Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|WIP] World Trade Center Mod 0.3

7,635 replies to this topic
quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#7411

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:48 AM

QUOTE (RomerJon17 @ Tuesday, Jan 29 2013, 21:36)
[QUOTE=pr94,Wednesday, Jan 30 2013, 07:57] [QUOTE=gta4ever_,Saturday, Jan 26 2013, 13:18] my first object in 3ds max: world trade center's fountain lol.gif
(I don't know how to make "The Sphere")

But it's something. If you keep trying, you will make even better models. You just need some experience, but that comes by time. wink.gif [/QUOTE]
Hbx84's model is pretty complicated to model without his editing max model. confused.gif

nothing is complicated.

just needs time and skills.

pr94
  • pr94

    The Executive

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2009

#7412

Posted 06 February 2013 - 11:50 AM

I see a dead mod in here... cryani.gif

ccrogers15
  • ccrogers15

    REQUESTED BAN

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2010

#7413

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:01 AM

QUOTE (pr94 @ Wednesday, Feb 6 2013, 11:50)
I see a dead mod in here... cryani.gif

The mod was pretty much completed. What more could possibly be added?

pr94
  • pr94

    The Executive

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2009

#7414

Posted 09 February 2013 - 05:37 PM

QUOTE (ccrogers15 @ Saturday, Feb 9 2013, 11:01)
QUOTE (pr94 @ Wednesday, Feb 6 2013, 11:50)
I see a dead mod in here...  cryani.gif

The mod was pretty much completed. What more could possibly be added?

You're new here right? The mod is at 0.3.5. The final version would be 1.0 as the developer originaly said. Modellers have started to make 0.4, but with Scetchup, not 3DS Max that is required in GTA IV modding. So everything is stuck.

BKDeath20
  • BKDeath20

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2009

#7415

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:27 AM

Aww, I can't believe it! This great mod is dead now. Cuz 3dstructures made it so well, now hes gone? sad.gif That sucks, gta iv needs 3ds max to mod.... :'( I feel sad.

H1Vltg3
  • H1Vltg3

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#7416

Posted 19 February 2013 - 03:47 PM

I'm currently modeling Stark Tower from The Avengers for GTA IV in Maya. Would you guys have any advice for replacing the GetALife building? I already see that the collisions will be complicated, along with SLOD. Should I physically replace the GetALife model, or just delete it and use my own img? Any advice about exporting, making it go faster without having to rename every object for each step? It currently takes me 40 minutes for one export just because of all the renaming for collisions and ide. Maybe you guys have some advice for me to make this go smoother. I did a non textured test in game and the model shows up when you get up close, but it's white and black of course. You can check out the progress on my Facebook page.

3dstructures
  • 3dstructures

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2012

#7417

Posted 21 February 2013 - 11:52 AM

i am stil here! and i see you guys strugling! was my work not ok?
its stil availeble from my side? only who can convert and make collisions!
and that without complaints! because my model is ok!

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#7418

Posted 21 February 2013 - 12:48 PM

QUOTE (3dstructures @ Thursday, Feb 21 2013, 11:52)
i am stil here! and i see you guys strugling! was my work not ok?
its stil availeble from my side? only who can convert and make collisions!
and that without complaints! because my model is ok!

i've downloaded the .max scene and i've gotta say it's impressive.....

It's impressive how someone could mess it up so badly. I'm sorry 3DStructures but my criticism isn't going to be pretty:

It has over two and a half million polys ( 2,684,449 to be exact) so it would lag the game a lot. This model wasn't designed to be put in any game because it's so needlessly high-poly and has detail in many places where it simply shouldn't be. The methods used to model it have created many many useless or unneeded polys. Imho, i'd say that 1/10th of the polys should be used, in other words this model uses ten times the recommended number of polys. The model was made in sketchup so it will most probably have collision or lighting or duplicated faces/polys/edges/verts or un-fixable lag bugs.

There are no textures on that DB link so i can't see what the model is supposed to look like, i can only critique the actual 3d model and critique the modeling quality + style + method.
I'm not a professional 3d modeler but i do see where this model needs improvement, actually it's beyond repair in my opinion it should be scrapped and a new (optimised) one should be made. Some of the lower poly parts are salvageable but most of it is too different from the normal "video game modeling style" that it would be bad in-game.

Anyone got the textures for this version? I wanna see what it truly looks like, atm i'm just looking at it textureless because that DB link doesn't have any textures.

