Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GIMS IV

2,842 replies to this topic
jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#2821

Posted 31 October 2016 - 08:42 PM

i learned texturing recently. so for that particular work i won't be much helpful. but i'm sure if you search texturing tutorials on Youtube you'll find what you are looking for

  • spoonman039 likes this

suttki2d
  • suttki2d

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2016
  • None

#2822

Posted 31 October 2016 - 09:07 PM

Thank you for your time. hope ill find.


walern31
  • walern31

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2016
  • France

#2823

Posted 29 November 2016 - 01:35 AM

Hello

Sorry no speak good english
I am french

I have a problem with gims 4 when I want to import a map to OBN I remain blocked with infinite loading

Here is the message :

"Checking materials - dev_col/malhelper/*composite/mesh22/4500/4744 faces|fix materials IDs"

And Blocket loaded infinite

walern31
  • walern31

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2016
  • France

#2824

Posted 12 February 2017 - 04:05 PM

Hello

Sorry no speak good english
I am french

I have a problem with gims 4 when I want to import a map to OBN I remain blocked with infinite loading

Here is the message :

"Checking materials - dev_col/malhelper/*composite/mesh22/4500/4744 faces|fix materials IDs"

And Blocket loaded infinite


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#2825

Posted 14 February 2017 - 05:04 AM

jamais eu de problème avec les OBN. reinstalle, si ça persiste change peut-être de version de Max, et bien sûr vérifie de bien avoir la dernière version de GIMS


_UrethraXtreme
  • _UrethraXtreme

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2014
  • Australia

#2826

Posted 19 February 2017 - 10:04 PM Edited by _UrethraXtreme, 02 March 2017 - 08:11 AM.

Hey guys I just tried to muck around with blending materials and when I click the "paint" option I get this/these error(s)

 

halp%20plox_zpsero3xnbx.jpg

 

I've got 2014 Max

 

 

Also I was wondering if I've missed something or if it's just an issue with GIMS but my textures tend to be very over exposed in game around noon (yes I've turned spec off, then added spec maps but I'm not sure I've set them up right. I really wish there was more documentation on GIMS, I haven't really been able to find much info on specifics :/ )

 

 

http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/93851170779607648/AC55D4C96EBF135B1D6C3A2E477C91418C4A627B/

 

 

 

EDIT: I changed my viewport renderer from directx 11 to directx 9 and was able to paint on blended textures, I'm still not sure if my textures are set up properly and I only came across 1 tutorial on the plugin as well as an old hidden promo video that showed blending textures

 

EDIT EDIT: changed "program" to "plugin" in case people thought I meant max, I just mean the specific settings on all the different panels


spoonman039
  • spoonman039

    the Lost and Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2016
  • Croatia

#2827

Posted 24 February 2017 - 07:50 PM

I have windows 10 and 3ds max 2017. even though it's not ideal version, GIMS IV worked fine 2 months ago. since then I didn't use it, but I did some update on 3ds max and after that GIMS IV doesn't work anymore.
I tried to install it again by pasting script file into "scripts/startup" in program files directory, but when I run 3ds max it asks me to download some modules, and after successful download GIMS IV still don't work.. I found these modules on gtagarage and want to install them manually, but I don't know where to insert them, so please help.


_UrethraXtreme
  • _UrethraXtreme

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2014
  • Australia

#2828

Posted 25 February 2017 - 06:38 AM

C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\GIMS_IV\modules


spoonman039
  • spoonman039

    the Lost and Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2016
  • Croatia

#2829

Posted 25 February 2017 - 12:25 PM

C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\GIMS_IV\modules

thanks, it works now!


GTA BELGIUM
  • GTA BELGIUM

    Red Devil

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2014
  • Belgium

#2830

Posted 27 March 2017 - 08:45 PM

i have a prob. i'm learning texturing. in Max everything goes fine. but as soon as i convert the materials in GIMS, all the scene is suddenly messed up, with transparent textures

 

normal scene

rI1xyhj.jpg

 

s### after i converted the materials

Exe6AiI.jpg

 

 

Not sure if you still have this problem. But the answer is probably: You need to apply a 'normal' modifier. This will flip te texture to the right side. Your 'normals' are messed up, it seems. I think this is the problem, though I'm not sure. Hope it helps.


