Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|GTAIV] XLiveLess

915 replies to this topic
Guixd
  • Guixd

    GTA Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2004

#301

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:57 PM

After I install this mod, can I uninstall GFWL from my pc? That program is just useless..

elian
  • elian

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2006

#302

Posted 16 April 2009 - 02:29 PM

how do i use my old saves ????

heat84
  • heat84

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2005

#303

Posted 16 April 2009 - 10:05 PM Edited by heat84, 16 April 2009 - 10:25 PM.

QUOTE (Guixd @ Apr 15 2009, 12:57)
After I install this mod, can I uninstall GFWL from my pc? That program is just useless..

Why don't you just try it? The worst that can happen is you'll have to reinstall it.

Edit: I just uninstalled it (2 items in Add/Remove Programs) and also RGSC. And the game still works fine. But I have the game open already so the only way to know for sure is to close and reopen the game. Something I noticed when I was uninstalling GFWL. The last used date was 1/27/09, which is probably about the time I started using the xliveless mod. Who knows how accurate that date is though. I didn't notice the last used date for RGSC.

HakuAnime
  • HakuAnime

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2008

#304

Posted 19 April 2009 - 10:30 PM

Does this release also work for the 1.0.3.0 patch?

heat84
  • heat84

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2005

#305

Posted 19 April 2009 - 11:03 PM Edited by heat84, 21 April 2009 - 04:30 PM.

Windows Update surreptitiously rebooted by PC. angry.gif When I went to open the game, it worked with GFWL and RGSC uninstalled. colgate.gif

QUOTE (HakuAnime @ Apr 19 2009, 17:30)
Does this release also work for the 1.0.3.0 patch?

The latest version (.95b) works with the 1.0.3.0 patch.

QUOTE (elian @ Apr 16 2009, 09:29)
how do i use my old saves ????
Read the readme.txt that comes with the xliveless DLL.

Dadiro_01
  • Dadiro_01

    No.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2009

#306

Posted 21 April 2009 - 03:19 PM

I am sick of this! I've been trying to get this game started with XLiveLess, but the game won't start! It's not giving an error message or anything, I got the latest version, 95b, GTA IV version 1.0.3.0...

I use LaunchGTAIV.exe to try to start GTA IV, but all it does is show up for 1.5 second. The window dissapears and nothing happens, just stays at the desktop, GTAIV.exe or LaunchGTAIV.exe won't be even in the process list of task manager.

I tried everything to get this working, but I don't know what to do now, anyone help me, please.

heat84
  • heat84

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2005

#307

Posted 21 April 2009 - 04:27 PM Edited by heat84, 21 April 2009 - 04:39 PM.

So the game starts without Xliveless right? Are you using an ASI loader? It says to remove any if you are. If you're not using any mods than probably not. Are you using a crack to pirate the game? Maybe it interferes with the Xliveless DLL.

Edit: Why don't you use xlive_d.dll and turn on debugging and post the log here. Listener is probably the only person who will understand it though.

Dadiro_01
  • Dadiro_01

    No.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2009

#308

Posted 21 April 2009 - 04:53 PM

QUOTE (heat84 @ Apr 21 2009, 16:27)
So the game starts without  Xliveless right? Are you using an ASI loader? It says to remove any if you are. If you're not using any mods than probably not. Are you using a crack to pirate the game? Maybe it interferes with the Xliveless DLL.

Edit: Why don't you use xlive_d.dll and turn on debugging and post the log here. Listener is probably the only person who will understand it though.

The game did start without XLiveLess, actually when I didn't patch my game, patched to 1.0.3.0 it constantly gave me the WS10 error, that is the problem, When I applied XLiveLess the error WS10 was gone, that doesn't show up anymore, but the game won't start.

