Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

A Full Sketchup to GTA VC Tutorial

20 replies to this topic
ilir
  • ilir

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#1

Posted 03 August 2010 - 03:17 PM

A Full Conversion from Sketchup to GTA Vice City


INTRODUCTION:

In this tutorial I will explain how to put your Sketchup models in GTA Vice City with details.

YOU WILL NEED:

Sketchup Pro
Autodesk 3ds Max
Kam's Max Scripts (For 3ds Max)
MEd v0.32 beta
TXD Workshop 4.5
IMG Tool 2.0

BEFORE YOU START:

1) Scale your model (Import a ped from Vice City to Sketchup and scale down your model).
2) Delete the bottom of your model (this prevent most collision bugs) See screenshot
3) Export your model to an empty folder.
4) All textures must be in .bmp format and the name shoul be 8 characters or less.

SO LET'S START:

1) Open 3ds Max and import your model. A pop-up screen will show up, use these settings:
SCREENSHOT
Click OK. Another one will show up, click NO.

2) Open Material Editor (press M on your keyboard), click over color picker, and then click over your model.
SCREENSHOT

3) If your model uses only one texture, then click either Ambient or Diffuse and turn in to white.
SCREENSHOT

3) If your model uses more than one texture, then make them all white.
SCREENSHOT

4) Rename your model and click on DFF IO.
SCREENSHOT

5) A GTA DFF IO window will pop-up. Click VC, check "Skip COL" and export your .dff model. Make sure you write the exact name that you wrote in 3ds Max.
SCREENSHOT

6) After you export your model, open again material editor, now go to Standard => GTA COL Surface => Assign material to Selection.
SCREENSHOT1
SCREENSHOT2
SCREENSHOT3
Close Material Editor.

7) Click on Collision IO, select COLL, click Collision Mesh and click over your model.
SCREENSHOT

8) Collision Mesh should change to "your model name". Write your model name and export collision.
SCREENSHOT
Close 3ds Max.

9) Open TXD Workshop 4.5 and Select GTA VC on bottom-right of the program

10) Go to File => New => 32bpp. Add more if you have more textures. Import your textures, double-click on them and change textures name and click compressed.
SCREENSHOT
Save the .txd file.

11) Open gta3.img with IMG Tool and add your .dff and .txd files inside the archive. Rebuild.
SCREENSHOT
Close IMG Tool.

11) Open Med v0.32, select IDE tab, click New File and save with any name (baftijari in this example).
SCREENSHOT1
SCREENSHOT2

12) Go to IPL tab, click on New File and save with the same name you saved the .ide file (baftijari in this example).
Close MEd v0.32.

13) Copy your .col file and paste where your .ipl and .ide files are.

14) Open gta_vc.dat and add your these lines:
Example for IDE:
IDE DATA\MAPS\baftijari.IDE

Example for COL:
COLFILE 0 DATA\MAPS\baftijari.COL

Example for IPL:
IPL DATA\MAPS\baftijari.IPL

Save and close.

15) Open again Med v0.32. Select your .ide, click New Item and browse for .dff and .txd file. Click OK.
SCREENSHOT

16) Now go to Scene tab, check your .ipl file and render.
SCREENSHOT

17) Go to IPL tab, select your .ipl file and click New.
SCREENSHOT

18) Select your .ide file => your model => OK.
SCREENSHOT

19) Your model will be at 0,0,0 coordinates. Move it anywhere you like and Save.
SCREENSHOT

20) Test !!!

If you have any problems, report here.

The-Prince
  • The-Prince

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2010

#2

Posted 08 August 2010 - 03:06 PM

tha game craches confused.gif sad.gif

Michael_J_Scofield
  • Michael_J_Scofield

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2009

#3

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:15 PM

Great tutorial, i'm going to test it now, can you also make one like this for GTA San Andreas ? biggrin.gif

cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal

#4

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:39 PM

There are plenty for SA, just search smile.gif They're excellent too.

ilir
  • ilir

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#5

Posted 08 August 2010 - 10:21 PM Edited by ilir, 25 October 2010 - 08:06 PM.

QUOTE (Spider-Vice @ Aug 8 2010, 17:39)
There are plenty for SA, just search smile.gif They're excellent too.

Yes, there are plenty of SA tutorial like this one.

