Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV and xlive.dll in Windows 7

7 replies to this topic
ShotSkydiver
  • ShotSkydiver

    Payne Killers

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#1

Posted 19 January 2009 - 06:27 PM

Okay, let me first say that I looked through every single Windows 7 thread on here and could not find my problem in them. Most of them deal with setup errors. My problem is that, after the game is installed, I go to start the game through RGSC, LaunhGTAIV.exe or GTAIV.exe, and it says that xlive.dll is missing from my computer. I've installed xliveredist.msi and vcredist_x86 in the GTAIV/Redistributable folder on the disc, and there is still the same error. I tried downloading xlive.dll off the Internet, it said it was the wrong version. I've tried reinstalling the game multiple times, and running the setup and GTAIV.exe in Windows XP and Vista compatibility mode. I finally found a *ahem*torrent*ahem* with an xlive.dll for GFWL, and I put in in system32 and the GTA IV directory, and when I ran it the game didn't even open but a window popped up saying Grand Theft Auto IV has stopped working. What do I do??? Has anybody else had this problem? And yes, I did actually buy the game. I have a SecuROM bypasser because when I tried to run with SecuROM it crashed the computer. Help!

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal

#2

Posted 19 January 2009 - 06:32 PM

Windows 7 is still in beta stages and it's full of bugs. I, myself have tried it and it sucks (the beta), so I recommend you to install Vista x64 if you have a quad-core because it makes the game faster.
At least it did for me. colgate.gif

Th3 ProphetMan
  • Th3 ProphetMan

    [EXL] Keep it Mafioso

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003

#3

Posted 19 January 2009 - 07:08 PM

I have this problem as well, only that i can't even install Live redistributable so the file is indeed missing in my case. it's a beta so i didnt even expect to get it working to begin with, even though there's people that have managed to do it.

however, right now i couldn't care less since my 8800gts died last weekend while playing unreal tournament 3.. it's now being send to the guarantee, so it'll take a few weeks to get back confused.gif

UndeadDevil
  • UndeadDevil

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2008

#4

Posted 19 January 2009 - 09:27 PM Edited by UndeadDevil, 19 January 2009 - 09:34 PM.

Use Xliveless! (Disables Online Play though)
And yeah, almost everyone has to use the Securom Crack on Windows 7

GTA IV is the only game I have that isn't designed for Future Generations of PC's (Sware R* said it was), every other game I own has installed perfectly and runs perfectly in Windows 7. Moral of the Story, don't believe anything that comes out of R*'s PR Department (You'd think R* would sack them but ah well)

Edit: Installing this required update might also fix this issue: http://www.rockstarg.../PC/GFWLupdate/

ShotSkydiver
  • ShotSkydiver

    Payne Killers

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#5

Posted 19 January 2009 - 11:24 PM Edited by ShotSkydiver, 19 January 2009 - 11:27 PM.

QUOTE (UndeadDevil @ Jan 19 2009, 21:27)
Use Xliveless! (Disables Online Play though)
And yeah, almost everyone has to use the Securom Crack on Windows 7

GTA IV is the only game I have that isn't designed for Future Generations of PC's (Sware R* said it was), every other game I own has installed perfectly and runs perfectly in Windows 7. Moral of the Story, don't believe anything that comes out of R*'s PR Department (You'd think R* would sack them but ah well)

Edit: Installing this required update might also fix this issue: http://www.rockstarg.../PC/GFWLupdate/

Thank you! biggrin.gif That fixed my problem. Now, whenever I click the Play button in the RGSC it always says that there is a required update, but every time I install the update it still says it needs to be updated. I've tried uninstalling GFWL and reinstalling, but that doesn't work either. What am I doing wrong?

EDIT: I tried directly running GFWL and it said that it's missing. It asked me if I wanted to install, I said yes, and it installed. I went into the program and it still says it isn't installed.

eagle016
  • eagle016

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005

#6

Posted 20 January 2009 - 12:54 AM

Sounds weird.

All I did when I had to install to Windows 7 was set the 'setup.exe' (for GTA:IV) to 'Windows XP Compatibility' and then when into "Redistributable" on the disc and ran the 'xliveredist.msi' and 'vcredist_x86.exe' and that installed the game and Xbox Live just fine.

I downloaded the v1.0.1.0 patch online, installed. Then when I started up RGSC it told me I needed to update GFWL and I just used that link, downloaded/installed and it worked fine.

I don't know why it's saying you don't have 'xlive.dll' (or more specifically, why the game won't start because of it) because I had NO 'xlive' file on my computer and it ran fine. The only way I had an 'xlive.dll' file was when I used the Xliveless file so that I could use the Playerselector tool.


@Spider-Vice: This is where it's all different for everyone. Windows 7 64bit is the only version I can use where I have complete stable frame rate (30-40fps) no matter what on good settings. If I switch to XP/Vista (32 or 64) I only have around 15-25 at all times.

UndeadDevil
  • UndeadDevil

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2008

#7

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:19 AM

QUOTE (ShotSkydiver @ Jan 19 2009, 23:24)
hank you! biggrin.gif That fixed my problem. Now, whenever I click the Play button in the RGSC it always says that there is a required update, but every time I install the update it still says it needs to be updated. I've tried uninstalling GFWL and reinstalling, but that doesn't work either. What am I doing wrong?

If you've installed XLiveless the RGSC shouldn't be coming up at all, try launching it via LaunchGTAIV.exe

ShotSkydiver
  • ShotSkydiver

    Payne Killers

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#8

Posted 20 January 2009 - 03:00 AM

Okay, after multiple tries and 3 restarts, GTA IV works now. It runs almost the exact same as when I was on XP 32 bit. Everything is fine. biggrin.gif Just for anyone who's interested, here are the comparisons in benchmarks between XP SP3 and 7.

XP:

QUOTE

Statistics
Average FPS: 16.54
Duration: 37.37 sec
CPU Usage: 35%
System memory usage: 96%
Video memory usage: 92%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1366 x 768 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: High
View Distance: 19
Detail Distance: 63

Hardware
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Video Driver version: 6.14.10.6891
Audio Adapter: Realtek HD Audio output
Intel Pentium III Xeon processor
Intel Pentium III Xeon processor

File ID: Benchmark.cli


Windows 7:

QUOTE

Statistics
Average FPS: 14.88
Duration: 37.98 sec
CPU Usage: 17%
System memory usage: 93%
Video memory usage: 99%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1366 x 768 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: Medium
View Distance: 22
Detail Distance: 31

Hardware
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT (Microsoft Corporation WDDM 1.1)
Video Driver version: 8.14.10.610
Audio Adapter: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
Intel® Xeon® CPU          E5462  @ 2.80GHz
Intel® Xeon® CPU          E5462  @ 2.80GHz

File ID: Benchmark.cli




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users