Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Random Technology Questions

3,745 replies to this topic
Neon_Dreaming
  • Neon_Dreaming

    __________

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2016
  • None

#3721

Posted 3 weeks ago

I was wondering if anybody could recommend what ipad I should get. I want it to be the cheapest model possible which can run a high enough ios so that most apps will work on it. Thanks in advance.

Ai家妯b家
  • Ai家妯b家

    Godfather

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Nauru

#3722

Posted 3 weeks ago Edited by Ai家妯b家, 3 weeks ago.

Anybody know if standard Bluetooth keyboard will work with iPad Pro?

I don't need a case so I don't want a case w/keyboard nor do I wanna pay $70 for an apple keyboard

I'm looking at this one https://www.amazon.c...etooth keyboard

Cosmic Gypsy
  • Cosmic Gypsy

    It's time for a trip

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#3723

Posted 3 weeks ago

My friend has a USB he left plugged into the laptop and it's slightly bent on the plug in side. It's unrecognizable on his laptop and when i plugged it into mine, it said it needed formatting which i said no to. Left it in for maybe 5 minutes without thinking and and error messaged popped up, i thought it had come out so i touched the USB and it was pretty damn hot. Unplugged it immediately.

We need the files on the USB, how do we/can we retrieve them? I'm reading up on Google and people are suggesting getting someone good with at soldering to have a look at it and to download file retrieving software. Any help from you guys here on the forums would be greatly appreciated.#

 

Cheers.


Ai家妯b家
  • Ai家妯b家

    Godfather

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Nauru

#3724

Posted 3 weeks ago

I was wondering if anybody could recommend what ipad I should get. I want it to be the cheapest model possible which can run a high enough ios so that most apps will work on it. Thanks in advance.


IPad Mini are the cheapest of the newer iPads or if you want standard size go for the Air Series
  • Neon_Dreaming likes this

Neon_Dreaming
  • Neon_Dreaming

    __________

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2016
  • None

#3725

Posted 3 weeks ago

I was wondering if anybody could recommend what ipad I should get. I want it to be the cheapest model possible which can run a high enough ios so that most apps will work on it. Thanks in advance.

IPad Mini are the cheapest of the newer iPads or if you want standard size go for the Air Series
Yeah the ipad mini 2 looks like the best choice for me. Thanks for helping clarifying my options.

ΣΓ
  • ΣΓ

    Never Settle

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2011
  • European-Union

#3726

Posted 2 weeks ago Edited by ΣΓ, 2 weeks ago.

I'm starting to realize why people hate Win10 so much. It's definitely the c*ntiest OS I've used to date. I use a USB DAC as a sound card and in the beginning there was no issue with it whatsoever. Windows always recognized it as the default sound playback device because I set it to that myself. Recently that has changed when the NVIDIA HDMI audio device\driver keeps defaulting as the main sound device (who in Satan's name would f*cking use the HDMI audio anyway) and I keep having to change it to my sound device every f*cking time I turn on my computer. Not to mention the clusterf*ck that keeps happening seemingly at random when I watch a YouTube video and all of a sudden I get some plugin (HTML5?) crash or possibly some driver crash and the whole screen goes black and the NVIDIA HDMI audio device becomes the default audio device again. Something is really f*cked here. It's either NVIDIA's fault or a combination of Windows and Firefox.

Is anyone else using external sound cards and having similar issues on Windows 10?

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo N鄢yvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#3727

Posted 2 weeks ago

I'm using an external DAC, but I output over optical/Toslink instead of USB. I can switch to USB and see if it causes any issues.

Andreaz1
  • Andreaz1

    ♪ ♫

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2010
  • Sweden
  • Helpfulness Award
    Draw Contest Winner 2016

#3728

Posted 2 weeks ago

My USB DAC works fine.

ΣΓ
  • ΣΓ

    Never Settle

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2011
  • European-Union

#3729

Posted 2 weeks ago

I think it's partly my fault. I kept uninstalling the NVIDIA drivers and Windows installs them back automatically.

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#3730

Posted A week ago Edited by Exxon, A week ago.

I currently have 2 sticks of 4 GB DDR3 RAM running at 1333Mhz, and I heard that more RAM improves rendering time in Sony Vegas Pro.

My (very) old computer has 2 sticks of 2 GB (I believe it's DDR2) running at 600 or 800Mhz. Is it possible to use them for a total of 12 GB, and would it improve rendering time?


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo N鄢yvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#3731

Posted A week ago

No, it isn't. You can't use DDR2 and DDR3 together.

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#3732

Posted A week ago Edited by Exxon, A week ago.

Alright, thank you for the quick answer.

If it happens to be DDR3, would that be possible and improve time?

It's not, sadly, so never mind.

 

If I were to buy a new set of DDR4 RAM, is it a simple thing like switching them and that's it?


