24)
Hey guys

Great tutorial, I've managed to put some new clothes on niko .. but there's one main problem I keep running into :

user posted image

How do I get the sleeves in the right angle? I've tried bending it with vertex but this does funny things to the rest of the sleeve. This is what happens each time I try adjusting the angle so that the sleeve matches the skeleton:

user posted image

Use biped that's how I bend my models in place.

KonradGM
  • KonradGM

    GM of himself

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2010

#201

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:27 PM

btw: how can i connect verticles and made from them face or edge ?

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#202

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:20 PM

QUOTE (KonradGM @ Sunday, Dec 25 2011, 16:27)
btw: how can i connect verticles and made from them face or edge ?

In Editable Poly select 2 verticles and hit Connect button. Keep in mind they must be in a face already.

If you mean you have verticles with no edges or faces, you use the Create button in Face mode from Editable Poly, you start clicking verticles and creating a polygon.

Patton171
  • Patton171

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011

#203

Posted 12 January 2012 - 01:29 PM

Oh thanks wapeddell, sry for the late reply. Looks do-able judging from tutorial films

alexcent50
  • alexcent50

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2011

#204

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:45 AM

Thank you very much for cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif this awsome Tut man! Take a look at my project[first]. inlove.gif

http://imageshack.us...2100075976.png/

nossers
  • nossers

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2010

#205

Posted 23 January 2012 - 11:23 PM

Hiya, for some odd reason whilst exporting I get 1 error saying :
Unknown object "Dev_model/ig_mallorie/*children/head_000_r/head_00_r" type found.

therefore my file isnt exporting, any help at all. Bare in mind I am new to 3ds, so if its something simple please bare with me smile.gif

carpathian
  • carpathian

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010

#206

Posted 27 January 2012 - 02:50 AM Edited by carpathian, 30 January 2012 - 05:02 AM.

problem solved.

Helpinghand
  • Helpinghand

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011

#207

Posted 06 February 2012 - 04:05 PM

The legs i rigged fo niko don't move, they just stand still while the feet move. How can i fix this?

Thanks

FidoX
  • FidoX

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • None
  • Best Player Texture/Model 2012 [HD Claude for GTAIV]

#208

Posted 10 February 2012 - 12:11 PM Edited by fidox, 16 February 2012 - 12:05 PM.

Could anybody tell me how to fix this?
user posted image
Fixed it!The shader was originally set to ped_alpha because of the hair transparency (as the tutorial said). I changed it to an alphaless shader.So it had shadows and was fully opaque but it started to shine like wet sh*t.I don't know how the Rage Team managed it, but their Tommy model doesn't shine that much.So I took their material config and assigned to my model. The material was multimaterial that consists of two GTA IV material, each had a shader option.So I assigned one pedalpha shader to the hair and a normal ped shader to the rest of the head(which is not possible according to this tutorial).I wrote these because everybody's asking for help, but if they manage themselves then they just say yeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh! I fixed it! Yuppi yay! biggrin.gif Nobody gives a sh*t, we just want to know how did you solve the problem biggrin.gif

Pants_Johnson
  • Pants_Johnson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2012

#209

Posted 29 February 2012 - 04:33 AM

can anyone help me out, i was using this tutorial and my textures are messed up, here is the link to my post! Thanks!
http://www.gtaforums...entry1061118621

FidoX
  • FidoX

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • None
  • Best Player Texture/Model 2012 [HD Claude for GTAIV]

#210

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:05 PM

1.Did you import the texture to head_diff_000_a_whi.wtd?
2.Maybe you missed this one: Now go to the Editable Mesh modifier, when the dialog appears click yes again, turn on the Polygon Selection mode and scroll down to the "Surface Properties" tab, select the whole mesh (Ctrl+A) and in Set ID write "1" then hit enter.
P.S.:The bump and the specular map won't be saved to the wdr file unless you select the "include" option instead of dictionary.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users