Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Data error on Installation

22 replies to this topic
Link162271
  • Link162271

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010

#1

Posted 25 September 2010 - 07:41 PM Edited by Link162271, 25 September 2010 - 07:53 PM.

After removing GTA IV from my computer this summer, i've decided to re-install it again, however, i keep getting the following error:

FEATURE TRANSFER ERROR
Feature: Grand Theft Auto IV
Component: GTAIV_Dynamic
File: J:\GTAIV\data2.cab
Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check)

The error occurs during the installation of the file: "C:\..\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto IV\Movies\weazel.bik"

I've made sure to remove any old GTA IV files from my computer prior to installing, the problem also didn't occur when i was installing GTA IV for the first time last June.

Any help much appreciated.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#2

Posted 25 September 2010 - 09:23 PM

The disk is either damaged or it has oxidized, it happens. Try copying both disks to a HDD folder and install from there. Alternately you should try some other DVD drive.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#3

Posted 26 September 2010 - 09:02 PM

Yes i get this error after reformatting my computer a month ago i tryed like 2 mins ago and i got this error.. Its not the Disk nor my computer's performance etc

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#4

Posted 27 September 2010 - 04:59 AM

Yes, it's your disk that's at fault.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#5

Posted 27 September 2010 - 11:58 AM

No its really not the disk... Its in perfect condition....

TopAz
  • TopAz

    Programmer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2010

#6

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:32 PM

Your disc has a bad sector

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#7

Posted 27 September 2010 - 01:53 PM

GTAIV disks are not of good quality and they tend to oxidize. This probably happens the first on the transition between the layers, so usually the Data2.cab crc error pops up.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#8

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:55 PM

Yeah how can we sort this, or where can we download a safe Data2.cab? and everything that is needed if we cannot get it to run after?

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#9

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:39 AM

Well, all such methods are illegal and will not be discussed here. Practically the only recourse is to have the store replace the disk for you. Or you can try contacting R* with a proof of purchase.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#10

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:00 PM

I'd just rather go and buy a new one. But i dunno, If theres other ways then yeah

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#11

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:13 PM

You can try the disk on some other DVD drive, it may work. Or you can try copying all the files manually to a HDD folder, this (for whatever reason) works sometimes.

Even if the disk may be damaged a bit, you still should be able to pass the Securom disk authentication.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#12

Posted 28 September 2010 - 11:09 PM

Nah i tryed that, it gave some error, It may just be my Dvd drive, Ima buy another one soon and see if that works, if it does I'll let ya know, but still try and find another way please tounge.gif

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#13

Posted 29 September 2010 - 05:09 AM

You could maybe hire that witch that helped with David Beckham's foot injury prior to one of the past world cups - admittedly he managed to organize a large number of people who concentrated with positive thoughts on his broken bone hence helping with the injury.

Maybe they can do the same for your DVD.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#14

Posted 29 September 2010 - 03:26 PM

Is that meant to be funny? No offence

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#15

Posted 29 September 2010 - 04:37 PM

Yes. Like Backham, you need a miracle and who better then a witch to provide one?

TopAz
  • TopAz

    Programmer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2010

#16

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:32 PM

I can provide you data2.cab but you will need to prove that you are using official disc. I am not a pirater helper

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    ...I will very carefully explain to you why it cannot be.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#17

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:36 PM

GTAF is not a file sharing network. sly.gif Still that'd be illegal either way, distributing files IS illegal, even if the DVD is legal.

TopAz
  • TopAz

    Programmer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2010

#18

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:47 PM

@Spider-Vice, just helping a poor person. You knowwww.

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#19

Posted 29 September 2010 - 10:12 PM

Yeah i am using a legit disk and if you can give me Data2.cab i would be really greatfull (:

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#20

Posted 30 September 2010 - 05:04 AM

file sharing is illegal so don't discuss it here.

TopAz
  • TopAz

    Programmer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2010

#21

Posted 30 September 2010 - 08:02 AM

you have to prove it

ryski123
  • ryski123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2009

#22

Posted 02 October 2010 - 01:03 PM

Problem solved, it was the DVD Drive.......................................

MrIronBurger
  • MrIronBurger

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2014
  • United-States

#23

Posted 21 July 2014 - 04:33 PM

stop claiming it is the disk cause i get tthe  same error and i have the downloaded version





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users