Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Tech General Chat

1,234 replies to this topic
yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#961

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:33 AM

A cooler with single 80mm fan and no heatpipes... that doesn't sound right.

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#962

Posted 09 March 2013 - 07:50 AM

So Microsoft finally pushed me off the edge earlier today.

I recently got a laptop for uni and it came with Windows 8. I thought to myself 'meh it's probably not even close to being as bad as people make it out to be'. BOY WAS I WRONG.

It made using the PC even for a simple task a hellish experience. So much freezing, wasted time, etc.

So I did a clean format and went with Ubuntu. VERY happy with the change.

Thinking of going with OpenSUSE later down the line once I familiarize myself with Linux. smile.gif

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Faceless, Nameless, Endless War

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#963

Posted 09 March 2013 - 10:34 AM

I've never really seen the need to use Linux builds other than Ubuntu, Mint, Debian or Fedora for anything- oh, aside from penetration testing using BackTrack (but that's basically Debian anyway). Ubuntu can do everything any other Linux build can just as well, if not better, and with considerably less hassle.

Bad.boy!
  • Bad.boy!

    SA modder

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • None

#964

Posted 09 March 2013 - 04:29 PM

@Warlord.
If you feel comfortable with the terminal and are used to linux you could try something like Arch. I used Fedora gnome first, and customized it. But then I wanted to remove Gnome and thought f*ck this, I might as well compoze my own system. So I switched to Arch, it is a bit of a pain in the ass to configure everything (especially my hp wifi) but now I have a full system which boots in less than 5s on a 5400rpm mechanical hard drive and an i3-350M.

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#965

Posted 10 March 2013 - 08:41 AM

I actually tried to install Fatdog64 (apparently it's the fastest and most lightweight distro by far), but the boot kept freezing. Thinking of trying Lubuntu.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#966

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:36 PM

Intel Haswell performance preview
http://www.tomshardw...mance,3461.html

ExtremoMania
  • ExtremoMania

    Just a dose of metal everyday

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2012
  • Philippines

#967

Posted 19 March 2013 - 04:32 AM

Don't know if this is a good place to ask questions, but here's mine:
Do you think a quad-core CPU performs well in a 6-core and 8-core CPU or is it the other way around?

TIA

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#968

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:19 AM

What do you mean exactly?

ExtremoMania
  • ExtremoMania

    Just a dose of metal everyday

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2012
  • Philippines

#969

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:24 AM

QUOTE (yojo2 @ Tuesday, Mar 19 2013, 13:19)
What do you mean exactly?

What I mean is; does a quad-core CPU has a comparable performance to 6-core or 8-core CPUs or is quad-core inferior to the latter mentioned CPUs? In terms of rigid performance such as HD video editing and other stuff like that.

Bad.boy!
  • Bad.boy!

    SA modder

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • None

#970

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:05 AM Edited by Bad.boy!, 19 March 2013 - 08:09 AM.

That depends on the processor and application. An i7-3970X (6 core) would easily beat an FX-8350 (8 core). An i7-3770K (4 core) would also beat a FX-8350 on almost every occasion. However if an application has many threads the FX-8350 could beat the i7-3770K:
user posted image
user posted image

The processors I've compared are definitely not in the same price range, but I've showed you what an 8 core could potentially achieve, if the application uses many CPU-intensive threads. However most applications aren't programmed that way.

The i7's have hyper threading btw. Which means that every core can do 2 threads at once.

ExtremoMania
  • ExtremoMania

    Just a dose of metal everyday

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2012
  • Philippines

#971

Posted 19 March 2013 - 10:57 AM Edited by ExtremeLimitations, 19 March 2013 - 11:05 AM.

How about comparison of Intel Xeon to Intel Core series? I know those (Intel Xeon) are the most expensive and high-end multi-core processor.

Oh and I forgot, those are the CPU benchmarks that I want to know about, since I'm planning to get an 8-core Xeon processor for my workstation build.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#972

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:08 PM

Not all Xeons are expensive, for example E3 series are based off of i7 and are actually cheaper. Just take a look at the prices of E3-1230V2, E3-1240V2 and i7-3770. E3-1240V2 is pretty much an i7-3770 without an IGP.

Pico
  • Pico

    cinnamon ropes

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2009

#973

Posted 21 March 2013 - 08:51 AM

Aren't Xeons meant mainly for servers? I'm not sure of the technical reasons, but from my understanding they don't work as well for general computer use. Could be wrong.

