Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Tech General Chat

2,729 replies to this topic
yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1051

Posted 07 September 2013 - 04:45 PM

You might be able to reach 4,5GHz, depending on a sample you receive.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1052

Posted 07 September 2013 - 04:47 PM Edited by SilverRST, 07 September 2013 - 04:48 PM.

And that when having the Thermalright Macho?

The mobo you recommend me or another one for OC'ing


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1053

Posted 07 September 2013 - 04:51 PM

Macho is okay, though there might be better cooler for really high OC - the choice is mostly down to what the store you're buying from has in stock. As for the mobo ASRock Z87 Extreme4 will be good.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1054

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:01 PM

Ok, what is the better cooler for really high OC? :p

I read the Haswell CPU's runs very hot when OC'ed on the webshop their reviews.


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1055

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:01 PM

What store are you buying from? I'll take a look what's available.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1056

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:23 PM

alternate.nl


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1057

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:29 PM

http://www.alternate...2/?tk=7&lk=9344 for example - quite a good value. It requires a very wide computer case though.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1058

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:31 PM

That's one big CPU cooler! It won't work in the R4 Define case?


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1059

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:40 PM Edited by yojo2, 07 September 2013 - 05:41 PM.

To be completely honest, I'm not entirely sure if it'd fit. Noctua NH-D14 would be a bit smaller, but also more expensive.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1060

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:58 PM Edited by SilverRST, 07 September 2013 - 06:37 PM.

Fair enough. The PC-Builder on the mentioned website is sort of a tool which detemines which parts are compatible.

I was just playing with selecting the parts you mentioned before and when finished it, it said the Dark Pro 550W

is too low. So had to choose one with 600W.

Seems that big CPU works with the R4 Define according to the PC-Builder tool.

 

EDIT. Just found this video, he has the Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E CPU cooler

in a R4 Define. It looks exactly like R4 in the video if I'm right.


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1061

Posted 07 September 2013 - 07:41 PM

I'm pretty sure it's R3 (or R2), since R4 has a different HDD cage. Anyway, that shouldn't change much. As for the PSU, even 550W would be more than enough :p Also, you might consider going for Cooler Master V700 - it's a very decent power supply (based on Seasonic X KM3) for a very good price.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1062

Posted 08 September 2013 - 02:40 AM Edited by SilverRST, 09 September 2013 - 01:50 AM.

Indeed, the owner told me it's the R3. Quote of the video owner:

 

I have the R3. It will fit, barely, but only if you route the fan cables around the cooler and not under the Middle fan like in many pictures on the Web. I recommend a larger case though. Big coolers mess up the airflow. In fact, increasing the fan speed suddenly heats up the case, because unless you have a powerful exhaust fan, the air just blows back to the case.

I notice the gpu temp increased when cpu fan speed increased. I keep it at minimum speed and exhaust fan on 50%

 

 

 

EDIT.

That big Thermalright Silver will work in the R4 Define because that case supports CPU cooler

up to 170mm. The Thermalright is 170mm in height. But I think I'll go for the Noctua NH-D14.

Is that a good choice?


friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#1063

Posted 08 September 2013 - 07:34 PM

Was hoping of buying some Audioengine A2's but the price keeps on going up. When I do buy them, a new model will probably be released soon after :p


Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1064

Posted 16 September 2013 - 05:10 PM

Two new boards from Asus

X79 Deluxe, not be confused with P9X79 Deluxe

And Vanguard B85

 

nxovue.jpg

fcl2kx.jpg


Whiskey
  • Whiskey

    Homie

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2011

#1065

Posted 16 September 2013 - 07:46 PM

That first one is quite the looker.

  • Failure likes this

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1066

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:28 PM

Yeah it does look nicer than their socket 1150 boards which has the same color theme.

 

My recently build system started to get artifacts and weird lines, I suspect it could be the graphic card, a MSI HD7750.

I took that card to my main system for further testing. And I found out the card earn a higher WinSAT score on my 6 year old main system, than the one I've recently built.

New system: Intel Xeon E3 @ 3.2GHz 4C/8T, Asus Z87I-Deluxe (1150), 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600, WD Blue 1TB, Win8 Core x64.

Graphic score (WinSAT): MSI HD7750=5.3, built in graphics from processor, Intel P4000=6.6

Old system (6 years old): Intel Xeon @ 2.66GHz 4C/4T, Asus Rampage Formula (775), 4GB (4x1GB) DDR2 800, Intel 120GB SSD+2TB Red, Win8 Pro x64

Graphic score (WinSAT): MSI HD7750=6.8, and my old card HIS HD5850=7.7

Maybe SSD gives a overall boost to other components or this proves spending more and getting a high-end platform benefits in the long run? 


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1067

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:55 PM

WinSAT is just a piece of crap, plain and simple. Every HDD will bottleneck you in WinSAT.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#1068

Posted 18 September 2013 - 01:11 PM

Right, I have a question for the more audiophile minded amongst us.

My current desktop speakers are Audioengine A2 powered and internally amplified jobbies. They're currently spacered and sat on my desk which isn't brilliant for clarity. I've just ordered an Audioengine D1 DAC to act as my primary interface between my PC and speakers, replacing an old Sound Blaster PCI-E card which is immeasurably inferior.

