Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Map 2 - GTA Token 18

13 replies to this topic
Ferneu
  • Ferneu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010

#1

Posted 23 January 2010 - 05:01 PM

Hey there. I'm trying to get the token 18 of map 2 (Residential Sector).

I've seen those maps posted on older topics, but even though they say where it is, I can't even see the darn thing.

There was even a hint on the other topic, saying to look for a cubby hole, but I cannot find this hole. Can someone post more specific instructions? A screen shot might be very helpfull.

Thanks in advance!

B-$hep
  • B-$hep

    0xBADF00D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2004

#2

Posted 23 January 2010 - 05:30 PM

There is a hole. Walk forward to the hole and you will get the token.
user posted image

Ferneu
  • Ferneu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010

#3

Posted 23 January 2010 - 06:04 PM

Ha!

Thank you so much! Would you believe that all this time I was hitting my head just a little bit to the left of the correct place? I thought that the place where the whole is was a wall and the hole people were talking about was that black grating just to the left...

Thanks again!

B-$hep
  • B-$hep

    0xBADF00D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2004

#4

Posted 23 January 2010 - 06:12 PM

Well i didn't know also when i first played it.
I didn't have any internet or something to look at.
Just accidentally i found it. I once collected them all when i just started playing GTA2.
Years ago.

But sometimes it's good to find out things by yourself. This is what makes it interesting.

drakic
  • drakic

    The Rabble Rouser

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2009

#5

Posted 23 January 2010 - 10:58 PM

So some of those tokens are hidden. But since I'm new to GTA2, just installed it this year, can you tell me what these tokens do? I'm still stuck at the first arena, because I need $50000 to save the game, and it's hard to get. smile.gif

Gustavob
  • Gustavob

    Martian

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2009

#6

Posted 23 January 2010 - 11:43 PM

They open a bonus level. You can see your open bonus levels in the main menu, right under the "Play in area" section. Bonus levels are nine: A, B, C [...] I. You have to pass al KFs, collect all tokens and do something else I forgot to open them all. A, B and C are opened in first area, D, E and F are opened in second area and G, H and I are opened in third area.

Ferneu
  • Ferneu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010

#7

Posted 24 January 2010 - 01:39 AM

QUOTE (B-$hep @ Jan 23 2010, 18:12)
But sometimes it's good to find out things by yourself. This is what makes it interesting.

No doubt about that. In the matter of fact, that was exactly what I was trying
to do, but this game came out (at least the free downloadable version) with some annoying bugs that are making things more difficult than they already
are. Specially on the Residential Sector.

My goal was to fully complete all 3 maps (all jobs, all tokens, all KFs, etc).
So far I managed to do it on the first one. But the second map is a pain...

We start by the fact that some green phone missions are harder than some
of the red ones.

Then we can talk about how you are able to complete 8 of 7 jobs for the
Red Necks and how that can glitch the last job. I mean, I did all Red Neck
jobs, all Zaibatsu's and the, after I finished the one before the last for the
Scientists, the game thought that I had finished them all (because of the
extra job for the Red Necks) and triggered the "final job" (the one were
you kill all three bosses). Well, I passed it and then saved the game. And
then guess what happened? I cannot do the last Scientist job. If I go to
the phone, the dude will say that I am already on a job, which is
impossible otherwise I couldn't have saved. And don't matter what I do,
the game will not give me the last job (the one where you must destroy
the water reservatory). And if you think that is bad, just keep reading:
the GTA token 23 disappeard after that happend!

Oh well, lets see, now I have 23/22 jobs and 49/50 tokens and I cannot
complete the last job and neighter take the last token...

So, any news about your source code petition, so we can fix this baby?
Altough I doubt we'll be hearing anything at all from them. At least right
now, with that whole fuss on some of Rockstar studios

Gustavob
  • Gustavob

    Martian

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2009

#8

Posted 24 January 2010 - 01:47 AM Edited by Gustavob, 24 January 2010 - 03:53 PM.

QUOTE (Ferneu @ Jan 23 2010, 23:39)
So, any news about your source code petition, so we can fix this baby?
Altough I doubt we'll be hearing anything at all from them. At least right
now, with that whole fuss on some of Rockstar studios

That is fixed with the GTA2 Script, not with the GTA2.exe source code. But we would need ste.SCR uncompiled, wich is the second level script, and it wasnt released. R* only released script for 3rd level. So theres no way of fixing it unless R* releases the script

B-$hep
  • B-$hep

    0xBADF00D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2004

#9

Posted 24 January 2010 - 09:22 AM Edited by B-$hep, 24 January 2010 - 09:34 AM.

