Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Possible fix for USB gamepad problem

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
87 replies to this topic
kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#31

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:09 AM

i can only find axes folder in hkey_users

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#32

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:14 AM

Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SYSTEM, open ControlSet001, then Control, media properties, private properties, joystick, OEM

Follow that line step by step, once you get to that point there should be a whole list of VID folders. You might have to click on each folder and check the attributes for the controller's name, check each one till you find the one that is your contoller name...it should have a + beside it to expand it and show the axes, button and force feed back folders. Then follow the rest of the directions and you should be good to go. Sorry if it's still hard to understand...I'm not that good at explaining things in text lol would be alot easier to explain it to you on voice comms.

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#33

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:18 AM Edited by kingofpain, 14 December 2008 - 12:21 AM.

thing is none of the VID folders after OEM have a + to expand they are all single folders

still i appreciate you trying to help

info that might help... im on vista 64bit using ps2 pads with a generic ps2 pad coonverter, and or xfx wireless control pad. none of which needed/have drivers

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#34

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:21 AM Edited by DeathJester, 14 December 2008 - 12:24 AM.

Are you using Vista or XP? I use XP and Vista might be different I'm not sure. Also what game pad do you have? I'll try to help as much as I can.

Edit: I see you are on vista 64 now lol, um you might want to check in the 32 bit node of the registry if it's possible. I'll look into it more right now.

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#35

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:24 AM Edited by kingofpain, 14 December 2008 - 12:33 AM.

i can post screenshots if you think that might help, and if so of what strings?

i tried running regedt32 but it shows the same as regedit

changing the names to logitech worked fine its only the axes now and i may actually get to play for once

monkii
  • monkii

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#36

Posted 14 December 2008 - 01:17 AM

well, i look at my axes in registry, but they're different than yours, so mine still have problems.. comparing to not being able to use the pad previously though, i can cope it with using the mouse to change my view confused.gif

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#37

Posted 14 December 2008 - 01:31 AM

I you're in Vista check here:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM

hope it helps, That should be where your controller is found in Vista.

Canes21
  • Canes21

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2008

#38

Posted 14 December 2008 - 01:41 AM

I will try this later. But has anyone tried a Logitech G25? If so, does feedback or rumble work? And can you remap the controls?

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#39

Posted 14 December 2008 - 02:02 AM

QUOTE (Canes21 @ Dec 14 2008, 01:41)
I will try this later. But has anyone tried a Logitech G25? If so, does feedback or rumble work? And can you remap the controls?

I haven't been able to get rumble to work or remap the controls yet, it's confusing to me.


Please sticky this.

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#40

Posted 14 December 2008 - 02:16 AM

http://img368.images...62254663bg0.jpg
2 and 5 are exactly the same

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#41

Posted 14 December 2008 - 02:40 AM

QUOTE (kingofpain @ Dec 14 2008, 02:16)
http://img368.images...62254663bg0.jpg
2 and 5 are exactly the same

Not sure if this will help but this is where mine was located (Vista64)..

user posted image

monkii
  • monkii

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#42

Posted 14 December 2008 - 02:50 AM

mine is the same as kingofpain's.. I'm using xp sp3 by the way

fluidz
  • fluidz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#43

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:29 AM Edited by fluidz, 14 December 2008 - 09:33 AM.

At the possible right analogue fix..

You said that it may affect other games.

All my other games work perfect as if im using a 360 pad.

Gta 4 also worked fine with my saitek and the .dll fix until i installed the latest patch which led me to rename my gamepad to a logitech dual action (to stop involuntary movement in game). But like most of us the analogue x and y has flipped back to how it was originally before the .dll fix.

So if i apply the reg tweak, will this reverse the axis for all my other games?? I mean theyre working great right now, only gta 4 is the problem.

Has anybody tried other games after using this tweak, if so any success in both gta 4 and all other 360 pad compatible games working fine?

DaMan073
  • DaMan073

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#44

Posted 14 December 2008 - 10:54 AM

I have done the above and the controller is working, but I still have the spinning camera

Please help.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#45

Posted 14 December 2008 - 11:40 AM

QUOTE (DaMan073 @ Dec 14 2008, 10:54)
I have done the above and the controller is working, but I still have the spinning camera

Please help.

I know its a hasstle but can you type or get a screenie of the exact key you edited ?


The reason I ask is because sometimes it's in a different location, mine has been in two different locations so far.

DaMan073
  • DaMan073

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#46

Posted 14 December 2008 - 11:52 AM

Result, Now fixed. Apparently if you have a thrustmaster (yes I know its ancient) this fix will only work if you put the gamepad into PS2 mode.


