Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[TUTORIAL] Importing Textures with OpenIV

39 replies to this topic
Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#1

Posted 08 January 2009 - 03:03 PM Edited by Fabio206, 30 May 2011 - 09:51 PM.

Topic has to be updated, I will do as soon as possible.
For the moment, get OpenIV latest version!
From GooD-NTS post:

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ May 30 2011, 00:26)
@Cmdr_Data, download lasted OpenIV 0.9.1 from http://openiv.com/ now it work for all patch of GTA IV and EfLC.
And here very small video about using OpenIV texture editor:
(720p HD)





Original tutorial (not up-to-date).

People asks how to modify/import textures, so I decided to translate my italian tutorials for you.
Credits to me and my site GTA-Expert.it, do NOT copy this without my permission smile.gif
Excuse me for my bad english, my english-to-italian is excellent, but my italian-to-english isn't so good, I'll translate my italian tutorials for you smile.gif Hope screens could speak more than 1000 words biggrin.gif

Introduction about textures

You could modify all .wtd textures in the game.
Don't confuse .wtd with .wdr files:


user posted image



WTD [Windows Texture Dictionary] are textures files.
WDR [Windows (gtaDrawable)] are 3D model files.

Example:
w_mp5.wtd: MP5's Textures
w_mp5.wdr: MP5's 3D Model

you could edit/modify textures with OpenIV or SparkIV.
I think OpenIV is better , 'cause modifies textures levels to 1, so we have a better quality of the image in game. Anyway, ?ve made both tutorials for you.



Software & Downloads Open .wtd files with OpenIV
First of all, extract OpenIV archive files and open "OpenIV.exe". Image.



Clicking on "File" > "Open Content", OpenIV will automatic load GTA IV Main Folder, loading all relative files. You could view all gerachy files and view some previews.



user posted image


In this tutorial I'll modify Niko shoes with my Nike Air Max Plus.

We'll modify "feet_diff_001_a_uni.wtd" located in playerped.rpf (\Grand Theft Auto IV\pc\models\cdimages).

Find it like in the image:


user posted image


Click on playerped.rpf to open the archive and show files.
There is a list of .wtd files. We know that in our tutorials we'll edit "feet_diff_001_a_uni.wtd".


user posted image


BE SURE TO BACKUP YOUR FILES BEFORE EDITING ANY FILES!
You could backup "feet_diff_001_a_uni.wtd" clicking on "Edit" > "Extract".

user posted image



Edit a texture


Select "feet_diff_001_a_uni.wtd" and right click on "Edit".

user posted image


You'll have the textures files list on the left, in this case only feet_diff_001_a_uni.dss regular 7.



user posted image


So, now you shoud have a .png file with your new texture.

Be sure that .png new file has same resolution (in our case: 256x256).

Click on "Replace" and load nike_squalo.png file.


user posted image


IMPORTANT: Click on Change Levels and edit value to 1.


user posted image


Now click on "
Save" and press enter when DOS Window will open.


user posted image


IMPORTANT: To apply modifies, click on "File" > "Rebuild".



user posted image


Close the program and launch GTA IV.
Hope this topic is helpful! smile.gif

BWARazor
  • BWARazor

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 11 January 2009 - 02:30 PM

Damn every time i edit an wtd there is no replace and so on , im clicking on EDIT! and there is just export and export all??????

NADOLNY
  • NADOLNY

    Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2007

#3

Posted 12 January 2009 - 01:05 AM

Saved my motherf*cking day biggrin.gif
hell, when I clicked on Edit in any file it only appeared Save and Save All, after I clicked on the little blue window all the buttons appeared orly.gif orly.gif

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#4

Posted 12 January 2009 - 01:16 AM

QUOTE (BWARazor @ Jan 11 2009, 15:30)
Damn every time i edit an wtd there is no replace and so on , im clicking on EDIT! and there is just export and export all??????

Try to click F11 (full screen)..

Let me know smile.gif

NADOLNY
  • NADOLNY

    Homie

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2007

#5

Posted 12 January 2009 - 01:23 AM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Jan 11 2009, 23:16)
QUOTE (BWARazor @ Jan 11 2009, 15:30)
Damn every time i edit an wtd there is no replace and so on , im clicking on EDIT! and there is just export and export all??????

Try to click F11 (full screen)..

