Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Title Update v. 1.0.2.0

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
813 replies to this topic
Graven
  • Graven

    Boss

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • None
  • Most Helpful [Expression] 2014
    Most Talented GFX Artist 2014
    Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#121

Posted 24 January 2009 - 02:45 PM Edited by Graven, 24 January 2009 - 02:47 PM.

QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

timtama12
  • timtama12

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2009

#122

Posted 24 January 2009 - 02:46 PM

I have updated to 1.02 and the game has crashed several times. I do admit the game is running faster and I can actually drive properly in multi player without too many other drivers spawning on top of me, making me crash. I was very disappointed to see that the games camera view has not been improved. While playing on a laptop with no controller the mousepad is not very good to keep the camera where it is supposed to be. I rely on the game to move the camera and as a result I end up looking at the side of the car going around corners blind, bushes in view so I cant see anything and it just doesnt keep up. I am wondering too if a server is going to be used instead of this p2p crap that relys totally on your internet connection speed to how fast multiplayer goes. Where I live the max connection I can get is 2350kbps and no adsl2 (with no plan to upgrade) so if someone sets a race to max traffic and peds I have to leave the race as all the other drivers disappear and reappear somewhere else and all I can hear is constant windows smashing. And then we come to the sad people that have to MOD suicidal.gif . It really destroys the gameplay in multiplayer rampage_ani.gif . I can tell straight away if someone is playing modded as my character does strange things when they are near. I dont touch the keyboard and he moves in every direction. I also cant understand why my pc with 4gb ram and a 1gb 9600 nvidia gpu can only run at 800x600 without crashing in multiplayer?? anyone got any ideas??? Had to get alot off my chest on this game, but dont get me wrong I do like it. mercie_blink.gif

How-To-Improve-GTA-IV
  • How-To-Improve-GTA-IV

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2008

#123

Posted 24 January 2009 - 02:53 PM

Waiting for patch #3... dozingoff.gif

[CTD]LaBan
  • [CTD]LaBan

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2006

#124

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:02 PM

Yeah, crashes indeed are common things. Even I've experienced some

z3ro7
  • z3ro7

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#125

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:11 PM

Oh sh*t.. I experience my first crash ever on this game... while sending a grenade to the burger seller.... huge explosion... Game freeze and... BoooM... Crash to Windows.... suicidal.gif WTF ... and using the recommended settings... mercie_blink.gif suicidal.gif rampage_ani.gif

Mctool
  • Mctool

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2009

#126

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:11 PM

QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

thx m8, it did the trick .
I called the file commandline.txt instead of commandline biggrin.gif
its workin fine now.



P_4_CZT1
  • P_4_CZT1

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2009

#127

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:18 PM

QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

Yes hundreds time but that isnt working iv made the command line but how u enter it in setting of gta
cant find it or how to map it plz answer that

GreetZ P

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#128

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:20 PM

QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 20:48)
QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

Yes hundreds time but that isnt working iv made the command line but how u enter it in setting of gta
cant find it or how to map it plz answer that

You just enter the command in the commandline.txt file and run the game. The commands used in the commandline.txt file are directly absorbed into the game. You don't have to do anything else.

The Horror Is Alive
  • The Horror Is Alive

    Monkey-fighting snakes on this Monday to Friday plane.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2008

#129

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:24 PM

About bloody time mad.gif

Mctool
  • Mctool

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2009

#130

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:24 PM

QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 15:18)
QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

Yes hundreds time but that isnt working iv made the command line but how u enter it in setting of gta
cant find it or how to map it plz answer that

GreetZ P

just open ur notepad

put in the line -usedirectinput

save file as (name) commandline

save to ur directory of gta

worked for me
just exe gta and try if it works.
i didnt have to map any key or what so ever.

†Tyranick†™
  • †Tyranick†™

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2008

#131

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:24 PM Edited by †Tyranick†™, 24 January 2009 - 03:27 PM.

WTF does "Definition" do? It has no explanation. Does it enhance something or is it a performance option?

And yeah...all mods borked for now sad.gif .

Edit...

Also, my rumble pad 2 already had support, but the disabled direct imput by default? WHY? Anyway I fixed that though...but I still can't get vibration to work on my controller, I take it GTA4 doesn't support it?

P_4_CZT1
  • P_4_CZT1

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2009

#132

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:25 PM

QUOTE (girishb @ Jan 24 2009, 15:20)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 20:48)
QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

Yes hundreds time but that isnt working iv made the command line but how u enter it in setting of gta
cant find it or how to map it plz answer that

You just enter the command in the commandline.txt file and run the game. The commands used in the commandline.txt file are directly absorbed into the game. You don't have to do anything else.

Ok but i wanna try with my driving force pro and only the direction button works
it open the phone and can navigate with it but non of the steer and pedels
that how my question was to remap it

zerosaber
  • zerosaber

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2008

#133

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:33 PM

i still have the issues of dark interiors and sometimes when I play I'll pull out a weapon and I can't see how much ammo I have

z3ro7
  • z3ro7

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#134

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:35 PM

DEFINITION is the same of "P" button....

