Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTA IV] Player Rigging Tutorial

247 replies to this topic
coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#121

Posted 03 August 2011 - 05:40 AM

Im using the scripts on Max 2010 with no problems. But if you are going to install max, perhaps newer versions are recommendable.

wapeddell
  • wapeddell

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#122

Posted 03 August 2011 - 07:15 AM Edited by wapeddell, 03 August 2011 - 07:22 AM.

user posted image

user posted image


I know this isn't a player model but I'm using all the steps in the tutorial. Also, I figured out why the texture wasn't appearing but I'm having trouble getting the guns to line up with the hand it's perfectly in sync with the model in 3d max but in game it is placed in his hand with a angle

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#123

Posted 03 August 2011 - 11:07 AM

Guess what.... I never imported a gun in IV. So, don't ask me. smile.gif

snakekoolz
  • snakekoolz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2010

#124

Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:43 PM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Wednesday, Aug 3 2011, 05:40)
Im using the scripts on Max 2010 with no problems. But if you are going to install max, perhaps newer versions are recommendable.

Ok, thanks for your answer biggrin.gif

xxLiannexx
  • xxLiannexx

    ஜ۩۞۩ஜLIANNEஜ۩۞&a

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2011

#125

Posted 03 August 2011 - 02:40 PM Edited by xxLiannexx, 03 August 2011 - 02:48 PM.

i dont have 3ds max sad.gif .On zmod i have bought yep sadly bought 2 female models one of tomb raider not so good and the other of zoey from left 4 dead 1 which is great quality i know its very rare to someone to do but could someone please convert one of them to gta iv i dont like playing as men i would love it if someone could do it it would meen so much to me like an early christmas present lol pm me and i can upload the model

This is who she is i have the model but can only view in zmod which is bad heres an ingame pic

user posted image

whytee
  • whytee

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2011

#126

Posted 04 August 2011 - 05:16 PM Edited by whytee, 05 August 2011 - 05:26 PM.

Im having problems with my feet model- I rigged them, it exported fine, but the game crashes while loading last savegame. I cant find whats causing this, but in openIV model viewer theyre all black (unlike other models), also normal map for some reason is being imported in the texture file when it should be with the mesh.

Edit- Problem solved, but I still cant get normal maps to work in game. Btw Im using 3ds max 2011

Karoi
  • Karoi

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005
  • Netherlands

#127

Posted 05 August 2011 - 07:20 PM

QUOTE (wapeddell @ Sunday, Jul 31 2011, 18:05)
user posted image

user posted image

Can someone help me with this I have transparency with the trench coat being view from front but no transparency with it being view from the back

Sorry for big pics

Can't you make the material 2-sided? Doesn't that work?

whytee
  • whytee

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2011

#128

Posted 06 August 2011 - 12:36 PM

Ok, so here is my little project, turned out quite good but the shoulders are messed up for some reason, maybe someone can explain why? I tried rigging them differently but the problem persists..

user posted image

papaplata
  • papaplata

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2011
  • Ecuador

#129

Posted 07 August 2011 - 12:31 AM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Sunday, Jul 17 2011, 06:09)
If you want to learn how to change the model pose, you will have to look for other tutorials... I don't have time to make a tuto for that. If not, wait until WFT support.  confused.gif

Also, Bumps Do work:
user posted image
You just need to take some time to adjust the settings for it to look better.

can you post claude speed model for download please? blush.gif

wapeddell
  • wapeddell

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2011

#130

Posted 07 August 2011 - 09:45 PM

QUOTE (whytee @ Saturday, Aug 6 2011, 12:36)
Ok, so here is my little project, turned out quite good but the shoulders are messed up for some reason, maybe someone can explain why? I tried rigging them differently but the problem persists..

user posted image

that problem comes from enveloping you have to apply the proper weights

whytee
  • whytee

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2011

#131

Posted 08 August 2011 - 09:57 AM

QUOTE (wapeddell @ Sunday, Aug 7 2011, 21:45)
QUOTE (whytee @ Saturday, Aug 6 2011, 12:36)
Ok, so here is my little project, turned out quite good but the shoulders are messed up for some reason, maybe someone can explain why? I tried rigging them differently but the problem persists..

user posted image

that problem comes from enveloping you have to apply the proper weights

I managed to solve that already by unrigging clavicle bones completely. Looks less dynamic but at least everything is in place now, Ill post some pics later.