3DStructures, you are able to make some great stuff and your work is really nice, but it needs to be modeled differently to be able to work well in any game, let alone the lag-fest that is GTAIV. cookie.gif

3dstructures
  • 3dstructures

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2012

#7419

Posted 21 February 2013 - 02:50 PM

are you shure you looked at the rightmodel?
my model looks like the wtc! like the screenshots! thats what you should see in you program!

pm me
sent me youre contacts and i wil sent you the right model!
its also a sketchup build! but a good one!


Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    PingPang

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None

#7420

Posted 21 February 2013 - 03:14 PM Edited by Frank.s, 21 February 2013 - 03:19 PM.

I think i looked at the right model, i downloaded the .max from the "WTC 0.4 package completed" public dropbox link.
I p.m'd you my skype if that's the contact you wanted. icon14.gif


QUOTE
my model looks like the wtc! like the screenshots! thats what you should see in you program!
Just because it looks like WTC doesn't mean it's video-game quality. I don't think you have understood my original post. I never said it looks bad, i said it's modeling technique is bad because it adds millions of un-needed polys and isn't designed to be put in a videogame.
(if i've got the correct model) Your model is two and a half million faces, it should be about 300000.

3dstructures
  • 3dstructures

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2012

#7421

Posted 26 February 2013 - 03:31 PM

Ok Frank!

thanks for the info!

Sad news for wtc 0.4 Sketchup models caint be used for this sad.gif
That means i have to trow the towel in!

I hope you guys find a modeller who can make it in 3dsmax!
I want to share buildingplans and sketchup models for the one who is doing it!

Thats all i can do!
Im sorry

3Dstructure
Andy Mulderij

gta4ever_
  • gta4ever_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2013

#7422

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:40 PM

Does anyone know the measurements of wtc 7? (height; width; length)

OptimumPx
  • OptimumPx

    Basket Case

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2008

#7423

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:40 PM

QUOTE (gta4ever_ @ Tuesday, Feb 26 2013, 21:40)
Does anyone know the measurements of wtc 7? (height; width; length)

From Wikipedia:
"The original 7 World Trade Center was a 47-story building, designed by Emery Roth & Sons, with a red granite facade. The building was 610 feet (190 m) tall, with a trapezoidal footprint that was 330 ft (100 m) long and 140 ft (43 m) wide."

gta4ever_
  • gta4ever_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2013

#7424

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:27 PM

Thank you smile.gif

GhostStorm
  • GhostStorm

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2009

#7425

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:45 PM Edited by GhostStorm, 06 March 2013 - 11:03 PM.

I have downloaded and installed the latest version but dislike the snow at certain points and was wondering if there is anyway to remove the snow but keep the benefits of what the newer version gives? also if its possible to have AI cars still in the area as no one seems to go near it.....

Finally there is music playing in random parts of my city which I assume is coming from this mod so how do I fix that too?

The mod installer didn't work neither, it would download and that was it. I had to extract the rar and install it by copying files over and replaced existing files which I backed up. dontgetit.gif

OptimumPx
  • OptimumPx

    Basket Case

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2008

#7426

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:44 PM

You guys will like this: a complete walk around the perimeter of the World Trade Center circa 1999.

It starts at the corner of Church St and Vesey St, facing the Borders Books in 5 WTC. It heads south on Church and turns west onto Liberty St. It then turns onto West St and heads north and turns east onto Vesey St...finally ending up back where it started. turn.gif
user posted image

folypers
  • folypers

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2012

#7427

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:54 PM

QUOTE (3dstructures @ Tuesday, Feb 26 2013, 15:31)
Ok Frank!

thanks for the info!

Sad news for wtc 0.4 Sketchup models caint be used for this sad.gif
That means i have to trow the towel in!

I hope you guys find a modeller who can make it in 3dsmax!
I want to share buildingplans and sketchup models for the one who is doing it!

Thats all i can do!
Im sorry

3Dstructure
Andy Mulderij

Sketchup models can be used, it's your own preference. That, and you really have to know what you're doing, or you'll end up with a trillion faces as Frank pointed out.

user posted image

user posted image

The church in the foreground is a Sketchup model, the gothic tower in the back is a 3ds max model.

RomerJon17
  • RomerJon17

    World Trade Centre Mod Facebook Page Manager

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2010

#7428

Posted 07 March 2013 - 11:57 PM

QUOTE (folypers @ Friday, Mar 8 2013, 09:54)
QUOTE (3dstructures @ Tuesday, Feb 26 2013, 15:31)
Ok Frank!

thanks for the info!

