Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV Snow Mod

1,083 replies to this topic
jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:47 PM

Hi, i'm working on a snowmod for GTA IV. But I'm only making mods since the start of GTA IV, i've never modded before, so i'm a real amateur wink.gif I already made some small mods, like the Bus Mod, or the Realism Mod, but no real big things. The Snow Mod for IV is my first real big one!

I always wanted to make a dynamic snow mod, so that you really see like 10cm of snow, and when you drive in it that you can see the tracks of cars, and that you really feel that there is a track when you're driving in it!

But because i'm not a pro i'm only making a "texture-snowmod" so everything will be covered in snow, and the handling will be edited as well. If anyone has tips to help me with a "dynamic snowmod" please tell them here wink.gif I'm from Belgium, so if anyone speaks dutch, that would be much easier for me to understand everything!

Here is already a screen of edited textures. Once there is a tool that allows you to import texture files into GTA IV I will test it and post more screens!

user posted image


user posted image


Click here to download the working Snow Mod Archive! This includes v1.0 and v1.1!! Enjoy!


[/URL]
Greetz,

jumbo0

adijaga2
  • adijaga2

    The Hitman.

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008

#2

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:49 PM

Looks good colgate.gif

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#3

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:29 PM

Nice texture, when we'll be able to replace them, I hope you realize your mod. icon14.gif

Floro Solo
  • Floro Solo

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2008

#4

Posted 22 December 2008 - 07:52 PM

I speak dutch and would be glad to help you. I don't have GTA IV for pc though.

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#5

Posted 23 December 2008 - 01:26 PM

Current progress:

user posted image


jumbo0

SLAYERMAGGOT
  • SLAYERMAGGOT

    Stay Wild

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2008

#6

Posted 23 December 2008 - 01:36 PM

If you do some special handling for cars, that they drift around and don't have grip on the streets it gives more fun to the mod.
Btw great progress icon14.gif
I will use this mod for sure when it's out

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005

#7

Posted 23 December 2008 - 02:57 PM

Imo that looks too much snow, you should add some details like maybe the snow-truck (Don't know the exact word... truck that removes snow from roads) tyre marks on the road or something.

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 23 December 2008 - 04:52 PM

Ofcourse the handling will be editited to snow conditions! wink.gif

Other cars like snow trucks or stuff like that are a bit to difficult i'm afraid wink.gif I'm just an amateur, so I don't think i can realise that... Maybe if some good tools will come out! wink.gif



Tooth
  • Tooth

    Do we know each other?

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2008

#9

Posted 23 December 2008 - 08:40 PM

I think about size of this mod - 2gb or more?

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 24 December 2008 - 12:02 AM

QUOTE
I think about size of this mod - 2gb or more?


wow.gif ofcourse not! I can't tell it right now cause I don't know to what it will turn out, but size of textures only is about 100MB, so with some extra features I quess the complete mod will be about... 200MB? ph34r.gif

Don't worry, like I said I'm an amateur! wink.gif I'm not that good, so don't expect too much! wink.gif


jumbo0

OverTheBelow
  • OverTheBelow

    OTB "Oaty-Bee"

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2008

#11

Posted 24 December 2008 - 12:59 AM

Ingame images?

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#12

Posted 24 December 2008 - 10:18 AM

There's still no tool to import textures, so can't test it right now, and also can't make some screens.

Once it's possible, screens will be posted on this topic!

amisnaru
  • amisnaru

    Non-flying Finn

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2007

#13

Posted 25 December 2008 - 09:15 AM Edited by amisnaru, 25 December 2008 - 10:22 AM.

How do you know that you've completed Alderney and Dukes/Broker then?
Can you see where the textures belong from the filesnames or something?

By the way, remember to not put snow on walls! ;D
or if you do, just the bottom of the wall like in real life.

Oh and I'm very excited about this, I'm from the north after all.

Reins.NL
  • Reins.NL

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 25 December 2008 - 02:58 PM

Ho Ho Ho

Hier is een Nederlander die graag wil helpen.
Heb er niet veel verstand van maar wil heel graag leren.


jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 25 December 2008 - 06:37 PM

@ amisnaru:

Indeed, the texture files are separated in countries wink.gif So I know exactly wich country is done. And ofcourse walls are not painted! biggrin.gif

@Reins.nl

Ja dat is het hem net he, ik moet ook nog veel leren! biggrin.gif

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#16

Posted 26 December 2008 - 10:37 AM

Here is a fictive screen of the snowmod. I pasted with photoshop some textures to eachother, just to have an idea how it might look... So that a junction like this don't exist in GTA IV, I know! Just a fictive screen wink.gif

Something I like to know from you! What with the yellow lines? If I paint them also in snow, it will be more realistic, but so empty... And if I let them yellow it might be unrealistic... What you think?

