Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

DYOM Bugs and Glitches

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
125 replies to this topic
Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#1

Posted 14 September 2010 - 09:07 AM Edited by Chimpso, 02 November 2011 - 08:34 AM.

DYOM V6.1 Bugs and Glitches


We have a Bug Reports Topic, please request help with bugs there and not here.


DYOM is not perfect, there are many of bugs and I think it's time we had a formal list.



Here is a simple bug FAQ to get you started:

I can't save/load missions!

Make sure you have CLEO 3 installed correctly. DYOM only supports CLEO 3. CLEO 4 will not work.

How do I edit my mission file without going into DYOM and what is Notepad++?

You can Edit the DYOM.dat files that DYOM produces by using Notepad++ (Download), which is a source code editor. You can view the files in normal notepad, but trying to edit them will corrupt the file. You can use Notepad++ to edit the missions text and remove errors from it. DO NOT edit/remove any of the BS stuff. That is your missions coding and it will screw it up if you do!

List of known Bugs and Glitches


Invisible Checkpoints

Invisible Checkpoints are an annoying bug that leaves the red halo of the chekpoint invisible when designing a mission, but still leaves the marker.

Cause

Unknown, usually by having many checkpoints in your mission/in a row.

Solution

Thanks to GTA!!! for finding this solution.

Use the "Cutscene" objective and look at the checkpoint in the cutscene view. It and all others on the map will re-appear (this does not always work). Simply cancel the cutscene creation and continue desiging.


Invisible Interiors

Invisible interiors is when an interior does not spawn. This usually occurs during cutscenes.

Cause

The player is not inside the interior.

Solution

To prevent this, make sure the player is inside the interior. For example, before you make cutscenes in an interior, make a teleport objective inside the interior somewhere. Then design your custsences. The interior should spawn normally and your actors won't fall through an invisible floor.



Ball Actors

Ball actors are a name that I give to actors that have been compressed into a strange ball shape with their weapons sticking out of them. Ball actors can't be killed, and this bug occurs when actors spawn.

Cause

Ball actors are caused by having around 60 (estimated) or more actors (alive or dead) on the map at once. This can also be caused in interiors. If the player is not inside the interior, this can happen to actors.

Solution

Hide dead or unneded actors to prevent this bug. Make sure that the player is in the interior when actors spawn in it.




Coloured Squares

Cloured squares is an annoying bug when all text on the screen, including all subtitle and the "Mission Complete" text turns to couloured squares.

Cause

Coloured squares is caused by stray '~' marks in text. This often happens when players text colour or they accidently hit the '2' key when SHIFT is held down.

Solution

The solution is easy. Go to the objective where it is caused and re-write the text, making sure not to leave any stray '~' marks. Another solutiuon is to open up the file with Notepad++ and search for the stray mark. For example, this will cause this bug: "Kill the enemy~!" To fix it, remove the tidle, so it looks like this: "Kill the enemy!"



Spawn After: 1827478483

This is a bug that occurs with vehicles. Instead of the usual "Spawn after: Objective Number" It will say something like "Spawn after: 27472849374" or some other random number.

Cause

Too many vehicles on the map on the same time.

Solution

Be sure to hide destroyed/uneeded vehicles. Then select the objective you want the bugged car to Spawn after, go up to the car and in the vehicle menu press "Spawn Car" to fix the bug.



Actor Crash after adding Route Points

This is a bug when, after adding route points for an actor and accepting the path, the game crashes.

Cause

Using more then 100 route points (up to '300' route points remaining) during a mission.

Solution

This is very annoying. First of all, I reccomend never having another mission loaded when you press the 'New Mission' button. As all route points from that mission will carry onto the counter in the new mission (Example: I had 378 route points remaining in the base mission, if I select 'New Mission' then I will still have only 378 route points remaining in that mission). As soon as you've used up to 100 route points, there is no fix for this bug, you just can't have any more. To prevent the 'carry over' thing, make sure you restart San Andreas and use the default mission you start with when you start DYOM.



Route Point Activation Crash

This bug crashes the game and occurs when playing the mission, it is more common in missions with lots of route points and can pop out seemingly at random, even if the actor was not bugged before It occurs when the bugged actor attempts to start it's route point path.

Cause

I don't really know, I think it just happens when you start to go over 50 route points in a mission. It's rare, but does happen.

Solution

To find the bugged actor, SAVE YOUR MISSION and start deleting all actors with route points after the objective that crashes, the one that crashes the game when you delete it is the bugged actor, LOAD THE MISSION YOU SAVED and preform this method on the bugged actor:

Edit the actor and re-create the actors route path, weather he is driving/walking/running, just make the path again and it should work.

The Parachute Bug

The Parachute Bug (or Parachute Glitch) is an unsolved bug that continues to menace DYOM mission players.

