Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

AMD Dual-Core Optimizer Version 1.1.4

38 replies to this topic
sarancha
  • sarancha

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:03 AM Edited by sarancha, 05 January 2009 - 04:02 AM.

I got solved my graphic lag problem(1 fps) using this utility. Before using this, I thought my vga card(Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB) seems to has performance problem for the GTA IV, but I was wrong. If you are using dual core cpu of the AMD, use this. There is no graphic lag problem any more. I am happy. smile.gif

The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.

http://www.amd.com/u...s/DCO_1.1.4.zip

My specs : AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ / 2GB Memory / Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB / Windows XP with SP3 / GTA IV (no commandline)

Parad0x
  • Parad0x

    hooked on giggle cream.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2003

#2

Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:15 AM

i always thought that was program was more for when your framerates were too fast while using older games?

Bobby Budnick
  • Bobby Budnick

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:28 AM

To add, this would be for Windows XP only. Probably XP 64 too.

nissassA
  • nissassA

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#4

Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:30 AM

yello
is this work for 4core cpu ? like phenom 9550 ???

pLaTaNo
  • pLaTaNo

    Rockstar Games Supporter

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#5

Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:37 AM

QUOTE (nissassA @ Jan 4 2009, 08:30)
yello
is this work for 4core cpu ? like phenom 9550 ???

Um.. it says AMD DUAL-CORE optimizer, so..no tounge.gif . However, use AMD Fusion. I use this and it gives me a few FPS boost smile.gif . But keep in mind, AMD Fusion is a beta, AMD hasnt finished the program yet. They said the legit AMD Fusion might be released around late 2009 :S. AMD Fusion is compatible AND a optimizer for Quad AMD CPUs, and i think, I THINK, Dual core CPUs.

nissassA
  • nissassA

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#6

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:04 AM

thanks icon14.gif

AK47-Maximus
  • AK47-Maximus

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008

#7

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:08 AM

Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

Bobby Budnick
  • Bobby Budnick

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:33 AM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

You should read before you post. This is more a case of poor programming by Rockstar. They bypassed the Windows API for timing the game, relying directly on the CPU. Also, Windows XP was not programmed with these modern CPUs in mind so that is why we need these fixes. The fixes are already integrated in Vista.

The fix is definitely not worthless. This and the CPU drivers help a lot.

Illousion
  • Illousion

    Over the hills and far away

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2008

#9

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:53 AM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

HAHAHAHAHA


This helps me quite a bit! going from 20-25 to 30-35 icon14.gif

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#10

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:03 AM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

cookie.gif suicidal.gif

Fancylad
  • Fancylad

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:28 AM Edited by Fancylad, 04 January 2009 - 10:31 AM.

I have an 8800 gts 320mb and amd athlon 64 X2 6000+

The game runs damn fine for me on 1680x1050 with 100 vehicle density after i used the bump map trick.

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#12

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:30 AM

QUOTE (Fancylad @ Jan 4 2009, 10:28)
I have an 8800 gts 320mb and amd athlon 64 3000+

The game runs damn fine for me on 1680x1050 with 100 vehicle density after i used the bump map trick.

And that actual fix is done by ............

TiRANB
  • TiRANB

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2008

#13

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:30 AM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

Lol, atleast, AMD has efforts to make this optimizer.

Meki
  • Meki

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 04 January 2009 - 11:38 AM

Dont be unfair against AMD in this case. Intel DOES need the same fixes, but they are already integrated in Windows. Because of this noone notice the similar-intel-problems...btw. 3rd party? Where? AMD is a third party producer for AMD itself? Dont understand your moaning, sorry....

czdesigns
  • czdesigns

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:15 PM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

well, its not really a fix. it is an optimizer. ^_^


Sorkenlol
  • Sorkenlol

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#16

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:18 PM

I am not sure but I think this is what stopped all of my random crashes. However, after I installed this program I added alot of things to the commandline, tried to do everything to fix the game, and now it's fixed. So I am not sure if it was the commandlines or the program. All of my freezes while in cutscenes or after a large load (loading textures in helicopter etc) stopped and now the game is running real smooth, using a file that maximizes the amount of peds and cars (packed EVERYWHERE) along with low settings, really feels like New York or something, despite the huge amount of traffic it runs pretty good on my average computer with a stable 25-40 fps, still get stuttering sometimes though.

