Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Independence FM won't work

8 replies to this topic
Scrangle
  • Scrangle

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#1

Posted 18 December 2008 - 11:34 PM

So i've put my mp3's into documents/user/my documents/rockstar games/gta iv/user music/ and done a full scan in game. The scan seems to progress as normall counting and going through all songs. When i enter a vehicle and turn on independence fm all i get is a noise which sounds as if the files are playing but i haven't got an audio codec or something, and then stops. After that it's dead. Have anyone encountered this problem and know how to solve it?

Regards Johan

SkapeGote
  • SkapeGote

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2008

#2

Posted 18 December 2008 - 11:40 PM

Sup,

Are they DRM free?. They say you cannot use some that have a copyright. Some of my Itunes ones won't work.

Skape

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Awaiting Authorization
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#3

Posted 18 December 2008 - 11:40 PM

First off all check your players in operating system and actually see if you have latest codecs, search for updates.

How do the mp3's play in media player?

Also what bit rate are they? Shouldn't matter too much but very high might cause something. Have you updated you sound card drivers?

Defrag game folder (check my tweak thread link in sig) and also maybe use shortcuts to mp3's in a different place on the hard disk ... give that a try. Post your specs (soundcard too). It it patched?

General off the top of my head replies im afraid.

^^^^^^^^^ and what he said icon14.gif

Scrangle
  • Scrangle

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#4

Posted 19 December 2008 - 12:27 AM Edited by Scrangle, 19 December 2008 - 12:57 AM.

Well i probably dont have the latest codecs but im clueless as to where to get audio codecs though.

Mp3's play well in winamp and wmp for example. Mixed bitrate but mostly standard 192/256.

Im going to try and see if there's newer drivers for my audio card then.

Anyone know if there's any additional player required, like quicktime or something?

EDIT: Okay. New drivers didn't make any difference..

nicke939
  • nicke939

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2009

#5

Posted 01 January 2009 - 01:28 PM

I had exactly the same problem but i just found how to fix it. It is very easy just:
*Open up Windows Media Player (should be a shortcut in the start menu)
*Find a mp3 file and drop it in the player
*A window will pop up about installing "Fyrenhofs Mpeg-3 Layer filter"(or something like that)
*Press install
After this you should be able to play the mp3 in Windows Media Player.
And then Independence FM should work. biggrin.gif

PacMaan
  • PacMaan

    LIES

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#6

Posted 01 January 2009 - 01:31 PM

QUOTE (nicke939 @ Jan 1 2009, 13:28)
*A window will pop up about installing "Fyrenhofs Mpeg-3 Layer filter"(or something like that)

Fraunhofer biggrin.gif

nicke939
  • nicke939

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2009

#7

Posted 01 January 2009 - 08:00 PM

I knew it sounded German(ish) biggrin.gif

Fumples
  • Fumples

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2009

#8

Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:58 PM

Downloading this. Looks f*cking awesome.

xXGraemeXx
  • xXGraemeXx

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 02 January 2009 - 01:55 AM

did this work for u cos im having the same problem...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users