Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

HD 6850 vs GTA 4

11 replies to this topic
greenhorn
  • greenhorn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2010

#1

Posted 03 December 2010 - 05:45 PM

I bought complete new PC for 1200$+ it is i5-760; Asus P7P55D-E mobo; 4gb corsair 1600 dominators, Nexus NX-6300 PSU, ASUS HD 6850 and Win 7 HP x64. like u see I have all what it takes to play GTA 4 at almost max settings, but it is unplayable sad.gif ! stucks for half a ssecond every 3-5 seconds, sometimes no water, sometimes no lights etc. I red about HD 68xx issues before, but in all cases there were swaps from Nivida to new ATI HD 68xx and everyone sugested to clean old drivers, get new ATI drivers, update or even reinstal windows and format C: (but my PC is brand NEW) and there were no solution or conclusions of thouse posts.
Please help, cuz I just spent such a money on new PC and GTA 4 is one of my favorite games....

YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#2

Posted 03 December 2010 - 11:38 PM

A i5 760 and Radeon 6850 should be able to run GTA IV Medium High, but not maxed out. Try to lower some of the settings

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#3

Posted 04 December 2010 - 02:39 PM

Try using memrestrict. Which resolution are you using? How much VRAM does the card have?

greenhorn
  • greenhorn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2010

#4

Posted 04 December 2010 - 07:16 PM

Sorry had no time to reat and test mky82 post, but for sure will test it all next few days...
I am running at 1920x1080 25mhz. is there minimal settings or highest settings - makes no difference (still stucks for a half of second every 2-5 seconds). I have ATI HD 6850 with 1GB GDDR5 VRAM. I run benchmark with medium settings and there were 19 fps (and a little split second stucks in benchmark) CPU usage: 39%; RAM: 29% and Video memory: 60%
but Gay Tony runs OK with 1920x1080 25mhz (with 1920x1080 60mhz was micro stucks), but benchmakr still shows sloppy 14fps, cuz it stucks for a split second at every those car blowups...



YankeesPwnMets
  • YankeesPwnMets

    More Betterer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2010
  • United-States

#5

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:23 PM

By stuttering, do you mean like this?



It seems like a 6800s have it like this. IDK about EFLC tho. Hopefully future drivers will fix the problem or a new patch

Jigglyass
  • Jigglyass

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008
  • None

#6

Posted 05 December 2010 - 11:13 PM

Put -memrestrict 1048576000 into commandline.
Use ATI catalyst 10.10e drivers, make sure to uninstall current drivers and use driver sweeper after uninstalled. When installed, check 3D settings to make sure AA mode is checked for application controlled and morphological AA is not checked.
Try everything on high, with draw and detail distances at 30.
Report back what happens.

viometrix
  • viometrix

    Mildly Aggravating

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#7

Posted 06 December 2010 - 12:31 AM

if your monitor is running 25mhz like you say at that resolution, that is your problem and it is broken. that monitor should be running a native refresh of 60 mhz... sorry none of the other replies caught that

greenhorn
  • greenhorn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2010

#8

Posted 09 December 2010 - 08:42 AM

sorry for reporting back so late... (had no time last days to test or to report)
so - I did some experiments with ATI catalyst and GTA graphics settings:
Gay Tonny goes perfectly on everything high and 100 view distance (in game graphics) 1920x1080 50 Hz, even benchmark with all those explosions shows 30 fps and does not stuck at all. if I set in catalyst x4 or higher AA and some more quallity orianted settings then Gay tony starts to stuck for a split seceond every time of action and benchmark drops to 13 fps (unplayable)...
GTA 4 is still unplayable (stucks every 2-4 seconds for half a second) in any graphics or catalyst settings!!!!! sad.gif but benchmark shows 50 fps(!!) and runs good and smooth last time run benchmark: 1920x1020 50 hz, everything high, view distance 70
and results: 50,1 fps; CPU usage 60%; RAM 63%; Video Ram 89%, but game it was absolutely unplayable cuz of those stucks

Dont know what to do with that GTA 4 basic version - I gues it is not ment to be for me. but I am glad that Gay Tony and Lost Damned runs very good on high settings and I can have good time in the city with excelent graphics and no any kind of bugs at all.

DocMenach
  • DocMenach

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2005

#9

Posted 15 December 2010 - 10:49 PM

Well, I have nearly the exact same setup as you, purchased about a week and a half ago (i5 760, Sapphire Radeon HD6850, 8GB RAM). I was having horrible stuttering issues at first, but that was before I updated GTA IV to the 1.0.7.0 patch.

I hate to ask such a basic question, but you have not stated it yet: Have you patched your game to 1.0.7.0? Note though, that immediately after patching GTA IV to 1.0.7.0 it would no longer launch for me at all and would not give an error. I had to manually update Games for Windows Live as well, GTA IV then worked great and gives me very nice consistent frame rates with settings turned up high(much, much, much better than when I was running the game unpatched, which was nearly unplayable).

Also, new AMD/ATI Catalyst Drivers (10.12) were released yesterday, and while the game was running fine for me, it ran even better after updating to 10.12.

greenhorn
  • greenhorn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2010

#10

Posted 16 December 2010 - 01:36 PM

Jesus - what a lameass I was...
I just couldnt DL update patch from official site and windows Live also make lota jokes with me so I gave up, tough I have original (legal) windows 7 and original GTA 4 complete edition...
anyway I just googled "GTA IV 1.0.7.0 patch" DL form somehere, unziped and instaled - now GTA4 runs smooth like it should be, benchmarked on 1920x1080 50hz everything high and 100 viewdistance - results: 69fps CPU usage 62%, RAM 70%, VRAM 90%. thx guys, for help, but help comes long way for lameass like me smile.gif

so HD 6850 vs GTA 4 = 1:0 biggrin.gif

argo001
  • argo001

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Nov 2011

#11

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:49 PM

QUOTE (greenhorn @ Thursday, Dec 16 2010, 13:36)
Jesus - what a lameass I was...
I just couldnt DL update patch from official site and windows Live also make lota jokes with me so I gave up, tough I have original (legal) windows 7 and original GTA 4 complete edition...
anyway I just googled "GTA IV 1.0.7.0 patch" DL form somehere, unziped and instaled - now GTA4 runs smooth like it should be, benchmarked on 1920x1080 50hz everything high and 100 viewdistance - results: 69fps CPU usage 62%, RAM 70%, VRAM 90%. thx guys, for help, but help comes long way for lameass like me smile.gif

so HD 6850 vs GTA 4 = 1:0 biggrin.gif

Where did you download the DL update from? Can you send me a link please?

mirmihir
  • mirmihir

    Jerichoholic

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#12

Posted 05 November 2011 - 01:27 PM

QUOTE (argo001 @ Saturday, Nov 5 2011, 12:49)
QUOTE (greenhorn @ Thursday, Dec 16 2010, 13:36)
Jesus - what a lameass I was...
I just couldnt DL update patch from official site and windows Live also make lota jokes with me so I gave up, tough I have original (legal) windows 7 and original GTA 4 complete edition...
anyway I just googled "GTA IV 1.0.7.0 patch" DL form somehere, unziped and instaled - now GTA4 runs smooth like it should be, benchmarked on 1920x1080 50hz everything high and 100 viewdistance - results: 69fps CPU usage 62%, RAM 70%, VRAM 90%. thx guys, for help, but help comes long way for lameass like me smile.gif

so HD 6850 vs GTA 4  =  1:0    biggrin.gif

Where did you download the DL update from? Can you send me a link please?

Stop bumping topics, mate confused.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users