Never say never Gustavob.

If you can tell me what exactly needs to be fixed i could take a look.
But of course i can't promise anything. It's not easy stuff to mess with.

Gustavob
  • Gustavob

    Martian

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2009

#10

Posted 24 January 2010 - 04:00 PM Edited by Gustavob, 24 January 2010 - 05:24 PM.

QUOTE (B-$hep @ Jan 24 2010, 07:22)
If you can tell me what exactly needs to be fixed i could take a look.
But of course i can't promise anything. It's not easy stuff to mess with.

Look at Ferneu's last post. It happened to me once too, its annoying. Its probably a problem in the all_missions_passed, sci_missions_passed (i think) in the ste.SCR file. Its very difficult to fix it without the .mis file.

B-$hep
  • B-$hep

    0xBADF00D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2004

#11

Posted 24 January 2010 - 04:03 PM Edited by B-$hep, 24 January 2010 - 04:09 PM.

Maybe actually fixing savegame would help in such cases?
So game will actually will find that there are some jobs / tokens not "done".

And Ferneu: i don't think that R* will release sources.
Many emails are sent, some have replies like: "We don't plan to release any of our sourcecode", some like: "We will send your email to someone with higher power in R*"
and sometimes they don't reply at all or reply weeks later.

There is not much of a hope about getting the sources.

Gustavob
  • Gustavob

    Martian

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2009

#12

Posted 24 January 2010 - 05:49 PM

That probably cant be fixed with saved game, but with decompiled script, or by hex editing the compiled script. You cant get the last SRS mission even before saving when this happens, so its not a saved game bug.

B-$hep
  • B-$hep

    0xBADF00D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2004

#13

Posted 24 January 2010 - 06:06 PM Edited by B-$hep, 24 January 2010 - 06:08 PM.

What i meant that if we mess with savegame, then maybe it "makes a GTA2 think" there is one unfinished job left.

But of course i can be wrong. It maybe doesn't help.


But if you said that it can't be done even without saving then it's really script.
And decompiler takes alot of time and devotion (24/7) to be able complete this tool.
But i don't have so much time. It comes slowly and at the moment i stopped working on it.
I have enough troubles with editor itself. I can't work on 2 big projects. Editor has higher priority.

Ferneu
  • Ferneu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010

#14

Posted 25 January 2010 - 10:36 AM

QUOTE (Gustavob @ Jan 24 2010, 01:47)
That is fixed with the GTA2 Script, not with the GTA2.exe source code.

You are right about that. At least if we just consider the problems I've posted.

But if we talk about the stuff I forgot to mention, like the annoying slowdowns
that happen every time (at least with me) you north from the start point and
then a little bit to the left, right where the train line "crosses" witht
Zaibatsu Village's entrance.

Altough the game engine slowdowns there every single time, you can "restore" it
by ALT+TABing. It is a fix alright, but a really a annoying one. And lets not
start about the possibility of the game not working properly anymore after that
(as is stated on the readme file) or even crashing. Some systems are also very
unfriendly with this whole going back to the windows desktop from an application
running in full screen Direct-X mode.

One might say that all the risks above could be reduced by running the game on a
window. That is true, indeed. At least I did not have problems so far with the
whole minimizing-maximazing deal to bring the number of frames per second back
to the original value. But that brings us to another game engine problem: you
must be running on 16bpp for it to work.

So, as you can see, there are a couple of things that could be solved with the
source. But then again, as we all seem to agree, the chances of that happening
on the near future are pretty close to zero.

If only R* shared a little bit of ID Software mentality... I mean, Quake World
is still strong after 13 years (at least in Europe) and if we disregard the fact
that it is the best multiplayer FPS ever made, a lot of its popularity comes
from the fact that people have been constantly creating and improving the game
with better clients, full of newer generation eye-candy and other helpfull
feautures.

By the way, thanks for all the help, but I'm not aksing for any of you to fix
things for me. The only help I really needed on this topic was where exactly the
18th token was. I've already created another profile just to be able to execute
the last Scientist job. Now I can say I've finished the second map 100% (well,
99% if we consider some impossible KFs, even trying to use the same tactics as
B-$hep used - the police cars simply disappers, even after being damaged)

Everything after that was just some random mumbling about how life could be
better, etc.

Thank you all!

:)






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users