Let me know smile.gif

That's exactly what was happening to me.. after I clicked the little blue window button, everything showed up and now I'm editing the crap out of IV orly.gif

Jumi
  • Jumi

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2009

#6

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:17 AM

why do i get a error for openiv and access is denied for sparkiv? for openiv, it happened after i replace the image and then saving it. for sparkiv, wen i open the .wtd file, it say access is denied. hlp pls?

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#7

Posted 21 January 2009 - 11:15 PM

QUOTE (Jumi @ Jan 21 2009, 09:17)
why do i get a error for openiv and access is denied for sparkiv? for openiv, it happened after i replace the image and then saving it. for sparkiv, wen i open the .wtd file, it say access is denied. hlp pls?

Maybe "read only" flag in the file properties? dozingoff.gif try to remove the flag and retry with sparks..

anyway, OpenIV is better for quality smile.gif

MenuET
  • MenuET

    Maxscript Modeler

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2008
  • Panama

#8

Posted 17 February 2009 - 01:30 PM

in my Open IV dont have the option "Change Levels"
and when i put the texture in my IV the texture dont change

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#9

Posted 17 February 2009 - 01:55 PM

QUOTE (MenuET @ Feb 17 2009, 14:30)
in my Open IV dont have the option "Change Levels"
and when i put the texture in my IV the texture dont change

Try to click on this button smile.gif

user posted image


Be sure to rebuild the archive. Follow all the steps smile.gif

UberTez
  • UberTez

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009

#10

Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:49 AM

QUOTE (Jumi @ Jan 21 2009, 08:17)
why do i get a error for openiv and access is denied for sparkiv? for openiv, it happened after i replace the image and then saving it. for sparkiv, wen i open the .wtd file, it say access is denied. hlp pls?

Try running as administrator if using vista. It worked for me.

gangzta numb
  • gangzta numb

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2007

#11

Posted 19 July 2009 - 08:01 AM

i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#12

Posted 19 July 2009 - 10:51 AM

QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 09:01)
i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Which version is your gtaiv.exe? 1.0.4.0.?

gangzta numb
  • gangzta numb

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2007

#13

Posted 19 July 2009 - 12:36 PM Edited by gangzta numb, 20 July 2009 - 07:48 AM.

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:51)
QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 09:01)
i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Which version is your gtaiv.exe? 1.0.4.0.?

you know what. actually i found out. openIV wont work if i have 1.0.4.0 ,so, i have both of em. i have 1.4 and 1.0 .
i have to rename 1.0 to GTAIV.exe so openIV works smile.gif and yeh my game is 1.0.4.0 and now i got cars mods in it:) i always request help and then i find a solution on my own xD

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#14

Posted 19 July 2009 - 07:45 PM

QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 13:36)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:51)
QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 09:01)
i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Which version is your gtaiv.exe? 1.0.4.0.?

you know what. actually i found out. openIV wont work if i have 1.0.4.0 crack ,so, i have both of em. i have 1.4 and 1.0 .
i have to rename 1.0 to GTAIV.exe so openIV works smile.gif and yeh my game is 1.0.4.0 and now i got cars mods in it:) i always request help and then i find a solution on my own xD

If you want to import new cars, I suggest you to use SparkIV 0.6.3.

Here you find my tut on instaling new vehicles in IV:

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=417797

smile.gif

oc student
  • oc student

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2008

#15

Posted 20 July 2009 - 05:16 AM

QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 12:36)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:51)
QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 09:01)
i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Which version is your gtaiv.exe? 1.0.4.0.?

you know what. actually i found out. openIV wont work if i have 1.0.4.0 crack ,so, i have both of em. i have 1.4 and 1.0 .
i have to rename 1.0 to GTAIV.exe so openIV works smile.gif and yeh my game is 1.0.4.0 and now i got cars mods in it:) i always request help and then i find a solution on my own xD

You pirated the game?! Shish.

gangzta numb
  • gangzta numb

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2007

#16

Posted 20 July 2009 - 07:47 AM

well. when i try running spark (any verision) it just stop responding and it crashes. si i cant use spark. but i do use OpenIV now:)

casis20
  • casis20

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2009

#17

Posted 12 August 2009 - 10:13 PM

I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#18

Posted 12 August 2009 - 11:33 PM

QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:13)
I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Which patch do you have?

