Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

New Palit GTX 285 2GB Graphics Card.

97 replies to this topic
Vicetopia
  • Vicetopia

    Factory Overclocked

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2003

#31

Posted 22 April 2009 - 01:34 AM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Apr 21 2009, 20:22)
43 FPS looks just ok at max, and proves once more that GTA 4 requires much more from the CPU than GPU.

Especially if he's crippling his system by running that thing at 2.66...

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#32

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:51 AM

QUOTE (Vicetopia @ Apr 22 2009, 02:34)
QUOTE (thales100 @ Apr 21 2009, 20:22)
43 FPS looks just ok at max, and proves once more that GTA 4 requires much more from the CPU than GPU.

Especially if he's crippling his system by running that thing at 2.66...

I think you'll find that in the real world, the vast majority of people don't overclock their systems. I think you'll find most people will be running their Q9450 systems at the "crippled" 2.66Ghz it comes as. colgate.gif

That's not to say I have anything against overclocking, and I can see from the specs in your signature that you enjoy quite a tasty overclocked system yourself. Nice. icon14.gif

But, my objective here is to increase the eye candy and whilst keeping a reasonably playable FPS figure. Please bear with me if my "review", such as it is, is not up to your standards. I'm not a professional at this and I'm only documenting my experience of this unusual card here as an aside so that everyone can get an idea of what it can do. I've decided to clarify that in a separate post, so that everyone can read what my objectives and expectations were.

Vicetopia
  • Vicetopia

    Factory Overclocked

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2003

#33

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:56 AM

QUOTE (IJM @ Apr 21 2009, 21:51)
I think you'll find that in the real world, the vast majority of people don't overclock their systems.  I think you'll find most people will be running their Q9450 systems at the "crippled" 2.66Ghz it comes as.  colgate.gif

You gained 12fps going from the 9800GTX to the GTX 285.
You could gain another 12fps going from 2.66 to 3.0+.

By "crippled", I meant GTA4 specifically.

High
  • High

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#34

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:58 AM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Apr 22 2009, 01:22)

43FPS looks just ok at max, and proves once more that GTA 4 requires much more from the CPU than GPU.

it's really a matter of perspective, we already seen i7 users getting poor performance even when using it on 4Ghz and dual cores getting better frame rate and so it really isn't a matter of how much you pay, on the other hand, you need a around 1700MB of Vram to max this sucker out...
saying the game is more CPU depended is a very vague assumption.

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#35

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:00 AM Edited by IJM, 22 April 2009 - 03:22 AM.

There seems to be a bit of a misconception around about what the expectation is from this card. So let's clear this up right now.

Yes, we all know that GTA:IV doesn't run brilliantly on the PC platform. And we're all looking for that something that will make it run much faster.

This 2GB graphics card isn't it. It wasn't meant to be. We all know that a goodly proportion of the performance of GTA:IV is dependant on the CPU. On the whole, a faster CPU is likely to get you better increase in performance than a GPU.

We've all read enough on here to know roughly how fast a regular GTX 285 will run this game in conjunction with a reasonable quad core like the Q9450. But I'm not an FPS junkie and that's not what I'm after.

I'm running a stock clocked Q9450 with a stock clocked GTX 285. The fact that it's got 2GB VRAM instead of 1GB ain't gonna make it run any faster.

What it DOES enable you to do is to max out the graphics settings for the maximum eye candy factor! That's what I want. That is my objective. High texture quality, max draw distance and all the rest. What this shows is that these 2GB cards enable you to do that without using performance inhibiting command line options.

Granted for many people, this is a somewhat expensive way of doing it. Even those with more money than sense may pause for a moment's consideration before taking the plunge. But this particular card is at the same price point as the regular 1GB GTX 285 cards, so if you were considering an upgrade to a 285 anyway, it's worth a look. I can't tell you whether upgrading your graphics card to one of these is going to be cost effective for you. It's a subjective decision that is very much dependant on the spec of your system and the thickness of your wallet.

But what I hope I've been able to tell you is that going off what it did on my system (i.e. 2GB GTX 285 coupled with a Q9450 gives you roughly 43FPS at max settings), it will give you a rough idea of what it should do for you on your system.

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#36

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:07 AM

QUOTE (Vicetopia @ Apr 22 2009, 03:56)
QUOTE (IJM @ Apr 21 2009, 21:51)
I think you'll find that in the real world, the vast majority of people don't overclock their systems.  I think you'll find most people will be running their Q9450 systems at the "crippled" 2.66Ghz it comes as.  colgate.gif

You gained 12fps going from the 9800GTX to the GTX 285.
You could gain another 12fps going from 2.66 to 3.0+.