Here's the log.
QUOTE
21/04/2009 16:56:15.140 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 16:56:15.140 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 16:56:15.140 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 16:56:15.546 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 16:56:15.593 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 16:56:15.593 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 16:56:27.000 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 16:56:27.000 xlive_52: XNetCleanup
21/04/2009 16:57:27.359 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 16:57:27.359 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 16:57:27.359 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 16:57:27.687 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 16:57:27.687 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:27.687 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:28.484 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 16:57:28.484 xlive_52: XNetCleanup
21/04/2009 16:57:38.921 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 16:57:38.921 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 16:57:38.921 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 16:57:39.234 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 16:57:39.234 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:39.234 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:40.031 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 16:57:40.031 xlive_52: XNetCleanup
21/04/2009 16:57:52.187 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 16:57:52.187 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 16:57:52.187 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 16:57:52.515 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 16:57:52.515 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:52.515 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 16:57:53.343 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 16:57:53.343 xlive_52: XNetCleanup
21/04/2009 16:59:57.562 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 16:59:57.562 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 16:59:57.562 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 16:59:57.875 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 16:59:57.875 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 16:59:57.875 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 16:59:58.781 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 16:59:58.781 xlive_52: XNetCleanup
21/04/2009 17:03:13.625 Log started (xliveless 0.95)
21/04/2009 17:03:13.625 GetModuleHandle returns 00400000
21/04/2009 17:03:13.625 Unknown game version, skipping patches (signature = 0xc25de58b)
21/04/2009 17:03:13.968 xlive_5000: XLiveInitialize
21/04/2009 17:03:13.968 xlive_51: XNetStartup
21/04/2009 17:03:13.968 xlive_1: XWSAStartup
21/04/2009 17:03:22.921 xlive_2: XWSACleanup called
21/04/2009 17:03:22.921 xlive_52: XNetCleanup

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#309

Posted 21 April 2009 - 06:52 PM

Unknown Game Version is the culprit. Maybe 1.0.3.0 is mandatory for the new version?

HaXXeD
  • HaXXeD

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2007

#310

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:29 AM

Where is this file applied for a steam Gta4 install?

c0br4
  • c0br4

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2009

#311

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:54 AM

If I'm using this mod, is it safe to uninstall GFWL & RGSC? Will the game work without them?

Dadiro_01
  • Dadiro_01

    No.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2009

#312

Posted 22 April 2009 - 08:32 AM

Well, does anyone know what's wrong with my XLiveLess?

TheRealPcGamer
  • TheRealPcGamer

    The Master of PC Games

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#313

Posted 22 April 2009 - 10:45 AM

Well, any answer please, listener?

I'm tired must always right-click and then Run as Admin everytime I want to play.

Note: I can't turn off the UAC.

Is there any way I can do or something?

a-k-t-w
  • a-k-t-w

    Wannabe GTA IV Dev

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2008

#314

Posted 22 April 2009 - 11:04 AM

Solution: Downgrade to XP.

Well, not really, but I haven't had any GTA IV issues with XP.

Slave Boy
  • Slave Boy

    Enslaved

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Finland
  • Most Talented GFX Artist 2013

#315

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:51 PM

QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 13:45)
Well, any answer please, listener?

I'm tired must always right-click and then Run as Admin everytime I want to play.

Note: I can't turn off the UAC.

Is there any way I can do or something?

1 time is enough. Right-click, properties, run as admin.

Awwu
  • Awwu

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2006

#316

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:58 PM

QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 12:45)
Well, any answer please, listener?

I'm tired must always right-click and then Run as Admin everytime I want to play.

Note: I can't turn off the UAC.

Is there any way I can do or something?

Can't you just get the norton UAC tool or check the "Run as administrator" box in the properties?

okei
  • okei

    Dressed to kill like I'm Gianni Versace

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2008

#317

Posted 22 April 2009 - 05:09 PM

QUOTE (Awwu @ Apr 22 2009, 15:58)
QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 12:45)
Well, any answer please, listener?

I'm tired must always right-click and then Run as Admin everytime I want to play.

Note: I can't turn off the UAC.

Is there any way I can do or something?

Can't you just get the norton UAC tool or check the "Run as administrator" box in the properties?

Something helpful from Norton? Well I never...

gitrmanuk
  • gitrmanuk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2009

#318

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:08 PM

Hi listener

Love your mod

In fact since this awfull GFWL update it's the only way to still enjoy single player smile.gif

I hope you don't mind but I've incorporated it into a switching script to easily play online multiplayer
after playing single player and visa versa (sp?)

