Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

PS2/PS3 controller on GTA IV PC?

23 replies to this topic
chngdman
  • chngdman

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 01 February 2009 - 12:27 AM Edited by chngdman, 04 February 2009 - 08:48 AM.

For those, like me, using PS2/PS3 controllers for GTA IV, I have made this for you. A simple 10 minute edit, but I'm sure it'll save some folks some time (since you can't just rename the ones in the folder, you need to edit them) smile.gif

user posted image

DOWNLOAD HERE

CODE

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      o                      o                        
     O                      O                        
     o                      o                        
     O                      o                        
.oOo  OoOo. 'OoOo. .oOoO .oOoO  `oOOoOO. .oOoO' 'OoOo.
O     o   o  o   O o   O o   O   O  o  o O   o   o   O
o     o   O  O   o O   o O   o   o  O  O o   O   O   o
`OoO' O   o  o   O `OoOo `OoO'o  O  o  o `OoO'o  o   O
                      O                              
                   OoO'                              


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PS2 Controller Buttons in Hud
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Make sure your GTA IV is modifiable first - I recommend Aru's filelist.pak.

Place this new file and overwrite the one in your GTA IV\PC\Textures folder.Done.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do not mirror. Link direct to this topic or post.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Enjoy!

Edit:
Don't yet have your PS2 PS3 controllers ready for the game? Fabio206 has shared some help for those of you hoping to use a PS3 controller:

PS3 Pad Drivers

Thanks Fabio!

If you need a PS2 adapter, a quick Google Shopping turns this up. I use this, and I LOVE it - plug n play, drivers are already in your OS! At like 3 bucks, you can't beat it, when I got it it was still a steal at 6 bucks! It is the best one I have ever owned because it never gave me problems like others I've had (radio shack's suckedddd)

PS2 Adapter




Gta Guy 108
  • Gta Guy 108

    Hoist the Colours!

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2007

#2

Posted 01 February 2009 - 07:57 AM

Oh my God this is awesome! I will download this once I get IV up and running!!

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#3

Posted 01 February 2009 - 11:30 AM

I've already done it

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=390877


smile.gif

atsike7
  • atsike7

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2007

#4

Posted 01 February 2009 - 11:37 AM

Very helpful for controller users! smile.gif

Offtopic: When I buy Ps2 controller to usb cable, can I play with Ps2 controller PC too?

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#5

Posted 01 February 2009 - 11:40 AM

QUOTE (atsike7 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:37)
Very helpful for controller users! smile.gif

Offtopic: When I buy Ps2 controller to usb cable, can I play with Ps2 controller PC too?

Yes, but with patch I don't know, I play without patch smile.gif

illdan
  • illdan

    Amazingly stupid

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#6

Posted 01 February 2009 - 12:49 PM

you play with a ps3 controller? when i play with a ps3 controller, the camera always go up for some reason...

chngdman
  • chngdman

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#7

Posted 01 February 2009 - 11:18 PM

I play with just a PS2 controller, but the buttons are the same, so I figured maybe there are others out there who are using it since some have found a way to use it as a PS2 controller on the PC blush.gif

Hey Fabio, what did atsike mean about play PC too? It is confusing me blush.gif

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#8

Posted 02 February 2009 - 02:09 PM

QUOTE (chngdman @ Feb 2 2009, 00:18)


Hey Fabio, what did atsike mean about play PC too? It is confusing me blush.gif

Ehm, I don't understand what you're saying biggrin.gif

chngdman
  • chngdman

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 02 February 2009 - 02:37 PM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Feb 2 2009, 09:09)
QUOTE (chngdman @ Feb 2 2009, 00:18)


Hey Fabio, what did atsike mean about play PC too? It is confusing me  blush.gif

Ehm, I don't understand what you're saying biggrin.gif

When he asked:

"Offtopic: When I buy Ps2 controller to usb cable, can I play with Ps2 controller PC too?"

Ohhhh, did he mean when he buys one of those PS2-to-PS3 converters? I shoulda asked him, but you answered hehe. I think I see now. I can recommend this one, it is quite very good and cheap too. Love it, looks like they are running out too monocle.gif

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#10

Posted 02 February 2009 - 04:44 PM

ah lol,

I use Xtreme adapter biggrin.gif Anyway wireless ps3 should work with drivers

http://download.gta-...ct=view&id=1781

but readme is in italian biggrin.gif

chngdman
  • chngdman

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 04 February 2009 - 08:43 AM

NICE! I'm about to get one too, will be really useful for people who see this and don't yet have their controllers setup. Will add to the first post!