Cause

The Parachute bug is a DYOM bug. The cause seems to have something to do with spawning, but there is no real known reason for it happening.

Solution

Unknown. Although there are many workarounds. Using a jetpack instead will work. If you have no time to spawn a jetpack then try jumping off the location where you fall instead of just falling. Remember, cheat input works during black screens (the screen between loading) so if you type in "rocketma'''" during the black screen and once you are back into the game hit the r key (thus completing the cheat) you will have a jetpack and can float to safety. To mission designers: to make life easier for everyone, try to put the location the player will fall (if his parachute fails) over water, so the player does not die. Then maybe put a platform or something in the water so the player can jump on it and use the jetpack cheat.


The parachute has been fixed as of DYOM v6.1

Hidden Text
Thanks to Kratos2000 for this one

Hidden Text is a bug that makes text invisible during cutscenes.

Cause

This is caused by having a space (as in from the spacebar) at the end of the text.

Solution

Edit the cutscene and re-write the text. Or edit the mission file in Notepad++ and remove the space.

JOJOXX
  • JOJOXX

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2009

#2

Posted 14 September 2010 - 11:12 AM

That's very helpful.I have some bugs what I find,I will send you when I have time. icon14.gif smile.gif

timdyom
  • timdyom

    I'm bad know a english

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2010

#3

Posted 14 September 2010 - 11:18 AM

Useful information. Thanks.

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#4

Posted 14 September 2010 - 11:32 AM Edited by Chimpso, 14 September 2010 - 11:43 AM.

Thanks smile.gif .

@JOJOXX Yes! Please send me as much bug info as possible. Thanks smile.gif .

GTA!!!
  • GTA!!!

    DYOM Mission Designer!

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2009

#5

Posted 15 September 2010 - 05:05 AM

QUOTE (Chimpso @ Sep 14 2010, 14:37)
Ball Actors

user posted image

Ball actors are a name that I give to actors that have been compressed into a strange ball shape with their weapons sticking out of them. Ball actors can't be killed, and this bug occurs when actors spawn.

Cause

Ball actors are caused by having around 60 (estimated) or more actors (alive or dead) on the map at once.

Solution

Hide dead or unneded actors to prevent this bug.

Correct the solution. This bug happens because the map of the area in which the actor is present is not loaded.
To solve it, place a teleport objective nearby before creating the actor. biggrin.gif

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#6

Posted 15 September 2010 - 05:25 AM

^That may be one reason, but even when an actor is right next to me or not far away this does happen. I just created a mission with 100 actors and objectives and this was my primary problem. Hiding actors was the solution that worked for me. Anyways, I will add it a little later. I'm not on my computer right now.

Doublepulse
  • Doublepulse

    I will turn your life upside down!

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2010
  • None

#7

Posted 16 September 2010 - 05:44 AM

Very good useful info Chimpso.

I usually get the invisible interior when there are too many movements like the walk and run animation.

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#8

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:56 AM

Thanks! biggrin.gif But I think it's only caused by not having the player in the interior.

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#9

Posted 17 October 2010 - 01:32 AM

Thought I might raise this from the dead again. Anyone have anymore bugs/improvments to add to this list?

weeurey
  • weeurey

    the destroyer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2010

#10

Posted 31 October 2010 - 02:52 PM

dunno what this is but when i try to type a mission name for example it crashes any ideas?

1xDarkWarriorx1
  • 1xDarkWarriorx1

    Lurk moar.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2010

#11

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:10 PM

QUOTE (weeurey @ Oct 31 2010, 14:52)
dunno what this is but when i try to type a mission name for example it crashes any ideas?

Do you have cleo 3 installed?
Do you have any other mods?
Are you creating the mission in a total conversion?

weeurey
  • weeurey

    the destroyer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2010

#12

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:13 PM

1 yeah i have CLEO3
2 yes i have mods alredy (teleport to marker ect)
3 no

GTA!!!
  • GTA!!!

    DYOM Mission Designer!

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2009

#13

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:15 PM

QUOTE (weeurey @ Oct 31 2010, 20:43)
1 yeah i have CLEO3
2 yes i have mods alredy (teleport to marker ect)
3 no

Try deleting a file called gxthook.cleo in your CLEO Folder.

weeurey
  • weeurey

    the destroyer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2010

#14

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:18 PM

still crashes! grrr

1xDarkWarriorx1
  • 1xDarkWarriorx1

    Lurk moar.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2010

#15

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:42 PM

Hmmmm you can try
1.Clean reinstall for GTA:SA
2.Copying and pasting GTA SA USERFILES to a safe place then deleting the original one
3.Reinstalling DYOM
Or fourth
4.Reinstalling CLEO3
Oh and can you tell which CLEO3 mods you have,list all of them

weeurey
  • weeurey

    the destroyer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2010

#16

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:46 PM

i have alredy just reinstalled GTA SA to try no joy
i have just deleted ALL of my mods
i have tryed reinstalling dyom and cleo3 and even tryed cleo4