Don't worry I've left your whole folder including readme unchanged and credited you in my readme.

At the moment it's only written to work on a default install on Vista 64 with UAC turned off but if anyone (i.e. listener biggrin.gif )
wants to expand/improve on it here's the link to it:-

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FYBT3BUH

If you object to what I've done please let me know and I'll take it down and just use it for myself.
Thought this might make some people's life easier is all.

smile.gif

Dadiro_01
  • Dadiro_01

    No.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2009

#319

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:12 PM

Isn't anyone going to help me out, is listener still even active on this place?

spinynorman
  • spinynorman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2009

#320

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:18 PM

I've copied xlive.dll into GTAIV folder. I've copied savegames where they should be.

Unfortunately, GTA tells me that there are NO SAVEGAMES present.

Since GFWL made this game unplayable, I would love to use xliveless. But there is no way I'm going to get through all the game from the beginning biggrin.gif

Can somebody help me? Am I doing something wrong?

And one more thing. When I quit game I get the Windows message (Vista Home Premium 32-bit) that GTAIV stopped working and blah blah blah. And then Windows help kicks in and tells me that there was something wrong with Data Execution Prevention. What's wrong?

gitrmanuk
  • gitrmanuk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2009

#321

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:43 PM

QUOTE (spinynorman @ Apr 22 2009, 19:18)
I've copied xlive.dll into GTAIV folder. I've copied savegames where they should be.

Unfortunately, GTA tells me that there are NO SAVEGAMES present.

Since GFWL made this game unplayable, I would love to use xliveless. But there is no way I'm going to get through all the game from the beginning biggrin.gif

Can somebody help me? Am I doing something wrong?

And one more thing. When I quit game I get the Windows message (Vista Home Premium 32-bit) that GTAIV stopped working and blah blah blah. And then Windows help kicks in and tells me that there was something wrong with Data Execution Prevention. What's wrong?

I've rewritten my script for simplyfying installing listener's XLiveLess masterpiece, for Vista 32.

If you want to try it make sure to follow the readme.txt file

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6VHSH5CE

let me know if it works (using Vista64 so no way of testing), thx

ph34r.gif

Awwu
  • Awwu

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2006

#322

Posted 22 April 2009 - 08:04 PM

QUOTE (spinynorman @ Apr 22 2009, 21:18)
I've copied xlive.dll into GTAIV folder. I've copied savegames where they should be.

Unfortunately, GTA tells me that there are NO SAVEGAMES present.

Since GFWL made this game unplayable, I would love to use xliveless. But there is no way I'm going to get through all the game from the beginning biggrin.gif

Can somebody help me? Am I doing something wrong?

And one more thing. When I quit game I get the Windows message (Vista Home Premium 32-bit) that GTAIV stopped working and blah blah blah. And then Windows help kicks in and tells me that there was something wrong with Data Execution Prevention. What's wrong?

I just found out why my save games didn't work either with the xliveless before. You have to move the files inside the folder named "user_*INSERT A SERIES OF LETTERS AND NUMBERS HERE*" to the root savegames folder. If you just copy the savegames folder over, it doesn't recognize the files as it tries to look them in the root of savegames folder, and not in the user_.... folders.

So you should have them like this
CODE
savegames/ControlMap.dat
savegames/SGTA400
...

and not like this
CODE
savegames/user_*ID HERE*/ControlMap.dat
savegames/user_*ID HERE*/SGTA400
...

spinynorman
  • spinynorman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2009

#323

Posted 22 April 2009 - 08:25 PM

QUOTE (Awwu @ Apr 22 2009, 20:04)
I just found out why my save games didn't work either with the xliveless before. You have to move the files inside the folder named "user_*INSERT A SERIES OF LETTERS AND NUMBERS HERE*" to the root savegames folder. If you just copy the savegames folder over, it doesn't recognize the files as it tries to look them in the root of savegames folder, and not in the user_.... folders.

So you should have them like this
CODE
savegames/ControlMap.dat
savegames/SGTA400
...

and not like this
CODE
savegames/user_*ID HERE*/ControlMap.dat
savegames/user_*ID HERE*/SGTA400
...



