Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

LOL! The difference a Gen can make!

31 replies to this topic
chngdman
  • chngdman

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 16 January 2009 - 07:26 AM

So, I switched to vista so that I can test with that some and see if it hampers my performance at all (on my passionate quest to help those in need and detract those who have become too bitter to be helped) and since the only two things on my second partition right now are GTA IV and GTA III (bought the whole GTA collection on steam - 30.00, not bad), and I had defragged right after downloading IV again, so in this pic, you can see for the first time the visual difference in weight between IV and III, enjoy:

user posted image

1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#2

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:36 AM

The next GTA V will eat 40 GB. We're gonna have to buy a special harddrive for it. sarcasm.gif

Jc84144
  • Jc84144

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2008

#3

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:46 AM

Only if they don't want it to be playable on the Xbox 360.

And why would you have to buy a specail harddrive? tounge.gif Large hard drives is the normal now. When buying new harddrives or PC's I would never dram of getting a HDD smaller than 1TB.

LSD T
  • LSD T

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:50 AM

QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)


1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

Seriously, can this kind of insane bullsh*t carry on forever unchecked?

Yeah well done Rockstar for showing us complete disrespect and also for your poor sloppy twobob coding team for the bloat, yay Rockstar.


If anyone else had posted this lamenting the shocking poor optimisation and using this as proof of that, Charming Charlie would have locked it in seconds.

I wonder if your bosses will gve you an extra smartie as a bonus for your efforts in this unrelenting spindoctoring bollocks.

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#5

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:54 AM

QUOTE (Jc84144 @ Jan 16 2009, 17:46)
Only if they don't want it to be playable on the Xbox 360.

And why would you have to buy a specail harddrive? tounge.gif Large hard drives is the normal now. When buying new harddrives or PC's I would never dram of getting a HDD smaller than 1TB.

I believe it will come out in 2010, when we have the Xbox 720 already. tounge.gif

I was only joking about the harddrive though.

Lutra78
  • Lutra78

    MGMT

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#6

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:56 AM

While GTAIV fits on a DL-DVD for the Xbox360 (8,5GB), almost all the additional space is required by the high-textures.... Which no one can use.

GTA_XP
  • GTA_XP

    Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2008

#7

Posted 16 January 2009 - 12:07 PM

Well, it sounds we need BluRay players.
But I dont thinks so because yh, you know, what they did with this piece of poor coding

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#8

Posted 16 January 2009 - 12:34 PM

QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)
What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

Mmmm... R*chngdman ? biggrin.gif

badguy
  • badguy

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 16 January 2009 - 02:26 PM

Well think about it people. As years pass on they are gonna release hardware thats gonna be able to install/burn/write/read/download probably 5-10 times faster than they are now. So installing, downloading etc... is gonna much much quicker as years pass.

noVa
  • noVa

    Avast Ye Mateys

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2002

#10

Posted 16 January 2009 - 02:34 PM

not really bothered tbh, it can be as big as it wants aslong as the performance is good.

I use pieces of software that are in excess of 30gb anyways, so is nothign new to me.

Jc84144
  • Jc84144

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2008

#11

Posted 16 January 2009 - 02:49 PM Edited by Jc84144, 16 January 2009 - 02:53 PM.

QUOTE (badguy @ Jan 16 2009, 14:26)
Well think about it people. As years pass on they are gonna release hardware thats gonna be able to install/burn/write/read/download probably 5-10 times faster than they are now. So installing, downloading etc... is gonna much much quicker as years pass.

Soon hard drives will be obsolete.

Solid state drives (same sort of technology in a flash drive) are more than 100 times faster than a hard drive, and are getting bigger capacity and getting cheaper.

So at least with the hard drive area of it, we aren't just talking 5 to 10 times faster, but more than 100.

As fibre optic internet becomes more widespread, internet speeds will start to get upto around 120Mb/s, which is about 20 times faster than your average broadband connection.

PacMaan
  • PacMaan

    LIES

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#12

Posted 16 January 2009 - 03:03 PM

QUOTE (Jc84144 @ Jan 16 2009, 14:49)
Soon hard drives will be obsolete.

