Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Is it possible to run high without crashing?

31 replies to this topic
Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#1

Posted 03 March 2009 - 06:59 PM

I've managed to run the game on everything at max from the graphics options..but after like 10 minutes or so...the game will crash..i need to change my texture to medium then only the game won't crash..is there any workarounds for this? Btw..i use the -availablevidmem 2.0 thing...

creat3d22
  • creat3d22

    Habs fan, for about 2 weeks every year...

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2008

#2

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:01 PM

Your system shouldn't have a problem with it, something's wrong here.

Do you always close ALL unecessary processes (including anti virus, etc) before running the game?

Also with -availablevimem 2.0 you're basically trying to use twice as much memory as you really have... don't expect miracles from that.

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#3

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:02 PM

Yes, its possible to play all maxed without crashing, depending on the resolution you play a 1Gb effective VRAM GPU would help a lot to avoid RESC10 errors.

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#4

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:06 PM

QUOTE (creat3d22 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:01)
Your system shouldn't have a problem with it, something's wrong here.

Do you always close ALL unecessary processes (including anti virus, etc) before running the game?

Also with -availablevimem 2.0 you're basically trying to use twice as much memory as you really have... don't expect miracles from that.

hey thanks for the reply..i dont use any Anti Virus software at all..and i doubt there's any applications running on the background besides Internet Download Manager and Rockstar Social Club..hmm..yeah..i was beginning to wonder myself..the game will suddenly get corruption textures and freeze...then it will crash...i use to get a lot of Freezing when playing GTA IV...until i put the texture quality to medium..

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#5

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:09 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:02)
Yes, its possible to play all maxed without crashing, depending on the resolution you play a 1Gb effective VRAM GPU would help a lot to avoid RESC10 errors.

How do i determined how much Virtual Memory i have..my GPU has 1793 DDR Video Memory..
while in GTA IV..it only says 875MB or sumting like that...unless i use -availabevidmem 2.0 then only i can see thr 1700+ Mb memory in GTA IV options...

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#6

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:11 PM

QUOTE (Hafitz @ Mar 3 2009, 19:09)
while in GTA IV..it only says 875MB or sumting like that...unless i use -availabevidmem 2.0 then only i can see thr 1700+ Mb memory in GTA IV options...

Your GTX 295 has only 896mb of effective VRAM, the "other 896mb" can be only used as a mirror by the second GPU- this isnt related to GTA 4, but will happen when you play every PC game with a x2 card, or any SLI and Crossfire configuration. colgate.gif

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#7

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:15 PM

i see...so i guess i can't run the game with High textures...but if i lower down the shadows to high instead of very high..GTA IV only requires about 799MB or so...but i still get the crashes...even if the digits are "Green" in colour...so u're telling me only with 1GB of VRAM will run this game on high textures? so is there a way to check whats the amount of VRAM a GPU holds before purchasing it?

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#8

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:20 PM

QUOTE (Hafitz @ Mar 3 2009, 19:15)
so u're telling me only with 1GB of VRAM will run this game on high textures?

No m8, im telling you a 1Gb VRAM GPU would help a lot to avoid RESC10 (out of video memory) crashes specially if you play on higher resolutions , plus if you force GFX settings with commands like -norestrictions, you will have to face quality loss because the game doesn't swap files into the system memory on its own - the maximal available details depend on the amount of VRAM. colgate.gif

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#9

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:29 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:20)
QUOTE (Hafitz @ Mar 3 2009, 19:15)
so u're telling me only with 1GB of VRAM will run this game on high textures?

No m8, im telling you a 1Gb VRAM GPU would help a lot to avoid RESC10 (out of video memory) crashes specially if you play on higher resolutions , plus if you force GFX settings with commands like -norestrictions, you will have to face quality loss because the game doesn't swap files into the system memory on its own - the maximal available details depend on the amount of VRAM. colgate.gif

ahh..i see...thanks for the info...but is there a way to check how much VRAM a GPU holds before we purchase it?

ron123
  • ron123

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:32 PM

Im pushing my 9800gt 512Mb and 2GB of DDR2 to the max settings of 1920x1200 and no crashing for me tounge.gif , I am using 185.20 driver.

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#11

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:35 PM

QUOTE (Hafitz @ Mar 3 2009, 19:29)
but is there a way to check how much VRAM a GPU holds before we purchase it?

Yes, check its tech info first. wink.gif

emcax24
  • emcax24

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2009

#12

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:37 PM

before you go do any of the idiotic sh*t they told you i would check the temps on your video card. from what you say it sounds like its overheating.

QUOTE
..the game will suddenly get corruption textures and freeze...then it will crash...
classic symptom of overheated vram

Now or Never
  • Now or Never

    Mr. Sabatini

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2009

#13

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:37 PM

QUOTE (ron123 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:32)
185.20 driver.

Yeap, do you have this driver?

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#14

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:40 PM

QUOTE (emcax24 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:37)
classic symptom of overheated vram

Omg this guy is still alive ... suicidal.gif

ron123
  • ron123

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:00 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:40)
QUOTE (emcax24 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:37)
classic symptom of overheated vram

Omg this guy is still alive ... suicidal.gif

Some people tell me that I hate noobs, this is not true (I am even happy to help them), I just hate the outspoken kind of them that talking sh*t and telling that others don't know anything...

creat3d22
  • creat3d22

    Habs fan, for about 2 weeks every year...

