Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Random Questions...v2.0

2,766 replies to this topic
SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2281

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:15 PM

Yeah, that's exactly what I thought. I prefer Intel and as you said, especially for gaming.

The Killa
  • The Killa

    Diet Water Please

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2002

#2282

Posted 29 May 2013 - 08:55 PM

Looked at the i5-3570k - duly noted. Only $30 more.

Anyone have GPU recommendations for around $300~? Sorry for the incredibly general and oft-asked questions. Do prefer Nvidia but it's not do-or-die.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2283

Posted 29 May 2013 - 09:32 PM

QUOTE (The Killa @ Wednesday, May 29 2013, 20:55)
Looked at the i5-3570k - duly noted. Only $30 more.

Anyone have GPU recommendations for around $300~? Sorry for the incredibly general and oft-asked questions. Do prefer Nvidia but it's not do-or-die.

perhaps you could go for a GTX670 or if you wait a little when the GTX770 is released, you can buy the GTX680
when the prices of the 680's are dropped.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Thou shalt not commit logical fallacies

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#2284

Posted 29 May 2013 - 10:19 PM

Even when the 770/80 comes out you won't be able to get a 680 for $300 unless you buy second hand. You would struggle to get a GTX580 for that and the 600 series has been out for, what, a year now?

Fnorg
  • Fnorg

    OG

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2008
  • None

#2285

Posted 31 May 2013 - 01:39 PM

Need HDD advice. I'm going to expand my storage capabilities soon. The new drive will mainly be used for game installs, but also as storage for things that require a bit more speed than my two current sh*tty drives (don't know what I'm referring to here myself, but yolo). Been looking at WD Caviar Red 2TB. Hits the sweet spot economically and storage-wise. Goes for about 100 bucks. Are the other Caviars worth the premium if you're not a huge sh*tlord about speeds?

NCONiall
  • NCONiall

    Alright Dave?

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2010
  • European-Union

#2286

Posted 31 May 2013 - 07:03 PM Edited by NCONiall, 02 June 2013 - 02:29 PM.

A while ago my desktop computer would turn on but display no picture, not even the message stating that it can't detect a source. The green light on the monitor and all would go on but the screen remained black. I've tested the monitor and it works fine. I've changed and switched RAM sticks and switched to integrated graphics but to no avail. Is there anything else I can try before deeming a fried motherboard?

Nah, it's f*cked.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2287

Posted 02 June 2013 - 01:58 PM

The new haswell Intel seems to be a big let-down.
The i7-4770K only has a tiny 7.2% increase in performance over the i7-3770K.
Just disappointing... There is no any need to get the i7-4770K.
And AMD is also slipping, if the rumours are true, the new AMD-FX9000 needs a TDP of 220W! 4.8GHz and 5GHz Turbo.

xI Jakk Ix
  • xI Jakk Ix

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010

#2288

Posted 02 June 2013 - 02:11 PM

There's no reason to get Haswell if you have Ivy Bridge of course, even a spokesperson from Intel said that. Upgrading from Sandy Bridge is a possibility and also users of older AMD and Intel CPUs will buy Haswell when they buy a new PC or upgrade.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2289

Posted 02 June 2013 - 02:19 PM Edited by SilverRST, 02 June 2013 - 02:24 PM.

QUOTE (xI Jakk Ix @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:11)
There's no reason to get Haswell if you have Ivy Bridge of course, even a spokesperson from Intel said that. Upgrading from Sandy Bridge is a possibility and also users of older AMD and Intel CPUs will buy Haswell when they buy a new PC or upgrade.

I see.
Well, I probably won't get the Haswell when buying a new PC. I don't see any reason for that.
Maybe someone can enlighten me tounge.gif But I won't go nuts for 7,2% increase in performance.

I have did a long research on the internet and came across the i7-3770 without the unlocked multiplier.
Is that a good CPU? The reason why I want this is because if the iGPU. I still play a lot of older games
and using the a GTX X80 is an overkill.
Yoyo did advised me to get the Xeon E3 1230. Too bad the MSI Z77A-GD65 won't work with the Xeon.

WHAT!?
  • WHAT!?

    mono a mono

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2002
  • United-States

#2290

Posted 02 June 2013 - 02:31 PM

QUOTE (Fnorg @ Friday, May 31 2013, 08:39)
Need HDD advice. I'm going to expand my storage capabilities soon. The new drive will mainly be used for game installs, but also as storage for things that require a bit more speed than my two current sh*tty drives (don't know what I'm referring to here myself, but yolo). Been looking at WD Caviar Red 2TB. Hits the sweet spot economically and storage-wise. Goes for about 100 bucks. Are the other Caviars worth the premium if you're not a huge sh*tlord about speeds?