Just recently put together a HTPC/media server PC. Got a Pentium G630T, which is a Sandy Bridge 32nm dual core running at 2.3Ghz, I went with that due to the low power draw (35W as opposed to most others that are 65W) since this computer will be on a lot, as well as it's relatively quick speed and built in HD video support (runs HD video output at 1080p to my TV perfectly). To support that I've got 4GB of RAM and OCZ Vertex3 SSD for the OS; this thing boots up in literally 10 seconds. Incredibly quick while running Chrome. Once I move into my new place I'll be moving my 2TB and 1TB drive over and set up a home sharing network so all my videos and music will be available all around the house. Should be sweeeeet. I just wish I could find a sleeker HTPC case for it, as I've just got it in a mid-tower for now.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#974

Posted 21 March 2013 - 02:49 PM

QUOTE (Pico @ Thursday, Mar 21 2013, 09:51)
Aren't Xeons meant mainly for servers? I'm not sure of the technical reasons, but from my understanding they don't work as well for general computer use. Could be wrong.

Not really, what you say applies more to Itaniums than Xeons. The majority of Xeons are based off of Core i7 with slight modifications.

Andreas
  • Andreas

    GTAV Forum Leader

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 27 May 2012
  • Austria
  • Best Avatar 2013
    Best New Member 2012
    Contribution Award [GTA V]

#975

Posted 21 March 2013 - 06:14 PM

QUOTE (Pico @ Thursday, Mar 21 2013, 09:51)
Aren't Xeons meant mainly for servers? I'm not sure of the technical reasons, but from my understanding they don't work as well for general computer use. Could be wrong.

Intel Xeon CPUs are based on Core i7 CPUs. If you have a motherboard that supports the Xeons, then you could run it/them without a problem. You don't have to buy a server-motherboard to be able to run these CPUs, you can buy a mainstream motherboard and it works. You can see on the official websites of manufacturers like Asus, MSI, Gigabyte, et cetera if Xeon processors are supported or not. However, if you do research then you will figure out that there are boards that support these CPUs and it's not officially mentioned by the manufacturer(s). The biggest difference between them and the Core i7 processors is that they don't have IGPs and the lack of OC capabilities.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#976

Posted 21 March 2013 - 09:34 PM Edited by Stinky12, 25 March 2013 - 04:11 AM.

^
They have OC capabilities. Intel just locks them because they don't see overclocking in a workstation or server computer.
Intel Skulltrail platform from a few years ago, running on a pair of Extreme Edition CPUs are actually Xeon since it has dual QPI to run in a
2 socket motherboard. That CPU was the Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9775 and it's unlocked for overclocking. Some Xeon also have integrated graphics.
http://ark.intel.com...3-Family/server
=========================================================================================

Intel Xeon are basically the best of the best. CPUs that perform extremely well are binned as Xeons. They usually have lower TDP, can stand the 24/7 environment, ECC memory support, and can work on dual to quad socket configurations.
After Xeon, then we get Core i7, i5, i3, Pentium, and Celeron.
Also it's those low end CPU that bring in the most profit for Intel, not those Core i7s where everyone wants to have in their dream machines. So what happens when they ran out of Pentium and Celerons? Take those higher binned CPUs like the Core i7, disable some features here and there and then sell them as Pentium or Celerons.

Asus GTX670 DirectCU Mini (front)
user posted image

friendly luggage
  • friendly luggage

    Catch a ride!

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2011
  • United-Kingdom

#977

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:22 PM

Interesting about the Xeons. I remember reading how you could unlock a core on some AMD processors.

What's the oldest piece of computer software or hardware you use at home or work?
Oldest bit of hardware is my Dell keyboard from 2004. It's still nice to type on but crap for gaming, as you can only push two letter keys at once. Going to sell my modded Xbox 360 to help pay for a QPAD MK-85. Another reason for selling my other Xbox is because I can no longer burn modded backup games, as I need a special Lite-on disc drive. Good DL DVD's are expensive too. Darn Microsoft and their security checks mad.gif

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#978

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:12 PM Edited by Stinky12, 28 April 2013 - 02:00 PM.

Oldest thing I still use is my printer a HP 930c and HP scanner, bought them when I got my first PC back in 2000. It was a Pentium III 800MHz, 128MB of ram, 20GB HDD, ATi 2MB AGP video card, and Windows Me. I'm still using this printer and scanner, it even works under Windows 8 Pro MCE 64bit. I even have the double side printing module, it prints on both sides of the paper, but the reverse side, text are upside-down. The scanner can even scan negatives so I can bring back old photos from the original 35mm films.

