Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|BETA] ViceCityStories PC Edition

14,509 replies to this topic
TheRock92
  • TheRock92

    The GTA Champion

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#10411

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:26 PM

QUOTE (Ash_735 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:23)
QUOTE (terasss @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:13)
When you start making BETA 4, are we gonna have to download a new installer and install the brand new game or is BETA 4 gonna be downloaded and installed through an updater?

There is no BETA 4, only code names, code names cure all, ...and we'll try and release them bi-yearly, these will pretty much be the same as the Blue Hesper installer but with all updates and patches included up to that point.

What do you mean ??? That the releases dont bear ,,Beta 4,5,6'' but simply codenames ??? And what do you mean bi-yearly ??? That the next release wont be anytime soon !??

RoxDox
  • RoxDox

    GTA Pioneer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2010

#10412

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:44 PM

After the update, the radios are not working anymore.

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#10413

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:44 PM

QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:26)
QUOTE (Ash_735 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:23)
QUOTE (terasss @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:13)
When you start making BETA 4, are we gonna have to download a new installer and install the brand new game or is BETA 4 gonna be downloaded and installed through an updater?

There is no BETA 4, only code names, code names cure all, ...and we'll try and release them bi-yearly, these will pretty much be the same as the Blue Hesper installer but with all updates and patches included up to that point.

What do you mean ??? That the releases dont bear ,,Beta 4,5,6'' but simply codenames ??? And what do you mean bi-yearly ??? That the next release wont be anytime soon !??

No, we're still doing patches and stuff, which you guys can update automatically, the Code Name releases will happen bi-yearly, which packs all the patches and fixes up to that point in with the installer (as well as change up a few things), this is so anyone late can simply download those instead of downloading Blue Hesper and then waiting through hundreds of MB's to Update.

TheRock92
  • TheRock92

    The GTA Champion

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#10414

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:47 PM

QUOTE (Ash_735 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:44)
QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:26)
QUOTE (Ash_735 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:23)
QUOTE (terasss @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:13)
When you start making BETA 4, are we gonna have to download a new installer and install the brand new game or is BETA 4 gonna be downloaded and installed through an updater?

There is no BETA 4, only code names, code names cure all, ...and we'll try and release them bi-yearly, these will pretty much be the same as the Blue Hesper installer but with all updates and patches included up to that point.

What do you mean ??? That the releases dont bear ,,Beta 4,5,6'' but simply codenames ??? And what do you mean bi-yearly ??? That the next release wont be anytime soon !??

No, we're still doing patches and stuff, which you guys can update automatically, the Code Name releases will happen bi-yearly, which packs all the patches and fixes up to that point in with the installer (as well as change up a few things), this is so anyone late can simply download those instead of downloading Blue Hesper and then waiting through hundreds of MB's to Update.

Ah,I get it now...well is there going to be an update with the story missions (fixes/new ones) soon ???

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#10415

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:54 PM

QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:47)
well is there going to be an update with the story missions (fixes/new ones) soon ???

As soon as all current missions are fixed, which at the rate you guys keep bugging out, ...probably never. tounge.gif

TheRock92
  • TheRock92

    The GTA Champion

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#10416

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:55 PM Edited by TheRock92, 16 June 2013 - 07:08 PM.

QUOTE (Ash_735 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:54)
QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:47)
well is there going to be an update with the story missions (fixes/new ones) soon ???

As soon as all current missions are fixed, which at the rate you guys keep bugging out, ...probably never. tounge.gif

Haha ok smile.gif Keep it up smile.gif icon14.gif icon14.gif icon14.gif

EDIT 1: Latest bug - when i jump off a hunter and i have a parachute the parachute wont open as if its not there...also one of the snipers ( the one replacing the rifle ) doesnt have aim...

EDIT 2: Destroying Martinez's bike in the first mission doesnt restart the mission..

terasss
  • terasss

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Lithuania

#10417

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:26 PM

QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:55)
EDIT 2: Destroying Martinez's bike in the first mission doesnt restart the mission..

It shouldn't restart the mission, it was intentional

TheRock92
  • TheRock92

    The GTA Champion

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#10418

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:28 PM

QUOTE (terasss @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:26)
QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:55)
EDIT 2: Destroying Martinez's bike in the first mission doesnt restart the mission..

It shouldn't restart the mission, it was intentional

Maybe,but in the original VCS it restarts it...

gmortars
  • gmortars

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2013

#10419

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:35 PM

Hello!

First of all, this mod looks great, so kudos to the team! Vice City has always been my favorite, so I was very happy find this topic a while back.

