Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Memory not being unloaded..?

6 replies to this topic
Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#1

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:06 AM Edited by Nahiyan, 22 December 2010 - 09:09 AM.

Well, after I installed new drivers for my graphics card, I started to have the no texture bug. But when I change one of the graphics settings, and apply them, the textures get reloaded again. I think its because GTA IV isn't unloading memory properly..

It starts after like, 15 minutes of playing. I have patch 1.0.7.0.

Heres my specs -

Windows Vista SP1 32 bits
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 9500GT 1GB Overclocked (To 9600GT frequencies)
Intel DG41RQ Motherboard
1 2GB RAM stick @ 800 MHz
Samsung HD250HJ 250GB @ 7000 RPM

Temperatures are good, processor cores are 36C idle, GPU is 40C idle and hard-drive is like always 25C. CPU and GPU like never goes above 60C.

I tried memrestrict, but that causes the no texture bug whenever I start the game and changing the graphic settings doesn't work.

I also tried norestrictions and nomemrestrict, but I don't notice any difference.

I also have GameBooster and Advanced System Care for performance but the problem here is related to memory.

Thanks! smile.gif

Edit - After I saw the no texture bug, I uninstalled my graphics drivers, then deleted the remaining files with Driver Sweeper while in safe mode, then booted up in normal mode and re-installed the drivers but to no avail.

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#2

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:16 AM

That's a weak graphics card. Lower your settings if you're running the game at medium/high.

If you still face the same issue, try switching back to your older drivers. This could be a driver related issue.

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#3

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:17 AM

QUOTE
1 2GB RAM stick @ 800 MHz


Since you only have 2GB RAM, there's your memory problem right there-Vista alone uses 1.2 to 1.4GB RAM on its own, which out of 2GB does not leave much for games and other processes. But since you are on a 32-bit OS, you cannot add more than 4GB total, as that is all 32-bit versions of Vista and 7 can recognize(XP 32-bit is only 3GB Max.) I know Vista's average RAM usuage, as I have checked the Task Manager at random times and verified this to be true on my Vista Home Premium desktop(Windows 7 usually uses around 900MB to 1.2GB RAM on it's own-verified on my 7 laptop).

So, add another 1GB stick of RAM and you should be good to go-Ram is dirt cheap now a days(less than $20 for a 1GB stick at Wal-Mart), so that would be a cheap upgrade. Hope this helps.

Also, lowering your in-game settings WILL help A LOT too.

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#4

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:23 AM Edited by Nahiyan, 22 December 2010 - 09:58 AM.

radioman, you might be right!

When I minimized to the desktop and checked task manager last time, GTA IV was using only 500MB memory.. And I'm sure GTA IV was using much more memory before my driver update.. Could something be limiting GTA IV's memory?

Wait, I'll check how much memory I have available when running GTA IV.


Edit - Sorry for late edit, I got distracted.

When idle, and using GameBooster and Advanced SystemCare Professional, System Memory Usage - ~525 MB
When playing GTA IV in a helicopter looking at the city, System Memory Useage - ~1.3 GB

Still have a lot of memory left..

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#5

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:25 AM

Windows 7 on its own uses about 6-700MB, the memory usage will go up when you install various stuff. This is especially true for laptops, they tend to come with bunch of (more or less useless) software running in the background.

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#6

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:59 AM

QUOTE
Could something be limiting GTA IV's memory?


Yeah, the OS uses around 1.2 to 1.4GB of Ram, so out of 2GB, that only leaves around 500mb to 600mb of free ram for programs and applications.

XP only uses around 800MB(and that is with 6 programs running at the same time)-I just verified that on my XP Pro laptop.

But it is still around 900mb to 1.2GB for windows 7, as I have the bare minimum running at any given time in the task bar, and I have disabled a lot of the useless start up programs and installed a lot of the useless programs I don't use, and it's still at that level(it was higher usuage until I upgraded from Vista to 7 on that laptop). That's not too much of a problem though since I have 3GB Ram, but a 32-bit OS.-I have the same on my Vista desktop(it had 2GB when I bought it, but I added 1GB stick to it). My XP Pro laptop has 2GB Ram, but I can't run IV on it anyway, since it has a Intel GMA video card that only has 128MB vram. I run IV on my 7 laptop. I still have to upgrade my Video card on my desktop to run IV, as it has an ATI Radeon X1250 w/1407mb vram. Everything else on it meets the requirements for IV, though. Any suggestions on a good video card that will work with an AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core processor(An Acer M1100 PC)?


mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#7

Posted 22 December 2010 - 01:13 PM

XP core OS runs on about 89MB and 14-15 processes.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users