The-Prince
  • The-Prince

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2010

#6

Posted 17 August 2010 - 05:22 PM Edited by The-Prince, 18 August 2010 - 11:42 AM.

i followed again your tutoriel, it crashes again confused.gif

ilir
  • ilir

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#7

Posted 18 August 2010 - 09:03 PM Edited by ilir, 18 August 2010 - 09:06 PM.

=> This is your mistake:

Main Mistake Screenshot

=> Other mistakes that don't affect game crash, but have many bugs:

Other Mistake Screenshot

Sorry, but this is the most stupid mistake that anyone can make. So before your say "the game crashes", please double-check by yourself what can your problem be.


This is a screenshot of your model ingame.

The-Prince
  • The-Prince

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2010

#8

Posted 18 August 2010 - 09:47 PM

the last gta_vc.dat i just made it fast like the one i did for the model, because i deleted it . so maybe with the fast taping i didn't see it ! i'll try again smile.gif thnxx

Swoooth
  • Swoooth

    derp

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2010

#9

Posted 02 September 2010 - 05:25 PM

thanks for the tutorial man, going to play around with it now

Michael_J_Scofield
  • Michael_J_Scofield

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2009

#10

Posted 23 October 2010 - 01:05 PM Edited by Michael_J_Scofield, 23 October 2010 - 03:18 PM.

Hey, my game crashes, i have installed everything right, but i think made a mistake at the beginning, it says "Scale your model" but i don't understand how to do that ? How do i have to import a ped from VC ?
My model is almost bigger then Vice City map biggrin.gif
So could that be the reason it crashes ?

Thanks smile.gif

EDIT: I tried another building and it works great, it's also big, but it doesn't replace the whole map tounge.gif
So can you help me with importing the ped from VC and scale the model ? biggrin.gif

slc_world_69
  • slc_world_69

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2010

#11

Posted 27 October 2010 - 09:14 PM

The player goes through the buildings (models)

and if you make your model larger then 255 on each axis the game also crashes this means a 512/512 cube
and if your model goes out of the cube then wont work

another mistake is the col file you must enter the correct path to it in gta_vc.dat

But my only error is that the player goes through new models and I cant find a solution for that problem

ilir
  • ilir

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#12

Posted 28 October 2010 - 09:11 AM

QUOTE (slc_world_69 @ Oct 27 2010, 22:14)
...But my only error is that the player goes through new models and I cant find a solution for that problem

That's because your model is too big, and the collision too. Scale your model down.

Our lord Steve Jobs
  • Our lord Steve Jobs

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2012

#13

Posted 13 December 2012 - 02:29 AM

What if GTA3 and make Vehicle?

ilir
  • ilir

    Spinnin'

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#14

Posted 11 February 2013 - 09:59 PM

This tutorial ain't for GTA III nor vehicle modeling. It's about putting your map models from Sketchup into GTA VC.
@Sorry for the bump blush.gif

boomshowdown
  • boomshowdown

    boomshowdown

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2012

#15

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:47 AM

In the Website you have kept screenshots is forbidden i like your tutorial but i also want to see screenshots (:

SaL_Leone
  • SaL_Leone

    VCS Mod

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2012
  • None

#16

Posted 10 July 2013 - 10:36 AM

Great tutorial,Thanks you biggrin.gif

TiB_BiT
  • TiB_BiT

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2013

#17

Posted 09 August 2013 - 08:10 PM

What if is that model road,it dont have bottom

sarcasm.gif notify.gif

theNGclan
  • theNGclan

    8bit. Not stirred.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2011
  • United-States

#18

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:45 PM

Sorry for the bump, but every time I add something to the map, the model/texture is invisible but the collision works. Any idea what I did wrong?


tomtem
  • tomtem

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2013

#19

Posted 30 October 2013 - 07:07 AM Edited by tomtem, 30 October 2013 - 07:09 AM.

Great tutorial. This information is magnificent. I am definitely bookmarking this website and share with my friends. Thanks, After hours of hard work I usually relax on friv


Urban Legend
  • Urban Legend

    No, f*ck no.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2005
  • None

#20

Posted 17 March 2014 - 12:39 PM

Sorry for the bump, but every time I add something to the map, the model/texture is invisible but the collision works. Any idea what I did wrong?


Try all over again. This could be something really small like a box you forgot
to check half way througgh the process.

So anyone... Med is used instead of Moo Mapper in this tutorial? Is that right?

uNi
  • uNi

    Cyclop 9

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#21

Posted 17 March 2014 - 12:56 PM

Yes, I can't remember the last time I actually used Moo Mapper for GTA III.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users