Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to use -memrestrict to fix stuttering

419 replies to this topic
sebkulu
  • sebkulu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2012

#391

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:22 PM

About same as before, maybe a little improvement over no commandline, or memrestrict only.
At least, I don't have textures popping right away as I do when using memrestrict switch, which gives me generally little longer gameplay though.

So, after 30min + 2 cutscenes, tex begin to pop, 3rd cutscene begins to be hard to get loaded, but did. Then went through it, out of it, textures gone, and reappearing slowly as I drive around, but now always with a noticable delay.
Finally, after 45 minutes, entering 4th cutscene was almost a no-go, and getting out of it left me dead with a black screen smile.gif

So I killed process from task manager.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I get the same behaviour with 2 versions of drivers, latest ones (306.23) and previous WHQL ones.

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#392

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:23 AM

I perfectly understood what you said and I'd still like to see some comparison benchmarks with SLI on/off.

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#393

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:52 AM

I'm using Ultimate Vehicle Pack v9, which has more than 150+ modded vehicles. You should try it, it's pretty good. icon14.gif

I play at High settings, View Distance = 50, everything else maxed out.

sebkulu
  • sebkulu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2012

#394

Posted 20 September 2012 - 04:08 PM

@mkey82: Ok, will do that tonight to report exact gains between Single/misconfigured SLi/properly configured SLi

@PrometheusX: Ok, but you didn't answer the most important questions though tounge.gif

Did you really get rid of textures pops? Can you go through every cutscene without any glitches? Does your game crash eventually?

And, very important info:
1. Size of vehicles.img file
2. Size of pc/data/maps folder
3. ENB Settings
4. TrafficLoad.ini settings

Thanks a lot for your future answer.

Edit: Ah, and almost forgot, also you hardware setup (mainly CPU/GPU/RAM), and version of your display drivers smile.gif

aryoseno11
  • aryoseno11

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2012

#395

Posted 27 October 2012 - 04:50 AM

HELP!! not working!!!!
intel core i7
nvidia gt 430
8 GB RAM
angry.gif

mkey82
  • mkey82

    Keep riding hard, son

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

#396

Posted 27 October 2012 - 08:07 AM

If it's not working, it's not working. memrestrict is not guaranteed to have effect.

CTCCoco
  • CTCCoco

    Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2008

#397

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:15 PM

This helped me a lot. Thank you.

aryoseno11
  • aryoseno11

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2012

#398

Posted 17 December 2012 - 09:38 AM

intel core i7
nvidia gt 430
8 GB RAM
windows 7 ultimate

the game stutters!!!!!my PC does not overheat! i have no mods other than scripthook, and simple native trainer.
oohh one thing, in next month, i will upgrade my pc to GTX 470. will it helps?

any help will appreciated!

EDIT:
i think my graphics card is bottlenecking my CPU.

MuffinMachine
  • MuffinMachine

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2012

#399

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:59 AM

I am attempting to play this through Steam and the commandline fix does not seem to be working. I have my graphics as low as they will go on everything.

Is there anything to this other than creating the file commandline.txt and typing in -memrestrict 188743680?


Cottontop3000
  • Cottontop3000

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2013

#400

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:14 PM

Hi everyone. I wanted to ask if you think the memrestrict lines will help with my fps with the system I've got. Or if my system is limited in some areas?

OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 8190 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 595471 MB, Free - 306893 MB;
Motherboard: Gateway, FMCP7AM
Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled

I've got most of the settings in-game set pretty low, and I'm getting about 25 fps according to fraps. I'd like to have the detail though. Also, do you all play with anti-virus and firewall on?

Thanks for any help you can give me. Oh, in the multiplayer free modes, I often get higher fps (sometimes 40-50fps). Do you know why? Is it just because the number of cars and peds are set low or something?

Again, thanks for any help.

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#401

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:03 PM

Memrestrict is mostly used to fix stuttering issues - it won't help in your case. Your graphics card is an Entry-level GPU, it wasn't designed for gaming purposes, thus the low framerate you\re having.