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2008

#16

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:05 PM

Overheating is a possibility... run the game, alt-tab to your nvidia control panel and check temperature.
Overheating could be a faulty GPU fan, insufficient case cooling, etc...

pmurgs
  • pmurgs

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2009

#17

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:11 PM

I've got a Ati 4850 1Gb card, and GTA4 keeps crashing on me with the RES10 error when I select High textures (using max 893mb reported in game). Q9400 quad core, 3.25Gbs effective ram running XP, no overclocking. Even the -memrestrict 629145600 doesn't help.

It's definitely not a temp issue for me, as I have a Thermalright T-Rad2 aftermarket cooler on my 4850 and my load temps are less than the stock cooler temps at idle.

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#18

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:22 PM

QUOTE (pmurgs @ Mar 3 2009, 20:11)
I've got a Ati 4850 1Gb card, and GTA4 keeps crashing on me with the RES10 error when I select High textures (using max 893mb reported in game). Q9400 quad core, 3.25Gbs effective ram running XP, no overclocking. Even the -memrestrict 629145600 doesn't help.

It's definitely not a temp issue for me, as I have a Thermalright T-Rad2 aftermarket cooler on my 4850 and my load temps are less than the stock cooler temps at idle.

Yeah..i dont think its overheating cause..i have a CoolerMaster V8 Cooler as well...and i didnt receive such corruption or crashes when running other games like Assassin's Creed, farc cry 2, Call Of Duty: WAW and even Crysis or brothers in arms..

Quadridr
  • Quadridr

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2009

#19

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:26 PM

I have a 9800 gt 512 mb and i have a similar problem i can play all on very high, textures on high for about 45 min to a hour and then it will stutter to a stop when driving a car, but if i stay in the same place it runs. when i play on med textures it never happens. and its not that my card doesnt handle the game because i get around 30 frames, nor overheating i have a liquid cooled cpu and a zalman cooler on my gpu most people tend to call it a memory leak or what not but there should be a fix

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#20

Posted 03 March 2009 - 08:32 PM

Or maybe our GPUs doesnt seem to have enough Vram...man!

john88z
  • john88z

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2009

#21

Posted 04 March 2009 - 02:09 AM

Im running the specs/settings in my sig and have never experienced a crash.

diamins0
  • diamins0

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2009

#22

Posted 04 March 2009 - 02:30 AM

Running without crashing isn't a problem. suicidal.gif
It's the horrible FPS we get.

john88z
  • john88z

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2009

#23

Posted 04 March 2009 - 02:47 AM

QUOTE (diamins0 @ Mar 3 2009, 20:30)
Running without crashing isn't a problem. suicidal.gif
It's the horrible FPS we get.

I guess Ive been pretty luck from that aswell, before the new nv drivers I was getting 70-45 fps now I get 28-40. Although it could be from using the nomemrestirct commands b/c I usually use the avaliblevidmem. Ill just have to see.

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#24

Posted 04 March 2009 - 05:14 AM

i guess the only way for me to solve this is to set the texture detail to medium...if not it'll crash...

The Horror Is Alive
  • The Horror Is Alive

    Monkey-fighting snakes on this Monday to Friday plane.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2008

#25

Posted 04 March 2009 - 07:10 AM

QUOTE (ron123 @ Mar 3 2009, 19:32)
Im pushing my 9800gt 512Mb and 2GB of DDR2 to the max settings of 1920x1200 and no crashing for me tounge.gif , I am using 185.20 driver.

Yeah, but who gives a f*ck?

Hafitz
  • Hafitz

    SERIOUS PC GAMER

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009

#26

Posted 04 March 2009 - 08:49 AM

You see...i'm not really sure why i can't run in High Quality textures..but i really hope Rockstar would patched this game to be less buggy..and how i wish GTA IV detects Physical Memory instead of Virtual Memory...

GTA IV PC will be a Great Looking Game with maximum performance if only Rockstar would Optimize it for PC thoroughly..i mean the mouse button 4 and 5 is not even supported..there's no EAX support too..and yeah..i wish GTA IV makes full use of SLI and Crossfire...

pmurgs
  • pmurgs

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2009

#27

Posted 23 March 2009 - 12:26 PM

Installed patch 1.03 and I still get an "out of video memory" crash to desktop with High Textures within a minute of leaving the safe house, even tho I have an Ati 4850 1Gb card.

Two months waiting for 1.03 patch and R* still haven't fixed this.

Stash666
  • Stash666

    Male Prostitute

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 May 2008

#28

Posted 23 March 2009 - 10:21 PM

QUOTE (ron123 @ Mar 3 2009, 12:32)
Im pushing my 9800gt 512Mb and 2GB of DDR2 to the max settings of 1920x1200 and no crashing for me tounge.gif , I am using 185.20 driver.

What commandlines are you using to accomplish that?

eagle016
  • eagle016

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005

#29

Posted 24 March 2009 - 03:25 AM

I can run mine on high for hours without crashing.

Actually, with this PC I've never had a crash...

hamzta09
  • hamzta09

    Speeeed.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2009

#30

Posted 24 March 2009 - 04:51 AM

I can run it on high aswell but the game starts to stutter ALOT, well.. you hear ALOT of harddrive 'working' noises when it starts to stutter like ape on dope.

Btw OP try lowering view distance a bit and free up some memory.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users