By "crippled", I meant GTA4 specifically.

Apologies, then. I misinterpreted the tone of your post.

I hope everything's cool, then. cool.gif

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#37

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:17 AM

QUOTE (High @ Apr 22 2009, 02:58)
saying the game is more CPU depended is a very vague assumption.

Dont think so, this has been proved many times in this forum, and as Vicetopia said, just overlocking the Q9450 to 3 Ghz would probably represent this FPS boost he had by upgrading from a 9800 to a GTX 285. 43 FPS is a poor performance for a top GPU, thats the point - his quad at stock 2.66 Ghz clock is bottlenecking the PC.

High
  • High

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#38

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:31 AM

^indeed, but you're talking solely on frame rate.

it's as IJM said, we aren't searching for the speed boost with this card, it's the texture streaming that takes this card for a ride.

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#39

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:32 AM

QUOTE (High @ Apr 22 2009, 03:31)
it's the texture streaming that takes this card for a ride.

Now youre talking icon14.gif

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#40

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:40 AM Edited by IJM, 22 April 2009 - 03:43 AM.

QUOTE (thales100 @ Apr 22 2009, 04:17)
QUOTE (High @ Apr 22 2009, 02:58)
saying the game is more CPU depended is a very vague assumption.

Dont think so, this has been proved many times in this forum, and as Vicetopia said, just overlocking the Q9450 to 3 Ghz would probably represent this FPS boost he had by upgrading from a 9800 to a GTX 285. 43 FPS is a poor performance for a top GPU, thats the point - his quad at stock 2.66 Ghz clock is bottlenecking the PC.

I do have further plans to try some mild overclocking. Not just for GTA:IV, but it will benefit. But I need to upgrade my RAM first. The four sticks of no-name 1GB DDR3-1333 won't cut it. I want some nice Corsair DDR3-1600 instead. I built my system with possible overclocking in mind. I've a Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme keeping my CPU cool and I've used Noctua 120mm fans thoughout my Chenbro SR107 case.

But not having done any overclocking before now, I'm going to be doing a lot of reading and taking it slow and careful.

Ogs
  • Ogs

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#41

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:20 AM

Post some screens ? biggrin.gif

The Horror Is Alive
  • The Horror Is Alive

    Monkey-fighting snakes on this Monday to Friday plane.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2008

#42

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:27 AM

QUOTE (Vicetopia @ Apr 21 2009, 16:32)
it's beyond me why people can't work out the difference between benching a PC game and a R* port.

That has got to be one of the truest statements and overall best thing I've heard on this forum to date biggrin.gif

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#43

Posted 22 April 2009 - 10:02 AM

I did have a quick play of GTA:IV with my new 2GB GTX 285. While not thorough by any means, I can tell you the following initial impressions at max settings:

I drove through the busy Star Junction where there is a tremendous amount of rendering going on coupled with a huge number of cars and peds. I did not experience any slowdown at all. In fact it was very smooth. No missing textures or pop-in.

Next I drove from Dukes to Charge Island via the East Borough Bridge. Now usually, on my old card, I always used to get a few textures which were slow to appear as I turned the corner approaching the toll booths. With the new card, no problems at all in this area. In fact, seamlessly smooth with no pop-in or missing or delayed textures.

I then checked out Roman's apartment in Middle Park East. With the old card this interior was always slow to appear on entry to the apartment, with a blank horizontal beige surface appearing at chest height for a second or two before the room was properly rendered. No such problems with the new 2GB card. The interior now appears immediately with no problems.

Then I nabbed a helicopter and took a ride round all three islands. This was a good test for the draw distance, plus the rapidity of movement between districts could cause slowdowns and slow rendering on the old card; not to a chronic degree that would inhibit gameplay, but it was evident. No such problems with the new 2GB card. The only problem I could find with the new card is when flying over the building in Bohan where Roman was held; there was some flickering in the interior of the building when looking through the holes in the roof.

Eye candy-wise, GTA-IV looks great now that it can use the highest resolution textures. You can now see the grain in Niko's leather jacket. The metal flake in cars' paintwork pops. Carpet now actually has a pile. Everything looks crisp and sharp like a veil has been lifted. There can be an issue wih certain fine lined textures from a distance where they end up producing a kind of moire pattern, but I think this is down to the lack of any form of anti-aliasing, from which this game would benefit hugely.

