Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[GTAIV|REL|BETA] ENBSeries graphic modification

24,755 replies to this topic
BorisVorontsov
  • BorisVorontsov

    Mahou Shoujo

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Russia

#1

Posted 14 July 2009 - 09:29 PM Edited by BorisVorontsov, 27 December 2011 - 11:31 PM.

WARNING!!! Screenshots thread moved here:
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=480297

Please, share your presets also on my web site forum, not all users can keep track on thousand pages here.


24 january 2011: ENBSeries Editor by Myster92
Available here: http://dl.dropbox.co...ries_editor.zip
Here is the description from it's author:
QUOTE

In-game ENBSeries editor =)

This is first version of in-game editor, so have bugs:
1. Annoying delay when switching menu items
2. Interface some blinking
3. When key long pressed, game may hang

Usage: (Numpad keyboard)
7 - On / Off
2 / 8 - Down / Up
4 / 6 - Decrease / Increase value
9 - Increase / Decrease amount of change values (0.001, 0.01, 0.1, 1)
0 - Return to main menu

Requirements:
1. Alice v0.9
2. Set CyclicConfigReading=true in enbseries.ini

Comment: download lastest Alice: http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=386816 I have and tested on version 1.0.4.0

user posted image


14 june 2010: Published 0.081 SORA
Requires game patch 1.0.3.0, 1.0.4.0 for best quality or other versions for just few changes.

Version 0.081 SORA - added limited support for game patch 1.0.6.0, but most of complex effects are ignored and still available on previous game versions (except 1.0.2.0 and lower, where also limited). Antialiasing, color correction and post processing by external files, reflection for cars and chrome, quality increase for reflection, bloom, sky and clouds, moon, some else. Shadows, sky lighting, ambient occlusion are ignored. Original moon by r* removed.

Version 0.080 SORA - added upscale for antialiasing (great performance increase by blurring image as compencation); multipass support for external effects processing; three pass effect of blur, sharp and color shift included (to make look like digital cameras); coloring by ambient occlusion and shadows are changed to more realistic; additional post processing HDR tonemapping algorithm implemented for users choice, also available ingame color changes (ugly palette and menu presets for saturation, contrast, gamma).

Version 0.079 SORA - added moon. external shaders for processing clouds texture and bloom. external texture for stars. some minor changes to the sky system.

Version 0.078 SORA - bug fixes for reflections and lights, sky and clouds modified.

Version 0.077b - bugs fixes mainly, implemented support for effect.txt post processing.

Version 0.077a - applies own bloom, ssao, ssil, sky lighting, color correction, changed quality of reflections, amount of reflections, amount of lighting and many more things.

Version 0.076a - emulates antialiasing in the GTA IV game. Read carefuly included readme_en.txt file to make it work properly. This mod require a lot of video memory, otherwise you must set lower antialiasing quality setting and(or) decrease screen size.

Version 0.076b - modify reflections, more intense and less distorted.

Future plans:
Restore volumetric clouds, shadows from clouds.


Modification itself and future updates available from my web page:
http://enbdev.com




Good luck!


Some new screnshoots available on my site. Here is one example of new effects:
user posted imageuser posted image
  • AngryAmoeba and Outwar like this

lowridincrew
  • lowridincrew

    The WerkHeads Vice President

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2005
  • United-States

#2

Posted 14 July 2009 - 09:57 PM

OMG You got damn Genius Boris biggrin.gif

I'm about to try it ouy.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#3

Posted 14 July 2009 - 10:01 PM

WoW finally GTA IV ENB topic!

Awsome Boris, Just fking awsome biggrin.gif

Owenwilson1
  • Owenwilson1

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 14 July 2009 - 10:01 PM

i agree amazing work smile.gif

L.H.
  • L.H.

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2009

#5

Posted 15 July 2009 - 12:34 AM

Boris, i unistalled ENB Series and now GTA IV have pixelated grafics! how to resolve this?

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#6

Posted 15 July 2009 - 09:02 AM

Hello. Awesome. smile.gif
Pics:
http://s329.photobuc.....IV Antialias/

Threepwood
  • Threepwood

    Calm like a bomb.