Thanks for all the help guys.

DaMan

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#47

Posted 14 December 2008 - 11:59 AM

QUOTE (camdean @ Dec 14 2008, 02:40)
QUOTE (kingofpain @ Dec 14 2008, 02:16)
http://img368.images...62254663bg0.jpg
2 and 5 are exactly the same

Not sure if this will help but this is where mine was located (Vista64)..

user posted image

thats exactly where i was however there are no attributes to change as you can see, any suggestions?

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#48

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:10 PM

Sorry Kingpin I'm clueless at this stuff confused.gif

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#49

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:51 PM

thats fine it shouldnt really be you or anyone helping me other than r*/ms tbh but we are the last people they are going to listen to

rad_
  • rad_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#50

Posted 14 December 2008 - 03:20 PM Edited by rad_, 14 December 2008 - 03:43 PM.

I use a "3in1 Conversion Box" from Bigben interactive to connect my PS1 Analog Pad wit the PC. As descriped I rename it.

But the right analog stick not working properly, right/left becomes up/down. I cant find "Axes" under
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM\VID_0F30&PID_010A

If you have the same problem add it manually to perform an axis override, works for me:

- unplug your Gamepad
- right click on your "VID-PID code"- folder, create a new key called "Axes"
- right click on the "Axes" folder, create a key called "2"
- inside "2" create a binary value named "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 35 00 "
- after that cerate in "Axes" a second key: "5", create a binary value called "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 32 00 "
- restart you maschine and connect the pad.

under control panel/calibration you can take notice of the change.

see also:
hxxp://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms789852.aspx
hxxp://www.usb.org/developers/devclass_docs/Hut1_12.pdf (page 26)

GTAander
  • GTAander

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#51

Posted 14 December 2008 - 04:22 PM Edited by GTAander, 14 December 2008 - 04:25 PM.

Look / Spin / Stuck Key issue:
Title Update 12/12/08

With the latest Title Update, some users are experiencing a Look/Spin/Stuck Key issue that interferes with user input. The temporary fix, described below, will restore Keyboard/Mouse and XInput (360) controller functionality. Support for DirectInput devices is currently limited. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.

To fix the issue:

A1) Unplug any DirectInput controllers (gamepads, joysticks etc..)
A2) Reboot your computer
A3) Launch GTA IV

If the issue persists, the following instructions are provided as a guide to assist you in deleting the conflicting DirectInput drivers:

B1) Exit game
B2) Go to Start->Control Panel->System->Hardware Tab->Device Manager->Human Interface Devices
B3) Locate drivers for devices
B4) Delete drivers for devices
B5) Launch GTA IV


**Some users are able to reinstall the drivers for their DirectInput devices, with the device attached, and have found that it will work in game. If you do attempt to reinstall your device and the problem resurfaces, please follow steps B1-B5 again.


Does anyone else find this useless fix confusing? In part A1 to A3- they are essentially saying "To fix the problem, don't use your joypad"?

and B1 to B5...
if you delete your driver for the joypad while its plugged (which it has to be to see it in "Device Manager->Human Interface Devices") it wont work in any game, it wont even show up in game controllers anymore....

how is this a fix?

Also, why is this the only official post I have seen since this "patch" was released? The only reason I knew a patch was released was because the thread discussing it got to three pages long without being locked....maybe they are embarrassed about it....

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#52

Posted 14 December 2008 - 06:16 PM

QUOTE (rad_ @ Dec 14 2008, 15:20)
I use a "3in1 Conversion Box" from Bigben interactive to connect my PS1 Analog Pad wit the PC. As descriped I rename it.

But the right analog stick not working properly, right/left becomes up/down. I cant find "Axes" under
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM\VID_0F30&PID_010A

If you have the same problem add it manually to perform an axis override, works for me:

- unplug your Gamepad
- right click on your "VID-PID code"- folder, create a new key called "Axes"
- right click on the "Axes" folder, create a key called "2"
- inside "2" create a binary value named "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 35 00 "
- after that cerate in "Axes" a second key: "5", create a binary value called "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 32 00 "
- restart you maschine and connect the pad.

under control panel/calibration you can take notice of the change.

see also:
hxxp://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms789852.aspx
hxxp://www.usb.org/developers/devclass_docs/Hut1_12.pdf (page 26)

thank you Rad i will try that right now and report back

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#53

Posted 14 December 2008 - 07:05 PM

Yes it works! finally, i cant believe how many hoops we have to jump through to play this game and i still get missing textures but il put up with it, see you untill the next patch eh?