Second of all, I tend to do some side missions first so as to earn some money, but they don't seem to be working for me:

http://www23.zippysh...06006/file.html

Frist dump: paramedic missions, game crashed as soon as I delivered patient #1 to West Haven Community Healthcare Center (incidentally, I observed there was no marker here).

Second and third dump: game crashed during taxi missions after delivering the passenger to the location. It seems the game crashes every time I'm told to wait while the customer does his/her business. Can't remember the details about the second dump, but the third one was outside Needle Tracks in Downtown just as the "Wait..." message appeared.

I have build 1184. I only completed the first mission before trying side missions.

magneto
  • magneto

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#10420

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:42 PM

I don't know if it's already known,but I used the weapons code "UZUMYMW" and there's no weapon icon to the Remote grenade:


user posted image

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#10421

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:46 PM

Are you allowed to use cheats?

TheRock92
  • TheRock92

    The GTA Champion

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#10422

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:01 PM Edited by TheRock92, 16 June 2013 - 08:09 PM.

QUOTE (gmortars @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:35)
Hello!

First of all, this mod looks great, so kudos to the team! Vice City has always been my favorite, so I was very happy find this topic a while back.

Second of all, I tend to do some side missions first so as to earn some money, but they don't seem to be working for me:

http://www23.zippysh...06006/file.html

Frist dump: paramedic missions, game crashed as soon as I delivered patient #1 to West Haven Community Healthcare Center (incidentally, I observed there was no marker here).

Second and third dump: game crashed during taxi missions after delivering the passenger to the location. It seems the game crashes every time I'm told to wait while the customer does his/her business. Can't remember the details about the second dump, but the third one was outside Needle Tracks in Downtown just as the "Wait..." message appeared.

I have build 1184. I only completed the first mission before trying side missions.

Well I played the taxi mission after completing the first one like you and I had 7 passengers with no crashes...also I dont think it has been reported by others so...I guess its your mistake or somethin... confused.gif confused.gif confused.gif

But indeed the paramedic mission crashes the game...here is the .dmp for it: http://www.sendspace.com/file/i1562b

As soon as there are more updates I will test them and tell if there are more bugs...keep it up guys smile.gif icon14.gif

magneto
  • magneto

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2010

#10423

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:14 PM Edited by magneto, 16 June 2013 - 08:17 PM.

QUOTE (City_Poke912 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 21:46)
Are you allowed to use cheats?

yup tounge2.gif

It worked great with BETA 2.. 0_0

eagle6446
  • eagle6446

    rock on

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2006
  • None

#10424

Posted 16 June 2013 - 08:56 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 17:41)
An update has been released! Here's what's changed since Build 1175:
  • NEW: The game now supports a commandline argument - -novcsname will make your game keep GTA: San Andreas window name so trainers should work just fine
  • NEW: Aside from commandline arguments, the game now supports IV-style commandline.txt - put the arguments in that file to make the game read them on startup
  • FIX: Turismo submission is now available
  • FIX: Some small corrections in cutscene characters' textures
  • FIX: Several SCM bugs fixed (including 'car destroyed' issue in Fear the Repo)

smile.gif
Tried doing Turismo submissions, work well, like them a lot, still - after completing races and saving the game having them completed, when the game is loaded up again it seems that the previously completed races are N/A again.
Cheers wink.gif

Teh Edgiest Man on Earth
  • Teh Edgiest Man on Earth

    2edgy5u #TeamMichael

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2013

#10425

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:25 PM

The Heat bar on the Boomshine Blowout mission is kinda too fast, I just saw GTAMission's vid, and it didn't seem that fast.

Silent
  • Silent

    Moderating Cookie Monster

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2010
  • Poland
  • Most Helpful [GTA] 2013
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2013
    Most Talented [Modding] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"
    Best Vehicle 2013 "III Aircraft"
    Most Helpful [Modding] 2012
    Modder of the Year 2012

#10426

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:27 PM Edited by SilentPL, 16 June 2013 - 09:33 PM.

QUOTE (eagle6446 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 22:56)
Tried doing Turismo submissions, work well, like them a lot, still - after completing races and saving the game having them completed, when the game is loaded up again it seems that the previously completed races are N/A again.
Cheers wink.gif

Damn it. Indeed.

I will fix it tomorrow, sorry. Not sure if I'll be able to 'extract' data from the stats though.

Edit:
Good news, partially - I'll be able to recover Best Result (which will result in mission attempts NOT being incremented again), BUT not best time. So the races will have to be replayed in order to get the time back, but they won't mess up 100% completion counter.