Well lets see,

WD Red drives are generally for workstations or servers where the drives are run in a RAID 0 configuration. I imagine they will work for desktop computing just as well.
WD Blue are intended for your average desktop applications and for users that want a reliable drive but don't care if its the fastest thing on the planet.
WD Black are their performance line. The drives are meant for more of an enthusiast market.
WD Green do not consume as much power as the above drives and are meant to act as secondary data storage drives. You would likely want to use these for data you don't intend to access very often because you will end up having to wait for these drives to spin up before you can access them.


I'd say you would want to go with a WD Blue HDD.

A J
  • A J

    Damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2009
  • Wales

#2291

Posted 02 June 2013 - 05:19 PM

Would this laptop efficiently run software like adobe photoshop / Corel painter 12 ? How would it be for gaming also?

http://www.pcworld.c...307811-pdt.html

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#2292

Posted 02 June 2013 - 06:26 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 08:58)
The new haswell Intel seems to be a big let-down.
The i7-4770K only has a tiny 7.2% increase in performance over the i7-3770K.
Just disappointing... There is no any need to get the i7-4770K.
And AMD is also slipping, if the rumours are true, the new AMD-FX9000 needs a TDP of 220W! 4.8GHz and 5GHz Turbo.

Did they return to a fluxless solder for the heatplate or are they still using the same ass-backwards method that they used for Ivy Bridge?

QUOTE
Upgrading from Sandy Bridge is a possibility

As a Sandy Bridge user, I honestly do not see why. The performance increases between Sandy and Ivy, and even between Sandy and Haswell, are not worthwhile in my opinion. Especially considering what I just said above regarding the heatplate.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland

#2293

Posted 02 June 2013 - 07:19 PM

Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#2294

Posted 02 June 2013 - 07:56 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:19)
Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Then I will very likely never purchase a Haswell CPU. I just do not see any feasible reason to upgrade from my i5-2500k.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2295

Posted 02 June 2013 - 11:19 PM

QUOTE (Pat @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE (yojo2 @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:19)
Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Then I will very likely never purchase a Haswell CPU. I just do not see any feasible reason to upgrade from my i5-2500k.

Same here. I'll just go for a PC build I have been advised and some little chances.

I still don't know what the differences are between the Sandy and Ivy.
I heard Ivy gets hotter, or.. I read. But not sure if they are real or not.

Whiskey
  • Whiskey

    Homie

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2011

#2296

Posted 02 June 2013 - 11:43 PM

QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 23:19)
QUOTE (Pat @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE (yojo2 @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:19)
Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Then I will very likely never purchase a Haswell CPU. I just do not see any feasible reason to upgrade from my i5-2500k.

Same here. I'll just go for a PC build I have been advised and some little chances.

I still don't know what the differences are between the Sandy and Ivy.
I heard Ivy gets hotter, or.. I read. But not sure if they are real or not.

I think it's more on the power consumption side of things. I haven't kept up with it since I got my 2500K, but apparently the power draws are meant to be significantly less.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2297

Posted 03 June 2013 - 12:32 AM

QUOTE (Whiskey @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 23:43)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 23:19)
QUOTE (Pat @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE (yojo2 @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:19)
Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Then I will very likely never purchase a Haswell CPU. I just do not see any feasible reason to upgrade from my i5-2500k.

Same here. I'll just go for a PC build I have been advised and some little chances.

I still don't know what the differences are between the Sandy and Ivy.
I heard Ivy gets hotter, or.. I read. But not sure if they are real or not.

I think it's more on the power consumption side of things. I haven't kept up with it since I got my 2500K, but apparently the power draws are meant to be significantly less.

Yeah, I read that.
But one year waiting and all we got is a 7% increase in performance.
The iGPU is not better too, just a few FPS increase with the Intel HD4600.

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#2298

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:39 AM

QUOTE (Whiskey @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 18:43)
QUOTE (SilverRST @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 23:19)
QUOTE (Pat @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 19:56)
QUOTE (yojo2 @ Sunday, Jun 2 2013, 14:19)
Haswel doesn't have soldered IHS - just like IB.

Then I will very likely never purchase a Haswell CPU. I just do not see any feasible reason to upgrade from my i5-2500k.

Same here. I'll just go for a PC build I have been advised and some little chances.

I still don't know what the differences are between the Sandy and Ivy.
I heard Ivy gets hotter, or.. I read. But not sure if they are real or not.

I think it's more on the power consumption side of things. I haven't kept up with it since I got my 2500K, but apparently the power draws are meant to be significantly less.