As for getting more FPS in multiplayer, yeah it could be due to a lower level of vehicle density, which you could adjust from the Graphics settings in-game.

Cottontop3000
  • Cottontop3000

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2013

#402

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:02 AM

Ah, I see. Thanks. Could you recommend a gpu for my computer? Also, any advice about the anti-virus and firewall? I'd think, leave them on, but I wondered if rockstar and windows had some sort of protection. I don't know. Thanks.

Cottontop3000
  • Cottontop3000

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2013

#403

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:09 AM

Sorry, off topic.

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#404

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:04 AM

QUOTE (Cottontop3000 @ Saturday, Jan 12 2013, 00:02)
Ah, I see. Thanks. Could you recommend a gpu for my computer? Also, any advice about the anti-virus and firewall? I'd think, leave them on, but I wondered if rockstar and windows had some sort of protection. I don't know. Thanks.

Anti-viruses and firewalls don't really affect the game's performance at all. As for the GPU, you should post your PC specs [including the PSU] and your budget before receiving advice on which GPU to buy. It's better if you create a topic in the PC Performance forum; as you'll receive more help there.

roudabout6
  • roudabout6

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2013

#405

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:31 AM

If anyone could help me I have extreme slow loading textures and pop-ins and you name it. I have tried literally everything and have been working on it for days now and can get it resolved. My gta is modded to is full extend with 7 gbs+ of textures and a 400mb car pack with traffic load and different sounds/scripts and player models. If I take one step outside of spawn is is just 16 bit buildings any help at all will be greatly thanked
Specs:
i5 3570k (4.4ghz)
Sapphire 7950 ( 1100/1525)
8Gb 1600mhz
Gigabyte z77 ud3h
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
1tb 7200 rpm 64m cache hdd

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#406

Posted 18 February 2013 - 11:55 AM

This problem is commonly caused for the Vehicle Pack. Create a text file in the game's main directory named commandline, and copy/paste this in the file:

CODE
-norestrictions
-nomemrestrict
-refreshrate 60
-availablevidmem 2.0
-percentagevidmem 100
-novblank
-framelimit 0
-noprecache


The game will show that you'll have double the resource usage, but try not to go over the originally allocated.

If this doesn't work, then I guess you'll have to remove the pack and install each vehicle manually.

slooow
  • slooow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2010

#407

Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:20 PM

OK, if someone PLEASE could tell me what to do...
Few years ago I installed GTA 4 and it ran perfectly, NO stuttering!! Then I uninstalled it half a year ago.
Last week I installed it again and since then I simply cant get rid of stuttering!! I have tried everything, all memrestricts, Vsync, turning of event log etc. and nothing helped. Then i used commandline -refreshrate 28 -framelimit 1 and it worked!! Game was even faster then before, it was amazing. BUT, I added better city textures and then stuttering was back again (dunno why?). I said OK I ll reinstall the game and wont put better city textures again. So i installed the game again and put all settings, patches back like they were when I managed to get the game running smoothly without stuttering, I put the same commandline BUT its stuttering again??!? I mean WTF?? Like the game does what it wants and its messing with me. It looks like it simply doesnt recognize commandline -refreshrate 28 - framelimit 1 anymore, cause it reacts on every other commandline besides that.
Please does anyone has any kind of a idea cause i ran out of it. suicidal.gif

Shiva.
  • Shiva.

    Formerly shiva s

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2011

#408

Posted 03 April 2013 - 04:48 AM

Sorry for being a little weird here but are "-refreshrate -framelimit", the only commandlines you're using?

You should also try using the below commands

QUOTE
HIGH TEXTURES (1Gig+ Video Cards)
-memrestrict 650117120
-memrestrict 681574400


You can keep increasing the values until you notice further slutterings.

slooow
  • slooow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2010

#409

Posted 03 April 2013 - 10:59 AM

i tried only -framelimit and -refreshrate, but also combined it with many memrestricts...idk, the problem is it was smooth but why wont be smooth again when i did everything like before...

Shiva.
  • Shiva.

    Formerly shiva s

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2011

#410

Posted 03 April 2013 - 02:38 PM

Post your system specs.

