Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

General OpenIV Discussion and Announcements

5,517 replies to this topic
jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1771

Posted 06 August 2012 - 03:18 PM

thanks . Chipsman says that bug was fixed , it is not

Chipsman
  • Chipsman

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1772

Posted 06 August 2012 - 08:12 PM

yes, it was fixed, and I said that you need to wait some time for next release, so I don't understand why you've decided that it is not fixed sarcasm.gif

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1773

Posted 07 August 2012 - 12:57 AM

QUOTE (Chipsman @ Monday, Aug 6 2012, 21:12)
yes, it was fixed, and I said that you need to wait some time for next release, so I don't understand why you've decided that it is not fixed sarcasm.gif

i thought the link given by Good-NTS was the new version . nice

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1774

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:00 PM

QUOTE (jpm1 @ Wednesday, Aug 1 2012, 22:20)
a rebuild and opl import/export buttons on toolbar would be nice
The rebuild button is not needed on tool bar because it is not frequently used feature.

QUOTE (jpm1 @ Tuesday, Aug 7 2012, 04:57)
QUOTE (Chipsman @ Monday, Aug 6 2012, 21:12)
yes, it was fixed, and I said that you need to wait some time for next release, so I don't understand why you've decided that it is not fixed sarcasm.gif

i thought the link given by Good-NTS was the new version . nice
No, this link to the current version.
New version will be released only after our site will back online.

Rixike
  • Rixike

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2012

#1775

Posted 07 August 2012 - 11:09 PM

made my game crash when i wanted to replace Engine_resident with Engine_resident.ivaud
idk why it did that tho :[
If any1 has a original Resident.rpf file id be happy to download it tounge.gif

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1776

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:33 AM Edited by jpm1, 08 August 2012 - 02:34 AM.

i use rebuild button almost every time i use open iv personnally . and if i don't , i get frequent and nasty bugs (entire zone disapearing , game that won't start ..) . as i already reported , the rebuild sometimes says there's no need to rebuild but if you don't rebuild you get crashes and that happens frequently . when you rebuild then the game runs perfectly sarcasm.gif

edit ; when you operate modifications on wpl/opl if you don't rebuild afterwards , you have 1 chance over 3 to get a problem . don't know what to say i already reported that problem whatsthat.gif

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1777

Posted 08 August 2012 - 03:27 AM

QUOTE (Rixike @ Wednesday, Aug 8 2012, 03:09)
made my game crash when i wanted to replace Engine_resident with Engine_resident.ivaud
idk why it did that tho :[
When you edit Audio RPF3 archives with OpenIV make sure your audio files not compressed after editing/replacing.
user posted image
This may happens because when you replace file it have extension ".ivaud" but GTA IV Audio file don't have any extension.
So before replacing you need remove this extension. For example: Engine_resident.ivaud > rename it > Engine_resident

QUOTE (jpm1 @ Wednesday, Aug 8 2012, 04:33)
i use rebuild button almost every time i use open iv personnally . and if i don't , i get frequent and nasty bugs (entire zone disapearing , game that won't start ..) . as i already reported , the rebuild sometimes says there's no need to rebuild but if you don't rebuild you get crashes and that happens frequently . when you rebuild then the game runs perfectly sarcasm.gif

edit ; when you operate modifications on wpl/opl if you don't rebuild afterwards , you have 1 chance over 3 to get a problem . don't know what to say i already reported that problem  whatsthat.gif
I have never get any errors if my files is not rebuild-ed even if I add new files into IMG. It is not necessary to rebuild archives every time when you are using OpenIV.

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1778

Posted 08 August 2012 - 04:19 AM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Wednesday, Aug 8 2012, 04:27)
I have never get any errors if my files is not rebuild-ed even if I add new files into IMG. It is not necessary to rebuild archives every time when you are using OpenIV.


man , there's just one thing i (really) don't understand it's when i rebuild i get no errors .. never . when i don't rebuild i get errors frequently smile.gif but well you're probably right it's your program
there's a feature that would be nice . when you replace textures in img files , once you've saved , the modified file doesn't stay highlighted in explorer after the saving . can be really annoying if you're modifying dozen of textures , thanks

kmccmk9
  • kmccmk9

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2007

#1779

Posted 09 August 2012 - 01:14 AM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Tuesday, Aug 7 2012, 18:00)
QUOTE (jpm1 @ Wednesday, Aug 1 2012, 22:20)
a rebuild and opl import/export buttons on toolbar would be nice
The rebuild button is not needed on tool bar because it is not frequently used feature.

