Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|WIP]Shadow's Plugin

1,440 replies to this topic
Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#31

Posted 15 August 2010 - 01:03 PM

It's better to wait for skinned mesh exporting to be done because it's such a great feature.
One question Link, have you been able to get a bones-skinned player/ped mesh in-game yet or are you still working towards it?

miclin
  • miclin

    old stager

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2009

#32

Posted 15 August 2010 - 01:43 PM

why? he also can rewlease it without the bones feature and then he can make a new version WITHe the bones feature

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#33

Posted 15 August 2010 - 01:53 PM

@frank.s: Still working towards that, not much left to do tho. Think I can test it really soon smile.gif

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#34

Posted 15 August 2010 - 03:00 PM

QUOTE (miclin @ Aug 15 2010, 15:43)
why? he also can rewlease it without the bones feature and then he can make a new version WITHe the bones feature

+1
Release it this, what you donenow (wdr/wdd), when work on bones will be finished, update it.

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#35

Posted 15 August 2010 - 07:31 PM

Just a screen to show WDD import. Currently fixing the bones.

screen

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#36

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:58 PM

cool i will be waiting

Slim Shady III
  • Slim Shady III

    Group:G-Modding Group:Bulletproof Group:Echte Musik

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2007

#37

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:02 PM Edited by Slim Shady III, 15 August 2010 - 09:05 PM.


Yeah ,
i will get a new pc in few months , than i export my 50 for GTA IV .
Can't wait for this day . inlove.gif

MinnieMan121249
  • MinnieMan121249

    Carbon based Buffoon!!

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2008
  • None

#38

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:44 PM

oh noes, the same flaw as kams script. the models have sharp edges cuz of the texture lawout. no worries, it just means: spending a big more time (smoothing those edges) to get a quality model.

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#39

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:44 PM

QUOTE (MinnieMan121249 @ Aug 15 2010, 21:44)
oh noes, the same flaw as kams script. the models have sharp edges cuz of the texture lawout. no worries, it just means: spending a big more time (smoothing those edges) to get a quality model.

nope the model is not welded thats the problem its not about the texture.

GritEngine
  • GritEngine

    I♥R*N

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2010

#40

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:59 PM Edited by GritEngine, 15 August 2010 - 11:09 PM.

imho, bones for peds or niko are nowhere near as important as col for a map. With you being one of the only people even working on tools at all, it would be wise to make a mapping pipeline before you care about weapons. Personally, I will never change cars or weapons again until they come with a map, and probably still wont, because the only thing worth changing is really the maps, and the other stuff can be fun, but it's just... you know... it's nothing special like a map or real mission script.

cars, scripts, peds, clothes - all that stuff is truly useless in the same map, really. Sure, some people just like a new car, or want a whigger niko, etc, but I mean, the only thing needed for a real mod is maps, 2 1/2 years later still no col. Col is your most important obstacle imo, you should focus on that and mapping, then move on to bones.

I say this for the sake of modding, though I realize this is a hobby and learning experience Shadow, it might be worth it to put bones on hold and make new maps possible first and foremost (the only real aspect of GTA modding that still really exists in any active form and isn't just rips from other games or reskins of clothes - sure, there is scripting going on, but they aren't really doing much but making hacks)

Good luck either way, we made grit like GTA (actually, it's easier would you agree?) because GTA modding wasn't happening in IV, it will be neat to see this happen, but might be too late. I will definitely use them and this thread, we could rebirth GTA modding. I would much prefer IV for the urban cross dev and not SA tounge.gif (I will only put urban to SA if someone else does it because I am spoiled by real time light and don't want to prelight lol)

Does this work in lesser versions of max than 2010?

ed; also, I still want beta test :x

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008
  • None

#41

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:34 AM

I actually agree with you man IV's map is very weird and i don't like New York, I want L.A
So Link is col going to be supported?

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#42

Posted 16 August 2010 - 05:00 AM

FINALLY! eternal glory for Prince! damn screw you oleg i will mod IV without paying a buck thanks to this awsome guy, thanks prince!
now in some days i will start trolling around in IV modding and maybe no more SA wiii!

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#43

Posted 16 August 2010 - 03:27 PM

@quechus13: Yes, I am currently working on cols with GForce. First the wdr script tho.

Mark01
  • Mark01

    It's nice to be nice but I wouldn't lie to be nice.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2009
  • None

#44

Posted 16 August 2010 - 04:22 PM

Awesome... is the only word who came from my mind.

$ Niki $
  • $ Niki $

    Group:Sound&Art Prod. Group:Modelers Group:AF Motion GFX

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2009

#45

Posted 16 August 2010 - 04:55 PM

This is fantastic keep it up tounge.gif !