Sad news for wtc 0.4 Sketchup models caint be used for this sad.gif
That means i have to trow the towel in!

I hope you guys find a modeller who can make it in 3dsmax!
I want to share buildingplans and sketchup models for the one who is doing it!

Thats all i can do!
Im sorry

3Dstructure
Andy Mulderij

Sketchup models can be used, it's your own preference. That, and you really have to know what you're doing, or you'll end up with a trillion faces as Frank pointed out.

user posted image

user posted image

The church in the foreground is a Sketchup model, the gothic tower in the back is a 3ds max model.

OMG how O.O
This can help to import WTC model to GTA IV, but it has way too much polys confused.gif

folypers
  • folypers

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2012

#7429

Posted 08 March 2013 - 12:06 AM

What I said... You need a 'good' SU model, or else: no game.

Best of luck anyway!

3dstructures
  • 3dstructures

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2012

#7430

Posted 08 March 2013 - 12:37 AM

QUOTE (folypers @ Friday, Mar 8 2013, 00:06)
What I said... You need a 'good' SU model, or else: no game.

Best of luck anyway!

Can you help us with this. i can suply everything you need to! please contact me trough pm!
3dstructure

folypers
  • folypers

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2012

#7431

Posted 08 March 2013 - 12:56 AM

I'm willing to take a look at your model, but I do fear the worst. Frank has that medal thingy under his name for a reason wink.gif

RomerJon17
  • RomerJon17

    World Trade Centre Mod Facebook Page Manager

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2010

#7432

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:05 PM

I met a Ukraine guy and his name is Vlad. He knows how to use 3D Max and he's happy to help to continue World Trade Centre 0.4.


nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#7433

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:10 PM

QUOTE (RomerJon17 @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 23:05)
I met a Ukraine guy and his name is Vlad. He knows how to use 3D Max and he's happy to help to continue World Trade Centre 0.4.

user posted image? lol
Hope to see something new.

RomerJon17
  • RomerJon17

    World Trade Centre Mod Facebook Page Manager

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2010

#7434

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:15 PM Edited by RomerJon17, 29 March 2013 - 11:32 PM.

QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 10:10)
QUOTE (RomerJon17 @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 23:05)
I met a Ukraine guy and his name is Vlad. He knows how to use 3D Max and he's happy to help to continue World Trade Centre 0.4.

Hope to see something new.

He's not Russian nkjellman... rolleyes.gif

user posted image

user posted image

Vlad's 3D Max interior smile.gif

RomerJon17
  • RomerJon17

    World Trade Centre Mod Facebook Page Manager

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2010

#7435

Posted 30 March 2013 - 09:08 AM

Sorry for a double post but this is a WTC 0.4 update smile.gif

user posted image

Do you know this object biggrin.gif Vlad is working on the WTC 0.4 smile.gif

vlad1k7
  • vlad1k7

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2013

#7436

Posted 30 March 2013 - 09:31 AM

Hi guys!I'm wery happy help this project evolve smile.gif

RomerJon17
  • RomerJon17

    World Trade Centre Mod Facebook Page Manager

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2010

#7437

Posted 30 March 2013 - 12:00 PM



Vlads WTC South Antenna smile.gif

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#7438

Posted 30 March 2013 - 07:22 PM

QUOTE (RomerJon17 @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 23:15)
QUOTE (nkjellman @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 10:10)
QUOTE (RomerJon17 @ Friday, Mar 29 2013, 23:05)
I met a Ukraine guy and his name is Vlad. He knows how to use 3D Max and he's happy to help to continue World Trade Centre 0.4.

Hope to see something new.

He's not Russian nkjellman... rolleyes.gif

user posted image

user posted image

Vlad's 3D Max interior smile.gif

Wow, lol. That looks like Cry Engine 3. It won't look that good on Rage but it will still look nice.

Nice work.

pr94
  • pr94

    The Executive

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2009

#7439

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:22 AM

QUOTE (vlad1k7 @ Saturday, Mar 30 2013, 11:31)
Hi guys!I'm wery happy help this project evolve smile.gif

Welcome! colgate.gif
Finally somebody to continue this great mod! biggrin.gif

Ηeath
  • Ηeath

    Just Do It.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2011

#7440

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:37 AM

I hope this won't have 1,000,000 polys like last time. Good luck with this. icon14.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users