Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Ultimate Graphics Tweak

1,095 replies to this topic
nico_bellic
  • nico_bellic

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2008

#151

Posted 20 January 2009 - 04:43 PM

Thx for your your shadow tweak biggrin.gif I'll try it later. And why don't you post this shadow tweak too in first page. Maybe there are still people who don't like motion blur but like your shadow tweak tounge.gif

bartekxyz
  • bartekxyz

    ▲▼▲▼▲▼▲

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#152

Posted 20 January 2009 - 04:55 PM

QUOTE (nico_bellic @ Jan 20 2009, 18:43)
Thx for your your shadow tweak biggrin.gif I'll try it later. And why don't you post this shadow tweak too in first page. Maybe there are still people who don't like motion blur but like your shadow tweak tounge.gif

I will consider it.

RSANtilles
  • RSANtilles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2008

#153

Posted 20 January 2009 - 05:28 PM Edited by RSANtilles, 20 January 2009 - 05:31 PM.

Tried it, loved it, many thanks. Hated the regular fuzzy blur but this works perfect, very Crysis-y! smile.gif

My only gripe was that some walls/objects vanished when I was in an interior mission rescuing Roman but when I pressed 'P' they returned, slightly sad not on a beautiful tweak but Im still sticking with it especially on the road.

diom
  • diom

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2009

#154

Posted 20 January 2009 - 05:55 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Jan 20 2009, 17:07)

Really ? Its interesting, im using the 3500 farclp (maximum view distance) tweak and i think it wasnt modified by this blur / shadows tweak.



im using farclip on 1000..

look on the screens >>

FarClip 1000 & original blur
user posted image

FarClip 1000 & tweaked blur
user posted image


thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#155

Posted 20 January 2009 - 05:59 PM

QUOTE (diom @ Jan 20 2009, 17:55)
im using farclip on 1000..


lol , but looks much better with the tweaked blur eh colgate.gif

diom
  • diom

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2009

#156

Posted 20 January 2009 - 06:00 PM

QUOTE (thales100 @ Jan 20 2009, 18:59)
QUOTE (diom @ Jan 20 2009, 17:55)
im using farclip on 1000..


lol , but looks much better with the tweaked blur eh colgate.gif

but works slower..

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#157

Posted 20 January 2009 - 06:02 PM

QUOTE (diom @ Jan 20 2009, 18:00)
but works slower..

Ah ok, you want to increase your FPS. wink.gif

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#158

Posted 20 January 2009 - 06:15 PM

QUOTE (RSANtilles @ Jan 20 2009, 17:28)
Im still sticking with it especially on the road.

Yes i usually play with the blur effect disabled, i press the P just sometimes when like in the Infernus or Turismo i.e. . colgate.gif

Alvaerus2008
  • Alvaerus2008

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jul 2008

#159

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:12 PM

Hello (excuse my question) what must I do to change the farclip to 1000?

(Im using this tweak by the way, is just great, maybe Im wrong but sometimes it looks like using SSAO)


diom
  • diom

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2009

#160

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:41 PM

QUOTE (Alvaerus2008 @ Jan 20 2009, 21:12)
Hello (excuse my question) what must I do to change the farclip to 1000?

(Im using this tweak by the way, is just great, maybe Im wrong but sometimes it looks like using SSAO)


for timecyc.dat / farclip tweak look here >> http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=391989

..theres all you need to know about

if you want your farclip exactly on 1000..just PM and i will send you my version of timecyc.dat, but you can try another setups


RadioActiveLobster
  • RadioActiveLobster

    PC Master Race

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2007
  • United-States

#161

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:42 PM

QUOTE (bartekxyz @ Jan 20 2009, 05:11)
QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 20 2009, 05:47)
Object based motion blur is a DirectX 10 based tech IIRC, so the purely DX9 Rage engine couldn't use it. You can't use it in DX9 Crysis.