Winged
  • Winged

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2011

#132

Posted 09 August 2011 - 11:26 AM Edited by Winged, 09 August 2011 - 11:29 AM.

I've problem with rigging STANDARD GTA4 model etc. I want to put forward his whole arm.
Take a look at this: user posted image
What am I doing wrong?

BEASTXxWOLF
  • BEASTXxWOLF

    AlcatrazIV

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2011

#133

Posted 10 August 2011 - 08:54 PM

can somebody help im a n00b at this and i dont understand the attach part,if i attach then press delete it will delete both,please help
QUOTE
Now click on Niko's mesh go to Editable Mesh, a dialog box will appear click "Yes".
Select all Vertices and Attach your head to it (by clicking on Attach button and then your model, once done turn off Attach).
With Niko head still selected press your Delete button, and if you did things right your Head model should be the only mesh left... but with Niko's Bones

solom
  • solom

    3D

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2009
  • None

#134

Posted 12 August 2011 - 09:07 PM

1) You need select all vertex in original model(use a CTRL+A)
2)Then use the button "Attach" and attach your model
3)press on button "delete" in keyboard.

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#135

Posted 13 August 2011 - 01:48 AM

QUOTE (Winged @ Tuesday, Aug 9 2011, 08:26)
I've problem with rigging STANDARD GTA4 model etc. I want to put forward his whole arm.
Take a look at this: [IMG]http://i852.photobuc...d4Ever/w00t.jpg[IMG]
What am I doing wrong?

You have to select another bone aswell. I can't remember wich. But that happens with the upper arm aswell. There are 2 bones for thouse parts.

Wich means, there is no problem. Your model is fine.

Dud123
  • Dud123

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2011

#136

Posted 17 August 2011 - 01:45 AM

i have a question...when you said "only one texture per mesh" what do you mean? because if i remember bill's head has also textures for its eyes.

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#137

Posted 17 August 2011 - 01:59 AM

QUOTE (Dud123 @ Tuesday, Aug 16 2011, 22:45)
i have a question...when you said "only one texture per mesh" what do you mean? because if i remember bill's head has also textures for its eyes.

I fixed that by creating a new texture including all of them.

Dud123
  • Dud123

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2011

#138

Posted 17 August 2011 - 02:06 AM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Wednesday, Aug 17 2011, 01:59)
QUOTE (Dud123 @ Tuesday, Aug 16 2011, 22:45)
i have a question...when you said "only one texture per mesh" what do you mean? because if i remember bill's head has also textures for its eyes.

I fixed that by creating a new texture including all of them.

oh my...
is there a tutorial out there to do that?

Winged
  • Winged

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2011

#139

Posted 17 August 2011 - 04:22 PM

QUOTE (goin-god @ Saturday, Aug 13 2011, 01:48)
QUOTE (Winged @ Tuesday, Aug 9 2011, 08:26)
I've problem with rigging STANDARD GTA4 model etc. I want to put forward his whole arm.
Take a look at this: [IMG]http://i852.photobuc...d4Ever/w00t.jpg[IMG]
What am I doing wrong?

You have to select another bone aswell. I can't remember wich. But that happens with the upper arm aswell. There are 2 bones for thouse parts.

Wich means, there is no problem. Your model is fine.

Emmm... I still can't figure out which bones do you mean. I've tried almost all (i think) and I found even more problems...