Overall, I'm pleased. I'll see if I can't get some screenshots for you this evening when I get in from work.

perfectpitch
  • perfectpitch

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2009

#44

Posted 22 April 2009 - 10:19 AM

QUOTE (IJM @ Apr 21 2009, 08:45)
I've just received a brand new Palit GeForce GTX 285 nVidia graphics card.

"So what?", I hear you say. Well this one is sporting a whopping 2048 MB of GDDR3 VRAM!!!


You BASTARD!!! You absolute bastard....

And when I say that, I'm pretty sure I speak on behalf of practically everyone here on the board when I say - you LUCKY BASTARD!!!

Now I want one...

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#45

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:02 AM

QUOTE (perfectpitch @ Apr 22 2009, 11:19)
... you LUCKY BASTARD!!!

Now I want one...

biggrin.gif

Well, they're out there to be had. Palit have their's out, and that's the one I've got. But there are two more 2GB GTX 285 models coming from Sparkle and Galaxy. Tweaktown have just done a review of the Galaxy one here: Galaxy GeForce GTX 285 2GB Tri-Fan Graphics Card @ Tweaktown, but they don't benchmark GTA:IV.

I bought my Palit from www.awd-it.co.uk for 321 GBP delivered, which in the UK is same price as the regular 1GB GTX 285 cards. When I spoke to awd-it last week, they'd bought 20 a few weeks back and sold two before I bought mine from them.

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#46

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:15 AM

QUOTE (LiBertyB @ Apr 21 2009, 17:47)
So will the vram for this card be SLI'd? only giving u 1GB to use for the settings?

No. This is a single GPU GTX 285 graphics card with 2GB of real VRAM all to itself.

It's not like the 295 which is two lesser cards "glued" together so that the claimed 1792MB on such cards is actually 896MB for each GPU.

I can confirm that GTA:IV does see 2021MB of "video resources" on this 2GB Palit GTX 285.

TheRealPcGamer
  • TheRealPcGamer

    The Master of PC Games

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008

#47

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:19 AM

Congratz, pal. Have a nice day with that 285 =)

I choose to wait the GTX300 patiently tounge.gif

In_da_Houser=-420*
  • In_da_Houser=-420*

    -=The Haunted=-

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2009

#48

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:29 AM

Well Sparkle are releasing an OC:ed version of the new GTX 275 with 1792Mb soon also.

Kinda useless with all this memory unless one is playing GTA IV or are Folding, but ofc everyone plays GTA biggrin.gif

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#49

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:32 AM

QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 12:19)
Congratz, pal. Have a nice day with that 285 =)

I choose to wait the GTX300 patiently tounge.gif

I thought about waiting for the forthcoming 300 series, but decided against it for the following reasons:

1). It's only due in the 4th Quarter, so it's still six months off at least.
2). When it does come out, it'll be stonkingly expensive, occupying the very highest price point.
3). There's a very good chance that it too will only sport 1GB of VRAM. It's taken the best part of a year before a 2GB 285 saw the light of day as it is, so would I have to wait that long for a 2GB 300 series?

So all in all, I just wasn't prepared to wait another whole year for an equivalent 300 series, by which time the 400 series will be in the pipeline too. So I decided to take the plunge so that I could enjoy GTA:IV the way I wanted to right now.

babel
  • babel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2009

#50

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:37 AM Edited by babel, 22 April 2009 - 11:42 AM.

You really don't need the 2GB GTX285 to play GTAIV at max settings. I'm playing at 1920x1080 with all settings maxed out with the reference 1GB version and it's smooth as butter. That said, it's a nice card smile.gif. But then again, I'm getting 57 FPS at the benchmark at 1920x1080 max settings compared to IJM's 43 FPS at 1920x1200 max settings. I guess a lot also has to do with the CPU.

richiespeed13
  • richiespeed13

    Live for the Nordschleife...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2009

#51

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:42 AM

My 4870 has GDDR5 memory tounge.gif

Damn, thats all i can say to make myself feel better lol...I only have a quarter of the Vram you have!