casis20
  • casis20

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2009

#19

Posted 13 August 2009 - 06:01 PM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:33)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:13)
I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Which patch do you have?

openIV.0.9.202

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#20

Posted 14 August 2009 - 02:11 AM

QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 13 2009, 19:01)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:33)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:13)
I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Which patch do you have?

openIV.0.9.202

GTA IV patch version not the open's build version biggrin.gif

casis20
  • casis20

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2009

#21

Posted 14 August 2009 - 12:35 PM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 14 2009, 02:11)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 13 2009, 19:01)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:33)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:13)
I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Which patch do you have?

openIV.0.9.202

GTA IV patch version not the open's build version biggrin.gif

V1.00

casis20
  • casis20

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2009

#22

Posted 14 August 2009 - 11:02 PM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 14 2009, 02:11)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 13 2009, 19:01)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:33)
QUOTE (casis20 @ Aug 12 2009, 23:13)
I get each time Error with Exception EFopenError in module OpenIV.exe at 0002643B. Cannot open file ''D:\Map\Spellen\GTAIV Mods\OpenIV\GTAIV.exe''. The system cannot find it given up resistant.
who can help me!!!

Which patch do you have?

openIV.0.9.202

GTA IV patch version not the open's build version biggrin.gif

v1.00

sharan_basava
  • sharan_basava

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#23

Posted 05 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

the png file is 256*256
can we replace it with 512*512 resolution

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#24

Posted 05 September 2009 - 05:47 PM

QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 17:46)
the png file is 256*256
can we replace it with 512*512 resolution

Use G-Texture to change res smile.gif

sharan_basava
  • sharan_basava

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#25

Posted 05 September 2009 - 08:27 PM Edited by sharan_basava, 05 September 2009 - 08:54 PM.

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Sep 5 2009, 17:47)
QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 17:46)
the png file is 256*256
can we replace it with 512*512 resolution

Use G-Texture to change res smile.gif

how
it is some other format DDS confused.gif

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#26

Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:34 PM

QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 21:27)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Sep 5 2009, 17:47)
QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 17:46)
the png file is 256*256
can we replace it with 512*512 resolution

Use G-Texture to change res smile.gif

how
it is some other format DDS confused.gif

Download .dds plugin for PS smile.gif

http://developer.nvi...ds_plugins.html


sharan_basava
  • sharan_basava

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#27

Posted 06 September 2009 - 07:42 AM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Sep 5 2009, 22:34)
QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 21:27)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Sep 5 2009, 17:47)
QUOTE (sharan_basava @ Sep 5 2009, 17:46)
the png file is 256*256
can we replace it with 512*512 resolution

Use G-Texture to change res smile.gif

how
it is some other format DDS confused.gif

Download .dds plugin for PS smile.gif

http://developer.nvi...ds_plugins.html

thanks
have these cookies cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

sharan_basava
  • sharan_basava

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#28

Posted 06 September 2009 - 08:05 AM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Sep 5 2009, 22:34)

Download .dds plugin for PS smile.gif

http://developer.nvi...ds_plugins.html

when i try to save files it says "warning alpha information will be lost"
user posted image
what settings should i keep in this dialogue box

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#29

Posted 06 September 2009 - 10:12 AM

Click on the menu FXT1 RGB 4bpp | no alpha and select your favourite settings

Then you should read some tutorials on the internet about this filter, I dunno how to set the other settings biggrin.gif

EduardKoeleJuck
  • EduardKoeleJuck

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2008

#30

Posted 06 September 2009 - 04:50 PM

QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 12:36)
QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:51)
QUOTE (gangzta numb @ Jul 19 2009, 09:01)
i get another error when trying to open img file.
it says that:
OpenIC can not work because omportant information wasn't obtained from the GTAIV.exe
Please, set correct path to the GTAIV.exe in the OpenIV settings.
WUt da hell? PLEASE help me! TY.

Which version is your gtaiv.exe? 1.0.4.0.?

you know what. actually i found out. openIV wont work if i have 1.0.4.0 ,so, i have both of em. i have 1.4 and 1.0 .
i have to rename 1.0 to GTAIV.exe so openIV works smile.gif and yeh my game is 1.0.4.0 and now i got cars mods in it:) i always request help and then i find a solution on my own xD

Where can I see which version I own?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users