Try defragmenting your HDD As it might reduce the sluttering to a considerable extent.

You should als try disabling Windows Event Log. Go to Task Manager, click Services, right click "Windows Event Log" and turn it off.

slooow
  • slooow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2010

#411

Posted 03 April 2013 - 03:29 PM

Here:
Windows 7 64-bit SP3
Athlon II X4 620 2.60ghz
4GB RAM
HD 4870 1GB

event log is already off (i tried those 9 tips from steam forum for stuttering elimination)...ill try defragmenting HDD...actually the only thing that troubles me (a lot) is why commandline mentioned before that helped me wont work again?? sad.gif sad.gif

slooow
  • slooow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2010

#412

Posted 03 April 2013 - 05:01 PM

i used fraps and noticed that low fps could actually be the problem, i get only 12-16 fps outside ( the thing is that fps doesnt change even if i put everything to minimum!)...i played in windowed mode with memturbo on and saw that when playing gta 4 it uses only 1200-1500MB of RAM, how can that be fixed, i mean i have 2X more RAM to use...

Linh123456
  • Linh123456

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2013

#413

Posted 20 July 2013 - 05:57 PM

Hello, i have used the memrestrict on the first page, and it's fixed some laggy place, but when the night comes up, my game it's lag.... It's like 12~20 fps please help
PC Spec:
Core i5 turbo boost 2.40Ghz
Nvidia Geforce GT 635M
Windows 8 64 bit
Grand theft Auto IV patch 1.0.4.0

Rodrigo 93
  • Rodrigo 93

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2012

#414

Posted 25 September 2013 - 02:47 PM

Please help.
I've been trying use memrestrict but EFLC still stuttering after few minutes.
 

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1
AMD Athlon II X2 250
2GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
 
I know that processor is not perfect but i can see stuttering even on lowest settings.

LOUD*NOISES
  • LOUD*NOISES

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2013

#415

Posted 15 December 2013 - 05:51 PM

try using this mod to fix performance issues,, it works well for me atleast..http://www.gta4-mods...eflc-107-f14645 im playing it on a laptop and getting 12 fps minimum...


Marc79
  • Marc79

    Marecki

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011

#416

Posted 02 May 2014 - 12:32 AM

Anyone having an issue with running GTA 4 steam version?  On both of my computers the game stutters pretty bad.  I'm not sure if adding the memrestrict commandline would help though.  All of a sudden GTA IV steam stutters where before it ran normally, on the other hand retail disk GTA IV runs completely fine, not sure what's going on here.


xstormyskiesx
  • xstormyskiesx

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2014
  • United-States

#417

Posted 03 May 2014 - 06:02 PM

game is lagging/slow.

 

windows 8.1 64-bit

i5 processor

6GB ram

Intel HD Graphics 4000

 

my command line:

-norestrictions
-nomemrestrict
-percentvidmem 100
-availablevidmem 25.0
-noprecache
-novblank
 
also running game booster

Marc79
  • Marc79

    Marecki

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011

#418

Posted 03 May 2014 - 08:09 PM

Intel HD 4000?  

 

My friend tried to launch the game with HD4000 just for giggels and it wouldn't even start.  You can't expect to play using on board, period.  


xstormyskiesx
  • xstormyskiesx

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2014
  • United-States

#419

Posted 04 May 2014 - 08:00 PM

You sure? Then why am I seeing these:

https://www.youtube....v intel hd 4000


Marc79
  • Marc79

    Marecki

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2011

#420

Posted 04 May 2014 - 08:45 PM Edited by Marc79, 04 May 2014 - 08:49 PM.

It's laggy, barely playable, remember Intel HD 4000 is good for watching movies, non-intensive games, and basic browsing.  You don't want to burn it to death, playing intensive games. 

 

An old card like GTX 260 will handle the game at medium settings just fine, provided you have a decent quadcore, the newer cards like GTX 750, and 750ti would also handle the game at medium settings, with moderate sliders 20/20/30.  Those can be had for 120$-170$





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users