Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA SA Resolution

5 replies to this topic
SarahPilko
  • SarahPilko

    Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2009
  • None

#1

Posted 24 November 2010 - 03:29 PM

Anyway, I want to ask a question:

How I make GTA SA recognise my original resolution of my computer. I play MTA:SA which is GTA SA Multiplayer, it recognises my resolution which is 1824 x 1026 (which supposed to be 1920 x 1080 but I had to resize to fit on my monitor).

My GTA SA only go up to 1680 x 1050 maximum, it is not bad, graphics is good enough. But everytime I switch MTA SA and GTA SA singleplayer, resolution resets to 800 x 600 as my GTA SA Singleplayer don't recognise my MTA resolution. Is there any way to make my GTA SA in 1824 x 1026 resolution by any chance?

It is not necessary but sure will save the hassle of restarting MTA or changing resolution in GTA SA again.

Offtopic: What Frame Limiter actually do? I have it On all the time but I think that is right?

Thanks.

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#2

Posted 24 November 2010 - 04:05 PM

Some references for you to wade through...
RESOLUTIONS:
QUOTE (girishb @ MOD, Posted May 30 2009, 10:07)

Delete the gta_sa.set file from the User Files folder, run the game, set the resolution, quit the game and run the game again.

above From: http://www.gtaforums...opic=412822&hl=

http://www.gtaforums...opic=447518&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=417500&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=404328&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=359379&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=355348&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=271451&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=270266&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=245408&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=220567&hl=
http://www.gtaforums...opic=196324&hl=
RESOLUTION SETTINGS
QUOTE (girishb @ Posted Oct 10 2010, 0744)
Which version of the game do you have? If itís V1, you might need to apply the V1.01 patch before you can use higher resolutions.
Up-grading to V1.01 will affect the ability to Mod the game.



SarahPilko
  • SarahPilko

    Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2009
  • None

#3

Posted 24 November 2010 - 04:17 PM

Thanks for the reply but v1.01 will disable modding so I will just leave my game at that, 1680x1050 is good enough anyway, not a big deal.

Can you tell me what Frame Limiter does and which is recommended On or Off? And what is MIP Mapping? confused.gif

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#4

Posted 24 November 2010 - 04:33 PM

Frame Limiter locks the in-game fps to 25. This is useful if you don't have a good enough system as it reduces the fluctuations in fps that can make the game unplayable. However, if your system meets the recommended requirements, you can afford to turn it off.

For mip mapping, read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mipmap
It's easy to understand, just slightly difficult to put it in layman's terms. It's best to leave it on.

SarahPilko
  • SarahPilko

    Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2009
  • None

#5

Posted 24 November 2010 - 05:01 PM Edited by Sayrawr, 24 November 2010 - 05:15 PM.

Whoooa Frame Limiter off is totally different, my GTA SA runs like... soooo smooth biggrin.gif Thanks for your advice.

P.S With Frame Limiter off, CJ swims a lot slower, and it can't be lag because the gameplay is so smooth without any delay of lag but he just swims slow, even with sprint and underwater he is slow. Why?

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#6

Posted 25 November 2010 - 02:32 AM

QUOTE (Sayrawr @ Nov 24 2010, 22:31)
P.S With Frame Limiter off, CJ swims a lot slower, and it can't be lag because the gameplay is so smooth without any delay of lag but he just swims slow, even with sprint and underwater he is slow. Why?

That's one of the drawbakcs of turning off the Frame Limiter. I guess R* optimized CJ's swimming keeping the limiter on and so, he slows down if it is off. There's no other way around this than to turn off the frame limiter when you're swimming.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users