1xDarkWarriorx1
  • 1xDarkWarriorx1

    Lurk moar.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2010

#17

Posted 31 October 2010 - 03:55 PM

QUOTE (weeurey @ Oct 31 2010, 15:46)
i have alredy just reinstalled GTA SA to try no joy
i have just deleted ALL of my mods
i have tryed reinstalling dyom and cleo3 and even tryed cleo4

CLEO4 isnt compatible with DYOM
Sorry i dont know what is wrong.,Try asking LeonCj in The "Ask and answer" topic,its in this page,i think

weeurey
  • weeurey

    the destroyer

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2010

#18

Posted 31 October 2010 - 04:01 PM

[FONT=Impact][SIZE=14]Thank you [FONT=Arial][SIZE=1]

Thanks i installed cleo 4 insted of cleo 3!!!! so thank you to evryone that helped me cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif
by by im off to mod

LnDProductions
  • LnDProductions

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2009
  • Lithuania

#19

Posted 31 October 2010 - 04:20 PM

QUOTE
Try asking LeonCj in The "Ask and answer" topic


DUDE! Everybody CAN answer questions there, not only me -___-, like Doublepulse said.

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#20

Posted 02 November 2010 - 06:10 AM

That is correct. BTW, this whole convo should have been in the Bug Reports topic. But who cares. Glad it worked out.

Dutchy3010
  • Dutchy3010

    Female SCM coder!

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2006
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#21

Posted 13 November 2010 - 10:48 AM

Great topic. I was surprised I didn't pin it yet. suicidal.gif

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#22

Posted 13 November 2010 - 11:43 AM Edited by Chimpso, 13 November 2010 - 11:53 AM.

Lol, thanks again biggrin.gif . I had a link to it in my other pinned TUT anyways.

EDIT: Just added the parachute bug. Everyone please feel free to suggest changes/additions!

SevilleCheng
  • SevilleCheng

    蛋糕是骗人的?

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2010

#23

Posted 07 December 2010 - 01:20 PM

I'm thinking if no actors(including the player) is in an interior will cause Invisible Interiors Bug.I'll spend some time on it in the next Winter holiday.

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#24

Posted 13 December 2010 - 09:03 AM

Minor update. Any suggestions?

Kratos2000
  • Kratos2000

    ;)

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jul 2009

#25

Posted 14 December 2010 - 04:49 PM

A few solutions from the time I was fixing people's bugged missions and stuff.

Bugged actors:
Your mission crashes with no specific error, every time you play it.
you've done a long way and now everything it gone.

Cause:
Unkown, atleast I don't know.

Solution:
Check all the actors after the crashing objective.
Please save before doing anything detailed below:
Step 1: Delete every one of them, the bugged actor will crash your game after you delete it.
Step 2: After we found the problematic actor, simply edit it, wether it's changing his model, animation or weapon, even it's team.
After doing so, he will no longer crash your game and you can continue making your mission.



And a minor one:

Hidden Text
Sometimes, people write a dialogue, and their text is not visible on the cutscene,
that's because they pushed Space after the last word in the dialogue, simply editing the cutscene will be enough, or removing the space in Notepad++

kmlwin.1996
  • kmlwin.1996

    Hold upô

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 11 May 2010

#26

Posted 04 January 2011 - 12:07 PM

Hey! Sometimes, when I get close to checkpoint, game CRASHES!!! devil.gif Why it causes? How can I prevent that bug?

pauliux2
  • pauliux2

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2009

#27

Posted 27 January 2011 - 10:31 AM

I think everyone knows the 123465789 bug...how do i fix it?

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#28

Posted 27 January 2011 - 11:11 AM

QUOTE (pauliux2 @ Jan 27 2011, 20:01)
I think everyone knows the 123465789 bug...how do i fix it?

Read the Solution... dozingoff.gif

pauliux2
  • pauliux2

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2009

#29

Posted 01 February 2011 - 04:15 PM

QUOTE (Chimpso @ Jan 27 2011, 11:11)
QUOTE (pauliux2 @ Jan 27 2011, 20:01)
I think everyone knows the 123465789 bug...how do i fix it?

Read the Solution... dozingoff.gif

I mean not the route points.I mean about the mission name,and objectives

Chimpso
  • Chimpso

    Be a king.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Australia

#30

Posted 15 February 2011 - 08:33 AM

Updated as per 6.1

If you find any more bugs, report them to me so I can check them out and add them. Thanks biggrin.gif .




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users