many thanks to monkii deathjester and rad_ thanks for doing r*'s job, they should hire you 3 and fire whatever retards they have working for them now

this should also be a sticky as it fixes controller support 'again'

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#54

Posted 14 December 2008 - 07:26 PM

Nice to see you got it working kingofpain, hope it helps others too...and nice find Rad_ I wasn't sure if manually entering the new strings would work. Good work to everyone helping out on this forum, hell knows we aren't getting much from R*....very dissappointing.

sideways
  • sideways

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#55

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:41 PM

QUOTE (DeathJester @ Dec 13 2008, 19:11)
Here is a solution to the axis being backwards on the right analog stick, I had the same problem in another game and found this solution and it worked fine. I didn't have to rename my controller just the axis was flipped so I only did part 2 but I'll post the whole thing for everyone.

Part one
In Windows, click start ->run then type regedit.exe and click ok

Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SYSTEM, open ControlSet001, then Control, media properties, private properties, joystick, OEM.

view each folder (should look like VID_0428&PID etc) until you find the controller you have. (should be USB GAME PAD) if its PS2
mine was "Twin USB Vibration Gamepad"
When you see you controller, double click where it says OEMName to the left of where its says the name of your controller, change it to "Logitech Rumblepad 2 USB".

The above will make the stick work...Below explains how to flip the axis

Part 2
Whilst still in the registry editor, expand the Axes folder and find folders 2 and 5, they represent axis Z and Rz respectively.
In folder 2 (the Z axis), find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00" and change it to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00"
And then in folder 5 (the Rz axis) find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00" and change to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00"
effectively you just swap existing numbers.
Then bingo!
Check the controllers in your control panel, then check them in game.
Might be worth mentioning this will probably effect how the controller behaves in other games, it doesn't cause me any so far.

I need reboot the computer or unplug the gamepad its because I do that and no fix any thing sad.gif

ghostgrabber
  • ghostgrabber

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#56

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:51 PM

I followed your steps and now my camera seems to be stuck overtop of Niko..but my control works! sigh...

rowsdower
  • rowsdower

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2008

#57

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:58 PM Edited by rowsdower, 14 December 2008 - 09:04 PM.

Awesome I fixed the looking down by renaming!!! Now I need to get the opposite right stick thing working.

QUOTE (kingofpain @ Dec 14 2008, 02:16)
http://img368.images...62254663bg0.jpg
2 and 5 are exactly the same


Mines like this what do I change these values to? I tried the ones on the first page and it just just kept spinning around.

Obsidian_
  • Obsidian_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#58

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:04 PM

@ Rad_: Worked and the camera isn't spinning anymore.(also thanks for the basic control pad hack demonstration in regedit) icon14.gif

Now if there was a way to remap the buttons... ph34r.gif

PS. I'm using about the same ps2- usb converter as you

Dodge34
  • Dodge34

    GTA4 Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Feb 2005

#59

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:09 PM

I can't modify one of the value in the registry, keeps getting this message (I unplugged the controller to make sure nothing used the controller while doing this mod), I'm still stuck with the original name and problem.

user posted image

Tried rebooting computer, same thing happen, can't rename this at all, I'm the only admin of this computer (its mine, there's no other users) so this is not a administrator issue.


kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#60

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:11 PM

QUOTE (rowsdower @ Dec 14 2008, 20:58)
Awesome I fixed the looking down by renaming!!! Now I need to get the opposite right stick thing working.

QUOTE (kingofpain @ Dec 14 2008, 02:16)
http://img368.images...62254663bg0.jpg
2 and 5 are exactly the same


Mines like this what do I change these values to? I tried the ones on the first page and it just just kept spinning around.

QUOTE (rad_ @ Dec 14 2008, 15:20)
I use a "3in1 Conversion Box" from Bigben interactive to connect my PS1 Analog Pad wit the PC. As descriped I rename it.

But the right analog stick not working properly, right/left becomes up/down. I cant find "Axes" under
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM\VID_0F30&PID_010A

If you have the same problem add it manually to perform an axis override, works for me:

- unplug your Gamepad
- right click on your "VID-PID code"- folder, create a new key called "Axes"
- right click on the "Axes" folder, create a key called "2"
- inside "2" create a binary value named "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 35 00 "
- after that cerate in "Axes" a second key: "5", create a binary value called "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 32 00 "
- restart you maschine and connect the pad.

under control panel/calibration you can take notice of the change.

see also:
hxxp://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms789852.aspx
hxxp://www.usb.org/developers/devclass_docs/Hut1_12.pdf (page 26)


Hope it works it worked for me




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users