Definition ON = Motion Blur / Blur OFF

cuvip
  • cuvip

    Jefra Bland, miss teen kentuckey US 2009

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008

#135

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:36 PM

the only thing i want R* Torronto to do is co-operate with R* North to making the new patch angry.gif angry.gif

ThatsCool
  • ThatsCool

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#136

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:37 PM

the game crashes when i shoot a shotgun in a restaurant tried it many times. angry.gif

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#137

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:38 PM

QUOTE (cuvip @ Jan 24 2009, 21:06)
the only thing i want R* Torronto to do is co-operate with R* North to making the new patch angry.gif angry.gif

Not going to happen. R* North is busy with the DLC content. R* Toronto is all that you've got.

ThatsCool
  • ThatsCool

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#138

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:39 PM

QUOTE (girishb @ Jan 24 2009, 15:38)
QUOTE (cuvip @ Jan 24 2009, 21:06)
the only thing i want R* Torronto to do is co-operate with R* North to making the new patch  angry.gif   angry.gif

Not going to happen. R* North is busy with the DLC content. R* Toronto is all that you've got.

Thats bad confused.gif Rockstar North knoews better how to optimize a gta colgate.gif

Lil' Prophet
  • Lil' Prophet

    1-2-3-4

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2006

#139

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:41 PM

Ok so after the patch my first mission was to go to an internet cafe, but as it's known by now, the computers cannot be accessed with this new patch. Have any solutions been found?

PUD1974
  • PUD1974

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#140

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:42 PM

Thanks R*

I've found that now I can switch off the VSync I get about 5-10 FPS more, now around 30fps typically smile.gif

However the lack of proper support for generic gamepads is unforgivable. Why can all the previous gta games work with my PS2 controller/Super Joy Box Pro 3, but GTA4 can't (yes I am using the -usedirectinput command)?

Can we please have a definitive response from R* as to whether or not generic windows games pads will ever work with GTA4?


67257990206098020947
  • 67257990206098020947

    GTA 4 Experte

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#141

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:43 PM

hmm... i wait no for the 3 patch-- f*ck off

z3ro7
  • z3ro7

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#142

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:44 PM

By the way... Directinput doesnt work for me... before my controller have the issue that down the camera...
but now doesnt work... with and without the commandline.. sad.gif

ThatsCool
  • ThatsCool

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#143

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:46 PM

Does someone know what the new command -notimefix does?

Karhis
  • Karhis

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2009
  • None

#144

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:51 PM

Patch impressions

The patch seems to have made the game more sluggish for me. I am using same settings (or at least settings that I think are equivalent) than I did with previous version. Driving around in a car is definitely less smoother. Also the ammo counter sometimes disappears. Internet cafes however seem to work normally.

Shame really, as I didn't expect performance to go down. Guess I have to reinstall and stick with 1.0.1 version.

System specs:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3,2 GHz
ATI Radeon 4870x2
4 GB RAM
Windows Vista 64-bit Home Premium

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#145

Posted 24 January 2009 - 03:55 PM

QUOTE (ThatsCool @ Jan 24 2009, 21:16)
Does someone know what the new command -notimefix does?

QUOTE (first post)
• Added Commandline "-notimefix" which will help some users who are experiencing the fast/slow gameplay issue after patch 1 was applied.

Use it only if you're experiencing the fast/slow gameplay issue.

BorgDroneX
  • BorgDroneX

    Assimilator

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2005

#146

Posted 24 January 2009 - 04:05 PM

on initial install and quick play i cannot seen any real difference, maybe the framerate is only very slightly higher than before, benchmark says same thing has before. i will need to play it for a few hours to determine if its improved gameplay any! yawn.gif

KooolaNL
  • KooolaNL

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jan 2009

#147

Posted 24 January 2009 - 04:05 PM

so i heard it has sli now only thing is the 180.84 drivers wont install on my GTX295 lol

laabo
  • laabo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009

#148

Posted 24 January 2009 - 04:21 PM

QUOTE (Mctool @ Jan 24 2009, 15:11)
QUOTE (Graven @ Jan 24 2009, 14:45)
QUOTE (P_4_CZT1 @ Jan 24 2009, 17:20)
Hi there i have installed the patch and see in the description that they add controller /steer support
but i dont get it to work can someone help me with the directinput ting

• Direct input device support is now disabled by default and can only be enabled with the commandline: "-usedirectinput

GreetZ P

Open notepad. Type "-usedirectinput" (without quotes). Save as "commandline" (without quotes) into GTA IV root directory.

It´s told hundreds of times how to use commandline. Please use search feature next time. Thanks.

thx m8, it did the trick .
I called the file commandline.txt instead of commandline biggrin.gif
its workin fine now.

I did the same stupid mistake... blush.gif

It is working now... Thanks buddy !

Kryten42
  • Kryten42

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2008

#149

Posted 24 January 2009 - 04:22 PM

This patch broke my game. I still have the RESC10 crash and now it freezes often too(not real freeze, but fps goes so low that it feels like a freeze)....My hardware surely is not the problem, cause i just upgraded my rig (corei7+gtx285)

fix this!

Smiler-Online
  • Smiler-Online

    PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2008
  • United-Kingdom

#150

Posted 24 January 2009 - 04:32 PM

I'm getting the no texture bug that some people had before the first patch... suicidal.gif what next...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users