As I am upgrading my throughput and cables I'm looking for a way to elevate my speakers approximately 20cm/8in and acoustically separate them from the desktop on which they sit. My desk is a corner unit and is tiered with a backing plate which means wall mounts are out unless I can modify them to fix into the desk and properly isolate them. So ideally I'm looking for a pair of desktop stands. However my Audioengines are very small and I'm struggling to find a pair of desktop stands with a similar sized base plate- approximately 10cm x 10cm 4in x 4in). Audioengine produce small rubber stands for the A2s but I resent paying the best part of £30 for two small rubber ramps and want something a bit more aesthetically pleasing.

Any ideas?

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1069

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:08 PM

Have a question

On a PC when upgraded to a larger size HDD and verifying the system has detect it. All we have to do is go into the bios and check from there. It's easy and simple.

Now on a Mac Book, by upgrading to a larger size HDD. How do you verify if the Mac Book has detected the new HDD?

I tried searching online and all I get are is "Help HDD not working, HDD cannot format, and How to free space on Macbook HDD" and other nonsense results.

Is there a "bios" like feature on a Mac Book to verify if the new HDD is detected correctly?

i know you can tell by using the OSX disc, but is there a way find out without using the disc?


friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#1070

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:58 PM

(Speakers on desk question)

Maybe you or a local work shop could fabricate something? I don't know how much it would cost though. Would you know of any internally amplified speakers like the A2s? I would like to buy some A2s but I'm sure Audioengine will release a new model soon. Then again do they even need to make a new model?

 

(MacBook question)

Try the iThread or ask around on Apple oriented forums. Sorry mate :(


sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    I shall revoke the throne, atop the stellar tree

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • European-Union
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

#1071

Posted 22 September 2013 - 02:03 PM

(Speakers on desk question)

Maybe you or a local work shop could fabricate something? I don't know how much it would cost though. Would you know of any internally amplified speakers like the A2s? I would like to buy some A2s but I'm sure Audioengine will release a new model soon. Then again do they even need to make a new model?

That's what I'm thinking, or possibly making some myself. Right now the best bet is using some crafted green oak offcuts I've been able to find on Ebay, along with some isolation spikes I already own and two acoustic mats. That gives me 20cm of elevation with a 15x15cm footprint and plenty of acoustic insulation.

With regard to other speakers, there are a few models on the market which are very good, though I don't know of any which quite match the tiny form factor of the A2s. The Bose Companion 2 Series IIs are very good and a bit cheaper but I don't think they're quite as neutral as the A2s.

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#1072

Posted 26 September 2013 - 02:23 PM Edited by illegal_luggage, 26 September 2013 - 02:25 PM.

New cards unveiled from AMD

 

R9 290X, AMD's most powerful GPU yet. No price yet but the card competes with the 780 and Titan

small_radeon-r9-290x-3.jpg

 

The rest

amd-gpu14-1.jpg

The 280x is a rebranded 7970 GHz edition :/ I like the look of the coolers for the higher end cards but I'm going to keep my 560 Ti for now


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1073

Posted 26 September 2013 - 02:32 PM

Actually I don't see much wrong with rebranding the HD7970, other than that it's not going to get features like that audio thingy. At least it'll be compatible with Mantle, like the rest od the HD7000/HD8000 series.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1074

Posted 27 September 2013 - 03:01 AM

On some slides I saw the R9 290, is that a rebadge too?

Also it seems some crickets has move into my headphones, it's beginning to chirp, chirp, chirp.


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1075

Posted 27 September 2013 - 05:49 PM

R9-290 is based on a new chip.
  • Stinky12 likes this

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1076

Posted 30 September 2013 - 10:11 PM

Full AMD #GPU14 Conference


SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#1077

Posted 04 October 2013 - 07:37 PM

The AMD R290 seems to be costing 699USD or 729USD.

That is expensiver than the GTX780. In my country you can get the EVGA GTX780 SC for €639.


yojc
  • yojc

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Best Poster [Tech] 2014
    Most Knowledgeable [Tech] 2013
    Helpfulness Award

#1078

Posted 06 October 2013 - 09:40 AM

If I'm not mistaken it's the R9-290X that's going to cost $730, not R9-290.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#1079

Posted 17 October 2013 - 08:43 PM

Was using Windows 8.1 Preview for a month and it works great. Microsoft has released the final version today and it's available through the Windows 8 Store. Currently still downloading on one of my machines, but I do wish it has a standalone download, so I can copy to a flash drive, bring it to my other Windows 8 machines and install it.


Alchemist
  • Alchemist

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2013
  • None
  • The Congressional Medal of sh*tposting
    Most Talented Graphics Artist 2015
    Most Improved Member 2015
    Best General Topic 2015 [GTAForums Newbie Guide 2.0]
    Best Poster [Technology] 2015
    April Fools Winner 2015
    Best New Gang 2014 [RBE]
    Helpfulness Award [GTA V]

#1080

Posted 18 October 2013 - 04:20 AM

So, for those who have updated their Windows 8, do you like Windows 8.1?

 

They kinda mislead us about the whole "Start Button" thing... it just takes us back to the home screen where we can launch our apps.. oh well. I love Windows 8 anyway. It has a beautiful UI imo, and it's very easy to use. 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users