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo N鄢yvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#3733

Posted A week ago

It might but I still doubt it would make any significant impact.
You'll need a new motherboard for DDR4 and most likely therefore a new processor too.

blaze
  • blaze

    Big Homie

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2010
  • Macau
  • Super Special Gold Star 2006
    Draw Contest Booby Prize 2016
    Campaign Poster Booby Prize 2016
    Doggo-Chop Winner 2016

#3734

Posted A week ago

a very strange discussion came up in our circle the other day based around being arrested for Googling certain terms (in this certain discussion someone said something outlandish like "oh you get six years for just googling child porn") and it's turned into a debate over the last few days. Being somewhat technologically competent I'm of the belief that even if you do google that term it's a pretty much impossible to get that content through a Google search and that you'd have to be running Tor to access it, and even if said search was reported by the ISP nothing would come of it - I mean the police, fbi, nsa whoeever the f*ck know about Tor so I doubt they'd waste resources on a google search. Question is am I of the correct belief? I know some ISP's will send letters out if you're torrenting but what about a google search for specific terms? Another outlandish thing that came up was "oh two years down the line they could turn up and arrest you for it" which im pretty sure most ISP's have a 1 year retention policy, and that if reported it'd take them months to track you down which again is also presumably misinformed. Pretty sure nobody has ever been straight locked up based on Googling something (maybe if some dumb f*ck is searching about the anarchists cookbook, populated places and mass ordering fertilizer in bulk) but I thought I'd ask and see if anyone has any input.


ΣΓ
  • ΣΓ

    Never Settle

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2011
  • European-Union

#3735

Posted A week ago Edited by ΣΓ, A week ago.

I currently have 2 sticks of 4 GB DDR3 RAM running at 1333Mhz, and I heard that more RAM improves rendering time in Sony Vegas Pro.
My (very) old computer has 2 sticks of 2 GB (I believe it's DDR2) running at 600 or 800Mhz. Is it possible to use them for a total of 12 GB, and would it improve rendering time?

It depends on the complexity of your video project but I doubt it would make a huge difference either way. You're stuck on 4 cores 4 threads. Typically for video editing\rendering applications RAM is allocated per core\thread but your system won't necessarily benefit from more given the type of CPU you have.

You would get a much bigger boost in terms of rendering times by switching to a new CPU with more cores and threads.

a very strange discussion came up in our circle the other day based around being arrested for Googling certain terms (in this certain discussion someone said something outlandish like "oh you get six years for just googling child porn") and it's turned into a debate over the last few days. Being somewhat technologically competent I'm of the belief that even if you do google that term it's a pretty much impossible to get that content through a Google search and that you'd have to be running Tor to access it, and even if said search was reported by the ISP nothing would come of it - I mean the police, fbi, nsa whoeever the f*ck know about Tor so I doubt they'd waste resources on a google search. Question is am I of the correct belief? I know some ISP's will send letters out if you're torrenting but what about a google search for specific terms? Another outlandish thing that came up was "oh two years down the line they could turn up and arrest you for it" which im pretty sure most ISP's have a 1 year retention policy, and that if reported it'd take them months to track you down which again is also presumably misinformed. Pretty sure nobody has ever been straight locked up based on Googling something (maybe if some dumb f*ck is searching about the anarchists cookbook, populated places and mass ordering fertilizer in bulk) but I thought I'd ask and see if anyone has any input.

Wrong place to ask but I'm 90% you can't get arrested for looking up anything. The worst that could happen would be some questioning but even then I doubt that any government entity is looking at this stuff and singling out individuals.

Edit: Getting information is not illegal. Spreading it is a different business.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Jo N鄢yvi Pohjan Portit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#3736

Posted A week ago

ISPs in the UK retain metadata for a year but Google and other service providers retain it longer, even indefinitely. It's often recoverable from browsers even if you use private modes, and there are numerous ways of mapping out visited sites even over Tor. It's actually very easy, especially if you're able to do things like traffic shaping and interception, or SSL inspection. Which is all well within the bounds of what law enforcement and security services are able to do.

I don't know if people have been locked up solely for Googling stuff but that kind of thing is pretty strong evidence of intent. Think of all those times you hear about people accused of murder who have googled "how to dispose of a body", or terrorists who have been scouting locations or getting bomb instructions. The same could reasonably be applied to your example.
  • Audi likes this

HaRdSTyLe_83
  • HaRdSTyLe_83

    ☆★RIP Open IV★☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2014
  • Portugal

#3737

Posted A week ago

I doubt they could ever lock someone up for searching information about any subject whatsoever. Unless it starts talking pictures when someone googles a specific topic how would they prove without any reasonable doubt who actually google it in that computer?

Grae
  • Grae

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2007
  • None

#3738

Posted A week ago

Does anyone know of such a monitor now or on the horizon?

4K.
IPS or VA (or OLED in 5+ years..).
32"-36" (I've seen monitors that tick other boxes but are 27", which I think is too small for 4K).
100Hz+.
Gsync or Freesync.
HDR (guess I could do without this as I have no experience with it, tho it'd be nice to have).

