Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Which graphics card would be best to run GTA IV?

29 replies to this topic
SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#1

Posted 17 April 2011 - 06:51 PM

To be able to run GTA IV on medium and high settings without lag. colgate.gif

I tried getting an ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB but it wasn't working because I had a weak processor suicidal.gif so I returned it and got a intel Dual-Core e6600 3.07GHz processor.

I don't plan on re-buying that graphics card because I heard a lot of people have problems running GTA IV with it. It lags and stuff. Even on low


Right now I got a ATI radeon hd 2600 pro 256mb and I'm running GTA IV on all medium with a bit of lag. inlove.gif

I need a graphics card which runs the game smoothly on medium and high settings under $100 dollars.

My current graphics card does a good preformance but a terrible quality bored.gif

I need a graphics card that does a awesome preformance and awesome quality on GTA IV devil.gif

Thanks smile.gif


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#2

Posted 17 April 2011 - 07:18 PM

Actually HD5770 is the best choice for ~$100... Personally I'd buy it again. Avoid nVidia cards since their drivers for 400/500 series cards seem to put weak CPUs under heavy load, your E6600 might not cope with it.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#3

Posted 17 April 2011 - 07:28 PM

but why does it lag for some people? It lags even on low settings. This guy had a quad core and everything. It was running really laggy and he changed his graphics card and no lag.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#4

Posted 17 April 2011 - 07:51 PM

Look at this

http://www.tomshardw...70,2446-13.html

a single Radeon HD5770 gets around 41 fps on all max.

While it's been beat by Hd4890 at around 61 fps on all max.
But HD4890 is over 200 dollars

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#5

Posted 17 April 2011 - 08:00 PM

HD4890 is a faster card (and more expensive too) so no wonder it beat the HD5770.

Jyak
  • Jyak

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2011

#6

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:03 AM

Get the HD5770, it's the best bang-for-buck card.
Don't go below $100, all HTPC cards.

An extra $30 isn't going to harm anyone.
It'll be well worth it, now you've got a good processor that isn't bottlenecking the video card anymore.

If you're really that tight, get a HD5670.
Also, what resolution are you playing on?

But for an extra $30 for the HD5770 it's REALLY worth it, you get a so much more powerful card.
SO MUCH MORE.

Get a HD5770, just have toast for dinner for a week.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#7

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:09 PM

QUOTE (Jyak @ Apr 18 2011, 04:03)
Get the HD5770, it's the best bang-for-buck card.
Don't go below $100, all HTPC cards.

An extra $30 isn't going to harm anyone.
It'll be well worth it, now you've got a good processor that isn't bottlenecking the video card anymore.

If you're really that tight, get a HD5670.
Also, what resolution are you playing on?

But for an extra $30 for the HD5770 it's REALLY worth it, you get a so much more powerful card.
SO MUCH MORE.

Get a HD5770, just have toast for dinner for a week.

I'm playing at 800 x 300 (56Hz) tounge.gif

I can go up to 1240 x 400 or something without lag but if I go higher it will lag.
I want to play at 1600 x 1050
I tried it and it lags really much.

I can bearly read anything because of the terrible resolution. The words are fat and pixalated.

To be honest this game wasn't really built with care. Sucks the life out of your computer.

Since everyone is saying to get the HD5770 I will get that but I might change my mind.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#8

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:16 PM

I also might need another 2 or 1 GB of ram since I only got 2 because the other stick of ram that I have (1GB) won't fit in the intel motherboard.


I also need help with that.
sad.gif

I got 4 slots.

2 blue and 2 black
The sticks I have only fit in the blue slots
and I got 3 sticks. I tried to stick it in the black but it just won't fit.
Do I need a special ram stick to fit in in there?

I'm sure having 3 GB of ram instead of 2 might boost my pc a little.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#9

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:36 PM

On the ram slot there is a notch that has to line up with the "key" on your ram. If they don't line up, it's either you place it wrong or they are the wrong type of ram.
You can do is first shutdown the computer, unplug the power cord and take out one of them pieces and see what type is it.
PC=DDR
PC2=DDR2
PC3=DDR3
Note: Some boards will have combo rams like you can either use DDR2 or DDR3. If that's what you have, you cannot use two different types of ram at the same time. If you do, it will damage the board and fried out your rams!