WTFX
  • WTFX

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2009

#12

Posted 04 February 2009 - 12:23 PM

f*ckin awesome, thank you! i was about to request this already some weeks ago, but always forgot, but great, now i notice someone already made it..

great job..! icon14.gif

i don't even have a ps pad currently, i have a logitech dual action, but it's pretty much the same as ps pads and i just remember w/o thinking the buttons order on the ps controllers..

this woulda helped me when i was playin stoned and couldn't find the defense button.. tounge2.gif

LeitoPL
  • LeitoPL

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2009

#13

Posted 26 March 2009 - 03:50 PM Edited by LeitoPL, 26 March 2009 - 03:53 PM.

Eh. I was used my sixaxis from ps3 and i was connected to usb. I was installed drivers, and ps3sixaxis_en.exe. In other games pad run, but in GTA IV dont run ;c I was configure buttons but they do not run. I add to commandline -usedirectinput but dont run.

fiercedeity9
  • fiercedeity9

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2005

#14

Posted 27 March 2009 - 04:06 PM

Awesome mod. Make an Xbox version. biggrin.gif

TheRealPcGamer
  • TheRealPcGamer

    The Master of PC Games

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#15

Posted 28 March 2009 - 01:08 PM

Wow, great!

Question: I don't have PS2 or PS3 controller. But I have PS1 controller. Can I use it too? Thanks biggrin.gif

Sveetly
  • Sveetly

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010

#16

Posted 16 June 2010 - 01:16 AM

Everything works great except for the analog triggers. They don't work at all.

Is there anyway to fix this? Because it's awfully hard to drive without the accelerator. tounge.gif

Plus the analog is the only reason I'm trying to leave the keyboard...

Tivo222
  • Tivo222

    GTA EFLC Beta Mod - Texturing Artist, Helper

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2010

#17

Posted 16 June 2010 - 01:21 AM

QUOTE (Sveetly @ Jun 16 2010, 01:16)
Everything works great except for the analog triggers. They don't work at all.

Is there anyway to fix this? Because it's awfully hard to drive without the accelerator. tounge.gif

Plus the analog is the only reason I'm trying to leave the keyboard...

Good work...

You bumped a banned member topicīs suicidal.gif

Sveetly
  • Sveetly

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2010

#18

Posted 16 June 2010 - 09:33 AM

QUOTE (Tivo222 @ Jun 16 2010 @ 01:21)
Good work...

You bumped a banned member topicīs  suicidal.gif


Ack! I'm sorry...I didn't even look at that! D:

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#19

Posted 16 June 2010 - 02:59 PM

You sir, are a saint, cheers smile.gif

qfunk
  • qfunk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2010

#20

Posted 10 August 2010 - 10:56 AM

@Chngdman and fabio: I searched google and found this page for PS2 Controller support in GTA 4 - Episodes from Liberty City.

I downloaded the Aru's file.pak and also the texture zip file for ps2. I couldn't download the drivers file cause the site link is no longer online.

I have a PS2 USB game controller by some company (not sony) ... the gamepad looks like the one below...

user posted image


Please could someone help me in how to enable controller setup/configuration in GTA 4: EFLC..... as I've been unable to use the game controller like the way I've been using on the PS3.


qfunk
  • qfunk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2010

#21

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:16 AM

I have Windows 7 64 bit PC .... would the drivers function properly for the USB gamepad?

I saw this page which, I think, has 32 bit dll's for 360 controller. I'm looking for PS2 USB controller: 64 bit. sad.gif

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=379477

qfunk
  • qfunk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2010

#22

Posted 13 August 2010 - 10:12 AM

Can you/someone suggest which mod pack to install for this? I'm getting DRUNK CAM in my game and can't play it due to that... please...................!!

qfunk
  • qfunk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2010

#23

Posted 01 September 2010 - 08:17 AM

ok... Now I'm trying to use PS2 controller via dongle plug to USB. The drivers link provided is not working... can someone guide me to how can I use it??

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#24

Posted 01 September 2010 - 08:43 AM

For some reason it won't work, mp ps3 and ps2 controller both work no any other game, vice city, just cause 2, san andreas etc but for IV nothing, not working at all, and help?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users