That's it! Thanks, mate smile.gif Now it's working perfectly smile.gif

slow09
  • slow09

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2009

#324

Posted 23 April 2009 - 10:42 PM

Just installed this and am currently using xliveless.
I am impressed now that i can play the game as i used to without the stuttering, the multiplayer isn't needed for me; now i'll just have to get my settings back to normal as my old hard drive wiped itself out (i believe my new hard drive wiped it; magnetic shield and what not).

Anyway, this works just great! Thanks!

moonlitmagik
  • moonlitmagik

    Roman's Secretary

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009

#325

Posted 24 April 2009 - 02:45 AM

I dont know much about modding and editing dll files and the like but my system does play GTA IV fairly well (only on medium textures) and I have XP sp3. If you would like my assistance, or even just to beta test, let me know. I downloaded the XLive Wrapper to use someone else's save games, and it doesn't prompt me about GFWL when the game starts up (no press home to start GFWL while playing BS) so is it safe to say that the xlive wrapper does the same as xliveless?

max_load
  • max_load

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2009

#326

Posted 24 April 2009 - 01:28 PM

Hi guys. There's plenty of help to say where the save need to go, but nothing to say where they're from. I can't find a savegame folder within GFLW. Where should it be?

however there are savegames already here c:\documents and settings\User\MyDocuments\RockstarGames\GTAIV\savegames

It contains sgta401, sgta412, and Controlmap

Cheers

Max

platomav
  • platomav

    All of us feel very hungry before eating some COOKIES !!

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2008

#327

Posted 24 April 2009 - 03:48 PM

is there any way to disable GTA IV Save Validation only??? Can't someone(for ex LISTENER) make a mod that whould disable GTA IV Save Validation, I really need this... nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif

Cooperdale
  • Cooperdale

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2009

#328

Posted 24 April 2009 - 04:16 PM

I tried to revert from Xliveless back to normal Live use (for multiplayer), but I found out the games I saved with Xliveless don't work with normal Live. I have moved them to the right folder, but the game won't recognize them. They are also a little bit smaller than "normal" save games. Is there any way around this?

TheRealPcGamer
  • TheRealPcGamer

    The Master of PC Games

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008
  • United-States

#329

Posted 24 April 2009 - 04:22 PM

QUOTE (Awwu @ Apr 22 2009, 22:58)
QUOTE (TheRealPcGamer @ Apr 22 2009, 12:45)
Well, any answer please, listener?

I'm tired must always right-click and then Run as Admin everytime I want to play.

Note: I can't turn off the UAC.

Is there any way I can do or something?

Can't you just get the norton UAC tool or check the "Run as administrator" box in the properties?

Well clicking "Continue" everytime I want to play is tiring too tounge.gif

But nevermind, not a big prob smile.gif

platomav
  • platomav

    All of us feel very hungry before eating some COOKIES !!

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2008

#330

Posted 25 April 2009 - 09:08 AM

QUOTE (Cooperdale @ Apr 24 2009, 16:16)
I tried to revert from Xliveless back to normal Live use (for multiplayer), but I found out the games I saved with Xliveless don't work with normal Live. I have moved them to the right folder, but the game won't recognize them. They are also a little bit smaller than "normal" save games. Is there any way around this?

that's excactly what I want too. I want to

1) Copy my xliveless saves from C:\users\-username-\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA IV\savegames to C:\Users\-username-\AppData\Local\Rockstar Games\GTA IV\savegames\user_xxxxxxxxxx and then:

2) Delete xlive.dll from C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto IV hoping that my xliveless saves will work with my online game without the mod - well they didn't because the game has a Save Game Validation Check and I can't do anything else to have my savegames back...

You could make another small-version of xlive.dll(xliveless) that would only remove Save Game Validation Check and maybe some protections that the game have when detecting a mod(drunk camera etc...). Please, can someone help? A lot of people I know would like something like that and as I have seen some users from this site too would be gradefull if someone helps!


Thank you a lot and sorry for my english(not so good)!




8 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 8 guests, 0 anonymous users