A list of Haswell CPUs
user posted image
Some info on Xeon base Ivy Bridge-E
user posted image
Image credit to their sites.

Haswell boxart
user posted image

xI Jakk Ix
  • xI Jakk Ix

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010

#979

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:28 AM

GTX 780 Pictured on Chinese site:

user posted image

The 770:

user posted image

Source

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#980

Posted 11 May 2013 - 03:36 PM

I still have no idea why this plexiglass is even there. To watch dust clogging up the cooler?

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#981

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:37 PM Edited by Stinky12, 16 May 2013 - 09:46 PM.

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

xI Jakk Ix
  • xI Jakk Ix

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010

#982

Posted 16 May 2013 - 09:49 PM

Those gold and black Asus boards look interesting, like the current AsRock ones. Better than the blue and black scheme they had.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#983

Posted 16 May 2013 - 10:10 PM

QUOTE (xI Jakk Ix @ Thursday, May 16 2013, 21:49)
Those gold and black Asus boards look interesting, like the current AsRock ones. Better than the blue and black scheme they had.

They used those colors before with their P5Q and P5Q Turbo

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#984

Posted 01 June 2013 - 03:47 PM

http://www.guru3d.co...k_review,1.html

Haswell is out. A bit of a disappointment - OC and temperatures didn't improve compared to IB, they might have gotten even worse...

DarthShinobi
  • DarthShinobi

    The fall is FAST and STEEP

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2012
  • United-States

#985

Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:19 PM

I got a quick question. How can a gaming PC take advantage of a Xeon processor? I realize they are server CPUs and are better for like video rendering and high calculation tasks, but is their advantages to picking one up instead of an i5 or i7?

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#986

Posted 01 June 2013 - 05:07 PM

Most of the Xeon CPUs are actually rebranded i7 with minor alterations, hence the performance will be very similar in all applications (for example Xeon E3-1230V2 == i7-3770 with no IGP and 100MHz lower clocks; the performance is more or less identical). There's absolutely not a single reason why they'd be better for "video rendering and high calculation tasks" and worse for gaming than i7.

Stinky12
  • Stinky12

    No title

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2010

#987

Posted 09 June 2013 - 05:12 AM Edited by Stinky12, 09 June 2013 - 05:17 AM.

Computex 2013 is over, but here are some cool stuffs

Asrock makes board with 22 SATA ports
Asus ROG mITX board
Video Tour of Asus new UEFI interface
Win8.1 demo

F4L?
  • F4L?

    Well I'm sorry, Princess.

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010
  • None

#988

Posted 09 June 2013 - 01:54 PM

QUOTE (illegal_luggage @ Thursday, Apr 11 2013, 01:22)
Interesting about the Xeons. I remember reading how you could unlock a core on some AMD processors.

What's the oldest piece of computer software or hardware you use at home or work?
Oldest bit of hardware is my Dell keyboard from 2004. It's still nice to type on but crap for gaming, as you can only push two letter keys at once. Going to sell my modded Xbox 360 to help pay for a QPAD MK-85. Another reason for selling my other Xbox is because I can no longer burn modded backup games, as I need a special Lite-on disc drive. Good DL DVD's are expensive too. Darn Microsoft and their security checks mad.gif

Two keys at once? Haha.
@Stinky, you seem to have a brilliant multi-functional printer.

Oldest piece of computer hardware off the top of my head is I think this CRT monitor I have, it's like 2001-2002, it was great when my laptops screen broke, the quality is pretty good. I've also got some pretty old software in the form of games, I think the oldest physical copy is Cossacks, European Wars, a 2001 game very similar to age of empires, I loved that game, and still do, even though I am too good at it, I still enjoy the battles that can last 7-8 hours, I don't play it often though, I need an XP computer, so I only get a chance to play sometimes when I visit my father.

I'll give it some more thought though and see If I can think of something.

yojo2
  • yojo2

    ~y

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008
  • Poland
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Helpfulness Award
    Helpfulness Award [Technology]

#989

Posted 09 June 2013 - 02:23 PM

I still use a somewhat upgraded rig from 1998... not very often, but still. As for the software - not sure, Duke Nukem 3D possibly.

SilverRST
  • SilverRST

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2013
  • None

#990

Posted 17 June 2013 - 03:06 PM

Imma bump dis tounge.gif

AMD just released moer info on their new AMD FX9000 series CPU.
The AMD FX9590 comes with a stock speed of 5GHz but the TDP is a shocking 220W.
What do guys think? Is it worht or just better an Intel CPU?
I for sure for an Intel. You would need a much better cpu cooler for that FX series.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users