(This is a fictive screen of bÍta 1; so some details can change in the official V1.0)

Screen:

user posted image
user posted image


jumbo0

markiij
  • markiij

    Anywhere City, 3 weeks in the future

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006
  • None

#17

Posted 26 December 2008 - 02:51 PM

how did you make this? Did you use the replace color tool?

GTAdedan
  • GTAdedan

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006

#18

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:04 PM

It looks pretty nice and realistic, some tire tracks should be added though.
Ga zo door! icon14.gif

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#19

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:36 PM

No, just copied textures and pasted them 5 times wink.gif

Wheel tracks will be added in beta 2! But first need to test beta 1 when finally a program will come out to import textures tounge.gif

Vasilyrud
  • Vasilyrud

    Retired Comrade

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008

#20

Posted 26 December 2008 - 04:30 PM

Add tire tracks. Also, while driving (or walking), it would be nice to here a sound of tires (or feet) on the snow.....well, hard to explain.


Great Idea BTW!!!!

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#21

Posted 26 December 2008 - 04:33 PM

Try getting it in IV now, using SparkIV, SparkIV can save .rpf's now

the hubster
  • the hubster

    Sup Homies

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2005

#22

Posted 26 December 2008 - 04:39 PM

Rockstar coded dynamic snow for GTA IV but it was left out the final game, if your lucky they might have left the code in for it and you would just have to find a way to activate it, however i did quite a bit of reverse engineering trying to acomplish this and did not get anywhere other than crashes and errors.

Graphix14
  • Graphix14

    New York

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2007

#23

Posted 26 December 2008 - 04:42 PM

Off to a good start. Looks fantastic.

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#24

Posted 26 December 2008 - 05:02 PM

QUOTE
Try getting it in IV now, using SparkIV, SparkIV can save .rpf's now


But how I do this then? I got all my texture files out of the gtxd.img file... Explane me step by step plz! colgate.gif

QUOTE
Rockstar coded dynamic snow for GTA IV but it was left out the final game, if your lucky they might have left the code in for it and you would just have to find a way to activate it, however i did quite a bit of reverse engineering trying to acomplish this and did not get anywhere other than crashes and errors.


Right! In some files I saw the word "snow". Just under "Sand" I gave them the same values as Sand, but no effect. Does anyone know why R* left snow out?


jumbo0

Gta Guy 108
  • Gta Guy 108

    Hoist the Colours!

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2007

#25

Posted 26 December 2008 - 05:56 PM

This is sounding familiar, wasn't there a huge snow mod for GTA 3 about 4 months after it came out? I hope this will be finished and I can figure out a way to make GTA IV working.

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#26

Posted 26 December 2008 - 07:54 PM

Hmmm, I think I found a way to maybe make it possible.. But when importing files with "Resoursaur" it always give that annoying error "The segment size must be a multiply of 4096 bytes" ! suicidal.gif

Can someone tell me how i fix that? sad.gif

Maybe Aru?


jumbo0

amisnaru
  • amisnaru

    Non-flying Finn

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2007

#27

Posted 26 December 2008 - 08:35 PM Edited by amisnaru, 26 December 2008 - 08:39 PM.

In my opinion cover the yellow lines with snow completely, more realistic and better looking in my eyes.

If it becomes too "plain white" after that, you can add more/bigger details on the snow like... spots where the snow has melted and tarmac is showing, dirt, trash, "smoke marks" from cars, etc.
Doesn't matter if they repeat if they're well made turn.gif

Rich246
  • Rich246

    A Custom What?

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2008

#28

Posted 26 December 2008 - 08:39 PM

This is looking amazing, this will be so cool.... I saw in a thread here somewhere that there was snow particles like rain....

This mod is a break thru... Can't wait for it to come out...

jumbo0
  • jumbo0

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 31 December 2008 - 12:19 PM

Here are some first ingame-screenshots... Open IV doesn't show all textures it should show, that's why some textures are missing in the game... But those screens come from BÍta 1, so everything you see is about to be improved..

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image


jumbo0

cold fusion 33
  • cold fusion 33

    Slamman's distant relative

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2006

#30

Posted 31 December 2008 - 12:33 PM

Wow man, that is awesome smile.gif. It looks stunning smile.gif. I can't wait until this is released smile.gif.
Keep up the great work,
CF33 icon14.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users