Solid state drives (same sort of technology in a flash drive) are more than 100 times faster than a hard drive, and are getting bigger capacity and getting cheaper.

So at least with the hard drive area of it, we aren't just talking 5 to 10 times faster, but more than 100.

As fibre optic internet becomes more widespread, internet speeds will start to get upto around 120Mb/s, which is about 20 times faster than your average broadband connection.

And we'll all fly around in space cars and have robot slaves and communicate with thought phones

ExitiumMachina
  • ExitiumMachina

    What?

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Aug 2008

#13

Posted 16 January 2009 - 03:18 PM

Vista is sh*t...was sh*t on initial release...was awesome as beta though, what was MS thinking? dozingoff.gif

noVa
  • noVa

    Avast Ye Mateys

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2002

#14

Posted 16 January 2009 - 03:38 PM

QUOTE (PacMaan @ Jan 16 2009, 15:03)
QUOTE (Jc84144 @ Jan 16 2009, 14:49)
Soon hard drives will be obsolete.

Solid state drives (same sort of technology in a flash drive) are more than 100 times faster than a hard drive, and are getting bigger capacity and getting cheaper.

So at least with the hard drive area of it, we aren't just talking 5 to 10 times faster, but more than 100.

As fibre optic internet becomes more widespread, internet speeds will start to get upto around 120Mb/s, which is about 20 times faster than your average broadband connection.

And we'll all fly around in space cars and have robot slaves and communicate with thought phones

shame they have a limited number of read/write cycles though - it's getting better but running an OS on one of them beauties is a quick way to end the life span of the drive.

Th3 ProphetMan
  • Th3 ProphetMan

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • None

#15

Posted 16 January 2009 - 06:03 PM

I wonder why people keep bitching about vista, my vista installation is fine, free of virus, optimized, clean, installed on May 2008, and i've been testing it against Win7 beta and FPS in games are barely noticeable. It was a mess at the begining of 2007, but that's all. You just have to know how to optimize it, disable some crap and keep it clean, away from virus and bullsh*t. i've even seen people compare it with Windows Me which is just ridiculous.. pisses me off confused.gif

badguy
  • badguy

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2008

#16

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:30 PM

QUOTE (Jc84144 @ Jan 17 2009, 01:49)
QUOTE (badguy @ Jan 16 2009, 14:26)
Well think about it people. As years pass on they are gonna release hardware thats gonna be able to install/burn/write/read/download probably 5-10 times faster than they are now. So installing, downloading etc... is gonna much much quicker as years pass.

Soon hard drives will be obsolete.

Solid state drives (same sort of technology in a flash drive) are more than 100 times faster than a hard drive, and are getting bigger capacity and getting cheaper.

So at least with the hard drive area of it, we aren't just talking 5 to 10 times faster, but more than 100.

As fibre optic internet becomes more widespread, internet speeds will start to get upto around 120Mb/s, which is about 20 times faster than your average broadband connection.

Didnt know about the solid state drives but as far as I know my internet connection is a 500mb connection. The only thing that is stopping me downloading a 500mb per second is that the internet cables arent fibre optic. So its up to the isp to start using fibre optic cables and then well get them kinda speeds.

boomer678
  • boomer678

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2009

#17

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:32 PM

QUOTE (One-time @ Jan 16 2009, 10:36)
The next GTA V will eat 40 GB. We're gonna have to buy a special harddrive for it. sarcasm.gif

I juist got a 250 gb for like 40 bucks. I think it will be enough

okei
  • okei

    Dressed to kill like I'm Gianni Versace

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2008

#18

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:37 PM

QUOTE (badguy @ Jan 16 2009, 23:30)
QUOTE (Jc84144 @ Jan 17 2009, 01:49)
QUOTE (badguy @ Jan 16 2009, 14:26)
Well think about it people. As years pass on they are gonna release hardware thats gonna be able to install/burn/write/read/download probably 5-10 times faster than they are now. So installing, downloading etc... is gonna much much quicker as years pass.