The autoupdater has been disabled until this bug is fixed - I just don't want to make people download that SCM and play the mission.

[PTM]Al_Pacino
  • [PTM]Al_Pacino

    Vice City Stories PC Edition supporter

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008

#10427

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:46 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 15:33)
QUOTE ([PTM)
Al_Pacino,Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 17:15] I keep receiving an update notifier for a 23MB file which i keep downloading and installing. Is that supposed to update so many times or is it a bug? I've downloaded it for about 3 times.

Fine on our side. Is the updater notifying about a failed file installation or anything like that?

The update installs fine, but it just keeps saying theres another update with the same size to do.
I'm gonna check that again to see what file is being updated.

By the way, regarding the Multiplayer SA-MP Adaptation theres a few conversations going here, so VCS fans plz show interest in the adaptation of SA-MP for VCS:PC and the russians will make it smile.gif
http://forum.sa-mp.c...495#post2568495
That subforum is russian but you may post in english in this case.

terasss
  • terasss

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Lithuania

#10428

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:46 PM

QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:28)
QUOTE (terasss @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 19:26)
QUOTE (TheRock92 @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 18:55)
EDIT 2: Destroying Martinez's bike in the first mission doesnt restart the mission..

It shouldn't restart the mission, it was intentional

Maybe,but in the original VCS it restarts it...

Oh, does it? I've actually completed VCS on PS2, but i don't remember all of the details of it. biggrin.gif

eagle6446
  • eagle6446

    rock on

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2006
  • None

#10429

Posted 16 June 2013 - 09:56 PM

QUOTE (SilentPL @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 21:27)
Good news, partially - I'll be able to recover Best Result (which will result in mission attempts NOT being incremented again), BUT not best time. So the races will have to be replayed in order to get the time back, but they won't mess up 100% completion counter.

That'll do just fine I guess wink.gif Thanks biggrin.gif

files02116
  • files02116

    The Running mate

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2007

#10430

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:05 PM Edited by files02116, 16 June 2013 - 10:09 PM.

Seems the new update is crashing to me..Whenever I ride vehicles or spawn a vehicle and enter to that car my game crashes...

here is the dmp..http://www.mediafire.com/?ef4f7oiv04txnn1

Edit: It works now

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#10431

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:13 PM

OK, for the time being, we're going to stop error reporting and accepting Crash Dumps, simple case of we're just getting way too much stuff and we really only want to deal with the important things instead of wading through the same 30 or so reports of a mission crash that everyone thinks their unique with and in all honesty, it's becoming a drag, I'm feeling for CP here he's been non stop doing vehicles and is still doing them, silent's been back and forth on the missions, etc, this just isn't fun anymore, I've not really contributed anything to the project since release, etc, just feels like when I come back here all I see is a new page or two of errors and if it's not that it's people asking for patches and questioning where's the new patch, etc, like I said, not fun, feels like a chore, and it's dangerous when a project gets like that.

[PTM]Al_Pacino
  • [PTM]Al_Pacino

    Vice City Stories PC Edition supporter

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008

#10432

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:11 PM Edited by [PTM]Al_Pacino, 16 June 2013 - 11:43 PM.

So i was doing a rampage and there were many gun sounds around. Then everything went mute, except the cutscenes and the radio stations.
Also, I just crashed out of nowhere while i was exploring the old Street Gang compound where you had to get Angel, Mitch Baker's bike in GTA VC.

Dmp: http://www.sendspace.com/file/ku23us

I also got a few other dmp files from previous crashes if you want:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/fatt9a

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#10433

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:36 PM

Found an issue that may be hard to fix. The VCS cords are too high for SA, so the water at the edges of the map doesn't line up with the endless ocean. This happens when porting the map from III, VC, LCS, and VCS to SA and IV. Besides it not lining up there are other issues. the wake of the water behind boats is rendered at SA sea level, so because the map is up about 20 feet, the wake looks like its under the water. It looks smaller, and you notice it especially when you move the camera around. I'm not sure if IV has the wake problem but on IV, I noticed that when the water is up high, the game crashes when you go out into the ocean, then come back. On both games you can see the gap when the issue happens with the map being too high in TC's.

Now I'm wondering what are you going to do about it?
-Lower the map down, and old saves probably won't work. If they do, Vic definitely will spawn up in the air when you load an old save.
-Raise the height of the ocean, and the wake which may be a lot of work.
-Leave it alone and it will remain bugged. It will look horrible when the jet ski is converted.