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jul 2008

#7

Posted 15 July 2009 - 09:36 AM

Ah, cool idea to make a seperate thread. Boris, as stated in the guestbook, I have experienced a strange "bug" with pressing the SHIFT key. Tho we thought it was user dependant error, it seems not to be, since someone else in the ENB thread stated same problem.

Just thought you should know.
Sys: Win XP Pro, latest NVidia driver, Asus GF GTS250, AMD X2, 2Gig RAM, latest DirectX, clean IV with xliveless, no crack or else.

Appearance:
Once pressed the Shift-key, the screen is subsectioned in 4 quarters, with 3 of it being grey and nearly no game world visible, upper right one stays intact showing the game properly. You can turn it on/off by repeating pressing.

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#8

Posted 15 July 2009 - 09:41 AM

QUOTE (Threepwood @ Jul 15 2009, 09:36)
Ah, cool idea to make a seperate thread. Boris, as stated in the guestbook, I have experienced a strange "bug" with pressing the SHIFT key. Tho we thought it was user dependant error, it seems not to be, since someone else in the ENB thread stated same problem.

Just thought you should know.
Sys: Win XP Pro, latest NVidia driver, Asus GF GTS250, AMD X2, 2Gig RAM, latest DirectX, clean IV with xliveless, no crack or else.

Appearance:
Once pressed the Shift-key, the screen is subsectioned in 4 quarters, with 3 of it being grey and nearly no game world visible, upper right one stays intact showing the game properly. You can turn it on/off by repeating pressing.

I had this too one time, but it reverted back in no time.

aoxsystems
  • aoxsystems

    www.xssed.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2008

#9

Posted 15 July 2009 - 10:49 AM

game crashes in the begining ver 1.0.2.0 sad.gif

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#10

Posted 15 July 2009 - 10:56 AM

Mod works good, no problems for me, not bad AA.

And its not heavy for the graphic card.

3niX
  • 3niX

    Lazy idiot

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#11

Posted 15 July 2009 - 11:03 AM Edited by 3niX, 15 July 2009 - 11:07 AM.

Well...

QUOTE
game crashes in the begining ver 1.0.2.0

If it crashes try to make the game run in windowed mode and remove the enbseries.ini (it will be generated again once you run the game).


EDIT: Boris, is the SA version completely scrapped (no future releases)?

aoxsystems
  • aoxsystems

    www.xssed.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2008

#12

Posted 15 July 2009 - 11:37 AM Edited by aoxsystems, 15 July 2009 - 12:13 PM.

i replaced gta4 enbseries.ini with one form SA and it worked.But windowed command doesnt work when d3d9.dll is in game folder,-availablevidmem and all others are working.

when i delete d3d9.dll,-windowed command functions,strange....Also sky is black.
And game crashes if xlive is on

EDIT:windowed problem fixed by conf enb.ini,but still

user posted image
Free Image Hosting by ImageBam.com


Kiabbo
  • Kiabbo

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2008

#13

Posted 15 July 2009 - 12:19 PM

QUOTE (aoxsystems @ Jul 15 2009, 08:37)
i replaced gta4 enbseries.ini with one form SA and it worked.But windowed command doesnt work when d3d9.dll is in game folder,-availablevidmem and all others are working.

when i delete d3d9.dll,-windowed command functions,strange....Also sky is black.
And game crashes if xlive is on

EDIT:windowed problem fixed by conf enb.ini,but still

user posted image
Free Image Hosting by ImageBam.com

Just press shift again.Worked for me, when I press shift f12 it looks like that, but when I press just shift it become normal again.Now I'm not having this issue, I OC'd my CPU and it stopped biggrin.gif

BorisVorontsov
  • BorisVorontsov

    Mahou Shoujo

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Russia

#14

Posted 15 July 2009 - 03:37 PM

Guys, i have no idea about SHIFT key, how it may change something, there is no code in the modification that may somehow affect the game by pressing SHIFT key. Also on my PC i don't see any changes, so i can't test it. This is something in the game i guess.