TheRealPcGamer
  • TheRealPcGamer

    The Master of PC Games

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008

#52

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:42 AM

QUOTE (IJM @ Apr 22 2009, 18:32)
QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 12:19)
Congratz, pal. Have a nice day with that 285 =)

I choose to wait the GTX300 patiently tounge.gif

I thought about waiting for the forthcoming 300 series, but decided against it for the following reasons:

1). It's only due in the 4th Quarter, so it's still six months off at least.
2). When it does come out, it'll be stonkingly expensive, occupying the very highest price point.
3). There's a very good chance that it too will only sport 1GB of VRAM. It's taken the best part of a year before a 2GB 285 saw the light of day as it is, so would I have to wait that long for a 2GB 300 series?

So all in all, I just wasn't prepared to wait another whole year for an equivalent 300 series, by which time the 400 series will be in the pipeline too. So I decided to take the plunge so that I could enjoy GTA:IV the way I wanted to right now.

1) Not a problem for me. I can "enjoy" the game with my 9800GTX+ (altough it's a bit disappointing sad.gif ) while waiting for it
2) High price is not a really big problem for me, I'm starting to save up money biggrin.gif
3) Well there's a chance too that the 300s will support more than 2GB VRAM tounge.gif

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#53

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:45 AM

QUOTE (Ogs @ Apr 22 2009, 07:20)
Post some screens ? biggrin.gif

Yep, some screenshots would be nice, specially if you take using FRAPS in .bmp and convert to .jpg using Photoshop at maximum quality, so we can take a good look at it. wink.gif

High
  • High

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#54

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:47 AM

Thx for the review, i'll have to get my hands on one of those soon.
say, what PSU do you use?

tweaktown shows this beast gobble down 339 Watts on full load and i almost shat my pants when i saw that.

Now or Never
  • Now or Never

    Mr. Sabatini

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2009

#55

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:54 AM

How much did it cost? wow.gif monocle.gif

richiespeed13
  • richiespeed13

    Live for the Nordschleife...

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2009

#56

Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:01 PM

QUOTE (Now or Never @ Apr 22 2009, 11:54)
How much did it cost? wow.gif monocle.gif

4 GigaBillion pounds and 39 Kilapence



IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#57

Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:02 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Apr 22 2009, 12:45)
QUOTE (Ogs @ Apr 22 2009, 07:20)
Post some screens ?  biggrin.gif

Yep, some screenshots would be nice, specially if you take using FRAPS in .bmp and convert to .jpg using Photoshop at maximum quality, so we can take a good look at it. wink.gif

I'll try to do this when I get home from work.

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#58

Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:11 PM

QUOTE (Now or Never @ Apr 22 2009, 11:54)
How much did it cost? wow.gif  monocle.gif

As I stated in an earlier post, I bought my Palit from www.awd-it.co.uk for 321 GBP delivered.

QUOTE (richiespeed13 @ Apr 22 2009, 13:01)
4 GigaBillion pounds and 39 Kilapence

colgate.gif Actually it's quite reasonable, being, as it is, a similar price to the regular 1GB GTX 285 cards.

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#59

Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:24 PM Edited by IJM, 22 April 2009 - 11:03 PM.

QUOTE (High @ Apr 22 2009, 12:47)
Thx for the review, i'll have to get my hands on one of those soon.
say, what PSU do you use?

tweaktown shows this beast gobble down 339 Watts on full load and i almost shat my pants when i saw that.

I can't remember the make and model of PSU I have, but when I rebuilt my system last year, I used a Chenbro SR107 server case with hotswap backplane SATA II drive cages in the front, so that I could have up to eight hard drives in there. (At a later point in time I'll be running a couple of RAID arrays). Also I planned it with SLI in mind too.

So to power this beastie I bought a nice 1000w jobbie. I think I still have the box somewhere at home. I'll edit this reply with the make and model later if I can find it.

P.S. I hope your pants come clean. biggrin.gif

Edit: It's an OCZ Pro X Stream 1000W PSU (OCZ1000PXS).

IJM
  • IJM

    I am NOT in denial.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#60

Posted 26 April 2009 - 04:10 PM Edited by IJM, 26 April 2009 - 04:21 PM.

At last. Images as promised. Click the thumbnails for 1900x1200 images, approximate size 1.1MB each.

Check out the carpet:
user posted image

Fine detail in the woodgrain:
user posted image

The texture of the stone floor, and the fabulous looking water:
user posted image

More water shots:
user posted image user posted image user posted image

Draw distance, detail of Firefly Island and the strata in the rock:
user posted image

The grain in Niko's leather jacket and the fine texture of the street:
user posted image

The flake in the metalic paint:
user posted image user posted image user posted image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users