BWARazor
  • BWARazor

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2008

#46

Posted 16 August 2010 - 06:02 PM

Yeah, also looking forward on the col feature

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#47

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:19 PM

Kinky. Will be interesting to see how this progresses.
QUOTE
It uses Shadow-Mapper's new model dll files for the exporting and importing. Which makes it easy to update all my tools (which use models) at once

How exactly do you get Max to interface with your dll (.dle/.dli plugin, maxscript, etc) ?

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#48

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:52 PM Edited by Prince-Link, 16 August 2010 - 08:57 PM.

Max script is able to call .net functions.

CODE
dotnet.loadAssembly("ShadowUtils.dll")
su = dotNetClass "ShadowUtils.ModelUtil"


The ak47 with dummys and materials.
user posted image

MinnieMan121249
  • MinnieMan121249

    Carbon based Buffoon!!

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2008
  • None

#49

Posted 16 August 2010 - 09:32 PM

ive got an idea for a good ingame example, add a silencer to the ak, (no need to texture its a test) and move the muzzle forward to see if it works and test ingame, this will atleast tease us a bit biggrin.gif

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#50

Posted 17 August 2010 - 12:48 AM

Like I can model a silencer tounge.gif I can't model sh*t. If you don't believe it works try dff2wdr the first tool to create custom ingame models wink.gif

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#51

Posted 17 August 2010 - 05:22 AM

it will work, i trust this guy tounge.gif
each time you show an screen i imagine the bunch of trolling you can do in IV with moddin

GritEngine
  • GritEngine

    I♥R*N

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2010

#52

Posted 17 August 2010 - 05:34 AM

VANS not to be too off topic, but you must tell me what you mean when you say trolling tounge.gif

I think you mean it in a different way than usually people say it tounge.gif

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#53

Posted 17 August 2010 - 07:02 AM

well for meh the trolling in SA is doing every mad sh*t and trying stupid things that near always would crash and make them work and if not try every way till be sure it wont
like for example, in SA its weird but i barely read 2 TUT in all this years to learn xD, lightning and understanding MeD tounge.gif everything else i did it by trolling around crashing agaisnt alot of fails
crashes and crashes, alot of reinstalls but see me here, thats the way i do it HELL YEAH! and wont doupt will do the same in IV tounge.gif

Thats the trolling for meh

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#54

Posted 17 August 2010 - 10:26 AM Edited by City_Poke912, 17 August 2010 - 10:32 AM.

QUOTE (Prince-Link @ Aug 16 2010, 22:52)
Max script is able to call .net functions.

CODE
dotnet.loadAssembly("ShadowUtils.dll")
su = dotNetClass "ShadowUtils.ModelUtil"


The ak47 with dummys and materials.
user posted image

What about screen with WDD file? (like sl_ks_superlod1.wdd with parts of Brooklyn Bridge)

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#55

Posted 17 August 2010 - 01:54 PM Edited by Prince-Link, 17 August 2010 - 02:11 PM.

The ped screen is a WDD file wink.gif But I'll load the wdd you asked.

user posted image
Looks like there is still something wrong with the materials when I load a WDD and I think I know what the problem is. (remember those are LODs)

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#56

Posted 17 August 2010 - 03:35 PM

Exellent work decoding the new files link, you're a gta mod pioneer. I can't wait until it gets released. smile.gif
Will there be a direct 'pipeline' for exporting map objects directly into ShadowMapper/IV? or will it be similar to older methods (exporting files and adding them to an img manually).

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#57

Posted 17 August 2010 - 03:51 PM

I had this working for more then a year now. Just not as a max importer/exporter.

miclin
  • miclin

    old stager

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2009

#58

Posted 17 August 2010 - 04:13 PM

ähm , prince . I think these .wdd are right;)

These is a LOD .wdd and every LOD in this .wdd is for an other model^^


EDIT: oh, i dindt read your last sentence^^ tounge.gif

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#59

Posted 17 August 2010 - 05:09 PM

Prince: This will give us the nice nooby shortcut of max 2010 that if the mesh has missing materials and we have them inside a folder we can lead max to read that folder and then all the scene gets textured?
lol.gif

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#60

Posted 17 August 2010 - 05:27 PM Edited by City_Poke912, 17 August 2010 - 05:29 PM.

QUOTE (Prince-Link @ Aug 17 2010, 15:54)
The ped screen is a WDD file wink.gif But I'll load the wdd you asked.

user posted image
Looks like there is still something wrong with the materials when I load a WDD and I think I know what the problem is. (remember those are LODs)

Textures are not stored in WDD, like in WDR.
WTD for that file is ks_superlod1.wtd. And make a shot, of course smile.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users