Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How To Build Your Own Desktop PC

112 replies to this topic
sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Faceless, Nameless, Endless War

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#91

Posted 07 October 2013 - 07:10 PM

If you have some knowledge of computer hardware and all the raw materislas such as HDD,RAM,Graphics Card,Power Supply parts then it is not tough to assemble a system.

 

Congratulations on explaining what anyone who had already read any of the thread already knew, two months after anyone last posted in it.

  • android likes this

gtamann123
  • gtamann123

    Bang Bang, Skeet Skeet

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2008
  • United-States

#92

Posted 09 October 2013 - 02:24 AM

If I want to build a very high end top of the line gaming rig (like Crysis on max settings good) what's a ballpark figure on how much I would have to spend?

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#93

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:03 PM

Which Crysis did you mean? 3? If so then the figure would be pretty high, no lower than ~$1500 I reckon.

gtamann123
  • gtamann123

    Bang Bang, Skeet Skeet

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2008
  • United-States

#94

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:34 AM Edited by gtamann123, 10 October 2013 - 01:34 AM.

Which Crysis did you mean? 3? If so then the figure would be pretty high, no lower than ~$1500 I reckon.

yeah that's what I meant. I just meant the highest end game as a benchmark. And wow that actually cheaper than what I thought. For some reason I was thinking $2500-$3k. $1500 isn't bad :)

Jc_39a
  • Jc_39a

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2013
  • None

#95

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:14 PM Edited by Jc_39a, 29 November 2013 - 09:18 PM.

 

After 15:23, why does he make another one? I don't get it, he makes one for 15 mins then after he creates another one?

 

Edit: Then after he doesn't actually use the first part he made, he only instores the second part into the case


GroundZero
  • GroundZero

    Criminally Insane

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2010
  • Greece

#96

Posted 02 January 2014 - 06:44 PM

This looks very helpful, thanks for posting it, Ryan.


TECHN9CiAN
  • TECHN9CiAN

    may His darkness be your light

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2008
  • None

#97

Posted 04 February 2014 - 06:24 AM

Good info. First thing on my to do list after i buy a car that actually starts consistently, unlike my current one... Good looking out. Hopefully ill be set in time for some elder scrolls online action

iiGh0STt
  • iiGh0STt

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2013
  • Ukraine

#98

Posted 01 March 2014 - 06:28 AM

I will be making the jump from this:

http://pcpartpicker....1985/saved/1M2q

to this:

http://pcpartpicker....1985/saved/3UII

piece by piece hopefully within 6 months. I will be selling the old one when I am done. I am not sure about the video card, and that will be the last thing I buy. So the 660 will work until then, but I know for sure the case, PSU, chip and board for sure. I have been oogling those since release.


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#99

Posted 01 March 2014 - 09:17 AM Edited by yojo2, 01 March 2014 - 09:18 AM.

I'm not sure if I understand you correctly? - you have the rig from the first link, and want to upgrade it to the second one? If so then I don't really se the point, it seems like a collosal waste of money...

Not that the second rig won't be faster, but it's definitely a bad idea to replace everything.

Andreas
  • Andreas

    GTAV Forum Leader

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#100

Posted 01 March 2014 - 04:11 PM Edited by Andreas, 01 March 2014 - 04:15 PM.

But, why? The only thing I can understand you'd want to upgrade is the graphic-card, but it depends on the resolution you want to play your games on. For instance, the GTX660 is still good enough to play every title available on the market on high settings. However, it won't suffice for maxed out settings at Full HD. But even then, the GTX780 is a massive waste of money when you only play on a 1080p monitor.

 

Upgrading the processor, motherboard, RAM and power supply is also pointless, because you will not gain any major performance increases; it would be pretty much the same as before. You probably wouldn't even notice the difference. If you have money to waste though, then do something more useful, and invest it in a good SDD - the Samsung 840 series, for example, is recommendable.


iiGh0STt
  • iiGh0STt

    Gangsta

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2013
  • Ukraine

#101

Posted 01 March 2014 - 08:30 PM Edited by iiGh0STt, 01 March 2014 - 08:33 PM.

I built the first rig upon haswell releases and got the i5. That rig is does not have enough power to run my HTPC.

I know it seems like a waste of money, But I have only just started buying parts, and I am sure I will transfer most things over. I built the first rig with the intent of being able to build a better one later. It was my first build. So I am sure I will keep the ram, maybe the corsair cooler, fans (my new case is awesome and has perfect fan placement, along with the PSU completely concealed from all other components). I will be upgrading the PSU for sure. The one I have no has a blue light, and is only bronze rated. It was a hand me down from a friend years ago. As far as the motherboard goes, If you have ever seen the MSI M Powers, you would know why I want it over the AS ROCK that my i5 sits in.

