Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP] GTA IV Location Handler

63 replies to this topic
voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#1

Posted 30 December 2008 - 10:02 AM Edited by voodoo48, 27 February 2010 - 10:51 PM.

At first, very much thanks to saracoglu for his great help about location memory addresses.

This program is exactly what you think: write in the coordinates, and warp! You can store/read locations in/from files, create categories, etc. These files can be edited by Notepad too, so copy/paste absolutely works. smile.gif (This will be important in the future.) You can add your own language too. Compatibility: GTA IV v1.01/v1.02/v1.03/v1.004

Download GTA IV Location Handler v1.2.1



Change log:

** 2010. 02. 21. **
GTA IV Location Handler v1.2.1 released.
Changes:
• Compatibility with GTA IV v1.004.
• Bug fixes.
• Probably some other stuff I forgot about.

** 2009. 05. 14. **
GTA IV Location Handler v1.2 released. Can't believe I finished.
Changes:
• Compatibility with GTA IV v1.03.
• Bug fixes.
• New options.
• Hotkey-system to teleport previous and next locations on the list.
• Support of multi-category system. Savefiles made by v1.1 or below must be converted (loc_conv.exe).
• Option of starting GTA IV by Location Handler.
• Italian language by Fabio206 added, so you can choose between FunGt's and Fabio206's translation. wink.gif
• And the other things I forgot to mention.

** 2009. 02. 26. **
GTA IV Location Handler v1.1 released. Links are the same.
Changes:
• Italian language by FunGt added.
• Bug fixes.
• ’Recent files’ and ’Default file’ feature added.
• New options.
• Map can be attached to main window.
• ’Show on map’ button added. Individual locations, or even the whole content of a category can be shown on the map.
• Don’t forget to download Gforce’s location collection!
• And much more…

** 2009. 02. 12. **
GTA IV Location Handler v1.01 released. Check it out at the official forum.
Changes:
• Spanish language by Ferna_22 added.
• Small changes in language-system. Support of Unicode languages.
• Map-enlargement system updated. At start-up, Location Handler sets the optional enlargement to your map, depending on your gta4map.png file’s resolution.
• Fixed bug with decimal separators.

** 2009. 02. 08. **
GTA IV Location Handler v1.0 released.
Changes:
• Support of GTA IV v1.01 and v1.02.
• Map added.
• Online news-system started.
• New hotkeys.
• Bug fixes.
• Readme added.

** 2009. 01. 29. **
GTA IV Location Handler v0.9 released as public beta.

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#2

Posted 30 December 2008 - 03:32 PM

Updated. On the pic, there is one bug: Hozzáad = Add. smile.gif This is just only screenshot, things can change, but it will look something like this.

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#3

Posted 30 December 2008 - 04:49 PM

cool, hope for releasing soon wink.gif

BlazeHoliday
  • BlazeHoliday

    The Messenger

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2005

#4

Posted 30 December 2008 - 07:13 PM

Any update voodoo?!?!?

Whould like to use something like this asap!

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#5

Posted 29 January 2009 - 02:49 PM

Okkkkay, here you go: GTA IV Location Tool v0.9 public beta. Compatible with GTA IV v1.02
Plz report any bug you find! Thx! smile.gif

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#6

Posted 08 February 2009 - 05:23 PM

v1.0 released, many changes happened. Map added, v1.01 support added, hotkeys added, etc.

jason922
  • jason922

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#7

Posted 11 February 2009 - 03:31 PM

Voodoo,

Been trying to test out your program.

I've entered a test co-ordinate into the Location Tool v1

user posted image

But after saving to file and loading the file back into Location Tool, the decimal place is gone.

user posted image

In GTA 4. clicking Teleport will drop Nico in the ocean miles away sad.gif

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#8

Posted 11 February 2009 - 05:19 PM

I think this is because of the cultural differences (what's the decimal place separator in your country?). And please check the saved file in Notepad, that did it saved correctly, or not.

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#9

Posted 11 February 2009 - 05:25 PM

Try to use , istead of .

jason922
  • jason922

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#10

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:01 AM Edited by jason922, 12 February 2009 - 04:04 AM.