As a tradeoff, though, Ivy Bridge runs 20%-30% hotter on average. Personally, I don't give two sh*ts about power consumption, but I very much give a sh*t about average operating temperatures - especially when overclocking.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland

#2299

Posted 03 June 2013 - 11:32 AM

The worst part is that the temps seem to be even worse on Haswell than IB...

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2300

Posted 03 June 2013 - 04:40 PM

I'll be waiting how the Haswell performs really.

I'll need a new monitor for my future PC and I want one where I can set the height.
I found this one and I really like it. The only thing that concerns me is the lack of HDMI input.
It has only 1x DVI and 1x D-Sub, so no HMDI. Is that a problem? Do I need HMDI inpt?

It is this monitor:
http://www.alternate...9/?tk=7&lk=4152

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland

#2301

Posted 03 June 2013 - 05:10 PM

Not really, unless you plan to hook the display up to the console, TV set-top box and other such devices - ten HDMi would be handy. For PC it's not a necessity, DVI offers the exact same picture quality.

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#2302

Posted 03 June 2013 - 07:11 PM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Monday, Jun 3 2013, 12:10)
Not really, unless you plan to hook the display up to the console

You can do that with VGA cables as well. I know the Xbox 360 has an official VGA cable available (I use it myself - I would recommend avoiding the third party cables, they have a lot of reports of ghosting and poor image quality) and I think there's a universal VGA cable that works with both the Wii and PS3. I can't comment on its quality, though.

There are also HDMI to DVI converters if you're absolutely desperate.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland

#2303

Posted 03 June 2013 - 09:07 PM

Sure you can, but it requires buying different cables as you said, so the HDMI port woud be handy in such case.

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#2304

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:25 PM

I just think they're a better alternative. Official VGA cables for the 360 run about $20, and the universal cable for the Wii/PS3 that I mentioned is $10 if I remember correctly. When I was looking at monitors a while back, HDMI ports added roughly $50 to the price on average.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2305

Posted 04 June 2013 - 01:46 AM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Monday, Jun 3 2013, 17:10)
Not really, unless you plan to hook the display up to the console, TV set-top box and other such devices - ten HDMi would be handy. For PC it's not a necessity, DVI offers the exact same picture quality.

Ah sh*t. Yes, my little has a PS3 and he can't play because the TV is mostly used.
So when I'm not using the PC, he can use the monitor.
It's a bummer, I really that monitor and mostly of the perfect inch and able to change the height.

So is there any solution for that? The price? Sure everything is expensive and that monitor I want is the cheapest I could find.

WildBrick142
  • WildBrick142

    GTAV Forum Leader

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2012
  • Ireland

#2306

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:33 PM Edited by WildBrick142, 04 June 2013 - 10:39 PM.

I have a question about Graphic Cards. I looked into properties and it says that max memory is 1760MB while it says that only 256MB is dedicated. Where does all the memory go and is it possible to extend the dedicated memory so I can have higher graphic settings?

If that helps:
Processor: Intel I7-3770k @3.5GHZ
Graphic Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
RAM: 16GB

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada

#2307

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:48 PM

You're using the graphics chip that's built into your CPU, which is basically useless for gaming. You can't extend the video memory. If you want to play at higher settings, you're going to have to buy a dedicated graphics card.

MHH
  • MHH

    Consulente Infinito

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 02 Sep 2002
  • United-States

#2308

Posted 06 June 2013 - 12:18 PM

Which programs would you recommend for video cutting/editing?
I would like to cut bits from films here and there but obviously not want the whole movie.
I'd like something quite accurate with the cutting, but don't need much else besides cutting.
Thoughts?


Chris Fromage
  • Chris Fromage

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2012
  • Japan

#2309

Posted 06 June 2013 - 01:54 PM

QUOTE (Master Headhunter @ Thursday, Jun 6 2013, 12:18)
Which programs would you recommend for video cutting/editing?
I would like to cut bits from films here and there but obviously not want the whole movie.
I'd like something quite accurate with the cutting, but don't need much else besides cutting.
Thoughts?


You can cut video's with Windows Movie Maker.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#2310

Posted 06 June 2013 - 02:28 PM

QUOTE (Ryan @ Tuesday, Jun 4 2013, 22:48)
You're using the graphics chip that's built into your CPU, which is basically useless for gaming. You can't extend the video memory. If you want to play at higher settings, you're going to have to buy a dedicated graphics card.

I agree the iGPU is useless for gaming. However, when having an i7-3770 and GTX x80 GPU,
it is an overkill when using the GTX x80 for older games back in the days of 2003 untill 2006.
For an example, GTA SA. GTA SA can be easily played on iGPU like Intel HD4000 and there is no need for a beast like the GTX series.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users