QUOTE (jpm1 @ Tuesday, Aug 7 2012, 04:57)
QUOTE (Chipsman @ Monday, Aug 6 2012, 21:12)
yes, it was fixed, and I said that you need to wait some time for next release, so I don't understand why you've decided that it is not fixed sarcasm.gif

i thought the link given by Good-NTS was the new version . nice
No, this link to the current version.
New version will be released only after our site will back online.

Hey, thanks for the new link. I tried out the program and exported the annihilator as otd. However GIMS does not have an import function within 3ds max to import this file. I have odd,and odr.

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1780

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:53 AM

QUOTE (kmccmk9 @ Thursday, Aug 9 2012, 05:14)
Hey, thanks for the new link. I tried out the program and exported the annihilator as otd. However GIMS does not have an import function within 3ds max to import this file. I have odd,and odr.
otd - it is just a list of textures.
The vehicles are in WFT, here is no way to import it in GIMS yet.

kmccmk9
  • kmccmk9

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2007

#1781

Posted 09 August 2012 - 02:45 PM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Thursday, Aug 9 2012, 03:53)
QUOTE (kmccmk9 @ Thursday, Aug 9 2012, 05:14)
Hey, thanks for the new link. I tried out the program and exported the annihilator as otd. However GIMS does not have an import function within 3ds max to import this file. I have odd,and odr.
otd - it is just a list of textures.
The vehicles are in WFT, here is no way to import it in GIMS yet.

So the only way to edit vehicles is by using zmodeler?

Chipsman
  • Chipsman

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1782

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:47 PM

unfortunately yes

kmccmk9
  • kmccmk9

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2007

#1783

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:31 PM

QUOTE (Chipsman @ Thursday, Aug 9 2012, 18:47)
unfortunately yes

Okay thanks. I luckily have that. I was just hoping for some more documentation on what each of the models were for. Most are explanatory but some are for like exhaust points etc. Plus I wanted to know how to define the doors, how they move etc.

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1784

Posted 17 August 2012 - 08:06 PM

bug :

when you open a file with the explorer the placement search does not search in that file but in GTA IV folder whatever you do . in my case i have too folders "GTA IV" and "GTA IV original" (vanilla) . if i use placement search in "GTA IV original" the program will perform the search in GTA IV (modded) folder . see

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1785

Posted 17 August 2012 - 08:44 PM

QUOTE (jpm1 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 00:06)
when you open a file with the explorer the placement search does not search in that file but in GTA IV folder whatever you do . in my case i have too folders "GTA IV" and "GTA IV original" (vanilla) . if i use placement search in "GTA IV original" the program will perform the search in GTA IV (modded) folder . see

The OpenIV's Global & Placement search work only with game dir which is selected in OpenIV options.

Slaya101
  • Slaya101

    Developer

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None

#1786

Posted 18 August 2012 - 05:08 PM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Friday, Aug 17 2012, 20:44)
QUOTE (jpm1 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 00:06)
when you open a file with the explorer the placement search does not search in that file but in GTA IV folder whatever you do . in my case i have too folders "GTA IV" and "GTA IV original" (vanilla) . if i use placement search in "GTA IV original" the program will perform the search in GTA IV (modded) folder . see

The OpenIV's Global & Placement search work only with game dir which is selected in OpenIV options.

Is it possible to export a max payne 3 model just exactly how GTA IV is? if so will it be in one of these upcomming updates? I would love to start modding max payne 3 to GTA IV.

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1787

Posted 19 August 2012 - 03:39 AM

http://openiv.com/ is back on-line on new server. Welcome.


***


QUOTE (Slaya101 @ Saturday, Aug 18 2012, 21:08)
Is it possible to export a max payne 3 model just exactly how GTA IV is? if so will it be in one of these upcomming updates? I would love to start modding max payne 3 to GTA IV.
It is not possible right now, it will be possible later in future.
GTA IV and Max Payne 3 models are different (even if they have same extension. wdr, for example). We need pass a long way before we will able to export/import Max Payne 3 models.

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#1788

Posted 20 August 2012 - 10:07 PM

is going to be any support for the ped paths?
WNV<>ONV (Open Formats)


GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1789

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:16 AM

QUOTE (aacclapd @ Tuesday, Aug 21 2012, 02:07)
is going to be any support for the ped paths?
WNV<>ONV (Open Formats)
Chipsman is working on WNV research for a while. Have some success and some problems. But tomorrow he will going to vacation for two weeks, so any progress will stop on this direction.
Anyway, we will try to create WNV/ONV format when will have all information we need. But I can't promise anything.

