Photo

Behaviorism VS Psychoanalysis

16 replies to this topic
Ph3L1z14n0
  • Ph3L1z14n0

Gangsta

• Members

Posted 10 May 2010 - 11:57 PM

Who's right ? who's wrong ? what's your opinion ?

General Goose
  • General Goose

Because Jeb Bush is all in my house with disease.

• Members

Posted 11 May 2010 - 12:00 AM

As I have no knowledge of this whatsoever, could you explain what this is about please?

Ph3L1z14n0
  • Ph3L1z14n0

Gangsta

• Members

Posted 11 May 2010 - 12:16 AM

^ Gladly, somehow I sensed I had to.

I started this topic because of a class I am seeing, called "Personality Psychology I", in this class we learn about the psychoanalitical (sp) stance and views of the human being and personality, now, I know my stuff about psychology, so I kinda butt-headed a lot with my teacher, who is some sort of a Jacques Lacan follower, we argued on who was right, psychoanalysis, or behaviorism, or another branch like cognitivism.

Since this is a great topic of debate amongst psychologists, I wanted to find what others think, and this forum is pretty damn good for debating.

Psychoanalysis dictates, basically, that a human being's actions are guided by the unconscious component and the conflict it creates with other mental structures, it's founder is Sigmund Freud, you can learn more through this link Psychoanalysis

Behaviorism on the other hand, considers that a human being's actions are product of learning, mostly through classical and operant conditioning, this is a very positivist and rigidly scientific approach, it's founder was John B. Watson, you can learn more through this link Behaviorism

General Goose
  • General Goose

Because Jeb Bush is all in my house with disease.

• Members

Posted 11 May 2010 - 12:20 AM

Hmm. Interesting. I'd heard of psychoanalysis, but thanks for explaining it all. I'll write my opinion tomorrow, 1:20am right now so I better get to bed soon. tounge.gif

What do you think?

Ph3L1z14n0
  • Ph3L1z14n0

Gangsta

• Members