Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Decent PC, Crap GTA

15 replies to this topic
Ritchie360
  • Ritchie360

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2009

#1

Posted 27 June 2009 - 09:07 PM Edited by Ritchie360, 27 June 2009 - 09:18 PM.

Hello

I used to own:

Intel Pentium D 2,33GHz (dual cpu)
2GB Memory
Nvidia GeForce 7600GT

Now I was able to run GTA IV (which is a miracle of its own) but I had to turn off everything and put the res. on 800x600. but ofcourse the FPS kind sucked.

Now I wanted to upgrade ofcourse.
So I got myself a new motherboard.
An Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3Ghz

The mem and vid.card are still the same (though even this is going to change)

But atleast I got a new motherboard and a new processor.

But still GTA IV doesnt run smooth, (except when everythings turned off and at lowest resolution, then it at least runs a little smooth)

Is this normal? Whats it gonna take for me to play this game at decent quality and still smooth. ofcourse being able to play at high quality would be great. I know the processor aint the problem Ive read that before. but whats the prob then?

EDIT: I did the compatibility test. and It said my video card and memory are the prob. fortunatly im gonna update them. however.. it says it requires a quad core for good performance? but the difference isnt really that big right? confused.gif

and one more thing.. i run on windows 7!! says this is also not compatible! can this be a big prob?

Thanks in advance
Ritchie360

JeddyH
  • JeddyH

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 27 June 2009 - 09:30 PM

Once you upgrade the GPU and RAM it should be fine, also you can run GTAIV on Win7

Lodis
  • Lodis

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2008

#3

Posted 27 June 2009 - 10:31 PM

I have played GTA IV on windows 7 with no problems at all, just set it to Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.

Your GPU is the limitation here, it only has a 128 Bit memory interface and only 256 MB's of RAM (according to google). If this is the case then that is what is limiting your resolution capabilities so really, you need to upgrade to a decent one to be able to run well above 800 X 600.

The GPU drivers also make a huge difference in this game, I have seen differences as large as 10 fps but I have no idea why really. You should also have at least 3GB of RAM. Your 3.0 Ghz Core2Duo should be able to cope wit this game too.

shivanandrs
  • shivanandrs

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 28 June 2009 - 02:15 AM

QUOTE (Lodis @ Jun 27 2009, 18:31)
I have played GTA IV on windows 7 with no problems at all, just set it to Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.

Your GPU is the limitation here, it only has a 128 Bit memory interface and only 256 MB's of RAM (according to google). If this is the case then that is what is limiting your resolution capabilities so really, you need to upgrade to a decent one to be able to run well above 800 X 600.

The GPU drivers also make a huge difference in this game, I have seen differences as large as 10 fps but I have no idea why really. You should also have at least 3GB of RAM. Your 3.0 Ghz Core2Duo should be able to cope wit this game too.

You do not need to use compatibility under Win7 RC.

TruXter
  • TruXter

    retXurT

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2004
  • None

#5

Posted 28 June 2009 - 02:17 AM Edited by TruXter, 28 June 2009 - 02:21 AM.

The vid card is to old, considering the processor that was in the pc and the processor that is in the pc, I would assume that by re-using that old memory like that, you are not using the processor at it's fullest. if that memory is even compatible. I mean that mem has to be about three years old.


new video card, 9+ with atleast 1 gig memory . now your memory I would settle for nothing less than the 10+ with atleast four gigs .
This game was not meant for budget gamers. not in the slightest.
In some ways it's just wrong to do that to us, but in other ways, I wouldn't want anything less.

TimesTwo
  • TimesTwo

    PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2009

#6

Posted 28 June 2009 - 08:24 AM

consider buying atleast a 200-series graphic card

modCJpls
  • modCJpls

    The Armageddon is near.

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2007

#7

Posted 28 June 2009 - 11:20 AM

Your GPU is bottlenecking your CPU.

Ritchie360
  • Ritchie360

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2009

#8

Posted 28 June 2009 - 11:51 AM

thanks for all replies i actualy AM getting myself a new graphics driver. however something does still seem wrong. Because when I USED TO play Call of Duty 5 on lowest graphics aswell it played fine, but now it sucks. the movement is chucky and it plays at low fps at certain points. haha i'm sorry i know i am a whining pain in the ass but I dont know sh*t about this stuff so I really dont know whats wrong =(

Jc84144
  • Jc84144

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2008

#9

Posted 28 June 2009 - 01:59 PM

A Nvidia GeForce 7600GT is not decent. You should get nothing slower than a 8800.

The_Cheese_Man
  • The_Cheese_Man

    I love cheese

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 28 June 2009 - 11:31 PM

When you install new drivers, uninstall old drivers and then use the Driver Sweeper program (google it) during your pc running in safe mode to delete any left over files.

Lodis
  • Lodis

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2008

#11

Posted 28 June 2009 - 11:39 PM

QUOTE (shivanandrs @ Jun 28 2009, 02:15)
QUOTE (Lodis @ Jun 27 2009, 18:31)
I have played GTA IV on windows 7 with no problems at all, just set it to Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.

Your GPU is the limitation here, it only has a 128 Bit memory interface and only 256 MB's of RAM (according to google). If this is the case then that is what is limiting your resolution capabilities so really, you need to upgrade to a decent one to be able to run well above 800 X 600.

The GPU drivers also make a huge difference in this game, I have seen differences as large as 10 fps but I have no idea why really. You should also have at least 3GB of RAM. Your 3.0 Ghz Core2Duo should be able to cope wit this game too.

You do not need to use compatibility under Win7 RC.

I was getting errors when I ran the game until I set it to compatibility mode XP SP3.

TruXter
  • TruXter

    retXurT

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2004
  • None

#12

Posted 29 June 2009 - 03:11 AM

The whole thing about windows 7 being better than holy water is the stupidest thing and such BS.

I lost 10 fps with this piece of crap. I have to format and head back to vista.

Kurgen
  • Kurgen

    Old Git

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2002

#13

Posted 30 June 2009 - 07:18 AM Edited by Kurgen, 30 June 2009 - 07:20 AM.


QUOTE
The whole thing about windows 7 being better than holy water is the stupidest thing and such BS.


Care to elaborate? Sounds like you had a bad result and threw the toys out. Calling 7 a "piece of crap" belies a certain knee-jerk ignorance on your part. It performs far better than Vista, even on a considerably lesser-spec machine, and it weighs-in at less than half of Vista's gargantuan hard-disk footprint.


super_slav
  • super_slav

    Fo Shizzle

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2006

#14

Posted 02 July 2009 - 02:51 PM

damm that chipset is old, get a newer GPU, and maybee a new CPU, but nothing under 2.6ghz.

Arkangel
  • Arkangel

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 03 July 2009 - 07:41 AM

this game is way demanding, even a new video card won't make it look that awesome, of course it will improve graphics and smoothness but don't expect 60 fps

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#16

Posted 03 July 2009 - 08:27 AM

Ritchie360 I had exactly your same graphic card and the game ran really bad (5-10fps). Now I have an ATI 4830 512mb and the game runs at 20-40fps. You have to change the GPU, before the CPU.

p.s. I still have a AMD dual core 2ghz.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users