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#1790

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:57 AM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Tuesday, Aug 21 2012, 11:16)
QUOTE (aacclapd @ Tuesday, Aug 21 2012, 02:07)
is going to be any support for the ped paths?
WNV<>ONV (Open Formats)
Chipsman is working on WNV research for a while. Have some success and some problems. But tomorrow he will going to vacation for two weeks, so any progress will stop on this direction.
Anyway, we will try to create WNV/ONV format when will have all information we need. But I can't promise anything.

ok, thanks GooD-NTS

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1791

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:21 PM

user posted image

OpenIV needs you support!

Garju67
  • Garju67

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2011

#1792

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:25 PM Edited by Garju67, 22 August 2012 - 05:32 PM.

-nvm-

Frank.s
  • Frank.s

    R.I.P.ingPang

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008
  • None
  • Best Total Overhaul 2016 [Shine o' Vice] [Contribution]

#1793

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:30 PM

Edit: Keep up the good works guys.

GTARandom
  • GTARandom

    Rockin' this place since 2009

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Croatia
  • Best Conversion 2016 [GTA: Underground] [Contribution]
    Best Map 2011 [IVSA]
    Modding Milestone [IVSA/Ped Paths]

#1794

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:57 PM

QUOTE (Frank.s @ Wednesday, Aug 22 2012, 19:30)
Edit: Keep up the good works guys.

Indeed. People seem to forget that without OpenIV, mods like IV:SA, Gostown, Red Dead Desert and all other major mods would never see the light of day! So , you GooDNTS got my full support in advancing the tool further, and same is for 3Doomer!

Sadly, i got no money to financially support it, but i hope you value these words as well

jpm1
  • jpm1

    Vice city citizen

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2005
  • European-Union

#1795

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:35 AM

given a small thing myself . cause i can and it's quite rare sarcasm.gif . i have a nice little Vice city install and i have to say that without Open IV all these modifications would have turned into nightmare . i'm against payware concerning game modding but Open IV is a very powerful tool and very useful . not particularly waiting for more options just enjoy what you're doing guys smile.gif

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#1796

Posted 29 August 2012 - 10:02 AM

are you guys going to support scripted and compressed sound files for edit?
i would like to support open iv but the thing is that i dont have any credit card to do it.
i use open iv daily and nobody could mod anything without open iv

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1797

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:10 PM

QUOTE (aacclapd @ Wednesday, Aug 29 2012, 14:02)
are you guys going to support scripted and compressed sound files for edit?

We will not implement any audio editing for GTA IV in OpenIV.

aacclapd
  • aacclapd

    Map Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2012

#1798

Posted 30 August 2012 - 12:04 PM Edited by aacclapd, 30 August 2012 - 01:33 PM.

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Wednesday @ Aug 29 2012, 14:10)
We will not implement any audio editing for GTA IV in OpenIV.

ok, so who i going to do it?
vilavek is the only person that made ivaud editor and it said years ago that it would be the 1.2 version, that will make you able to edit compessed and scripted audio in gta iv.

lpgunit
  • lpgunit

    It's L, as in Lpgunit, not I.

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 24 May 2008
  • Philippines

#1799

Posted 30 August 2012 - 12:59 PM

QUOTE (GooD-NTS @ Wednesday, Aug 29 2012, 13:10)
QUOTE (aacclapd @ Wednesday, Aug 29 2012, 14:02)
are you guys going to support scripted and compressed sound files for edit?

We will not implement any audio editing for GTA IV in OpenIV.

Copyright issues, I presume? The only other method that I could notice from the VC and SA total conversions were the use of injected audio rather than overwrite the original RPF files, if I'm not mistaken.

GooD-NTS
  • GooD-NTS

    OpenIV Lives

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2008
  • Russia
  • Best Tool 2016 [OpenIV]
    Best Tool 2012 [OpenIV]
    Major Contribution Award [Mods]

#1800

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:43 PM

aacclapd, lpgunit, no. The main problem in audio files, they are not a simple file and have complicated structure. We even don't know purpose of some data in files. Also audio compressing is not an easy thing. So we decide to not implement audio editing in GTA IV. We just don't have time and resources to do this thing properly. Even if we stat it will take a long time, some months for example. In some future we will try to implement editing of new .awc files which uses in Max Payne 3 & GTA V.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users