Don't use enbseries.ini from other versions of the mod with this one, all you may achieve is to restore some parameters to default. If the game won't start with enbseries.ini, may be you are out of video memory, set lower AntialiasingQuality parameter value or (and) lower DisplaWidth, DisplayHeight under category [ENGINE] of enbseries.ini.

aoxsystems:
perhaps the game won't work in windowed mode because of old patch.

3niX:
GTASA version still in my plans, but i'm too much busy and gta4 seems easier to finish right now.

BTW all effects in future versions will be compatible only with patched game, current stable patch 1.0.3.0 (1.0.4.0 is bad, but it seems they are backwise compatible, both works with reflections, ssao, ssil and so on).

About performance of antialiasing, everything is so bad... The game uses "deffered" rendering, this method have it's own good and bad sides. The bad side - it cost a lot of video memory, because the image on the screen is not 3 buffers of width*height (which is standart for most of the games: front, back and z buffers). In the gta4 screen size buffers are (may be some more, not yet detected): front buffer, texture colors, per pixel normals, depth, z, g-buffer. This not all, additional several pass screen buffers used for post effects, including reflections (64 bits hdr texture, so it's like two standart 32 bits), destination hdr for mixing colors together and to apply tone mapping and color correction and some other 1-3, don't remember. Now imagine, if you increase game resolution, all these buffers/textures also becomes bigger. Let me guess, performance will be lower in 3-5 times than in any other game. May be i'll try to reduce resolution of some effects, but don't expect too much performance increase, 10-15%.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#15

Posted 15 July 2009 - 03:41 PM

for me there isnt any problem biggrin.gif

it runs perfectly for me and with a graphic card is enough to can run it icon14.gif
so really its not that heavy

Thanks boris, you made what r* Guys didnt

cuvip
  • cuvip

    Jefra Bland, miss teen kentuckey US 2009

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008

#16

Posted 15 July 2009 - 03:42 PM

does this mod affect much the performance becoz i love AA happy.gif happy.gif

Drunk Russian 9
  • Drunk Russian 9

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2007

#17

Posted 15 July 2009 - 03:47 PM Edited by Drunk Russian 9, 15 July 2009 - 03:51 PM.

Hey boris,

I'm having problems with the enb release aswell. When I go to start the game, a window tells me "GTA IV has stopped working". I made sure I had all the settings lowered, and I copied the commandline aswell. Patch 1.4

Any help?

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#18

Posted 15 July 2009 - 04:18 PM

interesting Boris, going to try it. What method did you use? MSAA?

Anyway, could you post in first post what versions are supported and not? I'm not sure confused.gif

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#19

Posted 15 July 2009 - 04:20 PM

W00t. Going to try it right now!

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#20

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:07 PM

QUOTE (Jost_Vice @ Jul 15 2009, 16:18)
interesting Boris, going to try it. What method did you use? MSAA?

Anyway, could you post in first post what versions are supported and not? I'm not sure confused.gif

I think i know what he did:
Step 1: Crank up the resolution
Step 2: Blur the whole image

What do we get: AA.
(Try capturing it with Fraps, you'll see)

3niX
  • 3niX

    Lazy idiot

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#21

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:15 PM

Well...

Yeah... the resolution change was the first thing I noticed. It gets pretty resource hungry as the window resolution and anti-aliasing levels increase.

ddnt32
  • ddnt32

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2009

#22

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:16 PM

QUOTE (ikt @ Jul 15 2009, 17:07)
QUOTE (Jost_Vice @ Jul 15 2009, 16:18)
interesting Boris, going to try it. What method did you use? MSAA?

Anyway, could you post in first post what versions are supported and not? I'm not sure  confused.gif

I think i know what he did:
Step 1: Crank up the resolution
Step 2: Blur the whole image

What do we get: AA.
(Try capturing it with Fraps, you'll see)

I think it's that too, because capturing it with Fraps gives me a image of 1920x1200 resolution.

I reinstalled the patch 1.0.3.0 over the 1.0.4.0 and now I have no more problems with the SHIFT key. Try this too, for me it works. biggrin.gif

Threepwood
  • Threepwood

    Calm like a bomb.