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#140

Posted 18 August 2011 - 02:14 AM

QUOTE (Dud123 @ Tuesday, Aug 16 2011, 23:06)
QUOTE (goin-god @ Wednesday, Aug 17 2011, 01:59)
QUOTE (Dud123 @ Tuesday, Aug 16 2011, 22:45)
i have a question...when you said "only one texture per mesh" what do you mean? because if i remember bill's head has also textures for its eyes.

I fixed that by creating a new texture including all of them.

oh my...
is there a tutorial out there to do that?

Learn to use Unwrap UVW modifier.

BEASTXxWOLF
  • BEASTXxWOLF

    AlcatrazIV

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2011

#141

Posted 19 August 2011 - 09:34 AM

Ok,ive almost got it but everytime i click GTAIV material it says --Unknown System Exception any help?

IDILL
  • IDILL

    Tha Doggfather

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2009

#142

Posted 04 September 2011 - 01:33 PM

WIP

Snoop Dogg


user posted image

Dawidvdh
  • Dawidvdh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2011

#143

Posted 05 September 2011 - 11:43 AM

Hey listen here.. any chance of a tutorial on rigging facial bones ?... Busy with a Mod.. really looks dead without and facial movement...

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#144

Posted 05 September 2011 - 12:42 PM

No. It's the same process, if you really want a tutorial on it look up in the net. You wont find a GTA IV tutorial, but any general tutorial should help.

I dont have the time to do an extensive tutorial, I don't even have time to finish this one with the rest of the body parts confused.gif

Dawidvdh
  • Dawidvdh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2011

#145

Posted 06 September 2011 - 01:59 PM

Okay cool.. thanks anyway for this.. I did look up some generic tutorials.. but.. ya.. agh im sure ill come right...

N-field
  • N-field

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#146

Posted 11 September 2011 - 11:45 PM Edited by N-field, 11 September 2011 - 11:47 PM.

Be really nice to have a tutorial for changing model pose:


As you can see, I scaled the torso and arms to fit instead of changing the pose like its supposed to be done.

Also, the head disappears in cutscenes. Any idea why???

N-field
  • N-field

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#147

Posted 14 September 2011 - 11:52 PM Edited by N-field, 15 September 2011 - 07:03 PM.

QUOTE (bammargera @ Thursday, Jul 21 2011, 07:20)
Out of interest can we make the head models appear in cutscenes yet? Or is it a GIMS thing? Because at the moment I only see floating teeth and hair.

Yea I have the exact same problem! Can some1 explain this?????????

(Figured out who to pose the character, but this cutscene thing is killing me!)

Edit: Solution courtesy of 3Doomer, set shader to gta_ped_skin_blendshapes

to eliminate the weird reflectiveness, set skin color to black

Dawidvdh
  • Dawidvdh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2011

#148

Posted 17 September 2011 - 02:04 PM

N-field, What was your solution to pose the character?..

N-field
  • N-field

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2011

#149

Posted 17 September 2011 - 08:24 PM Edited by N-field, 17 September 2011 - 08:29 PM.

Oh that may not apply to all cases btw. It applied to the gtasa models, or models that come with bones. Basically somehow map the mesh to bones, or assign a skeleton or somesh*t. The mesh should have a skin property,

Then like to pose the arms, select the shoulder bone and rotate. it should rotate the entire arm. Now this next part is important bcuz the skin will change with the skeleton, but the mesh doesnt, so u then have to select the model while its still a skin selector and convert it to an editable mesh. That should save the mesh in that position. Then ur all set to rig!

Heres wat 98% success looks like. No im not rigging the fingers. I dont have time for that. And I have many many models to convert.






Once u've gotten the hang of player modelling, u can manually extract odr files from odd files and mod peds too. I got niko as Marisa in EFLC as well, but for the upper, head, and hands, u have to re-rig it to the ped bones instead of the player bones.

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007
  • None

#150

Posted 17 September 2011 - 08:26 PM

Pretty much, rig the mesh with other bones, align. Collapse Skin modifier and there you have it.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users