[PTM]Al_Pacino
  • [PTM]Al_Pacino

    Vice City Stories PC Edition supporter

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008

#10434

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:46 PM

Theres also another issue with timecyc weathers. Guess you already know.
I reported before that some weathers are causing the sun to rise way too early (like 2am, 3am etc, when it should be from 5am beyond).
The thing is, some of the weathers also turn the water completely transparent, allowing us to see the seabed like if there was no sea. You should revise the water transparency when you decide to fix the weathers to make sure we don't see the seabed that clear.
This problem often occurs during sunrise, sunset transition and nights. They seem to be ok during day time.

Teh Edgiest Man on Earth
  • Teh Edgiest Man on Earth

    2edgy5u #TeamMichael

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2013

#10435

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:50 PM

Does anyone have a savegame AFTER boomshine blowout? This mission is utterly impossible on my end, I don't mind for any other mission, just a savegame with this mission completed will be appreciated.

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#10436

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:52 PM

OK, what part of stop reporting stuff did you guys not get, WE ALREADY KNOW THESE!!!!

nkjellman
  • nkjellman

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#10437

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:00 AM

QUOTE (Teh Edgiest Man on Earth @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 23:50)
Does anyone have a savegame AFTER boomshine blowout? This mission is utterly impossible on my end, I don't mind for any other mission, just a savegame with this mission completed will be appreciated.

As the VCS PC Edition Boomshine Blowout has to be played differently due to the meter being FPS dependent, there is another method to try.
1. Set frame limiter to a lower frame rate to buy you more time.
2. Move the crates by the truck. Don't put them in, just move them all over to by the truck. Then you can load the crates into the truck with out debris getting in your way.

Then again you could always do something to make the game lag lol. Some things would include ether install ENB Series with all settings maxed out, spawn a tsunami of cars, play with a memory hogging Virtual Machine running in the background, play on a sh*tty old ass computer thats running Windows 98 or barely running Windows XP, port the mod to the Rage engine, etc... Just kidding. I'd just try the frame limiter at a lower setting and putting the crates by the truck before loading them.

Anyways I would send you mine, but it has all the story missions complete so it would kinda take away the point.

Teh Edgiest Man on Earth
  • Teh Edgiest Man on Earth

    2edgy5u #TeamMichael

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2013

#10438

Posted 17 June 2013 - 03:50 AM

QUOTE (nkjellman @ Monday, Jun 17 2013, 01:00)
QUOTE (Teh Edgiest Man on Earth @ Sunday, Jun 16 2013, 23:50)
Does anyone have a savegame AFTER boomshine blowout? This mission is utterly impossible on my end, I don't mind for any other mission, just a savegame with this mission completed will be appreciated.

As the VCS PC Edition Boomshine Blowout has to be played differently due to the meter being FPS dependent, there is another method to try.
1. Set frame limiter to a lower frame rate to buy you more time.
2. Move the crates by the truck. Don't put them in, just move them all over to by the truck. Then you can load the crates into the truck with out debris getting in your way.

Then again you could always do something to make the game lag lol. Some things would include ether install ENB Series with all settings maxed out, spawn a tsunami of cars, play with a memory hogging Virtual Machine running in the background, play on a sh*tty old ass computer thats running Windows 98 or barely running Windows XP, port the mod to the Rage engine, etc... Just kidding. I'd just try the frame limiter at a lower setting and putting the crates by the truck before loading them.

Anyways I would send you mine, but it has all the story missions complete so it would kinda take away the point.

Thanks for the tip man, gonna try this. About the save, well, I don't mind if the missions are complete, you can post it if you want to.

Johan
  • Johan

    San Francisco Giants 2014 World Champions

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Dominican-Republic

#10439

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:04 AM

Holy crap I just tried out this mod.. I don't know why I never tried it long ago, pretty amazing work guys I can tell how much work has been put into this.

Looking forward to more updates, haven't had a problem with the mod at all!

Claude Liberty
  • Claude Liberty

    Talkative like never before

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2009
  • Russia

#10440

Posted 17 June 2013 - 07:11 AM Edited by Claude Liberty, 17 June 2013 - 07:51 AM.

2 CP. Judging by your speech manner, you're tired of working day and night on this mod and you get angry because of my posts noticing more and more issues. If so, then forgive me, because I'm trying to help you make this mod perfect.
A little more criticism, if you please. Thank you, CP, for Dozer's bucket, but I think that the rotating point should be at these small wheels above bucket, because right now it looks strange when I lower the bucket, it seems like hydraulic pistons holding that bucket just bend down under it's weight.
And maybe turnlights shouldn't light up at night or when I apply vehicle's brakes?




4 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users