Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How does IV run on Windows 7?

14 replies to this topic
alexrdh
  • alexrdh

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

#1

Posted 25 February 2009 - 08:16 AM

I've been looking at the features of Windows 7 for a while. I was about to hit the download button when I thought of GTA IV.
It runs fine on my Vista, but I want to know how it runs on 7 before I download it.

Off-topic:
Since I don't want to make another topic.. how would SA run?

Enjoii
  • Enjoii

    Ace

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2009
  • England
  • Best New Member 2009
    Most Helpful GTA Series 2009

#2

Posted 25 February 2009 - 08:21 AM

See this topic for a tutorial on installing it, although I've seen a few topic with people saying they've had problems running IV in 7.

craig3000
  • craig3000

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Awaiting Authorization
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 25 February 2009 - 09:14 AM

not worth the hassle

sjaak327
  • sjaak327

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Modding Contribution Award

#4

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:56 AM

Yep not worth it, if it runs fine on Vista, it won't magically run much better on Windows 7. On my machine it runs pretty much the same under Vista then under Windows 7 (this is the 6801 build, the 7000 build lost me 5 fps, so it ran worst then Vista).


john88z
  • john88z

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2009

#5

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:12 PM

Actually it will run magically better on 7. It uses less resources and is more stable than vista.

abacab
  • abacab

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009

#6

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:22 PM

QUOTE (john88z @ Feb 25 2009, 22:12)
Actually it will run magically better on 7. It uses less resources and is more stable than vista.

Yup, the same for me. I haven't tried on XP, but on Windows 7, GTAIV runs much smoother than on Vista. Wasn't much of a hassle to get it working, either. But I guess I just got lucky with my home PC, because I tried the game on a Win7 install at work and couldn't get it running. The error about service pack popped up every time I launched the game. But at home it works and runs, pretty much smooth as butter and very stabile. Not that it wasn't stabile on Vista, but FPS are definitely higher, even with higher graphics settings.

And just a sidenote - I'm using a 64-bit Win7 at home and the 32-bit version at work.

wishboneasher
  • wishboneasher

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2004

#7

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:52 PM

For me, it runs about the same here on W7 x64 as on XP x32 give or take a few frames in the benchmark.

Admittedly it was a bit of a pain to install, but it does work if you do it right, although I'm sure it won't work on every possible configuration.

I find switching windows out of GTA4 is quicker in W7 than in XP, and also if it crashes, it is easier to regain control of your system in W7 than in XP.

Just a note though, I've tried it with both 2GB and 4GB of RAM, and I'd say with W7, 4GB is almost a prerequisite. After one session of about 3 hours, the system was using 3.4GB of RAM.

Psymn321
  • Psymn321

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 25 February 2009 - 11:20 PM

Not sure if i was using the most appropriate drivers but it ran 5fps slower on 7 64bit (compared to XP)

schmity78
  • schmity78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2009

#9

Posted 26 February 2009 - 12:04 AM

The only thing Ive seen, other than getting it running is the cut scenes take a while to load, as does the initial game load. I ran it on XP Pro (32) and am now running win 7 (64). No noticeable difference in game play really. If you want to run Win 7 untill you cant anymore, Id say go for it, otherwise, its probably not worth the hassle of getting it installed.

sjaak327
  • sjaak327

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Modding Contribution Award

#10

Posted 26 February 2009 - 01:15 AM

QUOTE (john88z @ Feb 25 2009, 22:12)
Actually it will run magically better on 7. It uses less resources and is more stable than vista.

Not on my machine, both are rock stable in any case, and like I said in build 6801 it ran the same, in the beta build I lost about 5 fps, tried to install different drivers to no avail.

Also it worth to note, that if you are comparing the two operating systems, please don't compare it to your two year old vista installation, as then it wouldn't be any wonder that it runs better on win 7, as that would be a clean install. But comparing the two on my machine, using the same drivers and the same installed base, it either doesn't matter one bit, or in case of the beta build, it is simply slower. Again on my machine, as always your milage might vary.

Having said that, unless you know what you are doing, stick to Vista, as it is supported, win 7 isn't. (yet).


john88z
  • john88z

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2009

#11

Posted 26 February 2009 - 04:06 AM

Although Win7 isn't fully supported the main thing that's special is compatibility. Hence using vista drivers. Only program Ive seen that flatout does not support 7 (bad programming I think)
is pb software.

sjaak327
  • sjaak327

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008
  • None
  • Modding Contribution Award

#12

Posted 26 February 2009 - 10:18 AM

QUOTE (john88z @ Feb 26 2009, 04:06)
Although Win7 isn't fully supported the main thing that's special is compatibility. Hence using vista drivers. Only program Ive seen that flatout does not support 7 (bad programming I think)
is pb software.

I have to be honest, since GTAIV does run better on Vista (on my machine) I haven't used Win 7 beta build much, but I do know that on the 6801 build, there were some programs that either didn't run or didn't run correctly. Two examples come to mind, most virtual cd programs (alcohol and deamon tools) and Vmware workstation, which does run, but the bridge networking is broken.

Of course both might already have been fixed, not sure.


FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#13

Posted 26 February 2009 - 01:48 PM

It runs better to me.

Tantalus91
  • Tantalus91

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 26 February 2009 - 05:17 PM

It runs great in windows 7, I had some small stutter problems in vista and a little bit of render issues but when I converted to 7 all that went away, game runs smooth as silk. It's not much of a hassle to install it either, just run each setup seperatly and compadibily. Not so hard. Granted I had good frames in vista but Direct-X 11 seems to replace Dx-10 & 9 and fixes some issues, gives more performance. Thats what microsoft said Dx-11 was anyway, any Dx-10.1 card runs 11 as its just an update really.

emcax24
  • emcax24

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2009

#15

Posted 27 February 2009 - 08:03 AM

ive tried it on vista32, win7x86, and win7x64 2gb ram, 3gb, 4gb.

i gained 3 fps between vista and windows 7. framerate is the same in 32bit and 64bit. i searched hard and i couldnt find the "enhanced for 64bit" enhancements they advertise on the box. the difference between 2 and 4 gigs of ram is that the map loads faster. thats it. no increase in framerates of any sort.

the only way to increase framerates in this game is to throw more processor power at it. i doubt the video card matters much, as long as it has 256mb ram and dx9.0c support.



so to sum it up... how does gta4 run on windows 7? about the same as it runs on vista and xp. sh*tty.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users