QUOTE (voodoo48 @ Feb 11 2009, 17:19)
I think this is because of the cultural differences (what's the decimal place separator in your country?). And please check the saved file in Notepad, that did it saved correctly, or not.


My keyboard and system is set for "US English" and decimal place separator is "."

Below is test file from notepad.

CODE
START_LOCATIONS
Test
Test|Test #1|3301145|1142221|148852|0
END_OF_LOCATIONS


QUOTE (FunGT)
Try to use , istead of .


A "," would make it a thousand, right?

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#11

Posted 12 February 2009 - 02:40 PM

Seems to be fixed, v1.01 released.
Changes:
• Spanish language by Ferna_22 added.
• Small changes in language-system. Support of Unicode languages.
• Map-enlargement system updated. At start-up, Location Handler sets the optional enlargement to your map, depending on your gta4map.png file’s resolution.
• Fixed bug with decimal separators.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    MI V

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • None

#12

Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:52 PM

i've been quietly following this topic and it's good to see you finally fixed the decimal point issue.

i can confirm that this is now fully functioning correctly, here's a screenie for you.

user posted image

thanks for your hard work cookie.gif icon14.gif

PS: i might upload my .loc file as a template for people to use as a basis for a team effort to update locations with wink.gif

jason922
  • jason922

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#13

Posted 13 February 2009 - 01:38 AM

QUOTE (Gforce @ Feb 12 2009, 18:52)
i might upload my .loc file as a template for people to use as a basis for a team effort to update locations with wink.gif

Gforce, having you LOC file would be great! icon14.gif saves me the trouble of typing everything in again.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    MI V

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • None

#14

Posted 14 February 2009 - 08:55 PM Edited by Gforce, 14 February 2009 - 09:15 PM.

i've been experimenting with adding new locations for various items but i came across a small problem, when i select a location and try to remove/delete it, i get the following happen.

user posted image

also i have a feature request, could you add the ability to move entries up and down within the location lists ?

@jason922; i still need to add a few more things and i'll upload it in a few days wink.gif

Edit: i almost forgot, whenever i close the program i get the following message, even though i have already saved any changes.

user posted image

once again, thanks for a very simple and useful tool smile.gif

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#15

Posted 15 February 2009 - 01:18 AM

Both of the bugs fixed (in my sourcecode, not released yet turn.gif ). You're suggestion would be great too. In the next version, this, 'Move to another category', and a 'Recent files' option will be added.

X-Seti
  • X-Seti

    .Retro mod developer. (Xenon Brothers)

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2005
  • Mars
  • Contribution Award [Mods]

#16

Posted 15 February 2009 - 06:25 AM Edited by X-Seti, 15 February 2009 - 06:38 AM.

Ok, looks good as a trainer/memory injecter tool for gtaiv, are you going to add any other functions.

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#17

Posted 15 February 2009 - 09:43 AM

No, it remains a teleport-tool.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    MI V

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • None

#18

Posted 16 February 2009 - 02:30 AM

thats good news that you've fixed the little bugs.

i have a few more little feature suggestions/requests.

1.could you make it that whenever the map window is open that you can still go to the location list and edit a location without closing the map window.
2.when closing the program, it remembers the window positions of the editor and the map window (i like to keep mine like in the screenshot below)
3.could you add a "show on the map" button below the "Read" button and have it show either all the main category selected or an individually selected location.

i'll probably think of more features that you could include but for now, here's a screenshot for you and my test template file.

user posted image

Test Template Download

thanks again, i really like this little Tool smile.gif

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#19

Posted 16 February 2009 - 12:06 PM

Great work man icon14.gif


Shoulb be very useful when all pidgeons etc are added biggrin.gif

Have some cookie.gif

jason922
  • jason922

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#20

Posted 17 February 2009 - 09:07 AM Edited by jason922, 17 February 2009 - 09:12 AM.

QUOTE (voodoo48 @ Feb 15 2009, 09:43)
No, it remains a teleport-tool.

Thanks again for the great tool.

Any chance of making this tool work in vehicles like the teleporting in GTA Control Center by saracoglu ? This is mainly for some main missions and Bruce and Steve's car export jobs.

A hot-key for next & previous would also be great for all the stunt jumps and pidgeons.

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#21

Posted 17 February 2009 - 05:09 PM

QUOTE
1.could you make it that whenever the map window is open that you can still go to the location list and edit a location without closing the map window.