Jyak
  • Jyak

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2011

#10

Posted 21 April 2011 - 01:22 AM

Powercolor HD5770 is $120 Australian.. Went down $10 bucks.
Don't know where you live though.

GTA 3
  • GTA 3

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2011

#11

Posted 21 April 2011 - 12:16 PM

GTX 470 ftw!!

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#12

Posted 21 April 2011 - 03:34 PM

Tell me where can you get GTX470 for $100, I'll buy a dozen of these.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#13

Posted 21 April 2011 - 08:44 PM Edited by SmileyHam, 21 April 2011 - 08:48 PM.

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Apr 21 2011, 15:34)
Tell me where can you get GTX470 for $100, I'll buy a dozen of these.

My bro has one.
I think he got it for like 150

RAM question:

Anyways those RAM sticks that fit in are all DDR3

So I must get DDR2 sticks to fit in the other slots?


But having different sticks isn't that bad?

EDIT**
On the graphic card topic

Sparkle GeForce GT240-1024 would work.

I saw a video on youtube with this graphics card and with my processor and 2GB of ram (Same like me smile.gif ) and the game ran amazingly
Check it out



Another question:
Will GTA IV run more smoot on Windows XP SP3 than Windows 7?
Since win 7 uses more ram for itself that XP

Michaś
  • Michaś

    BMW Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2007
  • None

#14

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:23 PM

This is a video editor rendering. This has been done frame by frame. It's not what he probably has.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#15

Posted 22 April 2011 - 12:11 AM

Yeah, no.


I have used video editor and everything looks like crap when it's done rendering.

Weak qualtiy
Big pixalated pics
The shadows are like wierd

Exactly how I play ingame.
Laggy too.

So I think Sparkle GeForce GT240-1024 is good enough.



If not then HD 5770

Which one. So many choices.

YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#16

Posted 22 April 2011 - 02:38 AM

QUOTE (SmileyHam @ Apr 21 2011, 20:11)
Yeah, no.


I have used video editor and everything looks like crap when it's done rendering.

Weak qualtiy
Big pixalated pics
The shadows are like wierd

Exactly how I play ingame.
Laggy too.

So I think Sparkle GeForce GT240-1024 is good enough.



If not then HD 5770

Which one. So many choices.

No, Garfield is right. If you use the video editor properly, then you should ALWAYS get a video with the gameplay very smooth, even though in real life you are only getting 5 FPS. Also, get a Radeon 6790, which is in the 150 dollar price point the 5770 used to be in before the 6790 came out

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#17

Posted 22 April 2011 - 10:10 PM

i disagree. if a guy is lying about his framerate on youtube, he would be swiftly vetted. besides, there are enough people posting gta videos on youtube that anybody should be able to see what specs they could align with -- i seen people on youtube playing GTA IV with eee PCs even!

YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#18

Posted 22 April 2011 - 11:05 PM

QUOTE (unc13bud @ Apr 22 2011, 18:10)
i disagree. if a guy is lying about his framerate on youtube, he would be swiftly vetted. besides, there are enough people posting gta videos on youtube that anybody should be able to see what specs they could align with -- i seen people on youtube playing GTA IV with eee PCs even!

The video was made using the in-game video editor, which makes gameplay LOOK smooth, even if when they are recording the video they are only running the game at 3 FPS. That isn't has actual FPS. If you asked him to make a video with those settings with FRAPS, it will be so laggy to the point where you can't play the game

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#19

Posted 23 April 2011 - 07:40 AM

The ATI Radeon HD 5470 does a great job at running IV smoothly. That is what I have-the one with 512MB dedicated and up to 3223MB total, 6GB DDR 3 ram, Intel I5 Quad core processor @2.27GHZ(with up to 2.93 w/ Turbo Boost) and 7 Home Premium 64-bit. the game gets a good 30-40fps easy on medium to High settings, and this is on a laptop, so the desktop version should get a lot better performance. tounge2.gif So, the 5470 is a pretty good budget card for IV. smile.gif

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#20

Posted 23 April 2011 - 05:59 PM

QUOTE (radioman @ Apr 23 2011, 07:40)
The ATI Radeon HD 5470 does a great job at running IV smoothly. That is what I have-the one with 512MB dedicated and up to 3223MB total, 6GB DDR 3 ram, Intel I5 Quad core processor @2.27GHZ(with up to 2.93 w/ Turbo Boost) and 7 Home Premium 64-bit. the game gets a good 30-40fps easy on medium to High settings, and this is on a laptop, so the desktop version should get a lot better performance. tounge2.gif So, the 5470 is a pretty good budget card for IV. smile.gif

Thanks for the info but 5470 is a mobility card.

