Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[IV,EFLC|REL] GIMS IV

2,707 replies to this topic
3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#1

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:32 PM Edited by 3Doomer, 07 May 2014 - 06:58 PM.

Script's fully compatible with 3D MAX 2012.
Other versions after 9 SP 1 should work too, but they won't be supported by me.

Script needs OpenIV 1.0(or newer version) for openFormats<>Game_Resource conversion(ODR<>WDR, OBN<>WBN, etc... ).
Further information about openFormats's on the OpenIV website, or HERE.

Abilities:

QUOTE + IDE import/export
+ WPL import/export
+ Paths import/export
+ Water/Shorelines import/export
+ ODR/ODD import/export
+ OBN/OBD import/export

Script's starting from the "Utilities" tab.

ChangeLog

 

DOWNLOAD

ThanksTo:
Alexander
Blaster_nl
Chipsman
Deniska
GooD
GTArandom
Listener
Neville
solom

Game collisions map
wbn-map-small.jpg
  • steel89ita, Rockstar Games™ and cadbc like this

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#2

Posted 15 April 2011 - 01:58 PM

15.04.2011 14:43 UTC:
+Added poly smoothing groups support for WDR exporter

user posted image

Download from the header post.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#3

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:44 PM

Cool, we got Gims back and going over! cool!
so, this new WDR exporter means...a happily and cool export without expecting errors at Scriptlistener?

pmillett
  • pmillett

    The Dragon King

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2008

#4

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:45 PM

Excellent. Any news on WFT?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#5

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:56 PM

GIMS won't support any other model resources than WDR, only openFormats.
WDR export also won't support any new shaders, because I can't understand the resources structure well, and Shadow's DLL don't support them

pmillett
  • pmillett

    The Dragon King

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2008

#6

Posted 15 April 2011 - 03:01 PM

ok that makes sense..... I guess.

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#7

Posted 15 April 2011 - 06:40 PM

+Fixed texture coordinates error in WDR exporter

DOWNLOAD

TheChopShop
  • TheChopShop

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2009

#8

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:41 PM

good to see GIMS get it's own thread

14.04.2011 0:22 UTC: after flippn all the materials into GTA4Mesh, and double checking that each poly material ID for each part ran in correct succession, there's still a lot not showing..
the tower, tower base and cables are finally visible.. but none of the tarmac, walls, bridge or any other parts are.. so am I correct in assuming that the wpl export is still a bit buggd?

user posted image user posted image

or are there any significant updates in 15:4 that would cure this?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#9

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:50 PM

try to export models with only one texture and all poly material IDs set to 1

coin-god
  • coin-god

    High Roller

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2007

#10

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:53 PM

Didn't know about this project. Looks very good.

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#11

Posted 15 April 2011 - 08:40 PM

This sounds brilliant, any plans on the IV skeleton system in the future? Allowing custom ped's and player models?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#12

Posted 15 April 2011 - 10:34 PM Edited by 3Doomer, 17 April 2011 - 04:49 PM.

Models with all features support'll be realized through the openFormats(see OpenIV thread)

===
QUOTE

17.04.2011 17:45 UTC:
+WDR export fix
+WPL importer upgraded to import WDR models


ersel54
  • ersel54

    ONE BLOOD

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2008

#13

Posted 17 April 2011 - 09:28 PM

QUOTE (bammargera @ Apr 15 2011, 20:40)
This sounds brilliant, any plans on the IV skeleton system in the future? Allowing custom ped's and player models?

yeah! that would nice if he planned..