I already have one Samsung SSD 840 256GB and one WD 2tb black. So upgrading to one more of each and I will have a nice RAID compatible set up.. also I have a G-Technology 4TB from my mac's that I will use for my HTPC set up. For now, My mac mini is what I use to watch movies I have downloaded. It's pretty much just a sleek pretty box with laptop components inside, and I need much more. I have posted my Home Theater set up somewhere around these forums... it would make more sense if you saw what I was trying to accomplish. Plus, Money is not an issue, and part of the reason why I have no clue what GPU I will be getting. Those Titans sure do look inviting (which is why I chose the cheaper PNY 780 as a starting point).

I am sure there will be a huge difference in the two.


johnny_zoo
  • johnny_zoo

    Aces!

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2009
  • None

#102

Posted 28 June 2014 - 09:12 PM

Great topic learning a lot. Dont let people say gtaforums is not useful..

 

 

Cant wait to build my own PC one day.


Twang.
  • Twang.

    No greater good, no just cause.

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2005
  • None

#103

Posted 28 August 2014 - 10:07 PM Edited by Twang., 28 August 2014 - 10:56 PM.

Handy guide. I'll be sure to reference it when I get around to building my own.
  • android likes this

Gangsteri
  • Gangsteri

    Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Finland

#104

Posted 11 September 2014 - 02:39 PM

Should i go with FX-8350 or i5 (some of the K models) with Gigabyte R9 280 3GB OC Windforce? I might go for crossfire later...


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#105

Posted 11 September 2014 - 07:22 PM

i5 is definitely a better choice for gaming, more expensive as well though.

Gangsteri
  • Gangsteri

    Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Finland

#106

Posted 11 September 2014 - 07:43 PM

i5 is definitely a better choice for gaming, more expensive as well though.

 

But do i see any difference? I dont want to pay for marginal performance increase.


yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#107

Posted 11 September 2014 - 07:47 PM

About 30-40% on average, depending on the game (comparing i5-4690k @ 4,5GHz with FX-8350 at 5GHz)

Gangsteri
  • Gangsteri

    Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Finland

#108

Posted 11 September 2014 - 08:07 PM

About 30-40% on average, depending on the game (comparing i5-4690k @ 4,5GHz with FX-8350 at 5GHz)

 

But those are overclocked and like i said, i going to buy r9 280... so i dont think im going to get any boost with i5


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Faceless, Nameless, Endless War

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#109

Posted 12 September 2014 - 07:22 AM

About 30-40% on average, depending on the game (comparing i5-4690k @ 4,5GHz with FX-8350 at 5GHz)

 
But those are overclocked and like i said, i going to buy r9 280... so i dont think im going to get any boost with i5


He's right if you're talking raw framerates just running on processor power and excluding GPU, but the fact the i5 has an integrated GPU contributes a long way to that.
As part of a system, most games show a 1-5 FPS difference between the i5 and FX-8350. The i5 is technically faster, but not £100 faster. And it's between marginally and substantially slower on heavily multi-threaded and scalable workloads, like running multiple VMs, rendering, Cinebench and the like.

For most builds, in my opinion you're better off adding £100 to the GPU fund or buying an SSD as a boot drive than you are spending £100 more on an i5 build over an FX.

Gangsteri
  • Gangsteri

    Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Finland

#110

Posted 16 September 2014 - 12:55 PM

Decided to go with Intel i5-4460 because its only 20€ more than FX-8350. I know its locked but i dont overclock.


Xavierr
  • Xavierr

    ....

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2013
  • None

#111

Posted 18 September 2014 - 10:37 PM

Can most monitors do it all? As in like, hook my pc up to it, hook up my xbox one, and cable, I just have change the input ?

Gangsteri
  • Gangsteri

    Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2014
  • Finland

#112

Posted 19 September 2014 - 03:00 PM

Can most monitors do it all? As in like, hook my pc up to it, hook up my xbox one, and cable, I just have change the input ?

 

Yes. 


MrSemiFunny
  • MrSemiFunny

    ...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2014
  • United-States

#113

Posted 19 October 2014 - 07:59 PM Edited by MrSemiFunny, 19 October 2014 - 07:59 PM.

What's a good PC for video editing and some gaming?(No budget)(October 2014) 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users