I think that's pretty flexible, but I've yet to see it.

ΣΓ
  • ΣΓ

    Never Settle

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2011
  • European-Union

#3739

Posted A week ago

There's one ASUS monitor that's 4K and 144 Hz, but only 27" large. Other than that you're basically stuck at 60 Hz or 75.
  • Grae likes this

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#3740

Posted A week ago Edited by Exxon, A week ago.

 

I currently have 2 sticks of 4 GB DDR3 RAM running at 1333Mhz, and I heard that more RAM improves rendering time in Sony Vegas Pro.
My (very) old computer has 2 sticks of 2 GB (I believe it's DDR2) running at 600 or 800Mhz. Is it possible to use them for a total of 12 GB, and would it improve rendering time?

It depends on the complexity of your video project but I doubt it would make a huge difference either way. You're stuck on 4 cores 4 threads. Typically for video editing\rendering applications RAM is allocated per core\thread but your system won't necessarily benefit from more given the type of CPU you have.

You would get a much bigger boost in terms of rendering times by switching to a new CPU with more cores and threads.

The videos I want to create are, at the moment, let's play videos to get through my gap year, maybe some live action stuff with effects.

Those aren't really heavy things, which is why I think the hours of rendering is a tad too long with Vegas. Would extra RAM help in this case or does it not change your answer?

Also, do you perhaps know if Adobe Premiere Pro (sometimes using After Effects as well) render quicker or slower?


Finn 7 five 11
  • Finn 7 five 11

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#3741

Posted A week ago

I have Microsoft cloud storage, it was a promotional thing I got with my phone. Now 100GB of it is expiring so I'm over quota.
Anybody know what happens to my stuff if I don't subscribe? Will it:

A) Be deleted.
B) Be inaccessible until I subscribe.
C) They pester with notifications until I do subscribe.

I do want to browse about for the best cloud service, but I know if I just sign up for this I'll get lazy and forget about it, I don't really have time to move like 80gb of photo and video right now.

Mitsuha
  • Mitsuha

    Panda

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2012
  • None

#3742

Posted A week ago

IOS/iPhone users:

How do you transfer all your photos to PC? I'm planning to reset my phone since I'm really running low on storage and photos/videos are the 2nd reason why my storage is being eaten.

Currently on a 5s, 16gb, iOS 10.3.2. Also would appreciate tips on managing storage on a 16gb device.

K^2
  • K^2

    Vidi Vici Veni

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2004
  • United-States
  • Best Poster [Technology / Programming] 2016
    Best Poster [Programming] 2015
    Most Knowledgeable [Web Development/Programming] 2013
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2011
    Best Debater 2010

#3743

Posted A week ago

I have Microsoft cloud storage, it was a promotional thing I got with my phone. Now 100GB of it is expiring so I'm over quota.
Anybody know what happens to my stuff if I don't subscribe? Will it:

A) Be deleted.
B) Be inaccessible until I subscribe.
C) They pester with notifications until I do subscribe.

I do want to browse about for the best cloud service, but I know if I just sign up for this I'll get lazy and forget about it, I don't really have time to move like 80gb of photo and video right now.


They seem to be pretty generous about it.
 

If you exceed your remaining storage space when the subscription expires, you'll be able to view, share, and download files on your OneDrive, but you won't be able to upload files until you buy more storage or free up space.


Source

Honestly, it makes sense. While aggressive reclamation is easy, keeping files also costs them almost nothing. Network storage costs are almost entirely due to network. I am a bit surprised that they still let you access these files, but deleting them would be more effort than it's worth. In particular, when a person with 80GB of stuff goes from 100GB to the free 5GB, which 5GB do you keep?

On the other hand, if you completely close your account, they should delete all your data. I know Google certainly does. Including from all the backups. (Yes, there is a trick to that.)

All that said, Microsoft be Microsoft, so take absolutely all of this with a grain of salt. If your data is really valuable, start backing it up to an alt storage immediately. Amazon has decent free hosting for photos if you have Prime. Otherwise, both Amazon and Google offer affordable and reliable storage.
  • Finn 7 five 11 likes this

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#3744

Posted 4 days ago Edited by Exxon, 4 days ago.

I want to hook up my Nikon D3200 to a capture card so I can use it as a webcam for video recording.

If I buy an AVerMedia LGP Lite capture card and a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable for the camera, is that all there is to it (using OBS to record)?


K^2
  • K^2

    Vidi Vici Veni

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2004
  • United-States
  • Best Poster [Technology / Programming] 2016
    Best Poster [Programming] 2015
    Most Knowledgeable [Web Development/Programming] 2013
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2011
    Best Debater 2010

#3745

Posted 2 days ago

Yeah. Can't guarantee that you'll have the best experience, since I'm not familiar with that capture card, but it should work.

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#3746

Posted 2 days ago Edited by Exxon, 2 days ago.

Can't expect the best with €22, haha. Thank you!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users