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 17 April 2011 - 09:50 PM

So how many polys can we export through the WDR exporter?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#15

Posted 17 April 2011 - 11:12 PM

As many, as you want, there's no limit...but don't forget to resave models through the openFormats

TheChopShop
  • TheChopShop

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2009

#16

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:24 AM

QUOTE (3Doomer @ Apr 15 2011, 19:50)
try to export models with only one texture and all poly material IDs set to 1

mercie_blink.gif doesn't that defeat the purpose? (tower base shows and it has 3 materials assigned (1 sub/multi))

guess I'll try again with 17-4 tho - btw, OFs saved wdr's crash Zm on import bored.gif

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#17

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:30 AM

Well I couldn't export 20,000 Polys (WDR)

sad.gif

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#18

Posted 18 April 2011 - 01:48 PM Edited by 3Doomer, 18 April 2011 - 01:51 PM.

May be, it's Shadow's DLL error, or your mistake...why can't?

===

I've fixed smoothing groups export today, archive's updated.

pmillett
  • pmillett

    The Dragon King

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2008

#19

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:04 PM

Question! Will the exporters for WFT and WDR eventually be OFT/ODR for openFormats? Since they (openFormats Team) can tell you the structure to export Shaders? Or am I over thinking this?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#20

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:22 PM

yes, mine WDR exporter(which uses Shadow's plugin) is a temprorarily solution.
there'll be openFormats ODR,OFT...

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#21

Posted 18 April 2011 - 05:43 PM

one question, this wdr new export supports alpha?(with this i mean when in-game sun will go through it or will put it like a solid plane there?

hristobg
  • hristobg

    IV Map Modder, Scholarship Edition Project Leader

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2009

#22

Posted 18 April 2011 - 08:34 PM

I think this is a shader option.

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#23

Posted 18 April 2011 - 08:47 PM

alpha's supported, and the shadows're casted properly (as I remember)

Don't forget that it's only Shadow_Link's exporter

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#24

Posted 18 April 2011 - 08:57 PM

btw... 3Doomer: Could you say me or link me to a download page for a WPL editor? in that way i can put much placing entries in 1 file instead of created 1 per building(since it appears to be in another kind of coding lenguage when you try to open it in "text-based" way

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#25

Posted 18 April 2011 - 09:33 PM

you want to unite two WPLs? you'll have problems with LOD IDs...
you can just import both of them with GIMS, correct the hierarchy and export as a new one

why are you saying about one file for each building?? WPL can contain thousands of them

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#26

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:00 PM

yeh, thats exactly my point

for example i do my first export, but when trying to do the second one, theres no way i can put the WPL placing line for that new object inside the already existing WPL file from the first import i did, so my question was how to do that and another one, the mesh gets imported now when importing WPL to max?

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#27

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:07 PM

just import your WPL and add new objects into the hierarchy, then export

the WDR model's being imported, if it's found in the WPL directory

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#28

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:17 PM Edited by vans123, 19 April 2011 - 02:44 AM.

you are awesome man! just fking hell rocking tool, thanks, tryin it now and reporting problems if have them

ok, i got a simple big azz problem, with pretty old GIMS(The one using dev_openbounds/dev_ide/dev_wpl) single stuff i imported showed off ingame
just did the try with the last GIMS(link at first page) and went to the place via teleport and not even the object there+i had to export with old Shadow WDR script couse when i tried to use GIMS one, max just freezes the hell out and wont answer after that
here my scene;
1)YOU can see my hierachi
2)The object is kind of far from LC and im sure i checked there since i used a teleporter so i wont fail coords
Picture:
user posted image

Please i would thank all the help, im kind of frustrated how old scripts could work and new wont

final question; that file that gets created inside a folder saying "INSIDE TO .IMG ARCHIVE"(i think the name of folder makes it clear) but even that, it goes where .IMG archive is(folder) or inside the self .IMG archive like any other file like WTD and that crap?

Thanks and hope to get help with this

3Doomer
  • 3Doomer

    GIMS developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#29

Posted 19 April 2011 - 04:04 AM

when max freezes, just wait.

use "base" instead of "map"(or "detail" for an object, and "base" for it's LOD)

IMG archive is local archive with current mod files(WTD, WDR, etc)

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#30

Posted 19 April 2011 - 06:39 AM

thanks gonna try that




4 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users