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#2831

Posted 01 April 2017 - 09:52 PM

thanks for help, but it was simply a polygon orientation problem :^:


Nyul
  • Nyul

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Sep 2015
  • None

#2832

Posted 15 April 2017 - 06:37 PM

Hi, when I try to start gims iv webinstall I see an error messagebox that: "Can't download the configuration file! Please check your internet connection...". Any Ideas? (my internet connection is fine as far as I know, else I could not have written this post)

btw. sorry for my bad english


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#2833

Posted 15 April 2017 - 07:40 PM

gims is discontinued, use manual installation


Nyul
  • Nyul

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Sep 2015
  • None

#2834

Posted 16 April 2017 - 07:33 AM

But last time I tried manual instal forced the webinstall aswell, I don't know wheter i have to keep the .mse script... do I have to? (I'm a complete beginner, sorry)


jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#2835

Posted 16 April 2017 - 06:30 PM

in all versions i downloaded there was a readme


Nyul
  • Nyul

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Sep 2015
  • None

#2836

Posted 16 April 2017 - 06:50 PM Edited by Nyul, 16 April 2017 - 06:50 PM.

My mistake... I didn't put the files in the AppData/Roaming, I put them to the 3dsmax directory because as a bad habit I didn't read the readme... sorry, but it works now, thanks for the help


kerafb
  • kerafb

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2017
  • Turkey

#2837

Posted 06 June 2017 - 10:28 PM Edited by kerafb, 06 June 2017 - 10:37 PM.

Edit, problem solved 


UHDFreddyEST
  • UHDFreddyEST

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2015
  • Estonia

#2838

Posted 06 July 2017 - 04:33 PM

Hello, I try to download Gims iv and put scripts folder to Autodesk main folder, I use 2016 version Autodesk and script don't want to update, anyone knows what's the problem? I use the manual download from GTA garage. I put GIMS_IV.mse to C:\Program Files\Autodesk2016\3ds Max 2016\scripts\Startup and GIMS_IV to C:\Users\acros\AppData\Roaming and result are same, it wants to update because some modules are missing and if I click no, then that tool doesn't show up on utility box and if I click update then its says error. * I use win10 OS


newdud
  • newdud

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2017
  • American-Samoa

#2839

Posted 15 August 2017 - 10:15 PM

I tried online and offline (manual) installation mode on the OS W10 system, with Max 2017.

I got this error:

Capture.jpg

What have I done wrong?

Is this version compatible?

Thanks!


ElMattineu
  • ElMattineu

    Driver of the Happy Blimpô Blimp.

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2017
  • Brazil

#2840

Posted 03 December 2017 - 02:42 PM Edited by ElMattineu, 19 December 2017 - 02:35 PM.

i can't export my WPL, because of this damn error: No objects found in the "dev_map/adlnorth1/base/objs" Section dummy! 

How can i solve it?

 


dannylammy
  • dannylammy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2011

#2841

Posted 13 December 2017 - 06:09 AM

Hiya, is anybody getting a problem where the Convert materials button isn't working? I'm trying to go from GTA Materials in Max --> Standard. Thanks!


AnonyMouseGTA
  • AnonyMouseGTA

    MoloTov

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2017
  • United-States

#2842

Posted 27 December 2017 - 03:33 PM

the downloader wont download :(


MihailJunkovich
  • MihailJunkovich

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2013

#2843

Posted 14 April 2018 - 02:26 PM

Hello all!
 

I understand that this has no more support in favor of GIMS Evo, but.

 

But here I am trying to create some sort of an apartment for myself but whenever I export my object the smoothing groups in the game get all fuzzy.

The whole thing looks like some sort of black wine that is going across my model.

 

What I tried is the following:

 

- Switched from 3ds Max 2017 to 2012, supposedly fully compatible with it?

- Turned off all of the smoothing groups. Didn't work..seems GIMS IV automatically generates random smooth groups when exporting [I turned off the "split smoothing groups" option as recommended]

- Clearing all of the groups and using the auto-smooth option with both 45 and 90 degrees threshold, GIMS IV again generates random black wines.

- Using this little trick didn't help -

- As one of the members mentioned here on the forums..grouping smoothing groups by selecting only opposing faces/that are not next to each other. Didn't work

- Flipping polygons left`n`right to see if it is that maybe, nope.

 

Besides that, I have the problem that the "outer" part of the wall is casting a shadow on the "inner" part as if it is totally disregarding that I have a roof that sealed it all :/

 

Eventually, I could send you the screenshots if you want and/or .wpl / .img / .ide files

If anyone knows what could it be, help.. am losing it  :lol:





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users