» «
Photo

Sound Editing Tutorial - GTAIV

52 replies to this topic
arbitrarymobster
  • arbitrarymobster

Player Hater

• Members

Posted 06 December 2009 - 05:17 PM Edited by arbitrarymobster, 15 December 2009 - 02:13 AM.

GTAIV Sound Editing Tutorial

by
Arbitrarymobster

I have decided to try to explain how to change the sounds in ivaud files. First, I will tell you that this is not the only way to go about it, but it is a proven method. I have no experience with any other tools beside the ones mentioned hereafter, and no experience with ivaud files beside the ones containing vehicle engine sound loops. This means that it is possible that not everything explained here will apply to, for example, ivaud files containing music tracks, or sounds that do not loop.

Tools: XVI32; Audacity; SparkIV

1)Find a file you want to replace in the game and export it, along with the ivaud file it's in, using SparkIV.

2)Find a sound which will replace the original one.

3)Right click the original file ( the one you will be replacing) and select properties. Click the "Summary" tab.

4)Open Audacity. On the lower left there will be a button displaying the sample rate. Be sure that matches the one on the summary; if not click on the button and set it. (Note: 44kHz = 44100)

5)Click edit -> Preferences and under the "audio 1/0" tab set the drop-downs to show your sound card and set the channels to match the one displayed on the summary.

6)Under the "file formats" tab set the export format to match the one under summary (Example: WAV Microsoft 16 bit PCM), then click OK.

7)Set the drop-down to the right of the volume slider to "What U Hear."