Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

What is Draw Distance?

6 replies to this topic
Tashan
  • Tashan

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2010

#1

Posted 18 October 2010 - 08:57 AM

It might sound simple question but despite the details on the web i still can't get whats draw distance?? and how will that affect my gameplay??? confused.gif

Please explain draw distance in terms that is best suitable for gameplay and general effects of the same.

I have a PC version and play SA with frame limiter turned off, anti aliasing on and draw distance by default set by the game (unchanged) with 1GB RAM

P.S> I don't have 3D card installed and yet it plays smooth smile.gif

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • GTA Series Staff
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#2

Posted 18 October 2010 - 09:40 AM

It's as simple as how far you can see.
when traveling the farther you can see the better.
However, This game pulls some tricks.
It is not uncommon to see the horizon (when flying) and suddenly a radio tower or large tree will suddenly pop-up with no way to avoid the object. I have even hit the radio tower only to have it appear after the crash.
My video settings are all to the max, by the way.
On my older computer (and PS2) a gray fog was evident at extreme distances to avoid the rendereing of distant objects. To a much lesser extent fogging is still used to hide distant views even on the best cards.

Tashan
  • Tashan

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2010

#3

Posted 18 October 2010 - 09:58 AM

well in that case the unchanged set of draw distance is proper? since i can very well manage distance refresh of images. When I set to max it literally slows down the game and it eventually crashes thats why I wanted yo know !!..thx for the reply colgate.gif


Piperka
  • Piperka

    Big Homie

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2009
  • Australia

#4

Posted 18 October 2010 - 12:04 PM

How old is your PC? If the maximum draw distance on San Andreas crashes your computer then it must be old. Imagine the x10 draw distance mod.

Omini
  • Omini

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2007

#5

Posted 18 October 2010 - 12:09 PM

QUOTE (Piperka @ Oct 18 2010, 12:04)
How old is your PC? If the maximum draw distance on San Andreas crashes your computer then it must be old. Imagine the x10 draw distance mod.

I've been tempted to get that mod, but I'm fairly sure my computer would explode.

Tashan
  • Tashan

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2010

#6

Posted 19 October 2010 - 03:05 AM

QUOTE (Piperka @ Oct 18 2010, 12:04)
How old is your PC? If the maximum draw distance on San Andreas crashes your computer then it must be old. Imagine the x10 draw distance mod.

It is just year back I got my new PC. The main reason it crashes is becoz I play without 3D render graphic card, thats why a higher draw distance (in my case) was not feasible, as such, after lil weasel made clear to what was causing the problem!!... smile.gif

Krawk
  • Krawk

    Prankster

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2009
  • None

#7

Posted 27 October 2010 - 01:20 PM

QUOTE (Piperka @ Oct 18 2010, 08:04)
How old is your PC? If the maximum draw distance on San Andreas crashes your computer then it must be old. Imagine the x10 draw distance mod.

Does one such exist? My PC has enough HP to do it!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users