Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

CPU

6 replies to this topic
Devils Dog
  • Devils Dog

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#1

Posted 11 April 2009 - 04:16 PM

I current have a Intel Dual Core E2220 - 2.4Ghz with 1MB Cache and am thinking about upgrading to a Intel Quad Core - Q6600 - 2.4Ghz with 8MB Cache

Am I going to see an improvement ?
I use the PC for Gaming (getting back into a lot, also play GTA4 a lot), Internet, Word, Graphics.

Failure
  • Failure

    Call of Duty 4 is the game of kings. Semper Fi.

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2007
  • None

#2

Posted 11 April 2009 - 04:22 PM

QUOTE (Devils Dog @ Apr 11 2009, 16:16)
I current have a Intel Dual Core E2220 - 2.4Ghz with 1MB Cache and am thinking about upgrading to a Intel Quad Core - Q6600 - 2.4Ghz with 8MB Cache

Am I going to see an improvement ?
I use the PC for Gaming (getting back into a lot, also play GTA4 a lot), Internet, Word, Graphics.

I'd recommend that you stick with the CPU, overclock it and go for a new GPU, such as the Radeon 4850.
However, I'd personally sell the Xbrick, go for the Quad, overclock it AND get a new graphics card to compliment it wink.gif .

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#3

Posted 11 April 2009 - 04:58 PM

It certainly would help with IV, but for all games, it's best to upgrade the GPU and overclock that CPU as much as possible.

Devils Dog
  • Devils Dog

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#4

Posted 11 April 2009 - 05:09 PM

I am most likely buy an new graphic card aswell most likely a ATI 4850

Warlord.
  • Warlord.

    :O

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2004

#5

Posted 11 April 2009 - 05:15 PM

Can you give us a budget?

Pico
  • Pico

    cinnamon ropes

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2009
  • None

#6

Posted 11 April 2009 - 09:38 PM

Yes, you would see a huge improvement in GTA IV with the 2.4Ghz Q6600. It's got twice as many cores that are .2Ghz quicker each, and I'm sure it's got quite a higher L2 Cache as well.

You need to make sure the processor will work on your motherboard first, if you haven't already. If you're not sure, post what motherboard you have. If you don't know that, post what brand and model your computer is (eg HP HV2980, Gateway GT5850, etc). And, if you're replacing the graphics card you'll likely need a stronger power supply so keep that in mind.

Slamman
  • Slamman

    Smote

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2003
  • United-States

#7

Posted 11 April 2009 - 10:37 PM

Price determines if performance is worth it, it's all about what you can spend to get the most reward. BTW, Popular Mechanics magazine has a nice article on graphics GPUs, it's on newstands now, everyone should LOOK THAT OVER!

Also in the same issue is an article on WWW wire maintenence across the sea floor bed, and protection of vital Networks keeping the Global WWW afloat...VERY interesting, with pictures! CHECK IT OUT




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users