TiRANB
  • TiRANB

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2008

#17

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:28 PM

QUOTE (czdesigns @ Jan 4 2009, 12:15)
QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

well, its not really a fix. it is an optimizer. ^_^

Indeed! biggrin.gif

Millenia
  • Millenia

    Gunz 'R Us

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2005

#18

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:48 PM

QUOTE (AK47-Maximus @ Jan 4 2009, 09:08)
Poor AMD users have to download some worthless 3rd party fixes just to play a game ....

Lol, gotta love them fanboys

Diss AMD all you want but be aware: if AMD goes down then Intel has a virtual monopoly of the CPU market and can price stuff however they want, enjoy your 1000$ entry level CPUs

Just sayin'. sarcasm.gif

kakarot_9
  • kakarot_9

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2005

#19

Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:23 PM

Yep recommended for XP users.

copperwire93
  • copperwire93

    Copperdude

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008

#20

Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:25 PM

Thanks for the link, the optimizer does help me icon14.gif

Shof
  • Shof

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2005

#21

Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:26 PM

QUOTE (Meki @ Jan 4 2009, 06:38)
Dont be unfair against AMD in this case. Intel DOES need the same fixes, but they are already integrated in Windows. Because of this noone notice the similar-intel-problems...btw. 3rd party? Where? AMD is a third party producer for AMD itself? Dont understand your moaning, sorry....

ah yes, the good old intel graphics enhancement download i seen on older chipsets (i think thats the full wording of it)

Lutra78
  • Lutra78

    MGMT

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#22

Posted 04 January 2009 - 02:07 PM

I'm using the optimzer since day 1 of gta4 release. It gave me an giant performance boost and solved the freezes even without the patch.

With the optimzer Iam able to play with high textures, viewing distance 30 and vehicle density 90 with constand 20+ frames.

My specs are: Ahtlon X2 6400+, 3GB Ram and 9600GT 512MB on WinXP32. (with commandline -avaiblevidmem 1.8).


Without the optimzer I have around 10fps and freezes every 5 minutes.

RSANtilles
  • RSANtilles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2008

#23

Posted 04 January 2009 - 02:40 PM

Ive got an AMD dual core processor and I downloaded optimizer but it just doesnt do anything, installs yeah, but when I click on the app it just does nothing, no GUI (if any), no program running in task manager...zip. Any ideas?

Lutra78
  • Lutra78

    MGMT

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#24

Posted 04 January 2009 - 02:57 PM

That's normal. You just have to install it and it writes into the registry. That's all.

slyjelly33
  • slyjelly33

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2008

#25

Posted 04 January 2009 - 04:28 PM

dual core optimizer didnt work for me. i still have the stuttering issue after using this app. plz help

Bobby Budnick
  • Bobby Budnick

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#26

Posted 04 January 2009 - 05:10 PM

QUOTE (slyjelly33 @ Jan 4 2009, 16:28)
dual core optimizer didnt work for me. i still have the stuttering issue after using this app. plz help

Start a new thread with your specs (including OS version) and game settings (including tweaks and command line options).

schmity78
  • schmity78

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2009

#27

Posted 05 January 2009 - 04:06 PM

the optimizer solved my random freezing/slowdown problems. installed it 2 weeks ago and haven't had one problem since. Frame rates didn't change noticably..around 31 FPS, but Im running a non PCI express 2.0 MB. It'll be nice to see what happens when I upgrade to a Core 2 Duo/Quad soon

X2 5200
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe
XFX 9800 GT 512MB
4GB Corsair Dominator

RonFTL
  • RonFTL

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2008

#28

Posted 05 January 2009 - 06:17 PM

Ill give it a try.

gtaivpc88
  • gtaivpc88

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 05 January 2009 - 08:23 PM

I just installed the optimizer and I got NO fps-boost what so ever. I tried rebooting and shutting down excess programs on tray but nothing, not a damn thing! It's weird because, just as someone pointed out, there is no indication that the optimizer has been installed. I had to run msconfig to see what programs the computer runs at startup...

j thompson
  • j thompson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2009

#30

Posted 06 January 2009 - 02:10 AM

Its compatible with Vista too but this proggy doesnt always do as its supposed to do, its supposed to make sure the load is balanced out instead of everything being on just one core.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users