But in GTA IV when you stand on the street everything is sharp but moving cars are blurred a little bit...I'm confused now...maybe that's because I still use dx9 and had no chance to see how things look in dx10. BTW thanks for the info

Assuming my understanding of the tech is correct, the subtle blurring your seeing isn't true Object Base motion blurring.

From what I recall reading (in particular to Crysis since it was the first big DX10 game) that the Object Base motion blurring is only possible in DX10

bartekxyz
  • bartekxyz

    ▲▼▲▼▲▼▲

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2008

#162

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:49 PM

QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 20 2009, 22:42)
QUOTE (bartekxyz @ Jan 20 2009, 05:11)
QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 20 2009, 05:47)
Object based motion blur is a DirectX 10 based tech IIRC, so the purely DX9 Rage engine couldn't use it. You can't use it in DX9 Crysis.

But in GTA IV when you stand on the street everything is sharp but moving cars are blurred a little bit...I'm confused now...maybe that's because I still use dx9 and had no chance to see how things look in dx10. BTW thanks for the info

Assuming my understanding of the tech is correct, the subtle blurring your seeing isn't true Object Base motion blurring.

From what I recall reading (in particular to Crysis since it was the first big DX10 game) that the Object Base motion blurring is only possible in DX10

I heard that object motion blur is also possible in dx9 but its quality is worse than in dx10. Anyway, GTA IV uses dx9 and casual full scene motion blur and lets stay in this point

Gfunk
  • Gfunk

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2008

#163

Posted 20 January 2009 - 09:20 PM

Thanks biggrin.gif it did help make my game smoother and i was able to turn the graphics up a little higher with it on.

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#164

Posted 20 January 2009 - 11:18 PM Edited by thales100, 20 January 2009 - 11:35 PM.

QUOTE (Warlord. @ Jan 20 2009, 10:05)
Are you using the tweak Thales? Mind posting some before and after pics? I'd love to see some of your pics because you run at the best settings.

Here they are, running fast the Turismo , first screenshot blur is disabled of course, on the second im using the default blur and the three others using the tweaked blur effect (look at the edges on the car, sharper as bartekxyz posted) - click on the pics to enlarge 1680 x 1050. colgate.gif

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

Alvaerus2008
  • Alvaerus2008

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jul 2008

#165

Posted 20 January 2009 - 11:24 PM

ohh man!!, it looks so f*cking beautiful!!! I wish i had a gpu like yours to play in that resolution man...(snif!!) cryani.gif

pokemon4ever
  • pokemon4ever

    Bustre

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2008
  • Bhutan

#166

Posted 20 January 2009 - 11:36 PM

holy sh*t, those pics are amazing mercie_blink.gif
I wish had a couple grand lying around

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#167

Posted 21 January 2009 - 12:49 AM

QUOTE (Alvaerus2008 @ Jan 20 2009, 23:24)
ohh man!!, it looks so f*cking beautiful!!!

Yes looks good , the motion blur (not "static" blur) is great too. colgate.gif

EXTACY
  • EXTACY

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2009

#168

Posted 21 January 2009 - 01:58 AM

QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 20 2009, 20:42)
QUOTE (bartekxyz @ Jan 20 2009, 05:11)
QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 20 2009, 05:47)
Object based motion blur is a DirectX 10 based tech IIRC, so the purely DX9 Rage engine couldn't use it. You can't use it in DX9 Crysis.

But in GTA IV when you stand on the street everything is sharp but moving cars are blurred a little bit...I'm confused now...maybe that's because I still use dx9 and had no chance to see how things look in dx10. BTW thanks for the info

Assuming my understanding of the tech is correct, the subtle blurring your seeing isn't true Object Base motion blurring.

