Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Buying new hardware

15 replies to this topic
Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#1

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:03 PM Edited by Nahiyan, 21 November 2010 - 01:09 PM.

Ok uhh this is my current config -

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 3.00 GHz
Nvidia XFX GeForce 9500GT @ 1GB VRAM (No OC and in da shop)
2GB DDR2 RAM (Statistics - Click)
Intel DG41RQ Motherboard

OK so I'll get a quad core processor, and I'm looking at this. I wanna get a processor with a max price of like 230 dollars.

And I'll also get another 2GB RAM stick, but this time a fast one.

And also I'll need a new motherboard for the i5, because the i5 needs a different socket. Although I haven't decided on which motherboard to buy.

Sooooooooo I need advice whether or not what to buy and what not. And also how much FPS I'll get in IV. I get like 25-35 with the latest patch (1.0.7.0) and my current settings.

Thanks! smile.gif

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#2

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:19 PM

If you plan to upgrade to i5, you need to buy also new RAMs (DDR3).

IMHO just upgrade your graphics card - get something like GTX460 1GB or 6850 and you'll be fine. If you really want to upgrade your CPU you might consider buying used Q9450, so you won't need to change the motherboard.

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#3

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:35 PM Edited by Nahiyan, 21 November 2010 - 01:49 PM.

What the... Why didn't I notice it needs DDR3? >_> Thanks dude you saved meh.

And my motherboard is like crap.. I don't get voltages and not even the speed of the CPU fan with SpeedFan.. You think I really should get a new motherboard? I have vista, and I'm thinking of getting Windows 7.

EDIT : Although 7 doesn't like 9500GT's drivers O-o

EDIT 2 : And yeah I want a quad core... But not a used one tounge2.gif

EDIT 3 : And I have a budget of like 50k Taka (800 Dollars)

EDIT 4 : And my PSU came with the Case (has a big fan in the front devil.gif ) and the box says the PSU is V2.2

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#4

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:48 PM Edited by yojo2, 21 November 2010 - 01:57 PM.

Ah yes, you've got crappy Intel motherboard...

So, I'd suggest getting AM2+ motherboard (that way you won't have to buy new RAMs) and getting some proper AMD CPU. Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 + AMD 955 should cost you about $230.

But mind you, that 9500GT is definitely too slow for E8500, let alone 955 or i5... Thus I strongly recommend you to upgrade you GPU as well.

edit: 800 dollars you say... k, that's enough to consider buying Intel CPU.

$239,99 Intel Xeon X3440 Lynnfield 2.53GHz
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819117225

$229,99 ASUS ENGTX470/2DI/1280MD5/V2 GeForce GTX 470
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814121400

$119,99 GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3 LGA
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128425

$79,99 Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600MHz CL7
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820226103

= $669,96

Very fast quad core CPU (with Hyper Threading), good performing video card, proper motherboard and very good RAMs.

By the way, tell us what power supply you have (brand, model and wattage).

//edit2, k, since your PSU came with the case it's most definitely a piece of sh*t. You'd have to buy a new one. I recommend:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817151096

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#5

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:58 PM Edited by Nahiyan, 21 November 2010 - 02:01 PM.

I'm not really good with AMD...
And is my RAM decent?

Hopefully I can find these here in my country icon14.gif

Garfield 2
  • Garfield 2

    BMW Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2007
  • None

#6

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:18 PM

@yojo2: I think it's pointless to buy a Xeon at this time.

You could stick with LGA 775 like I did as with GTA IV there's no real difference unless you want it maxed out. My config plays the game on everything high except textures (due to my graphics card though) and I get a stable 30fps. Sometimes goes down to 22 in heavy actions like explosions but still, very playable.

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#7

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:32 PM

QUOTE (Garfield 2 @ Nov 21 2010, 15:18)
@yojo2: I think it's pointless to buy a Xeon at this time.

Well, it's more futureproof tahn i5. I think that this is also an important factor.

viometrix
  • viometrix

    Mildly Aggravating

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#8

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:37 PM

yojo2 your build is pretty solid and goes beyond just gta iv. good job, everyone here seems to think well be playing gta iv only for the next 20 yrs, not the case. this system is great for gta iv as well as other current and future games.

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#9

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:46 PM Edited by Nahiyan, 21 November 2010 - 02:56 PM.

I'm pretty sure I won't of the stuff you posted yojo2..

I think I won't find the xeon either, but I'm pretty sure I'll find a i5

Probability of Finding (Out of 10) -

The xeon - 5 ( Found online but waaay too expensive.. Maybe the price is actually lower and they kicked the price up the roof.. I'll check when I go to get my 9500GT out of da shop )

An i5 - 8 ( Indirectly found online, probably available in my country )

GTX 470 - 6 ( Available in my country )

The Gigabyte Motherboard - 6 ( This too )

The RAM - 4

The PSU - 4

yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#10

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:49 PM

I see. In that case, you might post a link to a store from your country. I'd see what components are available and try to build another rig.

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#11

Posted 21 November 2010 - 03:01 PM Edited by Nahiyan, 26 November 2010 - 02:34 AM.

Here. Their websites are on the 7th column

EDIT : Lol overkill devil.gif

EDIT 2 : Daffodil is a good store, tho I'm not sure if they have less common hardware. But Dolphin does, its a big store.. And there's a store in the corner which has every tool/material and stuff like that!

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#12

Posted 26 November 2010 - 02:32 AM

Bump!

Heres some stuff I found -

Western Digital Caviar Black
I have a Samsung HD250HJ, its very slow, I get like 24MB write speed. Do you think I should get this?

http://www.ryanscomputers.com/ - I found the 470 here, but it is WAAAAAAY overpriced... Look, even the i7 950 costs less than that.. wtf notify.gif

viometrix
  • viometrix

    Mildly Aggravating

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#13

Posted 26 November 2010 - 03:00 AM

if you can swing it, get a ssd harddrive around 64 gb for your os and basic programs, then a 500gb magnetic drive for all your games, large programs and storage. the speed increases are phenomenal.

Nahiyan
  • Nahiyan

    I'm awesome, and I'm a scripter

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2010

#14

Posted 26 November 2010 - 08:04 AM Edited by Nahiyan, 27 November 2010 - 12:51 AM.

OK uhh im back and uhh..

Found the mainboard, 470 and also the i5 760. My PSU's watts is 450. I forgot the brand and model, even though I saw them just now tounge.gif

Also, here are the prices -

Intel Core i5 760 - 16,000 Taka
Nvidia XFX GeForce GTX 470 - 7,000 Taka

But on another forum, they said the 470 is still not in my country! D:

EDIT : I'm sure I'll need another PSU, I saw some really good ones, 650 watts and 750, which one should I get?

And also, I think I'll buy a i7 860.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    I stay mad @ Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#15

Posted 05 December 2010 - 01:52 AM

i would have just replaced the 9500gt ddr2 bought a evga gt240 ddr5 with one of their $40 rebates, but maybe that option wouldn't be available for the original poster, as he is in another country.

viometrix
  • viometrix

    Mildly Aggravating

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#16

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:16 AM

QUOTE (unc13bud @ Dec 5 2010, 01:52)
i would have just replaced the 9500gt ddr2 bought a evga gt240 ddr5 with one of their $40 rebates, but maybe that option wouldn't be available for the original poster, as he is in another country.

gt240 is a workstation class video card not meant for gaming, you have wasted some money




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users