Soon hard drives will be obsolete.

Solid state drives (same sort of technology in a flash drive) are more than 100 times faster than a hard drive, and are getting bigger capacity and getting cheaper.

So at least with the hard drive area of it, we aren't just talking 5 to 10 times faster, but more than 100.

As fibre optic internet becomes more widespread, internet speeds will start to get upto around 120Mb/s, which is about 20 times faster than your average broadband connection.

Didnt know about the solid state drives but as far as I know my internet connection is a 500mb connection. The only thing that is stopping me downloading a 500mb per second is that the internet cables arent fibre optic. So its up to the isp to start using fibre optic cables and then well get them kinda speeds.

I call BS.

Wheelman
  • Wheelman

    n00b patrol

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2002

#19

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:38 PM

QUOTE (LSD T @ Jan 16 2009, 10:50)
Seriously, can this kind of insane bullsh*t carry on forever unchecked?

Yeah well done Rockstar for showing us complete disrespect and also for your poor sloppy twobob coding team for the bloat, yay Rockstar.

Yeah, because the poor coding has so much to do with the 15+ gigs of textures and media that the game uses. sarcasm.gif

QUOTE (badguy)
as far as I know my internet connection is a 500mb connection

Sure it is.

eagle016
  • eagle016

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005

#20

Posted 17 January 2009 - 12:07 AM

QUOTE (Th3 ProphetMan @ Jan 16 2009, 12:03)
I wonder why people keep bitching about vista, my vista installation is fine, free of virus, optimized, clean, installed on May 2008, and i've been testing it against Win7 beta and FPS in games are barely noticeable. It was a mess at the begining of 2007, but that's all. You just have to know how to optimize it, disable some crap and keep it clean, away from virus and bullsh*t. i've even seen people compare it with Windows Me which is just ridiculous.. pisses me off confused.gif

The difference in Vista/7 to me is an extra 10-15 frames on Windows 7.

badguy
  • badguy

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2008

#21

Posted 17 January 2009 - 07:48 AM

QUOTE (Wheelman @ Jan 17 2009, 10:38)
QUOTE (LSD T @ Jan 16 2009, 10:50)
Seriously, can this kind of insane bullsh*t carry on forever unchecked?

Yeah well done Rockstar for showing us complete disrespect and also for your poor sloppy twobob coding team for the bloat, yay Rockstar.

Yeah, because the poor coding has so much to do with the 15+ gigs of textures and media that the game uses. sarcasm.gif

QUOTE (badguy)
as far as I know my internet connection is a 500mb connection

Sure it is.

Tell me something. Why wouldnt it be? Fibre optic is already out there son.

Wheelman
  • Wheelman

    n00b patrol

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2002

#22

Posted 17 January 2009 - 11:14 AM

QUOTE (badguy @ Jan 17 2009, 07:48)
Tell me something. Why wouldnt it be?

Because it's not? The speed of your ISP's backhaul is not relevant to the speed of the final connection to your computer, son.

bp2018
  • bp2018

    Cheese Doodle

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008

#23

Posted 17 January 2009 - 11:47 AM Edited by bp2018, 17 January 2009 - 11:55 AM.

I don't know of any ISP that does over 50mb nevermind 500mb. sigh.gif

I wish people would stop reading their network speed and thinking that is their internet speed.

As for "bad coding making the game huge"

First of all this uses a LOT more textures, it has THREE SETS for low medium and high quality, and everything else is much higher in quality, nothing to do with poor coding.

You should really of compared it to San andreas which uses around 5gb, 3 sets of textures in GTA 4 and yeh it all works out correctly. rolleyes.gif

EDIT: just had a thought, are you sure you don't have a 500mb download limit. sarcasm.gif

xrk
  • xrk

    ..

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#24

Posted 17 January 2009 - 12:06 PM

QUOTE (bp2018 @ Jan 17 2009, 11:47)

First of all this uses a LOT more textures, it has THREE SETS for low medium and high quality, and everything else is much higher in quality, nothing to do with poor coding.