From what I recall reading (in particular to Crysis since it was the first big DX10 game) that the Object Base motion blurring is only possible in DX10

No, Object Blur CAN be done in Dx9 but with lower quality, you can see them running on Lost Planet game.

slivski
  • slivski

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2009

#169

Posted 21 January 2009 - 02:03 AM

Thanks, been waiting for this :-)

ArecBalrin
  • ArecBalrin

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#170

Posted 21 January 2009 - 02:12 AM

Crysis DX9 can be tweaked to have Object motion blur and there isn't a change in 'quality' as such, it's just that deferred lighting in DX10 can eliminate parts of the blur inconsistent with the scene. This can be observed in Company of Heroes DX10 as the deferred effect is added to the shadows to make them softer and mist effects are given realistic volume. Normally when a mist sprite touches geometry or another object, you can see the straight-line seam where it's clipping but DX10 allows allows the full sprite to still be seen, whilst changing the colour of parts of it to blend in with their background.

Motion blur in DX10 basically has a transparency added to the blur, selectively. Nearly every DX10 game uses this in some way, but it's very resource hungry. I've yet to see a developer use DX10 solely for the purpose of improving performance rather than adding barely noticeable effects, so we still don't know if it actually does improve performance.

Team Fortress 2 has Scene motion blur whilst Left 4 Dead has Object motion blur as an example of good direct compairsons. They are barely noticeable unless things are moving fast though.

RadioActiveLobster
  • RadioActiveLobster

    PC Master Race

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2007
  • United-States

#171

Posted 21 January 2009 - 02:13 AM

Not sure if this is caused by your mod (or another I have installed) but this is interesting none the less


it only happens at certain times of day and in certain places.

http://screenshot.xf...e793c1dc9e7.png

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#172

Posted 21 January 2009 - 04:24 AM

QUOTE (FFxSTALKERx @ Jan 21 2009, 02:13)
Not sure if this is caused by your mod (or another I have installed) but this is interesting none the less



lol yeah , interesting and something else colgate.gif

shutrCZ
  • shutrCZ

    Player

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#173

Posted 21 January 2009 - 05:10 AM

Its possible disable bloom and use only motion blur?

badguy
  • badguy

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2008

#174

Posted 21 January 2009 - 06:10 AM

Cant download the file. Says it is set to private

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#175

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:49 AM

QUOTE (shutrCZ @ Jan 21 2009, 05:10)
Its possible disable bloom and use only motion blur?

This tweak disables static blur, itll keep active only motion blur, and improve a bit its quality, plus will make shadows smoother too. colgate.gif

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#176

Posted 21 January 2009 - 10:18 AM

After a couple of hours playing with this tweak I realized that the grainy sh*t is still there, it's only blurred to make it smoother. But that's good enough since the shadows can't be fully disabled. smile.gif

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#177

Posted 21 January 2009 - 10:24 AM

QUOTE (One-time @ Jan 21 2009, 10:18)
After a couple of hours playing with this tweak I realized that the grainy sh*t is still there, it's only blurred to make it smoother. But that's good enough since the shadows can't be fully disabled. smile.gif

Yeah, if this guy, using a tweak, could make the GTA 4 shadows look like the ones from STALKER Clear Sky, he should change his nickname to GOD . colgate.gif

bukkit
  • bukkit

    'crying pussies' hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#178

Posted 21 January 2009 - 10:41 AM

QUOTE (shutrCZ @ Jan 21 2009, 05:10)
Its possible disable bloom and use only motion blur?


open visualsetting.dat , find there theese 3 lines and set there theese zero parameters
and tradaa the bloom is off. snad ti to pomoze
CODE
misc.BloomIntensityClamp.HD 0  
misc.BloomIntensityClamp.SD 0.00  
misc.BloomIntensityClamp.SD.ps3 0.00

buzbegone
  • buzbegone

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2007

#179

Posted 21 January 2009 - 12:04 PM

I replaced my files with everything what was neede and yet, no motion blur
What?

thales100
  • thales100

    TripleHeader

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#180

Posted 21 January 2009 - 12:14 PM

QUOTE (buzbegone @ Jan 21 2009, 12:04)
I replaced my files with everything what was neede and yet, no motion blur
What?

Have you pressed P ?




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users