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jul 2008

#23

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:19 PM

To be honest, I don't think so. On close up views, I really saw a less amount of aliasing steps than it was w/o ENB, and there was no blur. But that ENB is a postprocessing mod, so the processed image is processed once again, or however, it is an additional computing instead of "in routine" processing in the main render process. I had to take a very close look on the output to see any effect at all (value 10, because more did not result in any playable framerate). And there it was visible, on the edge of a rear window outer line the stair steps were reduced, no blur.

BorisVorontsov
  • BorisVorontsov

    Mahou Shoujo

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Russia

#24

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:37 PM

How it works:
1 The game buffers scaled up at the start
2 In the drawing time everything drawed as normal
3 After everything is rendered, result rescaled back to screen on the shader (not blurred).

This is the simplest way to implement antialiasing for modern videocards (which is not have support for antialiased multiple render targets). Another one is to rescale the buffers and draw multiple times geometry with offset to several areas. But it's slower and result is the same.

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#25

Posted 15 July 2009 - 05:44 PM Edited by ikt, 15 July 2009 - 06:04 PM.

QUOTE (BorisVorontsov @ Jul 15 2009, 17:37)
How it works:
1 The game buffers scaled up at the start
2 In the drawing time everything drawed as normal
3 After everything is rendered, result rescaled back to screen on the shader (not blurred).

This is the simplest way to implement antialiasing for modern videocards (which is not have support for antialiased multiple render targets). Another one is to rescale the buffers and draw multiple times geometry with offset to several areas. But it's slower and result is the same.

I swear, alt tabbing and then tabbing back makes the game again in native resolution, and when turning on the AA the whole screen blurs. tounge.gif

Or did you just explain what i said?
Alt tabbed to desktop, then alt tabbed back: Resolution the same as window, not 2 times bigger.
http://i30.tinypic.com/o0azgl.jpg <- AA off
http://i31.tinypic.com/2lmm8vb.jpg <-AA turned on.

ddnt32
  • ddnt32

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2009

#26

Posted 15 July 2009 - 06:12 PM Edited by ddnt32, 15 July 2009 - 06:21 PM.

Here are some screens of how it worked with me*

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

*1: I selected 1024x640 resolution, but, I don't know why, Fraps captured it in 1920x1200, and cropped the image in the top and the bottom. I resized the image for 1024x640 (keeping the aspect ratio and PNG format, using Paint.NET).

*2: For me, the image was a little blurred too, adding a value of 30 in sharpen using VirtualDub makes it a LOT better (I didn't add any sharpness in my screens). Boris, could you add some sharpen in the image after the resize or that's impossible? If you can't, anyway, it's already great, because while playing I can't see any difference, I only see it when I look at the screens.

*3: You're a genius, thanks for this great mod! Waiting for the fullscreen version! biggrin.gif

Without Sharpen filter:
user posted image

With Sharpen filter:
user posted image

ikt
  • ikt

    *poof*

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006
  • None

#27

Posted 15 July 2009 - 06:14 PM

I'm not complaining, i'm just wanting to know how this things works, and here, nothing is blurred if i'm not glitching tounge.gif Just nice smooth edges.

Threepwood
  • Threepwood

    Calm like a bomb.

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jul 2008

#28

Posted 15 July 2009 - 07:11 PM

Thanks Boris, that explains it pretty good, even tho I do not know anything about (post-)processing render things.

It can only get better with some patience smile.gif Thanks for the effort to work on it!

Murcchachosa
  • Murcchachosa

    Foot Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2009

#29

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:48 PM

Hi Boris,

I have tried your AA ENB for GTA4.
I tried your recommended settings, 800x600 4xAA.
FPS is a bit same as without ENB enabled in windowed mode.
Really great!
No any little jaggie anymore!!

And a surprise, I tried it on my laptop with GF9600M GT 512MB.
Not bad for such little chipset.

Ingame settings are medium.
Textures medium
RenderQ Highest
Vehicle dens 50
detail 50

Teniak
  • Teniak

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#30

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:59 PM

Some screens (e8400/gtx260/15/30fps max Q > so not realy enjoyable yet) : (many things on the enbseries.ini) Awesome ! Just need more info about *.ini and next, wait a final release.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users