Fixed.

QUOTE
2.when closing the program, it remembers the window positions of the editor and the map window (i like to keep mine like in the screenshot below)

Now you can attach the map window to the main window, and you can make the prog to remember window' positions too.

QUOTE
3.could you add a "show on the map" button below the "Read" button and have it show either all the main category selected or an individually selected location.

Added.


QUOTE
Any chance of making this tool work in vehicles

That would be great, I'll take a look at CC's source code, but don't expect for it in v1.02. Perhaps later.


QUOTE
A hot-key for next & previous would also be great for all the stunt jumps and pidgeons.

Yeah, I think this will be coded into the v1.03


Next version will be released within a (half?) week, with these and other features.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    MI V

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • None

#22

Posted 20 February 2009 - 02:38 AM

thats great news, i look forward to the next release smile.gif

meanwhile, i got all 200 Pigeon locations sorted out, in order of area etc

screenie for you wink.gif

user posted image

jason922
  • jason922

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#23

Posted 20 February 2009 - 03:02 AM

QUOTE (Gforce @ Feb 20 2009, 02:38)
meanwhile, i got all 200 Pigeon locations sorted out, in order of area etc. screenie for you wink.gif

Thanks Gforce icon14.gif

Any chance of a download link?

Gforce
  • Gforce

    MI V

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • None

#24

Posted 20 February 2009 - 08:56 AM

QUOTE (jason922 @ Feb 20 2009, 03:02)
QUOTE (Gforce @ Feb 20 2009, 02:38)
meanwhile, i got all 200 Pigeon locations sorted out, in order of area etc. screenie for you wink.gif

Thanks Gforce icon14.gif

Any chance of a download link?

Nope !!!

only joking tounge.gif

Download here

contains: all safehouses, Pigeons, strip clubs and a few other minor test locations including some food vendors, still got a lot to add to it yet.

look out for Pigeon location 86 lol.gif

@voodoo48: feel free to include this with GTA IV Location Handler if you want to wink.gif

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#25

Posted 20 February 2009 - 10:43 AM

Here is a mirror. smile.gif I'd like to create a multi-category option (category in category), but it seems it will be taking a long time. dozingoff.gif Perhaps in v1.03

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#26

Posted 22 February 2009 - 05:50 PM

I translated the tool in italian, include it in the next version:
http://www.mediafire.com/?g0rdcymgzqe

Btw I noticed a unknown word in the program (all languages):
user posted image
Mègse

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#27

Posted 23 February 2009 - 11:00 PM

Thank you very much, although the newer version will contain a lot of new text. Other details in PM. The bug you shown is fixed. (Mégse = Cancel.)

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#28

Posted 26 February 2009 - 04:12 PM Edited by voodoo48, 26 February 2009 - 04:15 PM.

v1.1 released. Take a look at Change log for the updated things.
Of course development don't stop, I've got plans for the future such as hotkey-system, multiple-categories, and drag-n-drop stuff. The move up/down feature was removed, it was buggy, and the drag n drop way seemed to be a better.
And if an admin see this post: please rename the topic title from WIP to REL. Thanks.

[]D[][]\/[][]D
  • []D[][]\/[][]D

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Feb 2006

#29

Posted 27 February 2009 - 03:27 AM

How do you use this tool?

While I have GTA IV 1.02 open with the Location Handler, nothing happens when I click on Teleport after selecting a point to where to teleport to.

This tool could be so useful especially with Geforce's .loc file, but I just can't seen to get it to work.

I've even tried putting the Location Handler folder in the GTA IV install directory, but still doesn't work for me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. smile.gif

voodoo48
  • voodoo48

    The chosen one...

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#30

Posted 27 February 2009 - 02:50 PM

You should start with the GTA IV first, load a game, and after that launch Loc Handler.
At first, check at Options that GTA IV Location Handler is set to work with GTA IV v1.02, and not 1.01. (Default is 1.02, but who knows...) After that, go to map, click on map (a red X will appear), and then click on 'Read from map'. Now X and Y coordinate will be set. Now the only thing you have to do is to set the distance from water level (Z coordinate), and click on 'Teleport'.
If this doesn't work, try out listener's XLiveLess.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users