You should really of compared it to San andreas which uses around 5gb, 3 sets of textures in GTA 4 and yeh it all works out correctly. rolleyes.gif

Where did you get the 3 sets of textures from?

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#25

Posted 17 January 2009 - 12:26 PM Edited by GTAMonkey2012, 17 January 2009 - 12:29 PM.

Its 3 levels of texture in "size" if you look in the textures files.

Think of all the audio and radio stations, extra speech, peds chatter, effects, story line audio, extra building textures and higher res detail, the editor, mp additional things, TV channels video, the amount of peds and textures for them, I mean I can clearly see why this is the size it is on install, and don't really have an issue with it. I remember colin mcrae rally being on 4 CD's to install and that seemed really stupid.

Where at a point where hi bandwidth, blu ray storage, and other non physical storage is getting more and more used so this really is a storm in a teacup.

Custard
  • Custard

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2008

#26

Posted 17 January 2009 - 01:58 PM

QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)
1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

I'm not sure why you "laughed out loud" upon "discovering" that a game from 2008 had a larger footprint than a game created in 2001. That's hardly what I'd call funny, in fact it's more amusing that you were compelled to bring this to everyone's attention...

bp2018
  • bp2018

    Cheese Doodle

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008

#27

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:37 PM

Windows 3.1 took up less than 1 MB OMG WHAT HAPPENED TO WINDOWS, ITS SO BLOATED NOW! sarcasm.gif

gta-man22
  • gta-man22

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2008

#28

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:44 PM

QUOTE (Custard @ Jan 17 2009, 13:58)
QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)
1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

I'm not sure why you "laughed out loud" upon "discovering" that a game from 2008 had a larger footprint than a game created in 2001. That's hardly what I'd call funny, in fact it's more amusing that you were compelled to bring this to everyone's attention...

wait dude, in the console version they put the game into 1 dual layer dvd, its like 7 gb, but for the pc it is 2 dual layers like 15 gb for what?? A VIDEO EDITOR OMFG. suicidal.gif

bp2018
  • bp2018

    Cheese Doodle

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:51 PM

QUOTE (gta-man22 @ Jan 18 2009, 05:14)
QUOTE (Custard @ Jan 17 2009, 13:58)
QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)
1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

I'm not sure why you "laughed out loud" upon "discovering" that a game from 2008 had a larger footprint than a game created in 2001. That's hardly what I'd call funny, in fact it's more amusing that you were compelled to bring this to everyone's attention...

wait dude, in the console version they put the game into 1 dual layer dvd, its like 7 gb, but for the pc it is 2 dual layers like 15 gb for what?? A VIDEO EDITOR OMFG. suicidal.gif

As I mentioned, the pc version has three sets of textures, low medium and high detail versions, the console version only requires the medium set. dontgetit.gif

pinky
  • pinky

    "Tooled up and chibbin' ye, ya Bass".

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2005

#30

Posted 17 January 2009 - 07:12 PM

QUOTE (bp2018 @ Jan 17 2009, 19:51)
QUOTE (gta-man22 @ Jan 18 2009, 05:14)
QUOTE (Custard @ Jan 17 2009, 13:58)
QUOTE (chngdman @ Jan 16 2009, 07:26)
1.2 gigs VS 15.5. What a world we got to see evolve in our lifetimes! Rockstar led the way to what we have these days, Thanks R*!

I'm not sure why you "laughed out loud" upon "discovering" that a game from 2008 had a larger footprint than a game created in 2001. That's hardly what I'd call funny, in fact it's more amusing that you were compelled to bring this to everyone's attention...

wait dude, in the console version they put the game into 1 dual layer dvd, its like 7 gb, but for the pc it is 2 dual layers like 15 gb for what?? A VIDEO EDITOR OMFG. suicidal.gif

As I mentioned, the pc version has three sets of textures, low medium and high detail versions, the console version only requires the medium set. dontgetit.gif

3 sets and you have consider the mipmaps too. A lot of extra data there over the console versions.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users