As far as I know mobility cards are for laptops not for desktops.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#21

Posted 23 April 2011 - 06:30 PM

Wait, what about EVGA Geforce GTS 450

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#22

Posted 23 April 2011 - 07:17 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Apr 17 2011, 21:18)
Avoid nVidia cards since their drivers for 400/500 series cards seem to put weak CPUs under heavy load, your E6600 might not cope with it.
Also GTS450 is overall a slower card than HD5770.

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#23

Posted 24 April 2011 - 03:33 PM

ATI Radeon HD 5870 it is.


It's almost as powerful as ATI Radeon HD 5770 CrossFireX (2 HD 5770 cards)


smile.gif

I was thinking about a HD 5770 CrossFireX since 1 cards is 70 dollars. 140 in total or somewhere near there.

And like 100 dollars for a 5870. No idea why they are so cheap where I live. I saw on amazon.com that it's like 200 dollars

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#24

Posted 24 April 2011 - 03:42 PM

HD5870 for $100? wow.gif One heck of a deal. My advice - buy it as soon as possible. wink.gif

iLiR
  • iLiR

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009
  • Macedonia

#25

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:06 PM Edited by ilir, 24 April 2011 - 04:10 PM.

You can also get HD5750 under 100$. It's a cut-down version of HD5770 and it's a bit slower of it, but you can play GTA IV without any problem.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#26

Posted 24 April 2011 - 08:50 PM

what's the cpu? what's the motherboard? what resolution do you want to play ie: what native resolution of the lcd flat panel? i love my ati cards, but i know for a fact that i couldn't even play gtaIV with my radeon hd4850 until i patched it, and still it didn't run as good as when i replaced the card with an 8800gt. i do recommend buying a card with 1gb over a card with 512mb though. swapped an xfx 512mb 9800gt with a pny 1gb 9800gt and the difference was noticeable in gtaIV
ps. what's the power supply also?

SmileyHam
  • SmileyHam

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2011

#27

Posted 25 April 2011 - 03:19 PM Edited by SmileyHam, 25 April 2011 - 03:26 PM.

QUOTE (unc13bud @ Apr 24 2011, 20:50)
what's the cpu? what's the motherboard? what resolution do you want to play ie: what native resolution of the lcd flat panel? i love my ati cards, but i know for a fact that i couldn't even play gtaIV with my radeon hd4850 until i patched it, and still it didn't run as good as when i replaced the card with an 8800gt. i do recommend buying a card with 1gb over a card with 512mb though. swapped an xfx 512mb 9800gt with a pny 1gb 9800gt and the difference was noticeable in gtaIV
ps. what's the power supply also?

CPU: Pentium Dual Core E6600 3.06 3.07 GHz
MotherBoard: No idea what the exact name is. But it's a Asus Extreme Edition MotherBoard. 8-channel audio ddr2 and ddr3 combo design.
That's all I found written on it. It's a black one tounge.gif
Resolution I play at : 800 x 300
Monitor Resolution: 1680 x 1050
PowerSupply: 430W <---- Probably need more. I think I got a 600W one in my closet somewhere. But I don't need anymore unless the GPU I'm getting needs lots of juice (I'm aware that HD5870 needs atleast a 500W powersupply.)

I just want smooth gameplay at decent quality

My CPU is good enough for GTA IV to run smooth

All I need is a decent GPU

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#28

Posted 25 April 2011 - 05:07 PM

Post the exact brand and model of the power supply. Because if it turns out to be decent, then you won't have to replace it (proper 430W PSU is more than enough for HD5870).

Jyak
  • Jyak

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2011

#29

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:08 AM

Please post the site for $100 5870.
That's so good, it seems dodgy.

It would run GTA find, and any other game you can get your hands on.

Mastercz
  • Mastercz

    HDGrandTheftAuto

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2009

#30

Posted 27 April 2011 - 07:00 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Apr 17 2011, 20:00)
HD4890 is a faster card (and more expensive too) so no wonder it beat the HD5770.

yes i have Sapphire 4890 1GB and GTA4 work nice (1680x1050)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users